The Body Shop Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream

3.3

196 reviews

51% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals
The Body Shop is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS

Water (Solvent/Diluent), Cyclomethicone (Emollient), Glycerin (Humectant), Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate (Absorbent/Anticaking Agent), Polysorbate 60 (Surfactant), Phenoxyethanol (Preservative), Carbomer (Stabiliser/Viscosity Modifier), Tocopheryl Acetate (Antioxidant), Glyceryl Stearate (Emulsifier), Cetearyl Alcohol (Emulsifier), Dimethicone (Skin Conditioning Agent), PEG-100 Stearate (Surfactant), Butylene Glycol (Humectant), Sodium Hydroxide (pH Adjuster), Methylparaben (Preservative), Fragrance (Fragrance), Zinc Gluconate (Skin Conditioning Agent), Hydrolyzed Algin (Soothing agent), Zinc Sulphate (Cosmetic Astringent), Disodium EDTA (Chelating Agent), Fucus Vesiculosus (Bladderwrack) Extract (Skin Conditioning Agent), Butylparaben (Preservative), Ethylparaben (Preservative), Propylene Glycol Alginate (Binder), Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein (Skin/Hair Conditioning Agent), Sodium Stearate (Surfactant), Propylparaben (Preservative), Isobutylparaben (Preservative), Benzyl Alcohol (Preservative), Algae Extract (Natural Additive), Acacia Senegal Gum (Film Former), Serine (Skin Conditioning Agent), Xanthan Gum (Viscosity Modifier), Linalool (Fragrance Ingredient), Butylphenyl Methylpropional (Fragrance Ingredient), Benzyl Salicylate (Fragrance Ingredient), Citronellol (Fragrance Ingredient), Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone (Fragrance Ingredient), Tocopherol (Antioxidant).


on 3/4/2014 1:21:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have used at least 3 or 4 different moisturizers from the Body Shop, and this one is by far the lightest. It gets absorbed in just a few seconds! You might want something a bit heavier if you have dry skin, but for normal or oily one this is great. This is my second week of using it daily and I love it so far!



on 2/2/2014 9:53:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

There are a lot of good reviews of this moisturizer by beauty bloggers/gurus on YouTube and so I was in the market for a new moisturizer and of course I bought a mini size to try it. I loved the mini so much I bought the full size and the entire Seaweed line. I'm pretty picky with my moisturizers and I honestly have very little to complain about this one. The claim of being a 'mattifying' moisturizer is a bit far-fetched in my opinion, as I found it left my face not matte at all at any point after application, but that being said I loved the amount if moisture it gave my skin without any greasiness or any dryness in the cheek area. It felt silky going on and left my skin feeling fresh, which was really great. I think if I had to pick a summer moisturizer this would be it. If it was a bit more matte on my skin, this Seaweed day cream would be 5 lipsticks definitely. Enjoyable, and I would certainly recommend it to others with oily/combo skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/18/2014 9:31:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am shocked this product has a 50% buy back review, I love this stuff. Now I wouldn't say it is thee most mattifying moisturizer, but it sure does a pretty good job at it. See I have really oily skin, the kind where you can see my shine from a mile away and it is extremely hard to find moisturizers that mattify. But I came across after this bad by after hearing so much reviews on it. At first I wish it was in a tube or some kind of dispenser, because I hate dipping my fingers into lotions I feel that it is kind of un-hygenic. Despite that, it has a pretty decent smell to it, kind of does have the seaweed tinge to it and the texture is great, light, and gel-like. hen I out it on its goes on smoothly and dries almost instantly. The best part is it actually leave my skin oil looking free! I wouldn't say it gives me a complete matte look either, but it is pretty freaken close. I also had no trouble applying make-up over it.

I love this moisturizer and do plan on repurchasing it.

Also, I am currently living in the UK and its winter here so it is usually around 30/40 degrees F, so in all honest this might have some effect on making my face more matte. BUT I am hoping this moisturizer holds up during summer when I go back home to California's hot weather.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/17/2014 8:07:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

If your skin is SUPER oily and you live in a hot tropical climate like me, you should definitely go for this light weight, good-smelling and effectively matifying moisturiser. I bought it intending to use it as my go-to moisturiser in the day time (in combination with my Dr Jart+ Every Sun Day SPF) and as a regular night cream. I thought that since I have oily skin, I don't need a super thick moisturiser at night. But I figured I was wrong. It gets pretty cold and dry here in Hanoi in the winter, and using a matifying moisturiser at night isn't the best idea. The cream dries quickly as soon as I put it on and dry patches around my mouth start popping up. Nowadays a I have to mix it with a thicker moisturiser (actually a body lotion) to give my skin back some moisture it craves.

So over all, I still do like it and will repurchase it, for it serves as a great base for my makeup - but I will have to combine it with something more moisturising at night/in the winter.


on 1/9/2014 8:50:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I really enjoy this moisturizer. I use it as a primer before my foundation when I know I'll have a long day aka work all day. It definitely keeps my face matte for many hours, I wouldn't say the entire day. You definitely have to let the moisturizer set into your skin completely before applying anything else on after because it is extremely watery. I have very sensitive skin and this doesn't break me out at all. Overall, I think this is a great product, but not a holy grail.


on 1/1/2014 9:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It doesn't do what it claims to.. My t-zone gets oily after 1/2 hours after i put it on, i had high excpectations about this product, but it didn't do anything for me


on 12/20/2013 11:55:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I received the sample the TBS. I have to say I'm pretty impress. With the price, it isnt expensive at all. Smells good, feels light on the skin, I have normal/combination skin depends on the weather. It keeps me shine free all day long and help to keep the makeup last longer. Will definitely buy the full size after I ran out of this.


on 12/13/2013 10:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Average, keep skin fresh and crisp, but won't help with any blemishes.


on 11/11/2013 10:22:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Super cream, Had it on all day long and my face didnt oil AT ALL.

Also tested it on m boyfriend, and same.

It i a little pricey but a little goes a long way, and right now in mexico, you can buy two and get the third for free...


on 10/12/2013 9:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is my go to morning moisturizer / primer and I like it. The reason why I use it in the morning only because it is not a heavy moisturizer like the ones I use in the night and it makes a nice base under my makeup. Smells lovely too! However, this causes some little dry bumps at the side of my jawline because I have dry skin. Will continue to use it until I find a better affordable one!


Popular Moisturizers


Moisturizing Cream
1267 Reviews
Strobe Cream
432 Reviews
Sweet Almond Oil
197 Reviews
Back to Top