MAC Satin - Shale

4.2

335 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

castor seed oil, coconut oil, beeswax, hydrogenated castor oil, tocopheryl acetate, vitamin E


on 3/31/2012 3:19:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

One of my favorite eyeshadows. I'm surprised by the negative reviews here. I have had 0 issues with the texture of Shale. Mine is pigmented and applies smoothly to the eyelid as a taupe with plum undertones with slight shimmer. Great for day or night wear. I give it 4/5 because it does not provide the multidimension of the similarly colored shadow in the Dior Crush Glow quad. That one has a creamier and silkier, more multidimensional quality. Shale is decent though and the color emphasizes the green in my hazel eyes. I like Shale as a crease color but my favorite way to wear it is over the entire lid with black winged out liner and mascara. Pretty, easy look.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.



on 3/15/2012 1:36:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I really wanted to love Shale. The colour is great, a very wearable cool-toned lilac purple, but it is one of the most difficult shadows to work with from MAC that I own.


It does not blend. Like, at all. It needs a *lot* of work with the 217 and a good transition colour like Wedge to make the crease look at all respectable. And I always need to reapply colour on the lid as it looks really patchy no matter how well I pat it on. Considering this is a Satin e/s it should really perform better than this. I do wear it, because the colour is very pretty, but I just don't like the effort that it requires for the payoff.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 1/24/2012 1:14:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Shale is (unfortunately) one of theose eyeshadow shades that looks super pretty in the pot but doesn't look so good on the eyes. The colour is super pretty; a soft, medium plum with taupe undertones and a bit of shimmer to spice it up a bit. I thought it would be a great everyday colour as while the shade is in the purple family it's very subtle. Great idea to perk up brown eyes instead of boring brown neutrals right? Wrong. Sadly, Shale just doesn't work on me. The shadow applies very chalky on me and the purple tones in it faded away into a dull, gray mess as I blended it. It looked like a splotchy bruise on my eyelid and it flaked on me too. I wouldn't recommend this nor would I repurchase it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/14/2012 9:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Green

I had such high hopes for this eye shadow, it looked like the perfect everyday purple I could use to enhance my green eyes.
I first applied this over UDPP and then later over bare study paint pot and could not get the color to show up. I read that some people had to scrape off the top layer of the shadow to get it to work, and two scrapings later still nothing! The color was lacking in pigment and when I could get some color payoff it would fade within the hour.
This was the first product I ever returned to MAC... I would not recomend this shadow to anyone!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/3/2012 12:09:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I wish I could like this color but it just won't show up on me! for ref I'm NC42 and even with a light base under it's still very sheer. I have to really pack this on and the payoff is still so so. I love purples and or purple undertone eyeshadows but MAC just can't seem to get purples right in my opinion.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Shale is a wonderfully nice color but unfortunately it is not so highly pigmented. You have to take quite a lot for it to appear. The color is light purple and is ideal for those with green eyes. I do not regret buying it but will not buy it again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/19/2011 6:50:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Grey

Colour: greyish dark lavender. It smokes up the eye without it looking over-the-top (if used as an all over wash). I find it excentuates my eyeliner and makes my eyes look mysterious and sexy with little effort.

Great for everyday wear when wearing the right clothing. Excellent for evening sex appeal too lol...

Highly recommend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/25/2011 12:15:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I don't use this color very often but it is probably one of my favorite purples. It has grayish undertones on me, and looks subtle on me. It blends very well, and is buildable.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Shale is such a pretty taupe. I do have to work a little harder to get the color payoff that I want but this is a really pretty shade.


on 11/9/2011 9:33:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Grey

I don't understand why so many say this shadow lacks pigment- I found it to be pigment-rich (maybe it's been reformulated?) In any case, it applied densely enough over my powdered lids, which many powdered eyeshadows won't. I haven't tried Shale with a lid primer yet, though I'm sure the results will be even better, as that's the case with most powdered e/s. The shade is nice- not too warm or too cool. It is a truly "muted" shade, which is the only type I'll wear (that leaves me little choice in the MAC e/s dept). This is truly one of MAC's best e/s shades.


Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

40 reviews
Back to Top