Queen Helene • Cholesterol Hair Conditioning Cream • Conditioner

rated 3.5(178 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 LosingYou on 9/21/2012 11:16:00 PM more reviews by LosingYou

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This product is great for damaged hair. I have had bad perms and bad die jobs and this product is the only product that revitalizes and rejuvenates my hair.
It works even better when you apply the product and sit under a hooded dryer for about 10-15 minutes.
Any life that is lost from your hair will be gained again once you use this product. It makes your hair super stong.
I recommend using it atleast once a week! You're hair will love it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jessabettina on 9/21/2012 9:55:00 PM more reviews by Jessabettina

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

DON'T LISTEN TO ANY BAD REVIEW! READ THIS ONE.

First of all, I must have read almost every review on this before I put it in my hair. There are a lot of bad reviews but I PROMISE if you apply it the way I did, you won't regret it.
The reason why this product doesn't work for so many people is because they don't know how to use it correctly.
-People complained that it took at least a half hour to get out of their hair, it took me two minutes.
-They couldn't comb out their hair, I could run a comb through it wet and dry.
-Thesmell is horrible? Get it straight ladies, it doesn't smell like a hospital, it smells like old ladies. Use a nice smelling conditoner after! The smell is NOT THAT BAD.
-Women say they had to shampoo their hair after, don't do that. You won't need too.
-It weighed down their hair and made it stiff? My hair feels great.

HERE'S THE SECRET LADIES, -HEAT-
What happens to bacon grease after it cools? It hardens. If you don't keep heat on your head, this product is going to be 100 times harder to get out.
My hair is just above my collar bone, and extremely damaged from bleaching and dying. It's weak and brittle and this product did fine on my hair. This is how I did it:
- I made sure my hair was clean by double shampooing.
- I dried my hair enough to the point where it wasn't dripping and probably put a good two handfuls of this stuff in my hair.
- I massaged it everywhere like normal shampoo or conditioner until I knew my hair was fully saturated.
- I didn't use a shower cap. What I used was plastic wrap. Do the same. It prevents a lot more air from touching the hair and locks in heat. Take the full box of plastic wrap and start at your ear and run it along your forehead and all the way around your head. Then just connect the pieces at the top of your head. Make sure it's sealed.
- Take a blow dryer and blow it on your head on high for about 2 minutes.
- Then what I did was I covered my hair in tin foil to keep the heat in. I heat blasted my hair when it started to lose the heat and left the product in for roughly 50 minutes.
- When I was ready to wash it out, I heat blasted it one more time and immediately jumped into the bath to wash it out.
- I washed it out with hot/warm water and it took only a few minutes.
- I then put some conditoner on and left it in for about 10 minutes. I washed it all out with luke warm water and here I am :)


No tangles, no bad smell, no weighing down, nothing. Just shiny, healthy looking hair all thanks to this product. I recommend this product as long as people follow my instructions, because using this product the wrong way can certainly mess up your hair.

20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ECPez on 9/15/2012 5:41:00 PM more reviews by ECPez

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

i've got puerto rican curly hair and my sister loves it. myself unimpressed, i always revisited this conditioner every few years, but never was impressed.

until reading many of the posts for other protein deep conditioners, which said the secret was finishing up with another conditioner. the posts continued to say that alone, protein conditioners don't really work.

i also heard a few of those posts talking about doing a hot oil treatment at the same time, and adding heat.

so i tried this conditioner again, after putting some rosemary and more almond oil on my scalp, with deep heat under a blow dryer cap over a plastic shower cap, and yup. it's pretty amazing stuff.

i've tried oil alone as well as my Ion deep treatmnt conditioner, and this queen helene stuff really pulled it all together.

warning: as i also read in a few of those same amazing posts, remember that protein tends to strip color. it melts my reds out. but i'm doing it before another coloring in a few days. also heard protein treatments are good for before coloring.

i love this makeup alley thang.

thanks, y'all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 SMichelle85 on 8/6/2012 10:13:00 PM more reviews by SMichelle85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff neither made my hair greasy nor did it make it soft. It rinses out easy enough but seriously it sucks. I have bleached hair and honestly my regular conditioner works better than this. Today (the day after using the cholesterol), my hair is reallly dry and pieces are breaking off. It also made my hair super tangly. No different to me than any cheap conditioner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* punkrockzoie on 5/14/2012 12:10:00 AM more reviews by punkrockzoie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Use this around your hairline when you're doing an at-home color. I work at a salon and we use this on clients to prevent staining around the face.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PanAm on 4/10/2012 5:39:00 PM more reviews by PanAm

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I go through this stuff like butter. Its heavy duty and meant to repair your hair. If your hair is gross from straightening it, it is not going to heal that. You cannot really heal that. I have had this in my house for YEARS and just started using it recently because a horrible shampoo damaged my hair. My heavy oiled hair suddenly became really parched. Slather my hair in this stuff daily and its pretty normal.

As for the ugly packaging- I just bought one of those pretty travel tubes from Target and poured some product in there and hid the tub in the back of my closet. Easy as pie!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mahogany1985 on 2/12/2012 1:55:00 PM more reviews by mahogany1985

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Dark, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this stuff. I have been using Queen Helene for about 15 years on and off. This keeps my color treated natural hair very healthy. For the people who have stated that it didn't help there damaged hair from heat use, let me tell you NOTHING will. The only way to fix heat damage is to cut your hair and STOP using heat. As long as you are frying your hair, it will always be damaged.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fleetgoddess21 on 1/25/2012 12:34:00 AM more reviews by fleetgoddess21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I've bee using this for about 3 years on my hair. I am hungarian, scottish and dutch with very dark brunette hair that is wavy, fine in texture, and very very thick. My hair comes down to my waist and dries out easily. I literally have enough hair on my head for 3 people according to hairdressers. And thanks to this gem, combined with the cholesterol hot oil treatment, my naturally dry hair is always smooth, lush, and frizz free. How I use this is I first cater to each section of my hair: I wash it only every three days alternating between a moisturizing shampoo and Lush Big shampoo to clarify it. After shampooing, i take a glass of hot water and place the hot oil treatment in it and let it warm up. While that warms up, I put a lightweight volumizing conditioner on my roots, a moisturizing conditioner in the middle section of my hair, and the lower half of my hair gets about a tablespoon of the oil treatment, and then a good finger scoop of this conditioning cream put on over the lower half to my hair. This super rich cream seals in the oil to really let it soak in to the hair shaft and i put it up for about 10-15 minutes to really do its magic. I then rinse my hair in cold water and towel dry. I put argan oil in the lower half of my hair, apply a salt spray all over to keep my waves nice and then I sleep on my hair. I wake up with supermodel waves that are super shiny and soft after this. My hairdressers have said they have never seen anyone with healthier hair and i usually go a minimum of 3 months in between cuts. This hair routine is never going to change as my hair just absolutely loves it. If you haven't liked this cream before, try it with the oil first.

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 classicgirl05 on 11/14/2011 4:07:00 PM more reviews by classicgirl05

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I've used this product for about 5 years as a monthly treatment. My hair is very fine, color treated, with 3a curls which I sometimes straighten or leave depending on my mood.

The product has an odd scent which I don't care for but thankfully doesn't stick around after I've shampooed my hair. It comes in an eyesore of a screw top jar/tub and looks like thick yellow glop. Whatever. It's super cheap and it works well as a strengthening and defrizzing treatment for me.

The method I use is to put a protein treatment (usually neutral hair filler as it's cheap) on my damp hair and then slather this on top of it. My scalp seems to adore this treatment, especially in winter, so I do rub it into my skin. I cover with a plastic bag and sit under my oh so glamourous bonnet dryer from the 60's and wait 45 min to an hour. I rinse and then (if my hair feels especially stiff or scratchy) put my daily conditioner through and rinse that out as well. This gives my fine hair a lot of body and cuts down of the frizziness I experience. This *does not* make my hair especially soft, I have other conditioners for that, but it does feel *much* stronger and is easier to tame/style. My curls do relax for the first week after I do this treatment, but they come back full force after a couple of washes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Dreamer731 on 11/11/2011 8:16:00 PM more reviews by Dreamer731

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff did nothing it promised to do. It stripped my hair and made it feel like straw! I also find it hard to rinse out completely. When my hair was rinsed it felt hard and stiff. It was incredibly hard to comb out afterward. This stuff has no detangling benefits at all. Never again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Queen Helene products

More Conditioner products