The Body Shop • Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream • Moisturizers

rated 3.3(183 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Victoriajane89 on 8/7/2013 9:35:00 AM more reviews by Victoriajane89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I didn't have high hopes for this moisturiser as its difficult enough trying to find a mattifying day cream. But I received this as part of a gift and it works wonders, it controls the oil all day, gives an even finish for applying foundation and doesn't cause my make up to run during the day or break out. Also there are always discounts available for the bodyshop!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 buidianaa on 8/2/2013 7:54:00 PM more reviews by buidianaa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've read alot of mixed reviews on this. Alot of people say that they find it drying for their oily skin but I find that it mattifies great. Just remember that this is a MATTIFYING GEL moisturizer. I find that my skin is hydrated but not overly moisturized. Alot of my oily skin friends notice as well that it is weird at first that their skin is not oily when using this hence believing that it dries out their skin which it doesn't. I only use about a dime size on my face and it keeps me moisturized and matte throughout the day. I love this product for my oily skin and would definitely repurchase. For $9.00 a tub, you really can't go wrong. My only problem is the packaging, I wish it came in a tube with a pump so there'd be less bacteria but it's a great product and I definitely recommend to anyone with oily skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 saintkitten on 7/27/2013 11:11:00 PM more reviews by saintkitten

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

My skin can be oily, dry, sensitive and I can get pimples. This left my skin still dry, and if I used a toner before applying this it would sting for about 5 minutes until I put another moisturiser over the top. I like the texture, feels very wet and like a drink for your skin but as soon as it is absorbed I was left with nothing. Because it wasn't moisturising, it didn't smooth my skin and it felt rough after using this. It is mattifying but only because my skin was dry afterwards? Overpriced because of the poor results. Not repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 TennilleES on 7/16/2013 8:50:00 AM more reviews by TennilleES

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have tried a sample of this and have to admit it's pretty good. I tried it in conjunction with my YSL Touch Mate and my skin pretty much stayed oil-free for ten hours although a bit of shine breakthrough on my nose.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ellyay on 5/28/2013 3:23:00 PM more reviews by ellyay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I liked this cream because it's super light and took care of my dry spots. However, I never noticed a distinct difference in shine control or help with oiliness. I mean, it's fantastic that it's oil free, but I wouldn't say it's preventative of oil. Must be a marketing kick.
I feel like a little went a long way in terms of usage with this cream, but I've also almost gone through all of it in a short time. Hmmm.
Might buy again, or might try another. We'll see.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* calooza on 5/18/2013 3:08:00 PM more reviews by calooza

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Overall it's a nice product:

PROS
- it's oil free and non clogging, which is always a must for oily acne prone skins like myself
- it has a really nice scent, but very light
- it feels really nice on the skin, it's well absorbed and leaves a smooth feeling to the touch
- matifies the skin without drying it
- it has no alcohol in it

CONS
- i payed 15 euros for a 50 ml jar, which i think it's expensive
- it doesn't control shine and oils very well

Its a really nice moisturiser for oily acne prone skin types, but i'll not buying again because i think there are better options for me at the same price, and more effective on controlling the oils

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dianelarsenemail on 5/8/2013 7:46:00 PM more reviews by dianelarsenemail

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

what i like about this mattifying day cream:
consistency
texture
smell
gentle on skin
packaging
mild smell
matte affect- gave my skin a flawless look!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 DeeDanosaur on 5/8/2013 2:32:00 PM more reviews by DeeDanosaur

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I read such great reviews about this product and since I had such oily skin, I decided to give it a go, so when I bought it I decided to use it. Once I opened the lid and touched it, it felt very watery and slimy to some extent.
To be honest, it did fulfill its purpose to mattify and remove excess oil HOWEVER it had this icky disgusting feeling on my face and took a while to absorb.
It was a bit over priced- scratch that: It was compeltely over priced. Now that I went to a dermatologist, this product has no use and has been sitting on my shelf for almost a year. I defiantly don't think it's worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 itstotallybea on 5/8/2013 2:01:00 PM more reviews by itstotallybea

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was extremely disappointed to realize that this contained no SPF, I also find that although it is moisturizing it leaves my skin feeling an odd texture. I will continue to use what I bought but I will probably not purchase this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 purplegobstopper on 4/5/2013 7:51:00 AM more reviews by purplegobstopper

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Grey    

This cream was certainly not mattifying enough for my oily forehead/chin and was not moisturising enough for my dry cheeks. In combination with the Vitamin E cream from the Body Shop, this was manageable in terms of moisture, but definitely a big fail for creating a matte face. The gel-like consistency made applying it very nice and refreshing though, but that's the only good thing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Moisturizers products