Carolina Herrera • Carolina Herrera • Fragrances

rated 3.4(76 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 havenexpress on 1/8/2008 2:08:00 PM more reviews by havenexpress

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Reference: I normally only wear very light white florals or water/marine type fragrances. Favorites include Kenzo's L'eau Par & Bulgari's Voile de Jasmin.

I ordered the Fragrance Finder from Spalook and received 6 miniature bottles of fragrance including Carolina Herrera (the remaining being SJP's Covet, L.A.M.B, Vera Wang's Truly Pink, Marc Jacobs and Nina Ricci's L'air du Temps). I tried on 4 last night and at first, I found CH to be way way way too potent. Talk about heavy tuberose/jasmin. An hour later though, I couldn't smell any of the fragrances that I've dabbed on my hand, except for CH. I was surprised that the dry down was still primarily tuberose/jasmin and it was a pleasant surprise as I really don't like musk/warm notes (hence the white-florals/marine type fragrance only). When I woke up this morning, I could still faintly smell CH on my wrist.

Strangely enough, right before I left for work, I reached for CH again. Oh the horror! It would be too strong for work! It's been two hours since I dabbed on CH and I can't help smelling my wrist! I guess I like this scent afterall, it's heady, it's utterly feminine and not powdery on me. But I was very careful to use very very little on my wrist and somehow, it feels right to be wearing this when it's really cold here in San Francisco (we're having major storms)..

Given my perfume wardrobe, I'd never guess I'd fall for CH but it is a nice change from my regular white florals that last for about an hour or so on me. So if you're unsure but like white florals (tuberose *IS* a white flower), give this a try during winter time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 shaylishya on 1/4/2008 5:53:00 PM more reviews by shaylishya

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The notes to this are very simple: Jasmine, Tuberose, Sandal, Amber.
But the fragrance itself is definitely not one dimensional. I mostly smell the Sandal and Amber dominating the Tuberose! Where is the Tuberose?
This is a pretty musky, mature, complex scent. Overall for the older age group ("mommy scents" like Liz Claibourne's Liz and Spark).
The lasting power is great!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* addysmom on 12/8/2007 6:32:00 PM more reviews by addysmom

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This does not smell good on me but it is one of my moms sig. scents. It smells so good on her and she is always getting compliments. It is definately STRONG!!!!!!!!! You just need a tad.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LHANEMANN on 12/8/2007 7:37:00 AM more reviews by LHANEMANN

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Strong (very strong) and headache inducing.
Not a "feminine" scent IMO.
Edit: I know some women who love this fragrance - some of them are my workmates. On most of them it stinks. But, surprisingly, one of them wears this well. It suits her.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* expat on 12/5/2007 5:04:00 AM more reviews by expat

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

WARNING: If you are not a fan of tuberose, you won't want to come within a mile of this particular perfume. Here's how it plays out on my skin: Initial blast is heavy tuberose ~ the kind that can make you feel queasy just from the thick sweetness of it all. It's so heavy that it makes the top notes in Fracas smell downright "fresh" by comparison (something I would have thought impossible)! Within 20 minutes the tuberose is tamed somewhat and I'm left with a softer version. This falls somewhere between Fracas and Michael Kors on me, but since I have both those scents I doubt I will repurchase this one. Oh, and for what it's worth, my teenage daughters found this scent absolutely revolting...so perhaps it isn't one for the younger gals. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* eurodivas on 11/18/2007 4:00:00 PM more reviews by eurodivas

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of my staple perfumes. Have been buying this for years and the scent is just classic. Great for the winter months.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pacificnorthwestocean on 11/3/2007 11:18:00 AM more reviews by pacificnorthwestocean

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

From Osmoz. Date of creation 1988.

Carolina Herrera leans on floral accords of jasmine and tuberose. The fragrance evokes the flavor of warm nights in Venezuela, the creator's country of origin. The jasmine note is a blend of two varieties: the fruity and delicate accent of petals, and the more sensuous and exotic tone of Indian jasmine. The woody notes of sandalwood and amber give the fragrance warmth and a cozy facet with radiant floral notes.

Top note : Orange Blossom, Bergamot, Green Note
Middle note : Jasmine, Tuberose, Narcissus, Ylang-Ylang
Base note : Sandalwood, Cedarwood, Vetiver, Amber

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 8ball on 9/26/2007 9:49:00 AM more reviews by 8ball

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm surprised this doesn't have a higher overall rating. Maybe b/c it's an 80's type perfume which is strong and sweet. But I think it smells *amazing*, and I have since the first time I tried it. It's a floral, heady with a unique twist. To give some perspective, I also love Michael, Marc Jacobs, Joy, and original Perry Ellis (which it is similar to, but orig PE is now d/c). It is also loooong lasting. A little goes a long way. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* diana6 on 8/16/2007 9:52:00 PM more reviews by diana6

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I only have a sample of this, but I really like it! I plan on buying the full size bottle soon. It's very sophisticated, but not too flowery or strong. I probably wouldn't wear it during the daytime with jeans and a t-shirt, but it's definitely perfect for getting dressed up. It's more "feminine" than what I usually wear (I like a lot of citrus scents like Yves St. Laurent Baby Doll), but I love this, too.

The bottle is unexciting, but that's not too important to me - it's not like you're wearing the bottle!

EDIT: The actual perfume smelled NOTHING like the sample. Very "old lady" and overpowering flowers. Will not buy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Tristan77 on 8/13/2007 7:12:00 PM more reviews by Tristan77

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This fragrance is absolutely beautiful! It has an incredible dry down, and it is classic, sexy and can be worn by young and mature.
I love it!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Carolina Herrera products

More Fragrances products