Neutrogena • Anti-Residue Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 4.3(453 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 cavo on 2/11/2014 10:27:00 PM more reviews by cavo

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love what this shampoo does for my hair, but the amount of product you get makes it too pricey. Not sure if I would buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MES on 2/11/2014 2:12:00 PM more reviews by MES

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have fine dry hair that can be unmanageable at times. Despite having fine hair I usually use heavy conditioner and an argan oil treatment on my hair because it often tangles up and becomes almost impossible to brush/comb. Sometimes even with said products my hair is still tangled or will have random poufy sections that no product on earth can tame. I would have never used a deep cleaning or clarifying shampoo in my wildest dreams as I feared it would suck the life out of my hair and leave it a parched, tangled, poufy mess.

I applied a generous amount of this to my shoulder length hair and worked it into a really good lather waited a minute or two and rinsed. Yes my hair felt dry initially, but I resisted the urge to apply any conditioner or oil after. Out of the shower my hair looked like a mess, I toweled dried it and still I feared my hair was going to look like I stuck my finger in a light socket. I used a wide toothed detangling comb and while there was some tangling they combed out pretty easy without out much resistance, tugging, or ripping. I was happily surprised allowed my hair to air dry.

I am in shock my hair looks great sans heavy conditioner or oil. I've been using heavy moisturizing product religiously since my early teens never realizing these products were causing buildup that made my hair worse. My hair is soft, shiny, and clean. I really have to thank the hair board for explaining why I needed clarifying shampoo. I always thought it was for people who had oily hair or those who used a lot of mousse, gel, or hair spray. This really has me thinking my entire hair care routine.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jwalk839 on 2/5/2014 7:23:00 PM more reviews by jwalk839

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is a great clarifying shampoo. I use it once a week to remove hard water build up as well as product build up on my scalp. My hair feels lighter and super clean after using it. It does have kind of a harsh smell...I can't really put my finger on it. Kind of like a harsh shampoo chemical smell? But, as a once a week shampoo, I can deal with the smell. The price is reasonable and it leaves my hair feeling free of build-up and product residue. The ONLY reason why I may not repurchase this is just to experiment with other clarifying shampoos and see what is out there but this shampoo is awesome!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 veelui on 1/13/2014 10:30:00 PM more reviews by veelui

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i hardly ever style my hair, so there is hardly any product buildup in my hair, however, i still bought this because i felt like my shampoos were weighing my hair down and especially during winter months my hair feels like straw bc of split ends, so i started to use mask hair conditioner, and while it did help soften my hair, i felt like my hair's natural shine was slowly vanishing, but after using this as directed for the last month, my hair seems to be shiny again :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Pheebie on 12/21/2013 7:02:00 PM more reviews by Pheebie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm so glad this has remained a fixture on drugstore shelves. I first used it eons ago, when I was in my teens, but over time I'd 'outgrown' it, trying other products along the way, forgetting about this little gem and spending way too much on clarifying shampoos that worked just the same, or sometimes not as well. Recently frustrated with the lack of body and shine in my hair, I was browsing the shelves in Walgreens and I came across this classic and happily tossed it into my basket. Once again, I'm happily sudsing up weekly with this clean-smelling, easy-rinsing, gunk-removing shampoo. Love it. I'll not abandon it again.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ldtef002 on 11/28/2013 11:02:00 PM more reviews by ldtef002

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

This product is really amazing. It cleans residue away from hair and scalp religiously. The smell is tolerable. As soon as I wash this product out of my hair, I feel an instant lift and plump. If you do use this product, follow with a moisturizing conditioner. I use this shampoo once weekly, normally on a Sunday to get the week's product buildup out of my hair. Definitely recommend this for a clarifying, thickening shampoo. The price is decent as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BrittaniElizabeth on 11/13/2013 12:35:00 PM more reviews by BrittaniElizabeth

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

It is so ironic that this acutally popped up on my home page as one of the top things people were talking about and reviewing because I was JUST thinking about going on some website and highly recommending this product when I bought it a few weeks ago.

I have very thick, oily, hair and sometimes I feel like I have to wash it 2 maybe even 3 times to get it to feel "clean" and "soft" and just a little bit of this shampoo takes care of that. It is definitely awesome!! It literally gets your scalp "squeaky clean". I love, love, LOVE it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 briekeller on 11/13/2013 10:33:00 AM more reviews by briekeller

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

after having a sudden onset of oiliness/product buildup in my hair for a few weeks and not knowing what the problem was, i finally decided to google it. this shampoo was suggested by someone who said they had the same issue and they absolutely swore by it. so i went to target and hunted for it. it's a pretty small bottle so you may have to look like i did. this stuff is absolutely amazing. my hair hadn't been that soft and clean for two or three weeks. it is safe to say that i will be keeping this around in my shower for a very long time. :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nellieter on 10/31/2013 11:46:00 AM more reviews by nellieter

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I cannot say enough good things about this shampoo. I hate hate hate build up. I have honey colored/dirtyish blonde hair and so if there is build up it dulls my color.

I use this shampoo once or twice a week (and have been for many years), and my hair looks bright and clean. It sucks all of the oil and residue out. I just put a generous amount in my hair and leave it in for a minute or so and then rinse, and voila! clean, build up-free hair.

For me, there are no cons. The smell is distinctive but not too strong or unpleasant. It doesn't dry out my hair no matter how frequently I use it (I've used it daily at some points in my life). My hair is pretty thick and healthy and naturally sort of oily, so it is possible on thinner hair it would be drying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 classicbelle on 10/16/2013 4:20:00 PM more reviews by classicbelle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

love it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Shampoo products