Ben Nye • Final Seal • Other

rated 4.4(87 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.90%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pinknika on 4/2/2013 6:30:00 PM more reviews by pinknika

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am not sure why there are so many good reviews, I have tried this twice now, thinking it was the foundation underneath that was the problem. Nope.


I used this over the graftobian hd creme foundation, then over that was the Ben Nye bella luxury powder, then I sprayed my face. It doesn't spritz out evenly or fine at all, there were definatley some large droplets on my face.


At first I was in love, my skin looked pretty good, a little shiny and plasticky but kinda glowy. Then hours later, I looked close up in the mirror and to my horror my skin was cracked out like a turtle shell or crackle nail polish, the most obvious was my nose, it was disturbing. I tried to blend it away but it just made it worse. I thought it could have been the ben nye powder because it's got talc in it but nope.


Tried this again today, over the cinema secrets foundation. The crackle came hours later but not as noticeable but my face was SHINY and I blotted it and ew, I looked at my tissue and traces of foundation and oil everywhere.


I'm not giving up on makeup setting sprays, but this one is horrible. Will try other ones!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Parisa909 on 1/25/2013 5:55:00 AM more reviews by Parisa909

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

If you want your make up to be sweat-proof and rain-proof, get Final Seal. Initially I wanted to purchase Urban Decay's 'All Nighter' setting spray but bought Ben Nye's due to the fact I've had good experiences with previous products and that they use this spray in theatre with high-energy dancers. I love using Final Seal, it does exactly what I want it to do, typically I spray 4-5 sprays over my entire face after doing my make up and wait for it to dry. It doesn't move or fade my make up, it just locks everything in place. I can feel my face getting hot and sweaty, but when I check in the mirror, I can't see it at all! Which means Final Seal is great at it's job. It has a minty mouthwash scent, which I quickly got over.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 anglerfish on 12/26/2012 8:53:00 AM more reviews by anglerfish

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this as a cheaper alternative to Kryolan's fixing spray and I'd say you get what you pay for!

Pros:
- Price
- Didn't break me out

Cons:
- Has a sickly peppermint smell which is unpleasant and disconcerting to apply to the face
- Doesn't work due to application method. Spritzer does not create a fine mist but big globules of product that does not cover the face. I tried applying with brush like some recommendations, even though I blotted with a good quality (Benefit) foundation brush, it just took all my make up off. Result was blotchy make up that stuck that way
- Causes make up to sink into pores, I ended up with a polkadot nose.
- Make up didn't stay, when I tried to apply more over the top I couldn't rub it in over the Final Seal, again blotchy

In short I don't see any redeeming quality of this product, can't understand the rave reviews

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Quilley on 11/9/2012 8:49:00 AM more reviews by Quilley

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I pretty much agree with all positive (4-5) reviews here with a 4-5 rating. I bought this last week after getting frustrated with seals that either dry out my skin or break me out due to mineral oils and/or silicone. Wow. I tried it two ways; sprayed it directly on my finished face. Two, sprayed it on a damp sponge and patted it on.

Both ways worked very well. I cannot compare this to any other product, maybe Sue Devitt - maybe - but without the seaweed extracts. etc. It did not leave me matte per se, but that's because I use two types of shimmer on my face.

I also sprayed a spoolie with and used it to set my eyebrows and it held just fine. Not HE eyebrow seal fine, but well enough. I don't wear makeup more than 8-9 hours a day normally, so this was fine for me.

The brochure says it was really made for tv and film makeup which is major because of the types of makeup applied in those cases along with the long hours of shooting, so I figure that for the price and ingredients. it's really good enough for me.

It's really nice to know that I don't "have' to have Sue D's, (although that's really my fav) when I have this around and can happily have a high end and low end type in my stash. I'm happy with this, very happy.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JustMeas on 10/9/2012 2:05:00 AM more reviews by JustMeas

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

Long time user of Final Seal. I've read some negatives and believe some may be result of application. I've used a variety of methods: small spray bottle, close eyes and spray. Spray in the air and walk into the mist, or spray on a clean brush and put it where I want it. I say find your best way and enjoy all day perfection. Makeup does not move - and I'm very oily.

My makeup does not cake or crease and that's a blessing around the eyes. Just spray on a clean brush and pat down concealer to set.
And no breakouts.

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shadesofyellow on 9/16/2012 6:19:00 PM more reviews by shadesofyellow

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Wow, just wow. I have an acne-prone skin w/a very oily t-zone. Final Seal is not kidding when it says, 'seal'. At the end of a 10-hour day my face looks nearly as good as when I left the house. My t-zone does not get oily at all.
I do however have two issues, but I think it has more to do with the Kryolan Anti-Shine Powder I use. On my nose, where I am most oily, the powder sort of accumulates near the oily pores (not cute at all). And since I used Final Seal over it, I can't buff it out when I notice it during the day. So I end up with these weird spots on my nose (and sometimes chin). Again, not really Final Seal's problem, it's just doing its job.
Second issue is the pump/mister. It doesn't spray in a fine mist which is crucial for this product to work well. I get some fat droplets that, if I don't blot before it dries, will be evident on my face. I've stopped using this until I can find a better mister.
I'm not sure if this would be a great product for drier skin folks because I think the mattifiying effect might have to do with the SD alcohol sucking up the facial oils.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 queensam on 9/6/2012 7:39:00 PM more reviews by queensam

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

It works better than Skindinavia AND Model In A Bottle. It's not all THAT great but it does a pretty good job. I have oily skin so i'm used to being shiny by mid-day and although I still do see some shine, it's not as apparent. Price-wise, you couldn't wrong! I got mines for only $7 on MakeUpMania! Packaging wise, not so much. For one, it's ugly and unattractive(all ben nye products are ugly), and the spray bottle does not give much of a "fine" mist. I almost like someone flicked water at your face when you spray it. lol. OH, AND ANOTHER TIP, do NOT spray this on before makeup application!!!! You will get blotchy looking dots all over your face. But if you do decide you want to apply it before the makeup, I would suggest spraying it on to a beauty blender and apply it that way. But all in all, it works, does the job, thats all that matters.


P.S. IT SMELLS LIKE LISTERINE MOUTHWASH!!!!!!! BEWARE!!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TriciaVivianna on 8/7/2012 12:49:00 AM more reviews by TriciaVivianna

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I live in Texas and it reaches over 100 degrees during the summertime. On top of that I work at a bakery for 8 hours a day and my makeup would always just smear and melt off my face. Ever since I've started using this I haven't had that problem.

The spray can come out a little uneven from the bottle so I find it best to spray it on a brush and apply over my makeup or spray directly on my face and use a cloth to even it out.

The price isn't too bad but you have to buy it online and shipping can add up a bit. I spent a total of $24 which beats the price of every other spray I have tried. Honestly, I will continue to buy this for the rest of my life. It leaves my face feeling fresh and hasn't caused me any breakouts for the three months that I've used it. I definitely recommend this product.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 beabeautyqueen on 7/14/2012 11:45:00 AM more reviews by beabeautyqueen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

As far as prolonging your makeup goes, this spray does more than any other setting agent will ever do for you. This is a great product, and it does exactly what it claims to do. I just woke up from having a little nap and I'd previously applied makeup and sprayed this on my face. I looked at my white pillowcase, and absolutely no makeup had transferred. I have however, noticed two problems with this spray. First of all, the product claims to be mattifying? It does the complete opposite on my skin. It actually gives is a dewy sheen, however I overcome this by buffing in with a stippling brush immediately after spraying. There is still a slight shine present. But no, it definitely does not mattify my skin. I also find that after about 8 hours when the makeup beneath is trying to move, my pores appear bigger with the spray ontop. I have no idea why. That being said, these are my only two problems with this setting spray. It seriously does keep your makeup on. I have never in my life had my eye makeup stay on without creasing. Sprayed this onto my eyelids and wow - they stayed true in colour WITHOUT a crease, all day. My foundation stays looking fresh too. Not morning fresh, but still fresh enough. The scent is beautiful and this is one of the best smelling products I have ever come across. It isn't a strong alcoholic peppermint scent at all and is a very refreshing and light. This wasn't cheap for me to buy here in Aus and I paid - $28 for only 59ml, but I will still continue to use this. So far it has not dried out my skin at all. Do not be stupid and waste your money on mac or Urban Decay. They are overrated and surely couldn't have the staying power that the Ben Nye final seal has. I am a performer and often perform under bright lights in hot environments. I dance, sing and play piano on stage so you could imagine that this in conjunction with the bright lights would result in my makeup sweating off. I am quite confident that this spray will fix that problem and I will definitely do an update after my next show. Happy with it so far, but due to the finish and the pore issue I have to give this one 4 lippies. Coming back to do an update after my next big stage performance. Hope this review helps, beautyqueens!

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cmacintyre100 on 6/22/2012 5:11:00 PM more reviews by cmacintyre100

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Excellent setting spray and is well priced, as all Ben Nye products are. Seals makeup well - great product for brides. I like the scent, it is minty, might not be for everyone though. Product does contain alcohol so may be problematic for very sensitive skin, however I have not had any issues yet.

Only thing I wish they would change is the spray nozzle. I find it clogs every now and then and sprays out in globs, kind of like a clogged hair spray bottle. Aside from that will definitely repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Ben Nye products

More Other products