La Roche Posay • Toleriane Soothing Protective Facial Cream • Moisturizers

rated 3.8(86 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Rahn on 12/2/2010 11:12:00 PM more reviews by Rahn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I used this product for a couple of days. It was very moisturizing. It softened the dry spots on my face and my face felt really soft. The reason why i stopped using this is because I felt burning sensation around my eyes. The tissue around the eyes is the most sensitive on the face and for the cream to be making a burning sensation is not a good sign. I loved the way it moisturized and left a nice sheen on my face but because of the burning sensation around my eye, i had to stop using it. Also, the cream has a "chemical" smell to it which is disturbing since it is made for the most sensitive skin. Not to mention the price isnt cheap either. I paid around $30 for a very small amount. My skin is highly sensitive. I would not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jinhee on 11/7/2010 12:20:00 PM more reviews by Jinhee

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I use exfoliants regularly and I need soothing, healing moisturizer that will not cause more problems in the long run. This line is silmilar to avene. Very gentle and cost-effective. Many items to address varying levels of stress in your face and body. The cream version is heavier and moisturized well but I don't like to wear it during the day. Not as elegant as the fluid version. I will not be purchasing because I have other moisturizers that work just the same.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vmgarcia02 on 9/28/2010 6:52:00 PM more reviews by vmgarcia02

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was using jojoba oil before, which was great for my acne prone skin at the beginning bit I then found it also gave me spots. Perhaps it was way too heavy for summer use? This is a wonderful product with very few ingredients and it hasn't broken me out in spots at all, very light and hydrating it feels perfectly natural on my skin and not heavy at all. I love it!!! Very very happy with my purchase I feel like I have finally found my moisturiser!!! This ones for keeps :) hurray!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sallysellsseashells on 9/20/2010 4:32:00 PM more reviews by sallysellsseashells

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Good for sensitive skin. I have combo/oily skin and this hydrates very well three seasons of the year. However, I live in a location where the winters get very very cold and in constant heat blasted indoors. I'm noticing in the winter, this doesn't hydrate as good and my flaky areas still aren't soothed. The texture is a bit sticky and takes about three minutes to completely sink into the skin. I like this because it doesn't clog my pores and it has no scent. I think it is a bit too pricey for the amount you get and it doesn't have any anti-aging, SPF or brighening poperites. This is just a very basic moisturizer. This moisturizer comes in a nice tube however you don't get a whole lot of product. For a 1.35oz tube, you'll be looking to spend $22. La Roche Posay is found @ CVS.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bittersweet_delite on 5/20/2010 8:46:00 PM more reviews by bittersweet_delite

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My HG moisturizer! Almost anything can make me break out...i find that the less i put on my face, the better. this lotion is so pure and doesn't have a ton of ingredients to clog my pores. I love that is has no scent and it moisturizes my normal/combination skin perfectly in the winter. I find that it is a little heavy for me in the summer on hot and humid days so maybe i will try out the lighter version this summer. I also love the Toleriane foaming cleanser!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 katy7 on 4/12/2010 2:27:00 PM more reviews by katy7

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I started using this instead of the Toleriane facial fluid for moisturizing during the winter. Same ingredients, heavier moisturizer. Plus, I'm not sure if this one is oil-free as well since it has caused me to have a very few congested pores but no visible breakouts. That is the only downside plus with my oily skin, I only use it at night because it leaves me very shiny and with a film on my skin. Not sure I could put makeup on over it. I also mix it with my retin-A every other night instead of Obagi blender for more moisture. My face has stopped peeling since doing this. For daytime moisture, I still use the LRP Effaclar Matte.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sarika on 4/8/2010 11:30:00 AM more reviews by sarika

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this for about 2 weeks, and it is just ok. I had been using Dior's Sorbet Creme, which has been discontinued. The La Roche lotion feels light to the touch and has no scent...it seems to sink into skin quickly. However, it felt like I had a slight film on my skin, and by the end of the day, my face felt greasy. Unexpected, since my skin is dry/combination/sensitive. It's also begun to sting around my eyes upon application - usually disappears in a few minutes but strange since it is for sensitive skin. The hunt continues for my HG everyday moisturizer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KayW on 3/25/2010 5:34:00 PM more reviews by KayW

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I'VE BEEN USING THIS LOTION FOR JUST A COUPLE OF DAYS. I CHOSE IT BECAUSE I HAVE BEEN TRYING TO FIND A LOTION WITHOUT A TON OF INGREDIENTS TO CLOG MY PORES. IT DOESN'T CONTAIN HARSH AND UNSAFE INGREDIENTS LIKE MOST MOISTURIZERS. I HAVE DRY SKIN WITH SOME OIL, PATCHES OF ECZEMA, PRONE TO CLOGGED PORES AND PIMPLES. I AM VERY HAPPY WITH IT SO FAR. I DO HAVE TO USE A SEPARATE MOISTURIZER FOR UNDER MY EYES SINCE IT ISN'T MOISTURIZING ENOUGH FOR THAT AREA. I AM USING IT WITH THE TOLERIANE DERMO CLEANSER. BOTH WERE PURCHASED AT MY CVS. IF IT WORKS, IT WILL BE WORTH THE MONEY.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 HydrangeaBlues on 1/29/2010 10:19:00 AM more reviews by HydrangeaBlues

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

My skin is combination/dry (more on the dry side when on BCP). I can only avoid the occasional cyst by using the right skincare and stick to it.

I got this product (in late October) because my cheeks were getting sensitive. At the time I thought it should be a result of too much sun exposure and the fragrance of the moisturizer I was using (RLP Hydraphase Light - I really liked this, used it for almost 4 months without a problem, I reviewed this one too). I chose this one because I wanted something simple, light weighted but moisturizing enough, that wouldn't break me out and that also would help me to reduce the sensitiveness of my cheeks. I'm still using it now, it's almost empty.

This is so so to me:
1. Easy to apply and quickly absorbed by the skin
2. However it doesn't give my skin a glow or a fresh look
3. Moisturizing enough during Winter
4. It didn't help at all with the redness of my cheeks. They still become red to the touch. Not that they are very reactive (my cheeks tolerate AHA/BHA products), but I was hoping the redness was just something temporary.
5. My skin isn't great right now (acne is getting back), but I can't say if this moisturizer is the reason because I stopped using BCP 2 months ago.

I choose the "won't repurchase" option because overall I'm not impressed with this product and I rather prefer to search for another moisturizer when I finish this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Graceful26 on 1/27/2010 9:54:00 PM more reviews by Graceful26

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I got a full tube of this a while back in a swap and it has lasted me about 2 months.

I'm not sure if this is the "cream" or "fluide" because it doesn't say so on the tube (but it IS the tube & not the pump version).

This is a beautiful lotion. It's very light but moisturizing enough for my combination skin during the Vancouver/Canada winter months. (I spent about a week in freezing-cold Toronto temperatures and this seemed to hydrate sufficiently; though, for someone with slightly drier skin, something else may be needed).

It is scentless (which I love) and gives a nice radiance to the face (it sinks in soon enough but never looks completely matte on my face; that said, I never feel the need to add more throughout the day).

It also has the fewest ingredients of the LRP products so it's very good for sensitive skin. I did break out from time to time (usually around my cycle) but can't say I noticed anything obviously linked to this cream. Not sure if I would have a different experience in the summer but for now this works well.

Note: Toleriane is probably better for ladies up to their later 20s as it does not contain Niacin which is supposedly important for anti-aging. It does contain Vit. E, though.

I would definitely buy this product again if I can't find anything better; frankly, so far I haven't. I just bought the LRP Rosaliac Skin Perfecting Anti-redness Moisturizer so I'll see how this goes (I didn't notice any obvious calming of some of the redness in my cheeks and around my nose). If I love this, I'll probably stick with this - otherwise, nothing wrong with the Toleriane.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More La Roche Posay products

More Moisturizers products