Clinique Different Lipstick - Surprise

4.5

44 reviews

86% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

There's not much to say about Surprise that has not been written! I was looking for a replacement for my MAC "O" - my favorite, when I developed an allergy to MAC lip products. I pulled this out of my reserves, it had been a GWP and it is very similar and beautiful for day or night against my NW20 skin. Clinique categorizes it as a neutral. It is bronze, plum and gold all in one with a very lightweight feel. Lasting power is decent and no smell. I am keeping this one close at all times!



on 3/6/2005 11:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

At first Surprise didn't impress me. When I was NC15 it looked really brown on me and I didn't see its well-known resemblance to MAC O lipstick. But ever since I got a slight tan the color has been looking much better on my current NC20 skin, for some reason - I can finally see the depth of Surprise and I've been wearing it consistently now.
 
Surprise looks very bronzey in the tube, but on the lips the plummy base color comes out. It's a gorgeous, elegant shade. The base of it is a toned-down medium-dark plum shade with very finely milled bronzey gold shimmer. The result is a neutral shade, both warm AND cool, which seems to be flattering to most skintones. It's a sophisticated, 'grown-up' shade, very wearable on many occasions, daytime or nighttime. Fairly moisturizing too - my lips are quite dry and I love the fact that, despite the microshimmer, my lip lines aren't brought to immediate attention, which is always a concern for me. Awesome product.


on 2/24/2005 9:38:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I love this lipstick! I would not have given this color a second look if I had judged it by the color in the tube, but on it is beautiful. It really brightens up my face and makes my eyes bluer. I have repurchased this lipstick more than any other I have and am stocked up just in case Clinique tries to disc. this color.


on 2/12/2005 12:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

got it as gwp, and glad i gave it a try! when i first looked at the tube, i thought it looked like a dark copper bronze. When i tried it on my hand, color turned out as a mauvey cheery color. And on my lips, it is a beautiful medium mauvey cherry color with golden sheen over it. Very pretty! I'm a NW20 PPP/LLL asian with full lips, most medium - dark lippies look horrible on me, like i have 2 hot dogs hanging on my mouth lol but this one definitely is a winner, look very pretttyyy.. will definitely repurchase when i finish this one.


on 1/3/2005 2:15:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Suprise is simply awesome! I am one of those people who look horrible in lipsticks that are either too warm or too cool; my skintone must be truly neutral. But, Suprise is just perfect. If anything, it leans a little to the cool side as it has violet undertones, but I imagine this would work with many varied skintones. It's the perfect autumny medium dark lipcolor that just makes me look polished without looking too madeup. It looks good with just about whatever I'm wearing, too. don't be put off my the color in the tube-- it looks like a sparkly dark bronze-- try it on your hand at least to see the gorgeous color nuances that are hiding just below the surface. A most perfect color and a definite re-purchase.


on 12/17/2004 8:27:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

My favorite Clinique lipstick. I'm not a big lipstick-wearer, preferring gloss, but when I saw this color on my fellow PPP coworker I had to have it. For pale girls, it's great for day or night (I mostly wear it at night), being a medium cool berry with gold shine. Definitely TRY it before you buy, it's a very unique color... it IS a surprise!


on 12/15/2004 2:06:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

One of my favorite colors--a beautiful bronzy berry with slight gold shimmer. Looks completely different on your lips than in the tube so give it a try.


on 9/16/2004 10:23:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I love this lip color!! I was hunting for a substitute for Laura Mercier Amythest, and this was as close as I could come in the Clinique line. This shows up a beautiful shimmery cross between berry and amythest on me. I have blonde hair, blue eyes and very pale skin. I think this is a wonderful Autumn color. This was definitely a "surprise" and I will continue to purchase this lipstick as long as it is offered.
A real hit!!!
: )


Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This lip stick is a great color for either a night on the town or a day at work. I am blonde and have relatively fair skin and found that this color was not too overpowering.


on 8/5/2004 2:53:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

A nice basic evening color. In the tube, I thought it was going to be much too dark for my fair coloring, but it actually looks quite nice on. Got as a GWP, and would repurchase.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
204 Reviews
Provocalips
90 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top