Dr. Hauschka • Cleansing Clay Mask • Masks

rated 4.1(77 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cowgurl on 9/22/2009 8:02:00 PM more reviews by cowgurl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I prefer this mask over any other. 4 stars due to price. It is more like dirt than clay -- not gummy like other clay masks and not really drying. It makes my skin feel so clean and not stripped after using. Hard to explain, but the dirt smell is awesome. Clean dirt - yay. Since it's dirt-like (they say it's clay and I'm sure it is -- technically), be careful how much water you add. Unlike clay, it won't absorb the water, so just be careful or it will be too thin. I like to add a pump of lotion cleanser to about 1 teaspoon of this clay to boost its effect and then only a tiny smidgeon of water (really, just a few drops). Because this is dirt -- albeit clean dirt filled with magical properties -- I only buy the REFILL PACKS when I find them on sale.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* proximitythe53rd on 2/23/2009 8:41:00 PM more reviews by proximitythe53rd

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

*Please see Update at the bottom!

Before I was given this Cleansing Clay Mask (and the Firming Mask) as a gift, I hadn't tried any Dr. Hauschka products, but since I'm happy with my daily skincare, I'll probably just stick with the masks.
I tend to use masks as a "whenever I feel like I need it" skin boost or pick-me-up. But the results I'm seeing from this mask are good enough that I'm planning to start using it once a week. My skin feels smooth and less congested, my pores appear smaller, and any blackheads are definitely reduced (if not erased). The mask is slightly drying, but my skin feels balanced once I moisturize after removing the mask and using toner.*



I don't feel like the mask is too much work to use, but that might be because it's something I enjoy rather than a chore.
The mask is easy to mix, I definitely don't need a big teaspoon-full of it (and I'm still sad that I wasted so much on my first use!) About 1/2 a leveled teaspoon, covers my whole face generously with some left over. I could probably get away with using even less (1/4 teaspoon?) and just putting the mask on the areas of my skin that need it (i.e. definitely not my cheeks). I just apply it with my fingers out of the mini bowl use to mix it with water; I don't really find it to be that messy. I think it's easier if you mix it a little on the dry side (thicker mud) and apply to a moist face. I have not tried steaming my face before using the mask, mainly because I have heard that steaming can occasionally aggravate skin, or cause problems, but I do use it after getting out of the shower, which is as close as I come to 'steaming' my skin.



I typically leave this mask on 10 - 15 minutes*. When I first used it, I let the mask dry out entirely, but I've since learned that it's better to re-wet the mask if/when it dries out. I do this by misting with water. When I let it dry out on my skin, it seemed like the effect of the mask was much more drying overall.
I actually really enjoy the muddy "clean dirt" smell of the mask.



I find this mask easy to wash off, I just wet a soft washcloth or muslin and use that to gently remove (don't rub or scrub!) the mask, rinsing and re-wetting as needed. Since I usually use this in the evenings, I follow the mask with my toner and a gentle moisturizer*. I skip acne spot treatments and anything else with more "harsh" ingredients until at least the next day.



Overall, I'm very happy with the Cleansing Clay Mask!



**UPDATE 2012**
A few notes for the more sensitive-skinned people:
- only use on areas of your face where you get congestion, no real need to put it all over your face.
- you will need much much less than it says to use.
- do NOT leave on for more than 5 min
- make sure you re-wet the mask if it starts to dry out at all.
- remove as gently as possible



I've got my skin in much better shape than when I wrote my original review , and mainly by being MUCH more gentle with it all-around. But the skin-tightening pore-shrinking effects of this mask are still desirable to me, so I've worked out 'my' way of using it (above).
After I remove the mask, I mist my face with Avené thermal water spray, and then apply a facial oil - never letting my skin dry until the oil is on. I think this step is really essential for me, because after using something so drying, I really need to immediately restore the balance of my skin so it doesn't get off-kilter. I let my face oil (I use Suti Rejuvenate - it's AMAZING) soak in for a few minutes, and then top it with a no-frills moisturizer (currently Oilatum natural repair).
I like the effect this mask has on the nose area most, so even if I end up deciding that it really is too harsh for the rest of my face, I expect I'll keep using it that way.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 zpherry on 2/13/2009 3:13:00 AM more reviews by zpherry

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This clay is quite good and I find it better than the clay powder mask of Organic Pharmacy which is way tooooo expensive but delivers much less. This mask can draw out the blackheads from my nose quite well and my face looks brighter every time after i use it. And I also use it an a rescue mask whenever I have serious acnes. The only thing I dont like is that I need to mix up it with water to make a paste, and I wish this mask is a ready-to-use one. I also use the steam bath but I am not sure if this step is really necessary or helpful. Anyway, I recommend this mask for those with congested skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jewelx17 on 2/11/2009 11:11:00 AM more reviews by Jewelx17

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I think I'm done with the majority of Dr Hauschka's skincare line, except for a couple that I like(Clarifying Toner and Translucent Bronzer). Except for these two, all the other lines have not worked on me. I wanted to like it because I like the philosophy but I have to admit that most of them do not work on my oily,mild acne-prone, pore-clogging skin. I really wanted to go the natural route and be chemical free but the treatments are too gentle for my skin and the moisturizers are all too oily. This mask, for me, was a waste of time. I used this after the steam bath and my face looked exactly the same as before I used this. Even if it didn't get rid of blemishes, I would've been happy if it gave my skin a glow, smoothed out my skin, anything! But nada. I have tried repeatedly using this hoping I like it but that didn't happen. Dr Hauschka's line is way too expensive to not work so I will not repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sepierre on 2/2/2009 1:24:00 AM more reviews by sepierre

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

WOW! i LOVE this. I've had it sitting in my cabinet for quite a while and just now got around to using it.
this is the only mask that has EVER cleared up the black heads on my nose. no pore strips, pore refining masks, scrubs, anything has ever left my pores so clear.

i left it on for about 20 minutes because I had some blemishes. When i washed it off, I walked out of the bathroom and did some random things around the house. when I went back into the bathroom i noticed my nose was clear! this has never happened! i thought it was a lost cause.

WORTH THE MONEY! plus if you get it from whole foods and you dont like it, they'll give you a refund no matter how much you've used. LOVE that.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ks123 on 1/11/2009 10:24:00 AM more reviews by ks123

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is the best mask i have ever used, particularly when used in conjunction with the steam bath. I have bad hormonal acne that is cystic and leaves angry red scars. Can also be quite painful. I recently started using organic/ green skincare to try and remove any chemicals from my products and found this product in my search. I have seen a great difference since using this product and feel a bit more in control of my skin - just a few weeks in my skin is about 50% better and still improving. This just leaves my skin glowing.

Is a bit messy to use as comes in power form and you need to mix it up yourself. I personally quite like that as leaves me in control of what goes into it. Comes in a glass tub but you can get refills for the jar which are cheaper and saves on packaging.

I cannot say enough about how this (in conjunction with other Dr H products and The Organic Pharmacy) have done for my skin when i had lost all hope.

My clay mask routine is as follows:

- Use steam bath for circa 15 mins (my beautician also told me to put a small amount of the steam bath direct on my skin just before steaming but only do this if my skin is particularly bad)
- Mix up clay mask as follows - 1 tsp clay mask, 2 pumps of Dr H Cleanser, 3 sprays of Dr H clarifying toner, 2-3 pumps of lavender bath.

I put the mask on straight after steaming and leave on for circa 15 mins making sure that it doesnt dry out. I rinse off the mask using water with a couple of pumps of either the lavender, sage or lemon bath all of which are anticeptic and then use the rejuventating mask for 15 mins.

I then finish off with rosehip all ready for bed. When i wake up the next morning my skin is always much clearer, even and glowing.

Love it, love it, love it!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* footballove on 1/8/2009 1:03:00 PM more reviews by footballove

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is the best product of Dr. Hauschka I've ever tried,and I've tried a lot of them.I don't use this clay mask anymore,because it is a bit pricey + last very short,but it is a pretty good mask,better than my regular green clay mask.What I like about this mask is smell,yummy,herbal smell.Also,it gave me some effect,but nothing WOWed,because I find Aspirin Mask works better for me.After I rinse it off,I see a little bit smoother texture of my face,a way cleaner,but that effect doesn't last forever,maybe one day.So,this isn't miracle at all,but for clay mask lovers it could be HG.As I told,OK mask,but not worth the money You spend on it.I will probably buy this product again,but just to replace my regular clay mask from time to time,also if I want some expensive luxury product to feel better :D .

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ivyn on 1/5/2009 2:29:00 AM more reviews by ivyn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This is the best cleansing mask I had ever tried. I have combination skin with occasional acne. I use about one teaspoon of the cleansing mask powder and mix with calendula toner to form a paste. I can see result right after I wash it off. My face is much more brighter and pimple started to dried up and skin is more smoother. The next day when I wake up, I could find all my pimples dried up and my face is much more cleaner.

I will definitely re-purchase this mask in the re-fill pack.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MavenMel on 10/29/2008 11:14:00 AM more reviews by MavenMel

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love clay masks and this one is no exception! I am writing this review while waiting for my Cleansing Clay Mask to dry. I have sensitive/oily skin and I do this mask once/week. I steam my face for 10 minutes - today I used some loose tea with rosehips and chamomile. I haven't repurchased the Dr. H Facial Steam in awhile because its kind of pricey and I find the tea works just as well. This is my HG clay mask! It really pulls out most of the gunk from my skin without over drying like most clay masks. My pores look smaller, I have seen a reduction in the black heads on my nose and my skin looks so smooth and feels so soft after using. The jar lasts a long time - you only need a teaspoon. I just add water until its spreadable and apply with a brush. Like one of the other reviewers said removing the mask is best done my placing a warm wet washcloth on your face for a bit to moisten and loosen it up. You can also mix up a little to spot treat pimples but you have to make it really really runny or it will dry up and just fall off your face. Dr. H makes some amazing masks. I use this one and the Rejuvenating Mask regularly. It also comes in a refill format so you can just fill up your glass jar. Saves on packaging!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kekecat on 9/10/2008 8:21:00 AM more reviews by kekecat

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I used a sample of this - it instructed me to use the whole sachet pack with two teaspoons of water but I only used half the pack with one teaspoon of water and a dash of toner and it was plenty enough. A little bit sneaky, I know ;-)

I'm not a massive fan of anything that requires me to wait but since trying other Dr. H products I thought i'd give it a go. I left it on for about 5 minutes and when i washed it off my skin was even toned and glowing. I noticed an immediate difference and still today my skin feels very soft and clean. My only gripe would be that the blackheads on my nose area were still there, but to be fair I have never used anything that removed all my blackheads anyway. I definately think over time and with regular use this would make improvements to oily congested skin. The good thing about this skincare line is they provide samples at reasonable prices (I paid £2.50). For me this has been a godsend because I often buy full size products to find my skin hates them or is allergic.

I can't comment on price or packaging as I used a sample sachet. The tub it is supplied in looks like it does the job. Its well worth buying a couple of sachets (by my sneaky method that equates to four uses!) this should be enough to decide if its worth the price of £18/ £23.

However, I have it on very good authority that fullers earth works very well and is about £2.50 for 125g. Mixed with a little corn starch and you have a similar product. I am yet to try but will let you know how it compares.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dr. Hauschka products

More Masks products