Estee Lauder • Futurist Foundation [DISCONTINUED] • Liquid

rated 4.2(132 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 5 of 5 shangconti on 8/25/2011 6:05:00 AM more reviews by shangconti

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I've not written a review at MUA for longer than I can remember but this Futurist has prompted me to do so without delay. Since I've become a natural skincare convert, I've stopped purchasing synthetic skincare items but most natural or organic foundations often fail to deliver the flawless finish as I desire for the perfection of a not-so-perfect face. My age makes my skin drier and more dehydrated, and all previous high-end foundations like La Mer, Dior Prestige, etc give me dry patches as early as in the afternoon. Since I am now pro natural, I am pickier about everything I use. I look at Futurist ingredients and feel more comfortable as it does not contain parabens (some foundations do) or other known harmful substances and better off, it is non-acnegenic ...



Actually I bought Double Wear Stay-in-Place after watching a YouTube video trying to get the same flawless look, but DW is too dry for me and it really stays put not easy to remove. I went back to EL counter and was introduced to Futurist - the best advice that they have given.



I just LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this foundation. Feel comfortable all day long with enough, not over, moisture level to my dry but partly combination skin. It does make my skin glow with good coverage and I look revitalized and in turn younger without those disturbing dry patches. Very happy with this and I hope my search is over. The best way for me to apply is to use a brush with a generous amount (1.5 pumps) right after a moisturized face, and it melts into my skin very naturally and comfortably. Using sunscreen or primer between is no good (for me) as this extra barrier can thicken the look and make this foundation more moisturizing than I can handle. I've found that my makeup stays better this way toward the end of the day.



I've tried many many other brands including Giogio Armani, Cle de Peau, Chanel, Shiseido, Shu Uemura and even EL ReNutriv! IMO, Futurist outshines ReNutriv even under the EL umbrella and it is very affordable in terms of pricing but more remarkable by performance.

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jensen2027 on 6/17/2011 2:07:00 PM more reviews by jensen2027

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Right now this is my HG foundation!! I do have dry/somewhat sensitive skin and this makeup goes on like velvet and hydrates my skin all day long! I don't feel like I am wearing it and it looks a bit dewy at first, but never shiny/oily. I have used this foundation for 4 months and no breakouts! Great coverage and shade matches very well!! Recently I tried another foundation with good ratings and I was so dry all day and then I broke out! This is a very good foundation for medium+ coverage and dryer skin types. Probably would be ok for normal skin but probably not for oily skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 asmith923 on 5/1/2011 4:38:00 PM more reviews by asmith923

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

To preface, I'm young and this is an anti-aging/for mature skin foundation... but I loved it.

Pros:
-Lightweight but medium coverage
-de-emphasizes any uneven texture, skin looks so smooth
-easy to apply, i use a sonia kashuk blending brush
-pretty good color range, no overly pink or yellow undertones
-no nasty old lady smell
-good lasting power, not 24-hour or anything, but 6-8 hours for sure
-great for dry flakes!

Cons:
-clogged pores, but this is probably because it contains olive oil, and my skin hates that stuff
-can get slighly shiny, but I didnt use any loose powder with it and have oily, but dehydrated skin

Someone told my my skin was glowing when I wore this, and then a minute later was like "wait...are you wearing makeup?"

That's exactly what make-up is supposed to do. If it didn't clog my pores, I would def repurchase.

anti-aging makeup looks so great on young skin btw, don't let that deter you!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Nurken on 3/11/2011 9:55:00 AM more reviews by Nurken

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is the first EL foundation Ive ever tried, and I must say Im really pleased so far! I went to the store, told the SA that I needed a foundation that made my skin look natural, not made up, pore and line-smoothing and hopefully hydrating...Could she help me?Yep, Im demanding...but she made me a sample of this one (lightest color, and Im Mac NC15-20 for ref - suited me perfect).

When I first put it on, it felt as if it melted on my skin. Supereasy to blend and my skin was really glowing. The colortone was actually a bit orangy, and it made me scared, but nope, the orange color disappeared on skin. BUT I did notice that it was important to shake the little sample-bottle well, so the color wouldnt separate. So I guess you need to rememeber to shake the bottle well!
My husband even told me my skin looked really beautiful with this on. Really natural, medium coverage and really hydrating. No flakes,no dry parts, no big pores or lines.
I loved it! Untill now, Chanel Vitalumiere(clair/cameo) and Diorskin Nude(021) have been my favs. I find Diorskin a bit drying and a little "made up" (even though its called nude), and Vitalumiere a bit oily...but this, especially compared to Vitalumiere, made me just WOW!

I`m still not sure if I buy, just because the stayingpower on me, was a bit bad...5-6 hours, and its more or less off my chin...but...still, I love it...just need touch ups during the day then...

Go try it out! (And please, send me a mail if you have any foundation-suggestions for my picky skin!!)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* careypiper on 3/6/2011 1:03:00 PM more reviews by careypiper

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I really didn't have long enough time wearing this to review wear and coverage of this product. Because as soon as I started wearing it I starting have a horrible sinus infection that knocked me on my butt and ended up to sick to care about wearing makeup. I then tried wearing this foundation again and wasn't feeling better. I just chalked it up to a bad experience. Fast forward to a few months later and I'm trying EL DayWear Plus and sure enough that damn sinus irritation came back. I don't know what is but something in EL face products does not agree with me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* eurydice on 1/9/2011 5:24:00 PM more reviews by eurydice

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Wonderful product! Since switching from Diorskin to Futurist a year ago I've had female colleagues in their early 30s ask what moisturiser/skin care products do I use - my 50 year old skin looks that good when I'm wearing this 'second skin' foundation. Not too dewy, not too matte - and with SPF15 protection - Futurist is worth every cent. As for the skincare regime, they are stunned when I tell them I use pomegranate oil with a couple of drops of myrrh - that's it!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kristalblair on 1/5/2011 9:44:00 PM more reviews by kristalblair

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this product, and even though I am only 23 (almost 24), I still prefer this foundation over any other I've tried thus far. When I traded my double wear stay in place (which was too dark) for this is Soft Ivory the lady at the counter gave me a strange look and mentioned that this foundation was specially formulated for mature and aging skin. I could care less because at the age of 23 I am trying to prevent aging and keep firmer and softer skin. And, since my skin is a little on the dry side this foundation applies beautifully and doesn't flake. The only thing I did not like was when I was applying this with a foundation brush it did not cover very well along my nose and under my eyes (where I need the most coverage) so I had to apply with my fingers. I think half of the reason it applied so sheer-like was because I had just massaged Bio Oil into my skin.

Some of the major pros of this foundation are:
~It leaves skin with a luminous glow while still providing medium coverage.
~This foundation works perfectly with all skin tones, but Soft Ivory especially works well with my cool undertone.
~Really does seem to firm my skin and make it look softer.
~Minimizes appearance of uneveness and pores.
~Good color selection.
~Feels like a second skin!
~Moisturizes skin.
~Suitable for young adults as well as older adults, hence the description and ingredients.

Cons:
~The only con I can think of would be the price although it is worth it and the fact that if you apply moisturizer right before this it will be a bit too sheer and slide right off. Therefore, it is best to wait 15 minutes after applying moisturizer to put this on.

Update: I still love this, but the color is MUCH to PINK and oxidizes on the skin~

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 NightShift on 11/26/2010 9:03:00 PM more reviews by NightShift

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have to admit, I never thought to look at Estee Lauder, but that was until I started watching the two lovely ladies of Pixiwoo on Youtube over a year ago. Recently they reviewed several foundations of Estee Lauder, and it was then I decided to try this one out.
To start I have very sensitive, dehydrated, combination skin: I get dry patches on my jaw line and in my eyebrows, I have cystic acne scars around the mouth, and a fairly oily nose. I also tend to get lines on my forhead from the dehydration. I'm only 23/24!! D:
The purchase: In my case, I was fortunate to have a very nice, spunky lady who tried several on me until she suggested the color soft ivory. I was very skeptical because many have suggested foundations that were too yellow or too pink. I have pale skin with neutral undertone that flushes easily, so finding the right foundation is frustrating. Thankfully, soft ivory is a nice combination of the two with light tones.
Application: This product has a very nice consistency. It is a little thinner than I was expecting, but it still felt slightly moisturizing. Instead of a brush, I just like to use my fingers to apply-which I like a lot because I don't want to risk a heavy finish, but I think a brush would work nicely. The finish is quite nice-a small amount of sheen on skin that looks, well like healthy skin. And thankfully, this makeup did not irritate.
After settling, I could still see some acne scars a little, however I do not think anyone else would notice because it was quite light.
I did find this did not cover the broken capillaries on my face however. But that is small compared to the overall effect; The patches on my jaw, my easily flushed cheeks, and the lines on my forehead are hardly visible after application. Hurray!

On me, and especially using my fingers instead of a brush, this provides a light to medium coverage. But you could easily use more if you need too.
Performance: Working in an aquatic lab and greenhouse, it can get a little hot and humid. I've seen sunscreens and some moisturizers slide off my face and on to my safety glasses. But not this. I was amazed at how well this stayed on; no patchiness and no sliding, and that was without a powder to set.
My nose still gets a little shiny, but the makeup doesn't show. I did find that this foundation fades throughout the day, but the skin still looks nice and refreshed.

Overall this is a wonderful foundation, and it is the first foundation I've wanted to wear everyday. It doesn't show, feels comfortable, and makes my highly sensitive skin look almost normal.

Thanks for reading xx

24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 7Alice7 on 10/20/2010 8:39:00 AM more reviews by 7Alice7

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love this product. Have used it for 5 years now and love the coverage and finish I get with it. Pale Almond is a good colour for me but I've learnt to shake the bottle regularly otherwise it gets too 'orange' when I get to the end of the bottle. I recently tried some samples (Chanel, Clinique and Revlon) because I was bored after 5 years using the same foundation but they made me realise how good the Futurist really is.

Edited 18 June 2011: I've changed to L'Oreal Matt Morphose Rosy/Sand Foundation now and like the finish much better. I still think the Futurist is OK, I just like the Matt Morphose much better.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 drunkie on 10/10/2010 6:58:00 PM more reviews by drunkie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

this is one of the few foundations i can finish the bottle. for reference i have dry skin with relatively clear complexion, free of scars and acne but some hormonal redness. it was recommended by the MUA in sephora after i told her i want something moisturizing. it really is. it got me through an entire winter without any trouble.it lasted me about 5 months. it has a medium coverage and it is creamy, easy to work with. i can use my finger or a brush with this foundation. it gives you a natural finish. i really can't complain anything but i have not yet repurchase this. the reason is i don't find it particularly fabulous. it is hydrating and nice but unlike other foundations(say,guerlain parure extreme/aqua/gold, or chanel prolumiere/) it doesn't have a mind blowing effect. now i move on to MAFE face and body which i like better as it feels like a hydrating mask on and looks like real skin, plus it is long wearing and water resistant.
it is good but not unique, there are a long list of foundation i want to try so for now i wont be repurchasing.
but overall it is an excellent product, easy to work with, covers ok, moisturizing and natural.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Estee Lauder products

More Liquid products