Murad • AHA/BHA Exfoliating Cleanser • Scrubs

rated 4.2(146 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 julieejuicee on 10/9/2012 12:09:00 AM more reviews by julieejuicee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got a large sample tube of this. I have been using it for about 2 weeks or more, and I like it a lot! I don't have sensitive skin, so I use this everyday and I haven't had any adverse effects. At first I thought it wasn't doing anything and it seemed too gentle. But then, I got a huge pimple (hormonal) and it went away MUCH faster than usual. I don't have acne that often anymore, but when I do get a breakout, it's a big one, and right in the middle of my forehead lol. It usually takes 2 weeks for it to clear up. But since I was using this, it went away in 3 days! Also, if I feel a smaller pimple coming, it doesn't come up at all when i'm using this. My skin also looks brighter and much smoother. I usually don't spend a lot on skincare products, but when this sample runs out, i'm definitely buying the full size if I keep getting such great results.

EDIT: I've been using this a few months now, and it's still amazing! I have a lot less breakouts than usual and my skin has just been really good lately. And the full size bottle is expensive but does have a lot of product! I use about a dime sized amount every other day, so it seems like it will last at least 8 months. Loveee.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jessamay on 10/8/2012 1:39:00 PM more reviews by jessamay

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have to start off saying I did not purchase this product - I received in a gift bag at a charity event. I have been using this for over a month and I really like it - it does not work miracles but as someone mentioned below but it does a great job of lightly exfoliating and my skin seems smoother and a bit brighter. I use it only in the morning in the shower so I don't use it to take my makeup off. That being said, I went to Sephora and was taken aback at the price. I like this very much and a little goes a long way but I have never paid more than $10 for a facial cleanser. I don't think scrubbing my face for a minute gives AHA/BHA a chance to really work BUT I have seen results with this so I am kinda stumped. I will purchase this when I run out and I will see how I feel after spending money on it. But as of now, it is my favorite cleanser. As of now...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sshelton on 9/3/2012 1:05:00 PM more reviews by sshelton

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

The thing I don't like about this product is you can't truley exfoliate with an aha/bha product if it is not left on for the skin to absorb. The little grains in the product are the only thing that exfoliate and my understanding is that there really is very little AHA/BHA % in the product. So, if you really want to exfoliate look for something else that actually is product that is meant to be left on the face. I'm just glad I actually didn't pay anything for the product, it was a free sample travel size from Sephora when I placed an on line order.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 shannonannagins on 8/17/2012 1:12:00 AM more reviews by shannonannagins

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Update: Over time (a few months) this really sensitized my already sensitive skin. I started using it every other day. Then cut back to twice a week. Then cut back to once a week. Now I can use it about once a month. If you have sensitive skin (not dry, but truly sensitive) just be wary of how frequently you use this.

Original review: So far, so good. I've been using this a week, which is usually long enough for me to be able to identify any sensitivity with products. I have sensitive, acne-prone skin, and this hasn't irritated it or caused any breakouts.

In this past, I've used lactic acid peels, but even low concentrations cause me to have red splotches for days on my face (usually people have no visible signs of lactic peels, at all.) But in the past few months since I've stopped using the peels, my skin has gotten congested. I used a weekly clay mask during that time, but it didn't do enough.

I've been using this every other evening (instructions say 2-3 times per week, so that's about 3 times a week). I may cut back to twice a week, as my skin is slightly dry since starting this product.

Another plus is you should be able to get a travel size tube for $10 to try before you buy the $30 full size.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mikmik90 on 8/16/2012 11:48:00 AM more reviews by mikmik90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Have deleted my old review of this product: here is my new review.
Background on skin: I have combo skin that is prone to sensitivity when I use too many products (minimal routines suit me well). I would describe my skin as kindof thin, prone to oiliness in the t-zone and dryness on my cheeks. I'm not particularly prone to congestion.

In the morning, I rinse with water. I use this product each night to remove my minimal face makeup (usually only consists of a light powder) and cleanse. I remove my eye makeup with Bioderma Crealine, I wouldn't suggest putting this too close to your eyes.

The formula is a foaming gel with little beads that are not abrasive. Doesn't have much of a smell.

Pros:
Removes my light makeup
Cleanses skin perfectly
Provides daily exfoliation, keeps my skin bright
Relatively cheap by Australian standards

Cons:
If the weather is particularly cold/windy, I have to alternate with another cleanser as this alone would dry me out.

Otherwise, no cons come to mind. This is a HG cleanser for me right now. I will say that if you are finding that this product is making you dry, consider how much product you are using. I use about two peas worth, any more and I find my skin gets irritated.

xxkarima

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 geideja on 8/12/2012 9:30:00 PM more reviews by geideja

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

It has the potential but it contains SLS which it can be drying or cause issues such as acne or dehydrated skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shimmygirl5 on 8/12/2012 4:16:00 AM more reviews by shimmygirl5

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Okay it's probably too early to say too much, but I've been using this product for 2 weeks now and can see a difference. I have acne scars and melasma so for me to notice a difference is saying alot. It's a very gentle formula, there are granules in the cleanser but they are also very gentle. A little goes a long way, I feel already that the price is not bad at all for the amount of the bottle and for how far it goes. My skin feels a little tight after use, but nothing uncomfortable or noticable to anyone but me and I don't have any drying or peeling, I just see the dark spots starting to lighten a bit. I also use Murad Lightener serum, so the combo has been great. I will be back in a few weeks for an updated review.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 stylesnburberry on 7/18/2012 9:54:00 AM more reviews by stylesnburberry

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This isn't a harsh scrub. It has AHA and BHA which is essential to me. I can use it every day. It seems to balance out my skin. I didn't get this bottle brand new, I received it in a swap so I'm not quite sure if the results would have changed if I did in fact get in from a store. But the product does 1 out of the 2 things it says, it does improve skin tone, and if I use it for a long period of time maybe it will "polish away dullness and dehydraytion". I love Murad products and i continue too. simply because they work and don't promise a list of things that never happen....

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sta1cee on 7/18/2012 2:30:00 AM more reviews by Sta1cee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

I got a 1 oz sample of this and am really impressed. For an exfoliator, it does just that...exfoliates your skin. It's not going to make your scars disappear or your skin turn into a unicorn baby but it does help scrub off the dead skin, get rid of the clogged pores, and make your skin glow. Unlike other exfoliators I've used in the past, it didn't dry out my skin or irritate it.
Overall, I really like this product and once I ran out, I'll definitely consider repurchasing. Since it's a scrub, I only use it 2-3 times a week so it looks like it's going to last me a long time.
As far as people complaining about clogged pores...make sure you use a good noncomedogenic moisturizer after exfoliating. It should help your skin out a bit.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 HazelGrrl on 6/3/2012 5:10:00 AM more reviews by HazelGrrl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE this face scrub! Honestly, it makes my face positively GLOW. And after one use, the pores on my nose are completely empty. That never happens! I fight and fight with my nose, and I eventually end up having to squeeze it (gasp!) to get all the stuff out. This scrub isn't even marketed as a blackhead scrub, but damn, it rocks my world. Pricey, yes, but for something that works: Totally. Worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Murad products

More Scrubs products