Redken • Guts 10 root volumizing foam spray • Styling Products

rated 3.9(124 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 Sabzy on 7/7/2010 11:01:00 AM more reviews by Sabzy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I think a lot of the negative reviews are because people don't know how to use the product. My stylist recommended it to me as well and you MUST blow out your hair properly with a round brush to get the full effect.

I only use this when I know I have time because I have pretty long hair and I know it will be timely, that being said, it will make your hair lifted at the roots and tons of volume but you hair to blow out every strand. If you just work it into your hair and leave it- your hair will be gross and knotty and greasy.

You cant blame a product if you dont know how to use it!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* katyd316 on 6/9/2010 3:42:00 PM more reviews by katyd316

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

It looks like I'm in the minority here, but I really don't like this product. I bought it after seeing some reviews on YT, where people claimed it helped keep oils at bay so you can go an extra day without washing your hair. I don't really have super oily hair. Depending on what products I use, it can get oilier. This stuff actually made my roots pretty gross. Crunchy and sticky. If any of it got anywhere that wasn't my roots, I had trouble running my fingers through my hair. It didn't really give that much volume either. Also, I might have had a defective bottle because my spray nozzle barely worked. I went back to using my cheapo Suave mousse and it is way better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 vmaria on 5/24/2010 1:08:00 AM more reviews by vmaria

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

Love the directional spray nozzle. Got it for $10 at my local Winners - as opposed to the $25 retail price. Thing is, I don't blow-dry. I air-dry. So, the added volume was limited and I can't find a way to make this work. I'll save it, though, because you never know.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 plussize1 on 5/12/2010 5:52:00 PM more reviews by plussize1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

since growing out my hair ive been on the hunt for mousse.......this spray foam is fantastic it doesnt make your hair sticky and it gives me wonderful volume

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Sirene on 4/13/2010 11:58:00 PM more reviews by Sirene

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This thing is the opposite of volume. Made my hair so oily, greasy and dirty looking.

I really don't recommend, save your money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lurvemakeup on 4/10/2010 2:19:00 PM more reviews by lurvemakeup

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Some people love this, but its not for my prone to greasiness, limp, wavy hair. I was looking around in my vanity for old hair stuff to try use up ( project 10 pan for your hair) and i found this obnoxious tall container and in huge black letters it said GUTS. I was imediatly curious. And i , not reading the instructions, squirted a generous dollop of this sticky mousse onto my clean hand and worked it in. Note: I did this around five at night, so my hair would have already had hair stuff in it. I looked in the mirror and my thin hair lay thin and greasy on my shoulders. Gross. I attacked it with a blowdryer and heat protectant, to try and get volume back. And i then looked in the mirror. My hair looked nice.Bouncy, voluminous but no shine.
SUMMARY
Works well with heat (before or after) NOT ON WET HAIR your hair will never dry and if miracallly, it will be bathing in an oil bath. Would i reccomend it NO. Well not for my type of hair. Better stuff you can get. Cheaper. More worthwhile.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 HeidiML on 1/16/2010 12:14:00 PM more reviews by HeidiML

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

LOVE this stuff!!! I find it gives my hair more, and longer lasting, volume than mousse and a softer feel. Excellent for blow dry styles, especially using a round brush. I spray it only on the roots and love how the super-direct spray goes right where I want. After I spray on a "strip" of Guts, I gently work it into my roots, and move on to the next section of hair.

A little goes a long way. Be sure to shake it well so that it "foams" up before applying. If not, the results are too sticky. I gave it a "3" for packaging because I find the cap a little obnoxious. However, that's not such a big deal. I will definitely continue to buy this product, it's a styling product I won't be without.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aquarion01 on 12/29/2009 6:56:00 PM more reviews by aquarion01

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product. I always have a can in the bathroom and although I try other things in between, this is a constant . I get great volume & bounce w/o a filmy feel to my hair. I spray it in my hands first,then i rub it into my roots.....Just don't use too much or it could make the hair feel heavy/filmy (if that's a word)!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 blondie2cute on 12/29/2009 11:03:00 AM more reviews by blondie2cute

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

No volume, makes my hair crusty and sticky.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vtorim on 11/26/2009 8:11:00 PM more reviews by vtorim

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have both fine and thin hair, meaning if I don't style my hair correctly you can see patches of scalp.

I swear by this stuff and have done so for years, it bulks up the root area wonderfully. I have used a few other products but after one or two tries have come back to this.

The most important thing is to not to use too much (I sometimes spray it on my fingers and then add it to the roots) AND you must use a hair dryer to get it to work, natural drying will not work.

I'm not a big fan of brushing this through my hair aft, I feel it makes my hair ends straw like. I only add it to the roots.

Yeah not keen on the smell either and I think it is expensive but the payoff is worth it - I just feel more confident :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Redken products

More Styling Products products