Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk Foundation

3.8

1126 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

AQUA / WATER, CYCLOPENTASILOXANE, GLYCERIN, ISODODECANE, ALCOHOL, POLYGLYCERYL-4 ISOSTEARATE, ALUMINUM STARCH OCTENYLSUCCINATE, CETYL PEG/PPG-10/1 DIMETHICONE, HEXYL LAURATE, DISTEARDIMONIUM HECTORITE, PHENOXYETHANOL, ACETYLATED GLYCOL, STEARATE, MAGNESIUM SULFATE, ETHYLHEXYL METHOXYCINNAMATE, TRISTEARIN, CELLULOSE GUM, NYLON-1,2 LIMONENE, BENZYL SALICYLATE, LINALOOL, DIPHENYL DIMETHICONE ACRYLATES COPOLYMER, PARFUM / FRAGRANCE, DISODIUM STEAROYL GLUTAMATE, METHYLPARABEN, BUTYLPARABEN, BUTYLPHENYL METHYLPROPIONAL, ALUMINUM HYDROXIDE, HEXYL CINNAMAL [ /- MAY CONTAIN CI 77891 / TITANIUM DIOXIDE CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 77491 / IRON OXIDES CI 77007 / ULTRAMARINES MICA


on 6/9/2015 4:04:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Silver, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Ahhhhh. Finally...an HG! This foundation is wonderful for my dry skin, which is not in bad shape after 57 years of wear. Although it does not have sunscreen, I use a moisturizer with sunscreen, and then a Smashbox or Chanel primer underneath the foundation. It goes on smoothly using either my fingers or an RT foundation brush. It's held up well in cold, dry weather and on hot, humid days, too. I also use a prescription retinoid 1-2 times per week. While I liked Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua, it's fallen to a solid second place now that Armani has appeared. Pricey? Yes. Bliss? Absolutely.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.



on 6/6/2015 9:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

If you have normal or dry skin, you NEED this foundation. It comes with a lot of product so last you a long time (6-7 months) and this is my everyday foundation. Just 2 squirts of this foundation is enough for your whole face, and can easily build coverage with more product.

It's lightweight and medium coverage, and and really does give you a luminous look! The packaging is lightweight and has a matte finish bottle - very pretty :)

Even after purchasing other foundations (I.e. NARS Sheer Glow, Chanel Perfection Lumiere), this would still be my highly recommended product as I always catch myself going back to this product, and using it as my everyday foundation!

It mixes so well with other product, e.g. Whether your contouring with a powder based contour kit or a darker foundation. It just sits very well on this foundation, and doesn't cake the skin!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/6/2015 11:04:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Crap, i really hate to be part of the cult following this foundation but its hard not to when it truly works that well on you. i have olive/yellow skin making it sooo hard to find a good color match, right now im using 5.75 and i love it! everything about it (except of course the hefty price tag) the application, the finish (think satin with a glow where the light hits) it lasts about 6-7 hours on me with settng powder and it photographs amazingly<3 no breakouts either! skin doesnt feel dry or tight with it on.
its been my HG for a few years now and im always trying to find a cheaper alternitive but i have yet to find something this good! the raves are true, LS is amazing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/3/2015 4:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

What can I say; worth the money? hell no.

It looks fabulous when applied like really nice Hollywood nice.
After a few hours: max 4 I get a little oily. (I have combo/acne prone skin.) this doesn't bother me really. I get oily with almost every foundation. (i've tried a lot "always searching for holy grail material with light to medium coverage ")
But here comes the real trouble:
First of all it highlights the pores. When you have visible pores this is definitely not for you!
It says it does not clog the pores.
Well my skin determined that this is a LIE.
From clogged pores to pimples to breakouts all over my face.

First I thought: this must be the hormones.
So I kept using this "face" liquid cause no way this could be causing it.
Boy was I wrong.
In a very short time I went from a decent soft smooth skin to a bumpy pimple scar-ish face. :(
YES Its that bad!
So I started a search for the ingredients since it made my skin a "wanna-be" mount everest style.
so it appears it contains some hormonal-disruption ingredients. Which causes breakouts.
I wish I knew this before spending my money. *cries in Spanish*
Be warned. This one either is a dream. or could be your worst nightmare.
* I normally dont break out from other foundations
only when its that time of the month*
Would never ever recommend to those whom can relate to my skin type





5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 6/2/2015 8:44:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Nothing beats this foundation! It lasts all day, is buildable to required coverage without looking caked on. It gives the most amazing glow. I give other brands a go via samples and trials but I always god back to GE LS.


on 5/31/2015 3:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am just so impressed with this foundation. I have had it for about a month now, and every time I wear it I fall more and more in love. I have used it with multiple different powders and primers. And used multiple types of products on top ( creme bronzer/blush and powder and gel) and it all sits amazingly under or on top of all the products. I have fairly normal skin, however between my eyebrows my skin breaks up foundation, and this one doesn't do that. It mainly happens in winter, and as I have received this in spring it might be slightly different in winter, when it comes, but hopefully it won't. I have already purchased a 2nd bottle in another shade, as the first one I got was for my self tanned/post Caribbean vacation shade. So i needed done for when I am not self tanning. This is very long lasting, at the end of the day my skin still looks flawless. I like that for everyday wear I can wear it sheerly, but at night or for a special event, I can build it up. Doesn't feel heavy on my face. Honestly I have been dreading getting this because of the price (66$ CAD) but I am in love. Why does this have to be the most amazing foundation? wouldn't it have been at least something that's in the 40$ range? Honestly I am really happy with this. I do have the MUFE HD, but I prefer this, as it is slightly more glowy, but everything else is the same.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/29/2015 7:35:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is my perfect foundation! I have oily skin so I was a bit hesitant about buying this. It gives you a very healthy glow with good coverage so I find this hides my acne scaring quite well, but if you have quite bad scaring you will need a bit of conciliar. If you do have oily skin I recommend a good primer for example the hourglass one. It lasts for about 3-5 hours on my oily skin in summer( you may want a blotting powder during the day) I apply this with a damp beauty blender and it went on with out looking cakey. My only problem with this foundation is if you have an uneven skin texture it can be quite visible. Colour wise I am pale to medium and I use the colour 4 ( Mac studio fix NC15) it a little to dark for me but great for summer if I get a slight tan or if u want to look more bronzed. Over all I love this and for me is worth the money ( in Australia it was $90 so kind of breaking the bank but worth it for me)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/25/2015 4:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

With the right long lasting primer and application this stays on all day i use this all the time it makes you look fresh and glowy its pricey but i understand why i love this foundation it also does not break me out at all i could go out all day and this does not budge just spray with a makeup setter


on 5/17/2015 12:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

The most spent for a foundation, but Armani fails to disappoint.
I often choose a foundation to try by the variety of shades. Luminous Silk is by far the best luxury foundation for medium coverage and dewy finish. My skin has never looked so clear with a natural air brushed glow. Its a challenge to find a foundation that covers large pores without accentuating scars and luminous silk is one of the rare fews that do. The texture is creamy and formulated with silk and micro-fil technology, which is new and unique on the market but cannot be used with sponge applicators. Also, this foundation does not have any sun protection and does need to be retouched every 4.5 hours, but hands down my favorite for 2015 summer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/17/2015 1:15:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Grey

For reference I'm NC37-40 and I had this in shade 6. This is probably the worst high-end foundation I ever had. It goes on well and looks good for the first hour or so, but then it turns itself into a mess, I can't even explain how bad it starts to look after an hour, it oxidizes, on me it turned into some weird green/brown-ish cast, it lost most of it's coverage pretty quickly as well, despite me setting it with MAC Skinfinish and translucent powder in t-zone in hope to make it last all day, but it just doesn't work. I personally tried so, so, so many foundations that this one just seems really average, even worse than some (ekhm, most) of the drugstore foundations, which is crazy. I can't really tell where's the celebrity hype is coming from, apart from the fact that this looks really good in photos, and that's probably pretty much what they care about, but as an everyday or clubbing foundation, this just sucks, it slides off the face no matter what and I got totally normal skin, so this shouldn't even happen. On top of that, even though the shade selection is huge, the shade in itself are pretty ugly to me, too much red, green, brown, orange in all the shades I swatched and as I mentioned before the one that matched me was too green/brown. I will definately never repurchase this one again.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

MAC Glitter Makeup Tutorial by Only Wafa



Top Rated Giorgio Armani Products

image

Black Code

49 reviews
image

Sheer Bronzer #1

123 reviews
image

Blender brush

55 reviews
Back to Top