Kiehl's • Imperiale Repairateur Moisturizing Eye Balm [DISCONTINUED] • Treatments (Eye)

rated 3.8(73 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 5 of 5 JudyJ on 8/3/2008 3:23:00 PM more reviews by JudyJ

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

This is the only eye moisturizing product I can use on my very sensitive eyelids--period. Everything else I've ever tried in recent years, (including vaseline, which I used to put on my lids and lashes when I was younger), ends up irritating the skin. I even use this as a base before putting on primer and eye makeup in the morning but it's important to blot heavily or the makeup will slide right off. I hope and pray they never take this eye balm off the market.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Azula on 2/26/2008 9:27:00 AM more reviews by Azula

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this based on the reviews, and the fact that everyone mentioned vaseline. I don't know why people are so snob and trash vaseline, maybe it's not expensive enough for them! Anyway, vaseline is the best moiturizer and skin protector, but it does cause clogged pores often if used on the face.

When I use this, I feel really protected, I know I'm preventing wrinkles, and even though it doesn't absorb enough to be used for day, it isn't a problem during the night. It doesn't cause burning, and the morning after my skin is soooft, but not greasy anymore. I don't think is that heavy, just rub on it, it will get oily on your finger, kind of like olive oil, but this has much more staying power.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jamiemp on 2/6/2008 10:49:00 AM more reviews by jamiemp

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

What the...? Everyone loves this?! It's crap! MUA reviewers rarely steer me wrong, but this time it happened. I'm so mad I spent the cash for it. This stuff sits under your eyes in a greasy layer. If you're going to use it at all, it must be at night only. For me, however, I wake up with horrible, nasty, crusty eyes. No joke, I have to pick crusty stuff out of my eyelashes. Sometimes it's so bad I have to put a warm washcloth over my eyes to loosen the stuff. No, it's not an allergic reaction, it's that when the product FINALLY decides to dry, it migrates right onto my eyelids and lashes. Yuck. I've given it almost 2 weeks of my time, and it's garbage. Don't waste your money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tried_em_all on 1/16/2008 2:26:00 PM more reviews by tried_em_all

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Most eye creams are not emollient enough - I put them on and within 20 minutes, I need more. Also eye creams with herbal extracts, fragrances, etc., burn my undereye area or make my eyes sting. Kiehl's products are generally too harsh for me, but I tried both this and the Avocado and this one is quite good. (I didn't care for the Avocado at all). I don't usually use eye cream at night, I just use a drop of olive oil, because creams make my eyes really puffy in the morning - and this one did create a little puffiness, but it wasn't bad, way less than most. I've been using this for a few weeks and - it has great hydration and some staying power. I use the tiniest amount, way less than any other eye cream. I also tried the Philosophy Hope/Tube. It's similar in how emollient it is and doesn't creep as easily - but it's a cream, has mineral oil/petroleum, and is more expensive. It's a different application - but for those who want the emolliency and don't like the application of this, it's a one to try. For me, I like this one better. It seems more soothing and I like the ingredients better. I wish I would have found it years ago, I think it would have made a huge difference in my eye area. But I must say, the more I've used it, I can definitely see improvement - the crepe-yness is gone and the lines are softening - I don't think they will go away, but it looks so much better than anything else I've tried. I really, really, love this stuff. Update: I'm so bummed, I had to stop using this. I got a little blister on my finger where I was touching it, so I switched fingers...got another blister. And I would have lived with that based on how wonderful this is, but it started to affect my sinuses. The first ingredient is C10-30 Cholesterol/lanosterol Esters, and I suspect it might be a form of lanolin (but I could be wrong) -- if it is, that explains why I can't use it. But for those of you who are not sensitive to lanolin...this is the best. I can't find anything that is emollient enough and doesn't irritate my eyes, so I just use olive oil for now.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* laurentothemax on 1/11/2008 10:11:00 PM more reviews by laurentothemax

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This product was sold out online, in the kiehl's store and at all the department stores that carry kiehl's, but i finally got myself a pot of this coveted balm! So far, so good. This eye balm is the texture that i've been looking for. Its creamy and oily and more the texture of (forgive me) vaseline, aquaphor and the like although i am pretty sure it does not contain mineral oil. My eyes typically soak up eye-creams immediately and then return to as dry as they've always been. However, this balm seems to keep my eyes moist considerably longer. I can also use this during the day, under concealer with no problems. While it hasn't promised or performed any miracles, this stuff just nourishes and moisturizes my eyes really well which makes the whole area appear infinitely healthier. At 20 bux this is a reasonable priced balm compared to many out there and i will probably continue to buy it . I just wished it fixed my hereditary under eye circles. meh. :/

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 TRVLGirl on 1/11/2008 3:49:00 PM more reviews by TRVLGirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

My eyelids have been breaking out due eye shadows. I tired this product the other night and woke up to completely smooth skin again. Although it very heavy I'm pleased.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 avalonia on 11/3/2007 3:28:00 PM more reviews by avalonia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

It's a good moisturizing non irritating undereye balm. Doesn't do more than that. I'd be happy with it 10 years ago when I was 20 and had no fine line issues. But I do because of tanning and not wearing sunscreen when I was younger and smoking/drinking/staying up late till my late 20's. So I won't buy again since I need more help, and for just moisturizing any oil is good enough for hardly any money or whatever I'm using on the face. But what's surprising about this balm is how well it behaves under concealer (I use Maybelline Age Rewind dual ended one and used others with it too). Nothing slides off and nothing creases. I'm not a fan of pots and jars, but since it's a balm, what else can you put it in? Besides, black jar it comes in is cute. I tried it for lips btw, but prefer my cocoacare stick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 irimoto on 9/9/2007 9:50:00 PM more reviews by irimoto

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have mixed feelings about this one... The texture is just awful (vaesline like) yet if you let it sink a bit it gives me this great hydration. Yes, your eye area can look a bit scary after you apply it (patent leather anyone?) but the results are great. Normally I use it at night and for the morning Kiehl's Creamy Avocado treatment wich is OK (a very basic moisturizer with a great texture).
I have fine lines that seem to have diminished, yet it does not work on dark circles. Still I find it a good product. I've been looking for my HG eye cream and haven't been lucky, I have tried La Mer, Chanel's Age Delaye, Clinique's All about Eyes, DDF and many more, and I must admit this is one of my favorites. Besides it works great as a lip balm, cuticle cream and my favorite thing: since I started using this cream my eyelashes look and feel great! Even better than with Talika's Lipocils. I'd probably buy again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 beariebird on 7/20/2007 4:37:00 PM more reviews by beariebird

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My favorite night eye cream so far... Yes, it's oily and definitely not a conventional "cream," but it does the job. I don't wear much makeup, so I use it during the day too if I feel like I need it. An added bonus is that I've seen some eyelash improvement similar to when I used to use Ardell's/Dreamlash.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Figure88 on 6/6/2007 4:31:00 PM more reviews by Figure88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have been burned by Keihl's eye creams in the past...I tried both the Abyssine eye cream & Cryste Marine eye cream. These left my eye area dry, itchy, puffy, red, and flakey. I have extremely sensitive skin, so after this I just gave up on eye creams all together. A few years back a dermatologist prescribed me a cream the seemed to prevent the dryness around my eye area, but I was all out and it certainly didn't work good enough to pay $400.00 for. Lately my eyes have been so dry that I had to stop wearing eye make up all together. Frustrated and blue I hopped online and decided to give keihl's another chance. After checking out the products I decided that this eye balm would be the way to go as it claims to be for extremely dry eyes. A few days later it arrived and I was SHOCKED and freaked out when I opened the jar...it was balm, like hardcore Vaseline style lip balm. Instantaneous disappointment came over me, and I regretted the purchase...I thought why on earth would I ever put something so greasy and weird around my eyeballs? Hell no! That night, I decided to give it a chance and patted some of the balm around my eyes, lids, lashes, and lips. Yes, it felt a little gooey, yes, I looked a little shiny but my god was it worth it! I woke up the next day with soft, healthy looking eye lids. My make up went on like a breeze and my eye area looks, feels, and is better than it has been in years! I would not use this eye cream during the day, but I find that my under eye skin is so soft that make up just glides right on and stays put, no cream required! Just be careful not to get it in your eyes, it doesnít sting but can blur vision a bit. It is also an excellent lip balm and a fabulous product. I am still in my early 20ís, so I donít need a repair eye cream, just something to keep my skin moisturized, which in turn is the best defense against wrinkles, well that and sunscreen. Don't listen to those people who is it is Vaseline...there isn't one drop of petroleum in this stuff. They may share a similar texture but that is it. Imeriale Eye Balm, rated A for AMAZING!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Kiehl's products

More Treatments (Eye) products