Queen Helene Mint Julep Natural Facial Scrub

4.3

261 reviews

86% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), juglans regia (walnut) shell powder, sodium lauryl sulfate, stearic acid, stearyl alcohol, glyceryl stearate, glycerin, cocamidoproply betaine, kaolin, isopropyl myristate, dimethicone, triethanolamine, fragrance (parfum), phenoxyethanol, carbomer 940, diazolidinyl urea, methylparaben.


on 3/29/2013 11:53:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'll start off by saying I have combination skin with a few blemishes, but I had to use Accutante in the past for oily skin and moderate cystic acne.

This scrub has more of a buffing effect than it does traditional scrubbing effect. The grains are relatively small, especially when comparing it to say, St.Ives Apricot Scrub.

I initially did break out a bit when I first began using this; however, after maybe the 3rd or 4th use I stopped breaking out and I began to notice an improvement in the flaky skin on my nose area.

Another issue I have is large pores. Now, nothing aside from laser treatments can change or alter the shape of your pores. You can however, minimize the appearance by keeping gunk out of your pores. When used in moderation, this DOES minimize the appearance of my pores. But if I stop using this, after a while I notice my pores look like they are clogged with oil.

I use this no more than 3 times a week, but typically once or maybe twice if I have the time. I do also happen to use the Queen Helene Mint Julep Masque which I absolutely love and adore.

As others mentioned, it can leave your skin slightly dry so I do use this at night and I moisturize with either sweet almond oil or apricot oil afterwards.

Overall, it is my favorite store bought scrub and I would recommend it. I'm not a scrub connoisseur though

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.



on 3/18/2013 7:20:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

For the price of this facial scrub, I'm really not complaining! The scrub is not so gritty but not too sparse - just the right amount which makes it not so abrasive when using. I find myself using this daily in the morning (which most people won't suggest doing) but I love the feeling of freshly exfoliated skin. You get a lot of product too, recently underwhelmed by the performance of Burts Bee's Peach and Willowbark scrub (St Ives Apricot scrub works just as well for less than half the price) I decided to try something new and this was really nice, the refreshing minty smell enticed me too. If you have really flaky skin, maybe this wouldn't be so ideal but it works great nonetheless!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/15/2013 1:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I just love this stuff! Gentle enough to use daily by gets the job done each time. Leaves my skin feeling clean and soft, and has the nicest minty smell to boot! Very affordable and a little goes a long way with this :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/25/2013 4:52:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This stuff is great! It really exfoliates your skin and helps with acne in conjunction with the Mint Julep Mask. I use this everyday, and for a week, I used it with the mask, and it really helped my skin. It dries it out a bit, so make sure you have a good moisturizer. It gets rid of scaly spots very well. I have no complaints about it, except that it would be better with a flip top, since I use it in the shower. But at least it's not in a tub, and the twist off cap isn't horrible. It doesn't smell like mint, surprisingly, but more like a light lemon/citrus. Nevertheless, it smells great, and works very well, especially since it's only a few bucks for something that will last you quite a while. :)


on 12/9/2012 5:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

this product was ok for me. i only like that it made my skin feel tighter but it does have a drying effect. you just need to have a good moisturiser. personally i use a shea butter to moisturise. but over all the product is ok.at least i dont break out

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/4/2012 12:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product has balanced my skin and it just looks healthly. It takes a week to start seeing consistant results. It only feels to abrasive if i scrub with a wash cloth but my fingers work just as good so its not a problem. I use this more to loosen up dirt and blackheads rather than just a cleanser by its self. I use this then the purpose gentle cleansing wash. Result deep clean without tighness, dryness or irritation and my skin doesnt start over producing oil fromto much stripping. I think this scrub is better than clinque´s seven day scrub.

This scrub would work great for those with dry skin it doesnt over dry.The mint tingle is very relaxing too.



With a sally´s beauty club card u can get it for 3.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/15/2012 8:41:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I liked this product. It's just a simple scrub with a nice clean mint tingle. It wasn't amazing but for the price it's worth it!


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Miracle! Absolute Miracle!
I used the mask before and figured if that works so good, I should use the scrub because my skin has always had rough patches. But after using this. My skin is clear and smooth! I was like wow. My acne is pretty much gone and ever since I had it since the 4th grade, nothing like this has done something so wonderful. I will of course buy it again and again.
You better believe that if this is going to be discontinued, I will protest!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/27/2012 4:30:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Generally speaking, I really like this product. I use it in the shower a few times a week to wake my skin up. I actually love the smell - minty and fresh, and definitely works well with the steam of the shower to remove dead skin cells.

It is a tad too abrasive, and I should really cut back on how many times I use it weekly - but I am addicted to the fresh feeling,

Cost effective, lasts a LONG time, readily available, and not likely to be discontinued. A product that I will definitely come back to.


on 8/17/2012 8:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Ok this is a one week mask kind of thing. If you do it everyday literally your face will burn for a few minutes and breakout. With that being said...Once I see a breakout coming thru I use this and the next day!! BAM clear smooth face! It has a cool minty feel to it but once it dries up it feels funny and stops tingling. This product is really strong so I would recommend another mask.


Back to Top