Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk Foundation

3.8

1111 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

AQUA / WATER, CYCLOPENTASILOXANE, GLYCERIN, ISODODECANE, ALCOHOL, POLYGLYCERYL-4 ISOSTEARATE, ALUMINUM STARCH OCTENYLSUCCINATE, CETYL PEG/PPG-10/1 DIMETHICONE, HEXYL LAURATE, DISTEARDIMONIUM HECTORITE, PHENOXYETHANOL, ACETYLATED GLYCOL, STEARATE, MAGNESIUM SULFATE, ETHYLHEXYL METHOXYCINNAMATE, TRISTEARIN, CELLULOSE GUM, NYLON-1,2 LIMONENE, BENZYL SALICYLATE, LINALOOL, DIPHENYL DIMETHICONE ACRYLATES COPOLYMER, PARFUM / FRAGRANCE, DISODIUM STEAROYL GLUTAMATE, METHYLPARABEN, BUTYLPARABEN, BUTYLPHENYL METHYLPROPIONAL, ALUMINUM HYDROXIDE, HEXYL CINNAMAL [ /- MAY CONTAIN CI 77891 / TITANIUM DIOXIDE CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 77491 / IRON OXIDES CI 77007 / ULTRAMARINES MICA


on 5/7/2015 4:57:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love love love! Just the right amount of coverage as well as leaving your skin glowing



on 4/30/2015 8:45:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Grey

Bought shade #4 after being matched to it based on wearing Make-Up Forever HD foundation shade 117 (Marble). After a year of telling myself it is too expensive, I bit the bullet and bought it during Sephora's VIB sale. (still too expensive, but I digress)

A quick swatch on the hand looked to be very similar.

I applied this to my face and loved the consistency! I gave a dewy (but not overly!) look with light to medium coverage. A little seemed to go a long way. Everything was great until...

It oxidized! After about 20 mins it looked pinky orange on my skin. It was so bad of a match that I had to wash it off - I was too embarrassed to leave the house with my face that different to my neck and chest.

:( the search for a dewy foundation continues!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/22/2015 3:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

- the best colour for my skin, just the right amount of yellow undertone. It was an exact match
- bottle is really elegant

negatives:
- very expensive
- didn't add 'luminosity' had a very matte finish
- dried out my skin - despite me using skincare under the product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is a review in progress but here my thoughts. I applied this at 9am and tested it by doing errands, yard work, walking dog, etc. I also prepped it with serum, moisturizer, and Hourglass no. 28 primer.
Pro:
- Normally I never review on color alone, but I feel like Armani NAILED it with the correct amount of yellow. Didn't oxidize, stayed true to color.
- low alcohol- didn't itch or irritate like others (ahem, DIOR!).
- blends in very well, as in doesn't look caky, doesn't emphasize pores.
- No SPF (I prefer my foundations without it).
- sheer to medium coverage.

Cons:
- NOTHING luminous about this. It tries down to matte.
- I am VERY dry. This moved and pilled immediately on my dry spots. I expected MUCH more from a $60+ dollar foundation that markets itself as luminous and silky. Using it under eye was a huge no-no. I wound up wiping it off and sticking with just concealer.
- The price- I just don't understand how this can be so expensive when there are better formulas that cost less or the same.
- Didn't hold up very well doing moderate activities like raking and mild sweating in 70 degree sunshine. It's five hours later and I can see areas where the foundation has started to break down. That's totally unacceptable for such a ridiculous price tag.

In short, I really wanted to like this. Alas, it don't love it. Perhaps it would be absolutely worth all the hype on people with normal/oily skin. On my dry skin however, it moved and faded in record time. This was intended for my wedding makeup, and if it couldn't handle being outside for a couple hours in spring, there is no way I see it lasting an entire afternoon and evening on a hot June day.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 4/20/2015 8:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Olive, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

I decided to buy this foundation on a whim after all the hype surrounding it. For the insane price of AU$94, I have to say I was expecting amazing things - but this product pretty much bombed big time for me. First of all, contrary to its name, there is nothing luminous about this foundation, especially if you have dry skin like mine (which mind you, I keep well moisturised with emollient based skincare products) - I would say it has more of a satin matte finish? Not only did it cling to my dry patches but it was also horribly hard to blend, and I feel that it only served to highlight my imperfections rather than conceal them.

I really tried to like this foundation, honestly I did. Especially for the amount of money I paid (we don't get to do refunds/ exchanges here in Australia), I was hoping that at the very least it would be a decent enough foundation for me to make do with. But nope, this has got to be one of the worst foundations I've tried, I feel like even the drugstore foundations I own blows this out of the water. I could see why people with oily to normal/ combination skin might enjoy this product, but frankly if you have dry/ very skin like I do, I would suggest skipping it altogether. Don't make the mistake I did.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 4/14/2015 11:31:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

Ordered online from Sephora and selected Luminous Silk Foundation as one of my samples. Sample of fdtn offered in one shade - 5.5. Too dark for my skin tone, but the fdtn itself did not work well for my skin.

The only "silk" like feature about this fdtn is the feel of it when first applied. After thirty minutes wearing this, my face felt uncomfortably taut and dry. Couldn't wait to wash it off my face.

Finish looked blotchy and cakey due to it oxidizing on my skin and clinging to dry patches.

D/S L'oreal True Match Lumi Healthy Luminous Makeup is still the forerunner in my fdtn stash.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/14/2015 8:20:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

so I've given this a 4 as I'm yet to find the PERFECT foundation, but so far this is the nearest I've found! I'm quite tanned( work in a tanning salon lol) and I found shade 7 was actually the best matched shade foundation I've EVER had, so even for that purpose alone I'd 100% purchase again(I'm more pinky toned & a lot of other foundations make me look orangey, this just disappears into my skin effortlessly but still makes look tanned). I have dry skin and this is much better than Estee Lauder double wear my old foundation. I'd recommend going into a Debenhams or selfridges and having the sales assistant find your perfect match but for anyone ordering online I wore Honey Bronze in EL double wear which was as I said abit orangey and i ordered this in shade 7. Girls with a more yellow undertone I'd go for 6.5

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is expensive. This is grotesquely expensive. I am extremely grateful that I got this for free as I might kill me to regularly spend $62 on foundation.... even one this good.

I guess this isn't a proper review, because I do have to mix this with a bit of white foundation. My skin is WHITE pale. Very few brands make foundation pale enough for me. I've accepted this. So I mix my own foundation. Unfortunately, the white foundation I have is quite oily and that does change the finish of this foundation a bit.

I have this in the palest shade, which is 2. It's still too dark for my skin. Surprisingly though, this is very golden toned. Usually foundations in the palest shade are pink toned, so it's nice to see a pale foundation that isn't just for Irish redheads.

My skin is in pretty good condition. Not oily or dry, and I don't have anything serious to cover. The only issue with my skin is that it is sensitive. I've never had any issues with this foundation upsetting my skin. It's never given me acne, and never made my skin dry. I think if you had dry skin and were using this, it shouldn't be a problem if your skin was moisturized. This is too "dewy" for oily skin. Really cannot comment on wrinkles....

The coverage is very light. I have some freckles and a beauty mark, and they still show through with this. How it is possible that this foundation manages to even my skin tone perfectly without looking masky, flawlessly cover redness, and yet still let my freckles be visible is baffling. True story: my boyfriend out of curiosity asked what makeup I was wearing, and I said foundation, mascara, and a bit of blush. He was inches from my face and said "foundation where....". You see? Very impressive stuff. Sadly worth the $62.... But for someone needing heavy coverage or someone with bad skin, I'm not sure that this would quite cut it.

The finish is....luminous and silky. Couldn't have given this stuff a better name :) definitely not matte, not obnoxiously shimmery, and not "flat". It just looks like you have perfect, glowing skin.

My one issue with this is that the staying power isn't perfect. Can't give this a five because of it. It lasts through sweat amazing well, but unless it's set with powder it will rub off. If you touch your face, you'll have a little bit of foundation of your fingers :/ But even if it wears off a bit, it still looks okay. I also find that this doesn't dry very quickly, but that does leave more time to blend it in. If I use primer, this will go on very smoothly and evenly but my skin will get shiny after two hours. If I use this over sunscreen, it's a touch more difficult to blend and doesn't apply as smoothly, but it doesn't get shiny. My point is that this definitely isn't oil-controlling.

I've found it best to use a matte powder over this. I've used Revlon Photoready Translucent Finisher over this and it was too shimmery.

Aside from the staying power, this foundation is absolutely wonderful. It makes my skin look absolutely perfect. Best foundation I've ever used. If this was made in a shade that was pale enough for me, I would be utterly thrilled.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 4/6/2015 8:52:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I am one of those people who read reviews and don't write them, so this is my first review on anything.

I purchased this foundation as I had heard so many beauty gurus rave about it, and the selling point was the admin girl at my doctors surgery who had it on and raved about it.

In Australia this foundation retails for $91 so it is very expensive.

Unfortunately, I wanted to love this foundation but it just didn't work for me. I have oily skin. It has been summer here in Australia since I started using it about 6 weeks ago and I couldn't for the life of be figure out why i was having continuous breakouts on my forehead! All my pores were blocked and bumpy and then i was getting pimples. I clean my face and take my make up off as soon as I get home every day from work, i changed my cleanser, I ex-foliated, i changed my moisturiser and toner, and I was doing face marks and peels once a week to unclog my pores as I thought it was from sweat/hot weather (its been extremely humid here) plus i even gave up the gym for a week thinking it was sweat related, and nothing cleared it up. I had never broken out from a foundation before in my life so didn't think of this. But then I found a couple of reviews who said that they had broken out and that the foundation was high in silicone, and I clicked. I did find that my forehead was getting more oily with this foundation, i could put the back of my hand against my forehead in the afternoon and it was just oil pressing back onto my hand. It was horrible. I soon stopped it and went back to my Nars Sheer Glow and noticed when i would take this off when i got home my forehead was nowhere near as red and irritated. I actually ended up going to the dr to get a acne gel to unclog my bumpy forehead, it looked horrible. Was thinking of keeping the foundation for special occasions because it photographs beautifully but I don't think I will risk it, especially if its a hot day.

Have just had a tester of the Lancome Teint Mircale foundation and am liking that, so think I will purchase it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/5/2015 3:18:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

The finish of this foundation is beautiful. Not dewy just glowing. The coverage is light but it glides on like silk and needs almost no blending. When set with loose powder, it lasts all day even with my slightly oily skin. I do use a primer underneath though (Smashbox). It was worth the high price tag but I'm taking two lippies off because it's really pricey.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

MAC Glitter Makeup Tutorial by Only Wafa



Top Rated Giorgio Armani Products

image

Black Code

50 reviews
image

Sheer Bronzer #1

123 reviews
image

Blender brush

55 reviews
Back to Top