New York Color Browser

4.0

188 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Wax Ingredients: Petrolatum, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Cera Microcristallina/Microcrystalline Wax/Cire Microcrystalline, Beeswax, Paraffin, Paraffinum Liquidum/Mineral Oil/Huile Minerale, 8immon0sia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Lanolin Oil, Silica, Propylparaben, Tocopherol. May Contain: Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Mica. Powder Ingredients: Talc, Boron Nitride, Zinc Stearate, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Coco-Caprylate/Caprate, Isopropylparaben, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Quaternium-15. May Contain: Mica, Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Ultramarines (CI 77007).


on 2/24/2011 11:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

First of all- disregard all these negative comments about the packaging! I would recommend that one should cleanse the brush after every use-- right ladies?! We like to keep our brushes clean for a clean application every time.

I bought the Browser in Brunette (at Target) for about $4.

Pros:
It's compact.
Lightweight.
Cute.
Perfect for Blonds and Brunettes.
It doesn't go on cakey like some pencils/other powders do.
Comes with the application brush mini tweezers that work quite well, actually!

Cons:
There was only Brunette offered in my area (not sure about darker/lighter colors).


Overall, this product is great! I love the way it goes on and the wax keep it right in place. It looks so clean. Worth the purchase.



Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Tan, Cool

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I use this every day to fill in my brows. I used to use a dark brown eye shadow (bottom right corner of an 88 Warm palette) but I switched to this when I found it in my makeup collection. I really love that it is so small and convenient but the brush is too small to grip (and I have tiny hands/fingers) so I just use an ELF eyeliner brush. I keep the tiny tweezers in my makeup bag for emergencies.


on 11/27/2010 3:20:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

i bought this product a week ago. the wax and powder combination is amazing. the color is great and it lasts all day. after discovering this, i'm not going back to the eyebrow pencil & brush combination! it costed $4, which is inexpensive for such a great eyebrow kit. the angled brush is the perfect size and the tweezers work really well. the kit slides open and close, which is really cute. i keep it in my makeup bag at all times; i would definetely repurchase this product when it runs out!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I bought this a year or two ago and I've only used it a few times. The color is too light for me. I really love the tweezers that came with it. I'd only repurchase this if I ever lose the tweezers.


on 9/15/2010 11:31:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this to have a cheap product to throw in my travel makeup bag. For that purpose, it truly fills the bill. The powder is packaged as a kit, including the pan of brow powder alongside a pan of brow wax, a small (but useless) pair of tweezers, and a brush to apply the powder/wax. The container is also housed in a plastic case that is also handy for travel. The powder is soft and smooth, and on par with more expensive brow powders I have, including the super expensive Anastasia powder. The wax included in the same packaging is also convenient to have for travel, and the included brush is surprisingly useful when you don't want to bring a separate brow brush on travel. For my purposes, this is perfect, and I will most certainly repurchase to keep in my travel kit. My biggest gripe with this is that it only comes in one color. Also, the packaging is somewhat cheap and would probably fall apart quickly if you didn't also keep the it in the included plastic case. That said, it certainly gets the job done, and it is dirt cheap! Worth a try on that basis.


on 7/31/2010 12:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I had been using this product for months but I just never really got the hang of the powder and wax thing. The brush got really stiff after being dipped in the wax so much. I found this product to be kinda messy. The packing is not really good. It would get the job done, but I have to say it wasn't my fave product. Ive since moved to the Milani brow kit and loving it.


on 7/11/2010 10:34:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Lasted all day for me. My HG for brows. I have a kit called Brunette, but are there lighter shades available? I didn't see other shades of "Browser" on the NYC website.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I would give this a 4.5 if possible.
I expected not to like this, because I mistakenly purchased this thinking this was the WnW one everyone raves about on here. I realized I had bought NYC and then looked up the reviews, only to read pretty rotten ones. I tried it once and left it to be.
Now I use it every day, and will probably need to repurchase soon. I ran out of my normal powder so I had to use this (I purchased the dark brown colour, although I don't remember there being any other options).
It is a rich brown, with no strange red undertones. Very dark and pigmented. I would not suggest to anyone with medium to light coloured hair at all.
It lasts all day. I really fill in my eyebrows (I have dyed dark hair and am naturally blonde so they're very light, and super sparse from a firework incident). This doesn't fade at all.
There are a few cons, but nothing major. The wax mine came with is very soft and does nothing to hold brow hairs in place, but I prefer to use hairspray anyways.
The powder isn't very compressed so beware, you can load up your brush easily without knowing it.
And the packaging, tweezers and brush are just garbage. But I wasn't expecting anything great from them, and I'm sure no one is. It only cost me $4CDN, which is peanuts. I use an angled eyeliner brush, which works very well.
I love this, will repurchase when necessary. Definitely wowed me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/23/2010 9:24:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

Omg I love this! I don't remember how much it cost but it was under 3 CAD I think lol. It has cute tweezers, a mini angled brush(I don't use), a powder, and a wax (great for traveling)...it's packaging I like because it's super small and it slides like awesomely lol... I don't use the powder, because my brows might be black, but the kit I got has dark powder which is good as an eyeshadow, but for my brows? Not so much. I use it all though. I love it, and I will get it in a lighter color.


on 1/23/2010 9:18:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I loved using this product back when I was getting my brows waxed more often.

First off, I found that the wax was great for keeping small hairs in place and provided a fantastic base for the powder in this set. Speaking of the powder, it also matched my hair color (light blonde, so my brows needed to be just a touch darker) perfectly. The tiny tweezers were a great compliment in order to maintain my brows between waxing. Easy to use and control - plus angled just right.

Someone else mentioned that they haven't been able to find the blonde shade (taupe) recently - I haven't either and think they have discontinued it. However, I've moved on to brow stencils with light brown powder, so I honestly haven't had a great need for this kit. With that being said, the NYC Browser kit is a great buy - so inexpensive and works great!


Popular Brows Products


Castor Oil
388 Reviews
Brow Wiz
368 Reviews
Eyebrow Gel
38 Reviews
Eyebrow Kit
631 Reviews
Back to Top