Avalon Organics Botanicals Vitamin C Facial Cleanser

3.7

123 reviews

60% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Aloe barbadensis leaf juice(1), aqua (water), decyl glucoside sorbito, coco-glucoside, xanthan gum, citrus aurantium bergamia (bergamot) fruit oil, citrus aurantiumdulcis (orange) peel oil, citrus limon (lemon) peel oil, arnica montana flower extract(1), camellia sinensis leaf extract(1), chamomilla recutita (matricaria) flower extract(1), citrus limon (lemon) peel extract*, lavandula angustifolia (lavender) flower/leaf/stem extract(1), olea eruopaea (olive) leaf extract(1), ascorbyl glucosied, bisabolol, citric acid, glycerin, glyceryl oleate, hydrolyzed wheat protein, tocopheryl acetate, alcohol(1), benzyl alcohol, potassium sorbate, sodium benzoate, limonene. (1)Certified Organic Ingredient *Also known as lemon bioflavonoids.


on 9/13/2012 4:08:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I just tried a sample of this, but my skin loved it! After just one day of usage, my skin looked brighter. And it felt like silk going on! I may have to break down and buy a full-size.



on 9/9/2012 2:52:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I've tried this facial cleanser twice. Both products resulted in some kind of chemical burn/allergic reaction after about a week to two weeks. I really liked it in the first week; my existing breakouts went down, and although it was too drying for my skin, my complexion was bright. My usage of the product coincided with the introduction of another facial product, so I attributed the chemical burn to a full on revolution by my skin, but my second go-around with this product made me realize it's just too harsh for my skin (which is combination -- a healthy amount of oil but prone to dryness).

The chemical burn was exactly like what everyone else is describing; dry, scaly whitehead-like bumps with lots of itching and redness.

I have a friend who uses this nightly and really likes it, but her skin veers toward the oily side of the spectrum. I can see why this would be a good cleanser for some people, but it's definitely not for everyone. I've tried multiple products by this brand and have been disappointed by all of them.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/19/2012 9:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I loved this this cleanser at first. But it wasn't the best choicce for my sensitive skin. This cleanser made my skin dry and it really irritated my cheeks. Otherwise this cleanser was amazing. It cleaned beautifully, made my skin radiant and glowing. It was just too over drying. I really wish it wasnt.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Well i have dry skin and no i'm not a dumb a** i know the bottle says for normal to oily skin but i was having a hard time getting off all my long wearing makeup and been wanting to try this.
Yes it is to drying for someone like me who already has dry skin, however it breaks up longwear foundation better than anything i've used (granted no i haven't tried the expensive makeup removers which i'm sure work really well but i'll be damned if i'm paying 30-40 to take off my 30-40 $$ makeup).
Really i use maybe a pea size drop not a full pump that's overkill it really lathers up very quickly without having to use a lot of product.
If you have dry skin and decide to use this i'd recommend using it at night and to make sure you use a good moisturizer.


on 2/28/2012 5:43:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Initially, I was using FANCL's Washing Powder, and although it was excellent, it was on the pricey side. What attracted me to Avalon's Vitamin C Gel Cleanser was that it was sulfate-free and had a good concentration of Vitamin C which helps to boost collagen production and banish skins marks. After a 1/3 of product used, I can say that Avalon Organics Botanicals Vitamin C Cleanser is one of the better products I implemented into my skin care in the last couple years.

For some one with sensitive skin prone to both oiliness and dryness, most cleansers on the market are harsh and often irritatating to my face. I look for mild, "sulfate-free" formulations. I also have moderate acne on my cheeks.

After a week of using Avalon, my skin felt more softer and looked much clearer. My previous facial powder cleanser didn't do much for my acne, but Avalon's cleanser help to brighten and clear my complexion. The lather was wonderfully rich and foaming and smoothed nicely over my face. It rinsed clean, left zero residue and left my skin feeling great. And the scent was magical, like creamy-orange deliciousness! It smells so good, you can almost taste it!

I use it in conjuction with a facial cleansing oil from Origins, which removes my makeup and sunscreen. I can't say that this cleanser, alone, is strong enough to remove the "12-hour" foundation I wear, but it doesn't leave my skin parched, tight, uncomfortable, and/or irritated. So I can safely assume that this cleanser is, most definitely, mild.

If you're looking for a solid, basic, calming cleanser with high-grade ingrendients that addresses problematic and/or sensitive skin issues, try Avalon's Vitamin C. It is truly a mild formulation. Has extracts of green tea and chamomile and Allantoin to further soothe and comfort your skin. NO artificial scents/fragrances or colors.



1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/24/2012 6:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!

I thought that something natural would be better then my usual spectro gel. Spectro gel smells harsh and chemical but This cleanser gave me something that seems like a chemical burn. Itchy red and dry skin...with PATCHES of tiny whiteheads. Then came the dryness. It's been 4 days without using it and even after exfoliating it still feels like sandpaper around my jaw and cheeks.

I don't even think i would inflict this stuff on anyone. Absolute worst cleanser i have ever used and i thought natural would be gentler..EEK.

One plus is that it smells nice... deceiving. lol


on 12/26/2011 9:02:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is a review for the gel cleanser in this line. My skin loves vitamin C and it seemed to make sense to have it in my face wash too. I have been loving my Clarisonic lately as I feel it makes the active ingredients in my cleansers work better on my skin. This stuff is amazing even without my Clarisonic. Immediately after rinsing off my skin looks bright and clear and my huge pores are like half the size. My active acne goes down too. Finally, it smells great and has no harmful chemicals. Totally worth the price!


on 12/6/2011 11:53:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is my new HG facial gel cleanser!!! I have combo oily skin and this does not dry my skin out, but it cleans it so well! And the orange smell and organic part about it is awesome !!


on 11/17/2011 8:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I only used this once and it broke me out. I have used a DIY vitamin C serum and had no problems, so I am not sure what is this that broke me out. I also did not like the texture that it left on my face afterwards. I like that this is organic, but it didn't agree with me unfortunately.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/13/2011 9:20:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This stuff works great for me. I like to get natural organic skin care products, that don't test on animals, and I want them to work. I what to limit the amount of chemicals I put on my skin but just because it is all natural doesn't mean it will do good for your skin; what may be good for one not be good for another & all natural products are no exception. I bought all natural self tanner once that broke me out in hives all over my body. it didn't work for me. I would consider my skin slightly sensitive but it isn't that bad, there are only a few products that bother ny skin. This is not one of them. My skin is combination with acne but it isn't as oily as it was a few years ago. I can see how this could be drying or irritating for people. The oils in it could cause irritation in sensitive skin. At first I thought it may be too drying for me but I decide to use less than a pump to wash my face & I found it worked better. This stuff seems to be very concentrated I only use about 1/4 of a pump to wash my face & it works great. It realty gets my skiing clean & in the evening when I take off my make up I use ponds then wash with this & it cleans by face with out overdrying. This stuffs smells awesome too.
EDIT: 11/2014 still using it and loving it. My daughter also uses it now that she needs something more than just water and a wash cloth on her face.


Back to Top