Queen Helene • Cholesterol Hair Conditioning Cream • Conditioner

rated 3.5(182 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 samsam1204 on 11/12/2012 11:50:00 PM more reviews by samsam1204

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I went to a hair salon to get highlights & the lady melted my hair. My hair was falling out & i could not get a brush threw it & my reg conditioner was not helping...a lady told me to try this so i looked it up on this site & read a million reviews & was scared to try it because there was a few bad reviews but i figured what the heck couldn't hurt it anymore! The first night after usen it my hair was not falling out & was very soft & i would brush it again!
My method is...wash & condition my hair, towel dry, apply the cholestrol cream, add a little hot/warm water to work it thur a lil easier, put hair in a bun & place a shower cap on & leave it on over night. Next morning just shampoo it out. Leaves hair very soft!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Dromero03 on 10/13/2012 11:22:00 PM more reviews by Dromero03

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I have been using this product since my teens and now in my 30s. I have fine wavy hair and when first introduced to this product, I was told it was only for women of ethnicity. However I figured if it was giving them great hair they why not me!!
I have tried this product in two ways. First by shampooing and then conditioning with this product. For my hair, it left it to greasy. I only did that once. Moving forward, I put it on in the night before bed. When I wake up in the morning I shampoo it and then condition with my normal conditioner and that does the trick. It works amazing in my hair without leaving it greasy. Depending on your hair type, you need to play with it. Method number 2 has always worked for me with no problem. Every time i use it, even the men I work with tell me how great my hair looks! I swear by this product and its dirt cheap!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Productqueen1 on 9/30/2012 5:34:00 PM more reviews by Productqueen1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i wouldn't bother with this. it smells bad, and its hard to wash out. I've tried this several times and still have the tub at home (which reminds me to throw it out now!!) its too greasy and you have to shampoo your hair 2-3 times to get the heavyness out. By shampooing it out more than 1x your already stripping all the conditioner away. so its a waste of time and money. trust me, i've tried it all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 hyacinth289 on 9/21/2012 11:27:00 PM more reviews by hyacinth289

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i probably didn't know how to use this correctly, but my jar was sitting there forever~~~ so i used it up as a shaving cream instead, but I won't be buying this again because i would prefer scented shaving gel anyway, and I am too lazy to bother with some complicated ways to make this work on my hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LosingYou on 9/21/2012 11:16:00 PM more reviews by LosingYou

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This product is great for damaged hair. I have had bad perms and bad die jobs and this product is the only product that revitalizes and rejuvenates my hair.
It works even better when you apply the product and sit under a hooded dryer for about 10-15 minutes.
Any life that is lost from your hair will be gained again once you use this product. It makes your hair super stong.
I recommend using it atleast once a week! You're hair will love it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jessabettina on 9/21/2012 9:55:00 PM more reviews by Jessabettina

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

DON'T LISTEN TO ANY BAD REVIEW! READ THIS ONE.

First of all, I must have read almost every review on this before I put it in my hair. There are a lot of bad reviews but I PROMISE if you apply it the way I did, you won't regret it.
The reason why this product doesn't work for so many people is because they don't know how to use it correctly.
-People complained that it took at least a half hour to get out of their hair, it took me two minutes.
-They couldn't comb out their hair, I could run a comb through it wet and dry.
-Thesmell is horrible? Get it straight ladies, it doesn't smell like a hospital, it smells like old ladies. Use a nice smelling conditoner after! The smell is NOT THAT BAD.
-Women say they had to shampoo their hair after, don't do that. You won't need too.
-It weighed down their hair and made it stiff? My hair feels great.

HERE'S THE SECRET LADIES, -HEAT-
What happens to bacon grease after it cools? It hardens. If you don't keep heat on your head, this product is going to be 100 times harder to get out.
My hair is just above my collar bone, and extremely damaged from bleaching and dying. It's weak and brittle and this product did fine on my hair. This is how I did it:
- I made sure my hair was clean by double shampooing.
- I dried my hair enough to the point where it wasn't dripping and probably put a good two handfuls of this stuff in my hair.
- I massaged it everywhere like normal shampoo or conditioner until I knew my hair was fully saturated.
- I didn't use a shower cap. What I used was plastic wrap. Do the same. It prevents a lot more air from touching the hair and locks in heat. Take the full box of plastic wrap and start at your ear and run it along your forehead and all the way around your head. Then just connect the pieces at the top of your head. Make sure it's sealed.
- Take a blow dryer and blow it on your head on high for about 2 minutes.
- Then what I did was I covered my hair in tin foil to keep the heat in. I heat blasted my hair when it started to lose the heat and left the product in for roughly 50 minutes.
- When I was ready to wash it out, I heat blasted it one more time and immediately jumped into the bath to wash it out.
- I washed it out with hot/warm water and it took only a few minutes.
- I then put some conditoner on and left it in for about 10 minutes. I washed it all out with luke warm water and here I am :)


No tangles, no bad smell, no weighing down, nothing. Just shiny, healthy looking hair all thanks to this product. I recommend this product as long as people follow my instructions, because using this product the wrong way can certainly mess up your hair.

21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ECPez on 9/15/2012 5:41:00 PM more reviews by ECPez

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

i've got puerto rican curly hair and my sister loves it. myself unimpressed, i always revisited this conditioner every few years, but never was impressed.

until reading many of the posts for other protein deep conditioners, which said the secret was finishing up with another conditioner. the posts continued to say that alone, protein conditioners don't really work.

i also heard a few of those posts talking about doing a hot oil treatment at the same time, and adding heat.

so i tried this conditioner again, after putting some rosemary and more almond oil on my scalp, with deep heat under a blow dryer cap over a plastic shower cap, and yup. it's pretty amazing stuff.

i've tried oil alone as well as my Ion deep treatmnt conditioner, and this queen helene stuff really pulled it all together.

warning: as i also read in a few of those same amazing posts, remember that protein tends to strip color. it melts my reds out. but i'm doing it before another coloring in a few days. also heard protein treatments are good for before coloring.

i love this makeup alley thang.

thanks, y'all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 SMichelle85 on 8/6/2012 10:13:00 PM more reviews by SMichelle85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff neither made my hair greasy nor did it make it soft. It rinses out easy enough but seriously it sucks. I have bleached hair and honestly my regular conditioner works better than this. Today (the day after using the cholesterol), my hair is reallly dry and pieces are breaking off. It also made my hair super tangly. No different to me than any cheap conditioner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* punkrockzoie on 5/14/2012 12:10:00 AM more reviews by punkrockzoie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Use this around your hairline when you're doing an at-home color. I work at a salon and we use this on clients to prevent staining around the face.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PanAm on 4/10/2012 5:39:00 PM more reviews by PanAm

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I go through this stuff like butter. Its heavy duty and meant to repair your hair. If your hair is gross from straightening it, it is not going to heal that. You cannot really heal that. I have had this in my house for YEARS and just started using it recently because a horrible shampoo damaged my hair. My heavy oiled hair suddenly became really parched. Slather my hair in this stuff daily and its pretty normal.

As for the ugly packaging- I just bought one of those pretty travel tubes from Target and poured some product in there and hid the tub in the back of my closet. Easy as pie!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Queen Helene products

More Conditioner products