MAC • Matte Blush - Frankly Scarlet • Blush

rated 4.5(107 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 tinaduongg on 6/2/2012 12:26:00 PM more reviews by tinaduongg

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love this color on my skin! I've always wanted a RED blush, but not too red. I've had the NARS deep throat but it was more on the pink coral side. I was really scared when I first bought it. It looks intimidating but seriously just apply this with a fluffy brush because if you do a thick condensed brush it picks up more color which will make you look like a clown! always use this light handedly, and then apply more as desired. it's hard to remove blush so be careful. this color is rare to find, as it is just PLAIN red, and no sprinkles. so all the stars you see who have just RED on their cheek, they most likely have used this. NARS exhibit a has tones of orange, so as i said, this you can't compare to the nars one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bubblegumpoo on 5/22/2012 2:17:00 AM more reviews by bubblegumpoo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have a bit of natural redness to my skin, which I am always trying to cover with foundation. That's why I'd never even thought about purchasing a red blush. I was fortunate enough to be gifted this though, and thank goodness for that! This is my fool-proof blush that I like to wear on days when I want to achieve the "no makeup look", as it gives such a natural flush of color to your cheeks.
This needs to be applied very carefully though, so brush selection is key. On my first attempt with this, I grabbed my 187, dipped it into the product 3 or 4 times, and sweeped it across my cheeks. Disaster. A smaller brush like the 130 is much wiser, and you don't need to dip it into the pan more than once.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* decoydream on 4/7/2012 3:35:00 AM more reviews by decoydream

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Black    

My first MAC blush ever and i'm completely in love with it. As others have said, it looks bright in the pan and is extremely pigmented. But on the skin (i have quite fair asian skin... about NC20 in summer/autumn) it looks like a natural snow white-esque flush. Lovely!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ultraviolet1 on 3/30/2012 2:00:00 PM more reviews by ultraviolet1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

One of the mosy underrated products i think. I love bright blushes and yes it even makes me freak out in the pan...but with a right brush ( and imho this is Mac 187 or 188 ) you don't even need a light hand to apply it. Just don't get mistaken to think of it as a regular "matte"&"powder"&"blush" and try to apply it with habits. It's one of the best blushes ever for me, exciting, pure love that makes you flush <3

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 iloovelalu on 3/2/2012 1:29:00 AM more reviews by iloovelalu

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love mac blushes. The pigmentation and texture of this product are no exception. I returned it, however, after a friend asked if I were sick while I was wearing it. Probably not for those with fairer skin, even when applied with a light hand.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Esmay on 2/25/2012 5:56:00 PM more reviews by Esmay

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Silver   Eyes: Blue    

I have very fair, cool skin with neutral to pinkish undertones but absolutely no color in my cheeks what so ever. My skin is a lot younger than I am. however. I have to stick to a more 'natural' look in order not to look creepy.

Yet I reached for Frankly Scarlet and I'm glad I did! If you swatch it on your hand you will see that, even tho it's touted as a matte, it has some sheen to it. I barely touch a fan brush to the pan, dust off excess, and waft the brush over the apples of my cheeks. And, yes, there is that beautiful matte 'roses' flush. Because it is so bright and pure it doesn't look muddy on older complexions and the slight sheen that is noticeable on the hand I believe keeps it from becoming dull on the cheek. I usually put on a very light layer of Physicians Formula transluscent pearl beads powder (solid compact form) over the blush to give it a final natural glow.

I have always looked dead without blusher and have become a master of the process. Frankly Scarlet is one of the best and I'm not a great MAC admirer. The price wasn't too bad at about $27 cdn. considering it will last me 20 years and considering it was going to cost me that much to buy a NYX dupe online. This and Pinch of Peach (which is really a very nice sheer pink) are the only two MAC blushes I like.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aznmnkygrl808 on 2/22/2012 4:30:00 AM more reviews by aznmnkygrl808

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This blush is frickin gorgeous. Looks scary bright in the pan but you only need the tiniest amount to give a natural glow to your face. Makes your cheeks look like you've been out in the cold. I doubt I'll ever hit pan on this blush. But if I do, def would repurchase! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Horny on 2/20/2012 8:03:00 AM more reviews by Horny

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this colour after seeing a girl on You Tube use it a lot (Pixi2Woo I think?). It looks so bright and scary in the pan, and has a very strong pigment, but like the girl on You Tube does, I apply it to my cheeks and then I tone it down slightly with foundation or powder. The colour is beautiful, on my NC30/C4 skin its a flush of deep pink and looks like my skin is naturally glowing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JaymeP on 2/19/2012 4:06:00 PM more reviews by JaymeP

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE THIS BLUSH! I received it in a swap and nearly had a heart attack when I opened the package and saw BRIGHT RED!
However, with careful application, it gives you a healthy flush, like playing hockey in the early morning of spring!
LIGHT HAND, TAKE MOST OF THE PRODUCT OFF ON YOUR HAND (your brush will deceive you and you will think there is nothing on it! but never fear!) THEN APPLY TO CHEEKS! Lovely!
Gone overboard? Take your foundation brush and just go over it!
Beautiful, would repurchase but don't even have to seeing it will last until I'm 102 at this rate!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Angelamakeup on 1/31/2012 3:53:00 PM more reviews by Angelamakeup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

A little goes a long way. This blush is so much like Nars Exhibit A. You have to be extremely light handed with this color and barely touch your blush brush onto the ballet. Make sure you tap off any excess and then apply it. If itís too dark, use your foundation brush to soften up the look. It gives like a frost bitten rosy cheeked look. It will surprise you because the color is kind of scary in the pan. If you apply it right, it can look so cute, if not, you might end up looking like a clown.

I marked that I'd repurchase this product because I like it, but I think I would never ever have to because this seems like it would last FOREVER.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Blush products