Fancl • Fancl Sunguard spf 30 • Sunscreen

rated 3.9(65 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 brend on 7/8/2009 11:44:00 AM more reviews by brend

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I had high hopes for this sunscreen after reading all the good reviews, but I was disappointed - I did not notice a white cast, but it was shiny AND sticky! The stickiness meant applying foundation was out of the question, and loose powder did little to tone down the shine. I've been using this as a body sunscreen - I usually just use drugstore sunscreen for my arms and legs because the finish doesn't matter much in those areas, but considering the price of the Sunguard, it makes for a very expensive body sunscreen.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 stephy2612 on 7/20/2008 8:08:00 AM more reviews by stephy2612

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

this is the 1st and only sunscreen that i've bought so far.. cos previously i had rashes whenever i tried using sunblock on my face and body. Love fancl sunscreen (old version) cos i do not experience any rash with this pdt.. so people with sensitive skin need not worry! moreover, whenever i apply this, i feel that it brighten up my face. but i m not v sure if it clogs my pores anot cos constantly i wil have small bumps on my face, thus not v sure if they are caused by this pdt or some other pdts.
overall, i feel that its quite a gd pdt.. except for its price.. and that we gotta discard it after 4mths.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 curiousml on 6/11/2008 2:25:00 AM more reviews by curiousml

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I went into a Fancl store today and tried some of the sunguard 30 on the back of my hand. It's pretty light, spreads and adheres well. Like most others have said, it leaves a slight white cast on my skin. It also feels a bit drying on my hand, but since my face is oilier than my hand, it should be OK on my face in such a humid and hot climate in Hong Kong.

When I asked for a complete ingredient list from the sales assistants, they said it was only available in Japanese(which I wish I could read!) and the percentage of active ingredients were not required to be disclosed by local regulation. I find that most Japanese and European sunscreens don't state the percentage of active ingredients, which bothers me a lot, since I am obssessed with product information transparency.

Nonetheless I saw some nice ppl post the ingredients down here. So, for those who know the information, what are your sources ? Are these disclosures required in the States? Can anyone tell me the full ingredients of the "new improved" sunguard 30? Thanks a lot!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 prettyheels83 on 5/29/2008 2:00:00 AM more reviews by prettyheels83

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

this sunscreen is good.it is physical base,zinc oxide and titanium dioxide and is photostable.
physical filters reflect and scatter uv rays and as they do not get absorbed into the skin,it is very suitable for sensitive skin.it comes in spf30 pa+++.
spf tells you how long you can stay in the sun without burning while pa is the rating for uva rays.3+ means it offers excellent uva protection.
it does leaves a slight white cast but is okay to me as it makes me fairer,the white cast is due to the physical filters,so for people who are concern with that,go for chemical sunscreens instead.
and this sunscreen leaves a matte finish and not drying.
it also contain Aspalathus Linearis EXtract which removes active oxygen caused by UV rays, while new ingredient, Centella Asiatic Extract, a herb known for its ability to decrease inflammation and helps to repair UV damaged skin cells.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sunflower77 on 5/22/2008 6:10:00 PM more reviews by sunflower77

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Fancl has recently changed their formula of this product. The new active ingredients are 12% Zinc Oxide and 6% Titanium Dioxide. So 2% less Zinc Oxide and 1% more titanium dioxide. According to Fancl, the new improved Sunguard 30 "spreads better than ever leaving no streaks on your skin". I have not used the old version so I cannot compare the new with the old. But I have to say the new formula indeed spreads well. It leaves a slightly white cast but not quite noticeable. I also did not see any white accumulations around my nose as pointed out by some previous reviewers (I don't know whether they have used the old version or the new version). It is a little more greasy than I expected but it is much much better than Blue Lizard, which was another all physical sunscreen I recently bought. Fancl's Sunguard SPF 30 did not burn my skin or irritate my eyes. It contains moist keep oil hence pretty moisturizing. Definitely a keeper. My only complaint is that it comes in such a small package. It won't last long if you use it on both your face and your body.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 babez on 4/8/2008 6:55:00 PM more reviews by babez

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

this sunscreen did not have a white cast when i applied. it had a BLUE cast...and then it turned grey on me. FINALLY after waiting five minutes it turned grey-white on me. felt like a dream going on though...all those cones. finish is matte but still emphasized a few flakies i have. should work well for very pale persons in the summer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* barbiesweetdoll on 1/18/2008 11:59:00 PM more reviews by barbiesweetdoll

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

it leaves a slightly white cast.a physical sunscreen that is photostable.
free of alcohol,perfume,colourings,preservatives.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* g_82 on 10/8/2007 4:36:00 AM more reviews by g_82

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Simply the best! Extremely lightweight for a non-chemical sunscreen with such a high SPF. Easy to blend and I sometimes mix it with a foundation to achieve a natural look. It may leaves a slight white cast right after application. However, the white cast disappears after about 10 minutes. The only con is that it may accentuate your flakiness when your skin gets dryer in cold seasons. The price is not too bad either.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Athelthral on 8/31/2007 9:24:00 AM more reviews by Athelthral

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I have dry, sensitive skin, and this caused me to break out after a few days, so I won't be buying it again.


However, if that hadn't happened, I would have seriously considered repurchasing. It has a matte finish with only a slight white cast that isn't too obvious on my medium to light Asian complexion. The packaging is excellent - the squeeze bottle makes it easy to control the amount of product that comes out. It can be difficult to remove - I had to use Fancl cleansing oil. It's also slightly drying, but I suppose that's the price of a matte sunscreen.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 theroxywave on 7/19/2007 9:55:00 AM more reviews by theroxywave

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Sounded so extremely good on paper- physical sunscreen, liquid texture, mattifying, none of those 'evil' skincare offenders like mineral oil etc and from a reputable Japanese brand to boot.
So disappointed. White cast was horrendous, and it shifts very easily. Never ever have I encountered a sunscreen that shifted so easily. It is hard to spread too, clumps into white patches on tricky areas like nose corners and near the eyebrows.
Well, at least it did not break me out or cause irritation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Fancl products

More Sunscreen products