NARS • All About Eve Duo • Eye Shadow

rated 4.2(264 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 dieincries on 10/14/2010 9:02:00 PM more reviews by dieincries

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

AAE is not as pigmented as other Nars eye shadows, but it is versatile to be used on itself or as a base for other e/s. It gives nice nude look when used alone. Maybe you can't find the colour on your eyes, but it does make different and add points to your look. If you are looking for daily eye shadow, I'd suggest AAE.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 whyknot on 10/8/2010 1:51:00 PM more reviews by whyknot

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I am in the same boat as the reviewer below :( I am VERY fair, and despite being touted at the holy grail ES for fair girls, AAE does nothing for me. Its shimmer color is not light or shimmery enough to bring out my eyes (in fact, the colors in AAE pretty much perfectly match my skin. so well that no matter how much i apply, you cant see anything at all - not even a sheen!) Nor is the beige dark enough to bring any depth or contour to my eyes. I use it occasionally with just black liner and a red lip for a subtle Brigitte Bardot-kind of look, but its SO subtle, I usually go back a little later and add a bit of something over it to make it look like my eyes are really done. I love neutrals, but I still want to look like I'm wearing some makeup! There are tons of pics of tan/darker skinned girls rocking this and looking lovely, so I know it works wonders for some. But not for me. I won't buy this again.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ahhhttack on 8/22/2010 6:51:00 PM more reviews by ahhhttack

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I've had this duo for ages, and it is often overlooked in favor of bolder colors in my arsenal. However, every time I use it I remember what a gorgeous, my-lids-but-better look it gives. The left side is a great match for my skin (NC20), and adds a subtle luminosity. The right side adds a bit more noticeable shimmer. I usually do a wash of the left side up to my brow bone, and then add the shimmery right side to the outer third of lid and in the lower corner of my eyes. Add mascara and bam, you have a luminous, nude eye. All About Eve is part of my HG "natural look", accompanied by NARS Douceur blush and Ophelia gloss. Effortlessly gorgeous, every time. Highly recommend this!

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lexx13 on 8/12/2010 9:11:00 PM more reviews by Lexx13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This is a must have in any make up arsenal.
You might think it's boring, understated, plain ...but the simplicity of this duo makes it perfect for anyone.
The left side is the exact color of my skin, so it makes an absolutely perfect base shadow, also it's ideal for blending and smoking out other darker colors.
The right side is perfectly shimmery, not too much or too little. It makes the nicest glowy natural looking highlight ever.
The colors are completely neutral and skin toned, so that any complexion would suit it.
Now that I have this I am using it daily and I can't imagine being without it. NARS eyeshadows are of the best quality I have ever used, they are worth every penny.
Will most definitely repurchase.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 occhem on 7/11/2010 11:02:00 PM more reviews by occhem

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This has been my go to shadow for the last five years, which tells you how great it is. I wear it during the day and at night, changing up what I pair it with to get a less or more dramatic look. For instance, day time I'll put the right side on the inner third of my eye and the left side on the outer two thirds, swirl MAC's Quarry in the crease, dot a brown pencil on the outer two thirds of my lash line, black mascara and it's an easy, polished look. At night I'll do the same, but add a little carbon in the outer v, blend with the quarry, and instead of brown pencil use black liquid or cake liner. Either way, this duo provides a real polished, natural, but with oomph kind of look. Love it. And would definitely recommend it. Plus, I think it would work on a variety of skin tones, except for the really really cool-toned pale skinned maybe.

For reference, I am naturally quite pale, but wear bronzer and darker foundation regularly to deepen my skin color. So the end result is that I am about an NC30 in MAC, 32 in MUFE F&B, La Mer Fluid Tint Medium.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kayethompson on 7/3/2010 4:33:00 PM more reviews by kayethompson

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this duo! It's actually the only eyeshadow I really wear because I love the natural look. I use the right shadow for lining my lower lash line & take the left for my brow bone highlight. In my crease I use MAC Harmony blush; I use it to contour my cheekbones too (I just want to use the least amount of products and it works so woo). My eyes look wide awake :) The only thing I would complain about is the price, $32 for 2 eyeshadows? It reminds me of Shroom and Brule from MAC, which i guess you could substitute, but NARS is way more pigmented.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CoonieR on 6/12/2010 9:14:00 AM more reviews by CoonieR

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I agree with SteffeJ... this is definitely not an e/s that you wear to get noticed. Or an e/s that you wear when you want your eye makeup to get noticed. I'm an NW15/NW20 and on me, this is practically invisible. It's a nude-champagne duo in two finishes: super-shimmery and almost-super-shimmery.


This is great for an almost-no-makeup look. It makes my eyes look brighter and more awake without being obvious. As I mentioned, it's quite shimmery, but not in a glittery or OTT way. I like pairing this with a bright e/l or by itself. Love the soft buttery texture too.


What I'm not crazy about is the price. I don't mind paying for good quality e/s, but for that kind of price ($32), IMO it should be a little more special.


If you're pale and looking for an almost spot-on nude shadow with lots of shimmer, AAE is probably what you're looking for. If you're looking for e/s that others will notice, pass on this one.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* StefieJ on 4/16/2010 12:47:00 PM more reviews by StefieJ

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

For reference, I am NW15.
This is the best duo from NARS, hands down. It is perfect for an every day, polished, 'go to work' look, or great for a classic beautiful night on the town. There are some complaints people have brought up about the duo, so I'll address them here.
1. Many say the shades don't show up; In my experience, they definitely show up, just maybe not as brightly as many would want. Thats the beauty of this duo - it's impossible to overdo it, and it creates a very natural effect. Ghost the makeup artist even says he uses this on people who are NC35-40.
2. Both of the shades look the same; The shades are similar, but NOT the same. The left side is a bit darker, and has a satin finish. The right side is a lighter, whitish peachy pink and has a shimmery finish.

This is how I love to wear this duo -
First, I apply a base like UDPP or TFSI, then some kind of paintpot that suits my skintone like painterly or barestudy.

Second, I use a stiff flat brush (MAC 239) and apply the shimmery side to my lid and slightly above the crease.

Then, I take a fluffier brush, and dust the shimmery side all the way up to my brow bone (Don't worry, it's not THAT shimmery)

Next take your favorite crease brush and apply the satin side into your crease. It won't be MUCH definition, but just a little, enough to look natural and give your crease that little shadow effect.

Then apply the shimmery side to your tearducts.

lastly I usually line with a brown liner (My favorite right now is clinique brown brush on cream liner) and smudge it slightly. Finish off with mascara, and BAM. You have a beautiful, classic, polished look.

27 out of 27 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 HelenaS on 4/3/2010 10:16:00 AM more reviews by HelenaS

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

What can I say? It is the ultimate nude shimmer that gives a natural glow and takes years off your face. I am 43 and am just beginning to get some fine lines and a somewhat "tired" appearance in the a.m. despite a good night's sleep. I have looked at AAE for years and always shied away from purchasing it, even though I love NARs. I just thought that the two beige shimmers were too ordinary to spend that kind of money on.

However, having tried it I see what all the hype is about. Particularly at my age, I need products that truly work and will not accentuate fine lines, sagging, etc. This shadow is so amazing because although it is shimmery, it doesn't go on frosty or glittery. It just glows on your skin and makes you look more awake and healthy! It blends like a dream and has enough pigment so that I don't need a base or even a dusting of powder underneath.

Like others, I am still a little confused by the similarity of the two shades. They are both great but I'm not sure why they are together, since they are so alike. However, I'm still experimenting so I'll perhaps figure that little mystery out as I go along.

I will def. repurchase this e/s, although if it is like any other NARS product it will probably last me the next few years!

A gem!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* badkitty82 on 3/27/2010 11:21:00 AM more reviews by badkitty82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I'm a huge fan of NARS and love their eyeshadow duos. All About Eve is one of the more toned down and neutral color duos. It is described as shimmering flesh and shimmering neutral. The shimmering neutral is a tiny bit darker and definitely more frosted and shimmery than the color to the left. They're both great to create a natural look or to pair with more dramatic colors. Love it as a base! The shadows are silky and smooth, blends easily and stays on all day. The compact with a mirror is great, too bad they're so expensive!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Eye Shadow products