Ponds • Deep Cleanser Cold Cream • Cleansers

rated 4.1(1199 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amtn on 5/27/2014 8:07:00 AM more reviews by amtn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I was previously using Dove's Deep Cleanser which is identical to Pond's Cold Cream!
Ponds in Australia is found at Chemist Warehouse for roughly $5 for the small tub or $8 for the gigantic tub of 269grams. The Dove is found in Priceline for $10. Sometimes Ponds is hard to find, I just buy Dove.

I had difficulties using cold cream at first. I could never remove the greasy film it left on my skin. This stuff doesn't wash off. I'm not a fan of having to use a fabric/cloth to wipe it off either. I tried, the make up stains on the cloth were a pain to remove! Plus using the same cloth regularly? Bacteria. No thanks.

This is how I get it to work for me.
Make sure your face and hands are dry.
1. Dot a thumb size amount on cheeks, tip of nose, forehead and chin.
2. Start rubbing the thick, white cream into your skin, all over your face. It will start off feeling viscous but keep working it in. After 4 mins or so, the cream will thin out into a clear oil film. Your make up should be emulsified by now by this film of oil. Your face is no longer white, but a shiny, oil slick.
3. THIS IS THE MOST IMPORTANT PART.
Leave your face as is. Wet your hands. Put a 2cm dollop size of St Ives Green tea scrub. Rub your hands together and then massage the product all over your face for a minute or so, breaking down the oil.
Wash face with luke warm water.
4. Tone with cotton pad and Witch Hazel.
I. AM. OFFICIALLY. PIMPLE. FREE.

I have been using this technique ever since I accidentally stumbled upon it - a year. Goodness, gone are the days when my T-zone was an oil slick. My make up lasts much longer now. My skin is even, I use less make up. I'm so so so happy. I told the dermatologist about Ponds cold cream and she says it makes sense.. Using oil to combat oil. Ponds draws out the excess oils and impurities from your skin. At first, you may experience some break outs but keep persisting. It's the product working. The eczema around my lips and eyelids are gone also. But my biggest insecurities have always been my massive pores. ON MY NOSE. The white heads and blackheads were filthy. Using Ponds, I could feel... the whiteheads coming out when massaged the oil over my nose. Now it's much much better!

Essentially this technique is called oil cleansing. When done correctly, it can work miracles. Just make sure you remove the oils!

I hope this helps someone :) I promise you'll see results after 2 weeks!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 roxycat on 5/26/2014 1:22:00 PM more reviews by roxycat

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Great eye makeup remover. Dissolves everything instantly. No tugging, no drying. Leaves my sensitive eye area feeling hydrated.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 SUGAJAY on 5/15/2014 8:31:00 PM more reviews by SUGAJAY

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I started wearing make up about 4 days a week but would remove it with warm wash cloths. I felt that wasn't good enough and that I should buy a remover then use a wash cloth after. So I began my hunt..

I'm having mixed emotions with this product. Usually before I buy or try any new product, I read several reviews from various sources then make my own decision. 85% of what i read about this was great especially for my skin type so I bought it. I did like that it was a cream but I didn't like the container it came in because I had to dip my hands/thumb in it. I applied it then used a warm cloth to remove as it instructed. I didn't like the smell but I figured since it left my skin feeling so soft and smooth it was ok. I went to bed happy. I woke up to find streaks of my foundation on my pillow. I still used it the following night, rubbed and wiped my face more thoroughly but used a towel to dry my face and STILL found make up on my face. The next day I woke up to a few small breakouts but I figured it was because I'm starting a new product that my skin isn't used to yet. I really didn't want to give up so on the third night I applied a little more cream which was even worse because not only was it even harder to remove but my skin felt sooo greasy. I had to use a toner to try and get it all completely off.

I don't want to give up on this product but I use it twice a week. I plan to use it until it's all finished but as of right now I really am not too impressed but it's only been a month so I'm not too sure if I should just give up on it. Also it does leave my face feeling smooth the next morning but who knows if its just left over product, my toner or a combination of the two :S

...still looking for a great cleaner/make up remover

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JustCakey on 5/5/2014 8:41:00 PM more reviews by JustCakey

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I am so happy someone mentioned this stuff to me, I have been buying expensive eye makeup removers for years, totally oblivious that something cheaper and just as effective was out there. I hate eye makeup removers that are liquid, I feel like it's drying and I tug to take stuff off. I was happy to find this cheap cream.
Takes my eye makeup off, like wah-bam, I just use a kleenex, dip a tiny bit of the kleenex in the cream and rub the makeup off. I have had the same jar for almost a year and it's still 2/3rds full since I only use it for my eye makeup. I won't be buying estee lauder take it away anymore, or anything like it, ever again. My wallet is much happier.
Con: does have a little residue, I take my eye makeup off before bed, the apply moisturizer, there is never any residue when I wake up in the morning though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LilyMakeupEvan on 5/5/2014 7:13:00 PM more reviews by LilyMakeupEvan

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have always been sick of makeup removers that you have to scrub in your face and eyes to get stuff off and I can feel my skin aging with every removal night. THIS STUFF LITERALLY JUST MELTS EVERYTHING OFF. But not by itself. Im sure people use a warm wet cloth, I just use this and use baby wipes! I guess some people here don't like the "greasy" feeling, when you purchase this, buy some cheap cleansing wipes (equate) or baby wipes for a dollar or so. Apply a dollop of this on your face like you would for any moisturizer, make sure to get into the lashes well. Take a wipe and wipe it off. THIS WORKS and no greasy feeling. You have 0 makeup on your face and its clean too because you are using a cleansing wipe. I wouldn't use a warm wet washcloth because if I'm going to have to walk to my sink and get warm water, I might as well just wash my face. This is ah-mazing, no tugging and everything comes off. USE MY METHOD BECAUSE ITS THE BEST ONE SO FAR. Only cons 1) packaging is jar and this lasts so make sure you have clean fingers when you scoop 2) smells like strong roses/old lady, I like it but most people wont. 3) has mineral oil so make sure it's not gonna break you out

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jujup on 5/4/2014 5:28:00 PM more reviews by jujup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

i bought this a few months ago when I was on MUA looking at cleansers. This had such great ratings that I decided to try it. Now to start, I use Revlon Colorstay 24 hr Combination/Oily Skin Foundation. I love, love, love this foundation, but...it is difficult to get off compared to most foundations...which it should be because it if came off easily it wouldn't have great staying power. Second, I have acne prone skin as well as combination skin. This product has not caused my acne to be any worse, which I am glad to hear. The Ponds Deep Cleanser Cold Cream is the best thing I have found to remove my makeup and is great for the waterproof eye makeup as well (although my favorite eye makeup remover is Wal-Mart's Equate version of Neutrogena's Oil Free eye makeup remover). This is not something you just smear on your face lightly and just wipe right off. I actually get a decent amount and really work it on the skin to remove the makeup. While doing this, I notice that the makeup is dissolving and the cream is becominig more "liquid" and thinner as the makeup is mixing in with it. I have always used a dry washclothe to remove the cream and it takes it right off. I just read a few reviews about using a wet washclothe as well and it seems to be the same either way for me, I guess because of the way I work the cream into the skin. I never cared for the feeling the cream left on my face after I wiped it off, so I take Johnson & Johnson Head to Toe Baby Body Wash and lightly wash my face with that to remove the remaining oiliness from the cream. Then I moisturize and go about my day!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mkinthecity on 4/21/2014 2:05:00 PM more reviews by mkinthecity

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

EDIT: I now use Queen Helene Almond Scented Cream. It has a really nice fragrance, cruelty free, and made in the USA! If you have issues with the fragrance of Pond's, you gotta try the Queen Helene brand! They have a cucumber and another one that smells like jasmine. At Sally Beauty it is $5.49 for 15 oz - much better value too:)

Tried this cult classic for the first time the other day. It really kept my skin moist and plump looking, but the scent made my eyes itchy and watery. If you don't have an allergy to fragrances, this is a great product and available everywhere:)

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* valmont32677 on 4/17/2014 8:14:00 PM more reviews by valmont32677

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

WOW!! After reading some reviews on this product (& also how to use it properly!), I took the plunge & decided to get this, & I am so impressed! It made my Sephora 24H waterproof liquid eyeliner & Rimmel 25H foundation literally dissolve w/o major scrubbing like I do w makeup wipes (all brand except Ole Henriksen). I've only used it today, but I am going to keep using this most definitely & I will update if this breaks me out or gives me sties in my eyes. (I have oily skin, don't break out real often, been using Clinique 3 Step w #3/DDM Gel 2x a day & Clinique liquid oil free soap A.M., but I never really could figure out a good way to remove the makeup in the P.M. other than makeup wipes!). I rubbed a small amount of the cream around my face and eyelid areas & then I used a cheap washcloth dipped in very hot water & steamed my face for about a minute, rinsed the washcloth w more hot water, rubbed the cold cream off & all the makeup, then used Clinique #3 & the DDMG so *keeping fingers crossed* here's to hoping I have found a good thing! PS: I also love the scent of this & also that it's a classic that so many women have trusted this product for so many years is reassuring too!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 nicoleligia on 4/9/2014 9:21:00 PM more reviews by nicoleligia

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have dry skin, nothing too bad, just good skin. It's always been very clear and soft. I very rarely get acne, so that's a good thing. This product was awesome for gently taking off my mascara and eye makeup without breakage, which I constantly fear on my short, straight lashes. I was contemplating on buying another Mary Kay eye makeup remover, but decided to grab this on a trip to Ulta. That product is lovely. For removing face makeup I hate this product. It doesn't really work at all. And considering I only wear concealer and blush on most days, it doesn't take it off. Wipe your face with a white towel after using this to remove your makeup and you may see what I mean. It also leaves a gross film over my face, and I have to rinse two more times to get it completely off. Maybe I got a lousy tub?
I'm not sure. It's unfortunate because I really wanted to like this product. Oh well..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MOUNTAINGIRL on 4/5/2014 10:54:00 PM more reviews by MOUNTAINGIRL

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I recently switched to MAC prolong lasting foundation, and the cleanser I had been using just wouldn't get it all off. So I jumped on MakeupAlley to see what was reccomended. Picked up a travel size jar of Ponds, and started my testing. My skin is very sensetive (major), and gets those horrible little whiteheads you can't get rid of very easily. I'm 68 and I don't need anything extra happening to my face at this late date. So I started using the Ponds, wiping off with a warm washcloth, followed by Ponds evening soothe towlettes. My face felt great, and I knew it was clean. After about 2 or 3 weeks I noticed some of those blackheads I had were gone. But the most amazing thing , it cleaned out a huge pore ( result of a Dr's attempt to get out a cyst) that never ever been this clean. You really can't even tell it's there. Believe me, I have tried everything to get that clean, and nothing did the trick. I was so pleased with the results, I deceided to try Ponds Dark spot correcting cream. If it works as well as the cleansing cream, I will be delighted. Let you know in about 3 weeks, if it works. UPDATE: I am now on my third jar, no need to say I love it! It gets off all my makeup, except I don't use it for my eye makeup (makes my eyes itch).

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Ponds products

More Cleansers products