The Body Shop • Shimmer Cubes • Eye Shadow

rated 3.6(56 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 JustME83 on 6/4/2008 5:40:00 PM more reviews by JustME83

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I have four of these 06, 10, 11 & 12. If I should rate them it would be in this order: 12, 06, 10 & 11. 11 have very light colors wich is not very well pigmented.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mkinthecity on 5/4/2008 7:39:00 PM more reviews by mkinthecity

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

These are nice, sheer, glimmery cubes of color. I really enjoy all the different color combinations The Body Shop has made available. The application of these colors goes on beautifully too. Although I love the look of the four cubes inside their container, and it seems to last forever - my only gripe is that they aren't the best for when you travel. I still give this product five lippies anyhow. Great product! Luv it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* crazysexycoolchick on 4/13/2008 9:51:00 PM more reviews by crazysexycoolchick

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have a lot of gripes with these eyeshadows. They aren't very finely milled or pigmented and crease after about six hours of wear. I bought it because it was on sale and the packaging is super cute, but that's the only thing good about it. Definitely will never purchase another one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* smurfkitten on 4/13/2008 9:10:00 PM more reviews by smurfkitten

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

While I do think that some of the colours are nice, I would not repurchase. The lasting power is extremely poor. Pretty much all of the shades are too glittery or shimmery without enough actual colour pigment. Also, the cheap plastic packaging sucks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 afterglow_ladydust on 2/25/2008 11:01:00 AM more reviews by afterglow_ladydust

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I wasn't satisfied by this product.
Just tooooo much glitter, rather than shimmer.
Difficult to apply, don't blend well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 wizzwoo on 1/6/2008 11:31:00 AM more reviews by wizzwoo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Good selection of colours. Nothing exceptional here though, I find the staying power is quite poor and dry or wet will barely last through 8 hours of the day. The quad has lasted me four years and I still have two cubes to go!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 blancxnoir on 12/30/2007 7:55:00 AM more reviews by blancxnoir

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have the 06 and 07 palettes of these. I've had the 06 for about 18 months, I use it nearly every day, and I've barely made a dint in it.
I find the colours versatile and easy to blend, you can do all sorts of effects with them, and you can use them for a barely there effect, or use a damp brush for more dramatic colours with longer staying power.
I find that I don't really use other shadows anymore, I can do daytime or night-time effects with these 8 colours and achieve a professional effect in about 2 minutes without even using a brush. If you were to choose one palette to start with though, I'd recommend the 06.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* crazyfrog13 on 11/24/2007 5:34:00 PM more reviews by crazyfrog13

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have two of these (palettes 6 and 7). I think they're fantastic, subtle, versatile and gorgeous. Other reviewers have complained about the cubes not blending well, but I have not had this problem. I apply them with brushes, rather than my fingers and I find that the shades in palette 07, can be blended to make a nice, subtle smoky eye. They are not highly pigmented, so if you're looking for a really dramatic look, these aren't for you. They're on the pricey side, but you get a lot of product and they last forever. I took off one lippy because the packaging is a little unpractical. The lids tend to be loose-fitting, so you can't just throw them in your makeup bag without putting some tape or a rubber band on them.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 barrioheiress on 10/30/2007 4:22:00 AM more reviews by barrioheiress

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I have to admit that I have a love/hate relationship with The Body Shop products. Some I really, really love, like their cheek/lip stains, body butter (Brazil Nut for me!) and some shampoos and fragrance oils. But when it comes to their cosmetics, I find that Body Shop doesn't always deliver. Let me start with their popular Shimmer Cubes.


I have the Shimmer Cubes in their Velvet collection, which is a square container with four solid cubes of eyeshadow colors that are can be used separately or blended together for a nice sparkly effect. The Shimmer Cubes can be quite expensive, so you have to choose the most practical shades. Some quadrants have the Brown shades and others have the Spring or Dark shades, so choose the combination that is realistically usable for work. And because of the cubes' size, you can be sure that each color will last a long, long time.


The neutral colors (like the salmon pinks, fleshy tones, and the light browns) are OK for everyday use, but can be too sparkly for the office so you might want to blend them with a matte/flat base (Revlon's Wet/Dry Singles are great matte shades that can tone down the shimmer). The product does have a tendency to form a "crust" on top when not used for a while, so you might want to clean out the crust first before applying the product onto your eyelids.


The dark hues (like the quadrant that contains forest green and dark purple) have become one of my cosmetic regrets because these shades are not as blendable as I like them to be (they either seem to stick to your eyelids or wash out completely, which is weird). They are also TOO sparkly and contain only a bare amount of pigment. If you're not careful, your eyes will have too much shimmer but no color, making your lids look oily instead of fabulous. After a while, the green and the violet also crease quite badly, leaving your eyes looking tired and dull.


Special mention: The gunmetal grey cube is the worst grey I've come across so far because it fades quickly and transforms into a brownish shade, which can be nasty. Don't bother using this for the smoky-eye look unless you have Urban Decay's Primer Potion to use this grey with, otherwise the color turns uneven and messy.


I would recommend the neutral pink/brown quads, but make sure to apply it only with make-up brushes and not your fingers because the shimmer gets stuck in your finger and not on your lids. I would definitely advise against purchasing the darker quads because of their "un-blendability" and oily sheen, unless of course, you're a pro and you can figure how to layer these with two or three other eye shadow products.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* seramadis on 8/19/2007 9:04:00 PM more reviews by seramadis

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I love these Shimmer Cubes. They're my favourite shadows next to my favourite Fyrinnae mineral shadows, and easier and more convenient to apply than Fyrinnae's loose powders. I find them easy to apply and blend with a sponge applicator, good pigmentation, many shadows I've tried are so soft and subtle you can hardly see them no matter how much you apply but that is not the case with these Shimmer Cubes, you get a good, visible amount with the first application and you can layer more on if you want greater intensity. Very beautiful colours too. I love that I can mix and match cubes from different sets to create personalized palettes, great and versatile for travelling too, you can take the palettes you want with you. Some people have complained about the flimsy packaging of the box the set comes in but I use an elastic band to hold it together and have no problems. The individual cubes themselves are so durable and resistent, you can bang them around and they are no worse for the wear, can't say that about many other pressed eye shadows I've had, I'd bang them around and they'd break into lots of chunks and fine powders. My only gripe is I wish TBS would bring out lots and lots more colours of these Shimmer Cubes, and that the ones they've already brought out weren't LE! I'd love to see a purple-violet shimmer cube set, and that they would bring out their green one again (I didn't get it, boo!), and their dark liner-coloured set, and some bronzey-golden sets...............

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Eye Shadow products