MAC • Satin - Shale • Eye Shadow

rated 4.2(330 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 quidproquo on 12/19/2011 6:50:00 PM more reviews by quidproquo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

Colour: greyish dark lavender. It smokes up the eye without it looking over-the-top (if used as an all over wash). I find it excentuates my eyeliner and makes my eyes look mysterious and sexy with little effort.

Great for everyday wear when wearing the right clothing. Excellent for evening sex appeal too lol...

Highly recommend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 julalg on 11/25/2011 12:15:00 PM more reviews by julalg

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I don't use this color very often but it is probably one of my favorite purples. It has grayish undertones on me, and looks subtle on me. It blends very well, and is buildable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 thedallasdiary on 11/22/2011 12:26:00 PM more reviews by thedallasdiary

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Shale is such a pretty taupe. I do have to work a little harder to get the color payoff that I want but this is a really pretty shade.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mielr on 11/9/2011 9:33:00 PM more reviews by mielr

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Grey    

I don't understand why so many say this shadow lacks pigment- I found it to be pigment-rich (maybe it's been reformulated?) In any case, it applied densely enough over my powdered lids, which many powdered eyeshadows won't. I haven't tried Shale with a lid primer yet, though I'm sure the results will be even better, as that's the case with most powdered e/s. The shade is nice- not too warm or too cool. It is a truly "muted" shade, which is the only type I'll wear (that leaves me little choice in the MAC e/s dept). This is truly one of MAC's best e/s shades.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rainrowan on 10/26/2011 2:27:00 PM more reviews by rainrowan

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Like others have said, this is a complex dusky mauve-y eyeshadow. I've always been attracted to mauve pearls and similar colors and always try to find them in makeup. I don't know why it took so long for me to find it, to be honest. It has a slightly "Victorian" hue about it, not too gothic but dramatic enough.

It is similar to Blackberry, and if you don't like too much red, this is a good close dupe w/o the red tone.

I pair Shale with Blackberry as crease shadow and I like it alot, followed with Engraved black eye pencil. I prime my lids with Smashbox followed with the Benefit eyes compact. I've always struggled to apply dark colors without it looking like a blob of dark grey, and the colors I use are easy to blend. I also use Purple Haze to give the center of my lids (near lashes) a pop. This is a stormy color and you can definitely make it dramatic.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 narkiz on 10/20/2011 5:02:00 PM more reviews by narkiz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my most beloved e/s. I love it so much. It complements my skin tone (NW20). If you have cool undertones, you should really give it a try. You have to use a dark base to make it show .

-NYX jumbo pencil in Purple Velvet or Black Bean on lid, Shale on top of it, Print or Quarry or Sketch on the crease. (my personal fave.)
-Vanilla as a wash, Shadowy lady on lid and crease, Shale on top of lid over Shadowy Lady. (very easy, very sexy smokey look)
-Quarry on lid and crease, Shale on top of lid over Quarry.
- Sable on lid, Shale on top of it ( it takes away Sable's brown tones, makes it more wearable for cool skins)
-Star Violet on whole lid, Shale on outer half of the lid, Carbon or Beauty Marked or Shadowy Lady on crease

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hodesa11 on 10/16/2011 9:31:00 AM more reviews by hodesa11

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I'm really glad I read the reviews here. I was sure I got a bad shadow I had NO payoff what so ever. But I tried scraping off the top layer as recommended by a few of you (I used sand paper) and it worked!
I tried the same trick with a few other shadows which had little payoff and it improved them all.
Nevertheless, I still wouldn't buy it again. In the end of the day, it just looks like a pale boring gray on the eye.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lauracrua on 10/7/2011 6:33:00 AM more reviews by lauracrua

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is a pale silvery lilac colour. This colour is nothing special and I'd say fairly dupable. It's also the most powdery of all my MAC shadows and not heavily pigmented.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* edgexofxdesire on 9/9/2011 11:52:00 PM more reviews by edgexofxdesire

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

EDIT: I was originally disappointed with this shade because I was getting zero color payoff no matter what method of application I used (Original rating = 1). But I ended up buffing off the top layer of the eyeshadow (very, very lightly with an emery board) and it's since been working very well. I've had this same problem with two other MAC shadows--Copperplate and Warming Trend--so I don't know exactly what happened to them, but it's luckily an easy fix. Now I'm happier with this eyeshadow. It's a very lovely soft smoked mauve, but it's still quite sheer unless it's built up. But it's still great to blend out a nice daytime smokey eye, and especially pretty when paired with grays and purples. I may repurchase this because the color is fairly nice, but the quality could certainly be better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hamstershell on 9/8/2011 7:24:00 AM more reviews by Hamstershell

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This es goes on very sheer, and on my NC30 skin, it takes a lot to show up. I really do like the color, and it works great for blending as well. It is good for blendling between purples, blues, plums and even browns. It can also be worn alone, for a soft violet look. U will need a very good primer and base for the color to show. I am only giving this 3 lippies as the pigmentation could really be better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products