Giorgio Armani • Luminous Silk Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.9(1029 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 darthodis on 6/23/2014 10:11:00 AM more reviews by darthodis

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Whenever I wear this I get complimented on my skin all the time. It gives such a beautiful and glowing finish, it goes on smoothly and feels light and fresh on my skin. And it's buildable. But it's horrible for my oily days(I have combination skin where I can be dry one day and oily the next). After I've worn it for about 3-4 hours I'm total grease face and it looks really horrible on my skin and clogs my pores like no other product I've used. After about 6 hours it's completely worn off. But that is only on my oily days. On normal or dry skin days it's a really great foundation, not the best one I've used(I prefer coverage over a glowing finish)since it does not cover my acne scarring very well, but the best one for a luminous finish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ollywood on 6/11/2014 9:33:00 PM more reviews by ollywood

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Hi from planet Ollywood .. OMG Im a male and use the 5.5 in the Armani this stuff rox I have tried some other sample high end foundations but this is like silk I look like Im 10 yrs younger in pictures. #BOOM you gotta love that anyways try / enjoy :D

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 vanessa2009 on 6/10/2014 10:53:00 PM more reviews by vanessa2009

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I find it hard to give 5 stars to any foundation, simply because none have achieved Holy Grail status with me. This is a good foundation, and probably one of the best I have tried. I have tried Diorskin Hydrating Nude, Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua, Nars Sheer Glow, Guerlain Parure de Lumiere, Mac Face & Body, Bobbi Brown BB Cream, Napoleon Mineral Foundation and Revlon Colourstay Whipped Creme foundation. It is expensive, but price is not an issue to me when it comes to foundations. This feels nice, and when applied it does not look like I have any make up on at all. It has a good range of colours, though I feel my shade is a little bit dull, but that is probably more to do with the sales assistant's colour matching ability. The first SA matched me to 4.5 and the second to 6.5, how ridiculous is that? 5.5 would be the most sensible option but that one had a pink tone. If I had the extra cash I would purchase 4.5 to mix, but given that I have so many foundations and this is so expensive, it just didn't seem sensible. It is comfortable to wear, and does not feel like I am wearing anything on my face. I cannot comment on oil control. On some days I get oily really fast, and on others this seems to really work. I don't really find the finish luminous though, not that this is a problem to me! Guerlain Parure de Lumiere and Diorskin Hydrating Nude are far more luminous in finish.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Christy33 on 6/10/2014 7:28:00 PM more reviews by Christy33

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

This foundation is very nice! I love how it looks and feels on my skin. The look does not last all day on my oily t-zone skin. I have to blot several times during the day and it's impossible for me to wear in the summer. Not crazy about the price either. There are plenty of foundation that are about the same for $20 bucks less.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 grocerystoredates on 6/7/2014 10:35:00 PM more reviews by grocerystoredates

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Are you after the best of both worlds?? Are you neither oily, nor dry, and have you been trying to rectify this by finding the perfect product that will make you both oily, AND dry? Are you longing for visible pores and creases around the mouth? Do you look forward to midday, when your foundation will invariably have "slid" off your face, prompting co-workers to ask "are you okay?" or "are you sick" and "Do you need to go home?"?
Do you like the self-satisfaction of knowing that you have $92 to throw away?
Cool! This product's for you!
I'd recommend Armani Luminous Silk (less "silk" and more "cotton makeup remover pad") if you're purposely trying to look sh*t so you can be sent home early from work, class, brunch. I'd recommend Luminous Silk if you want to impress friends with the fact that you own an $$$$ product raved about on Into the Gloss, or impress your more simple mates (old high school friends), who have probably heard the name "Armani" somewhere, and consider it synonymous with rich/stylish women like Meryl Streep in The Devil Wears Prada.
Soon, you'll have given up sharing your Eclipse Breathe Mints with classmates and friends, and will be offering pumps of this stuff instead; you'll just want to get rid of it.
Get buying!!! xxxx

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ginaxav on 6/1/2014 3:18:00 PM more reviews by ginaxav

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

For color reference- I had to order this online, and guessed, but guessed perfectly- I wear a 2.5 in Touch Eclat pen, BD20 in Touch Eclat foundation, Fairly Medium in Bare Minerals, Warm Ivory in Dermablend Cover Cream, Fresco in Estee Lauder Double Wear, Fiji in Nars, NC20 in Mac, and in this foundation, GA Luminious Silk, I wear a 4. All of these are nearly perfect-perfect on my skin tone.

I have been on a foundation buying spree. I have Mac, Nars, YSL, Estee Lauder, Giorgio Armani, Dermablend, and Bare Minerals. I am really loving the Armani Luminous Silk foundation. I took off a price lippie because I do believe it's expensive and I'm lucky that I can afford to buy it and play around, but the price point is going to be out of some people's reach.

I love that the bottle has a cap and a pump. My Mac pump which I had to buy separate has a little snap on blocker for when you're travelling to prevent the pump from pressing and I'm always afraid I'll lose it. I like that this pump is covered by the cap. It pumps a small amount- I need about 3 pumps to cover my whole face and layer, vs 1 or 1.5 with the Mac pump. The foundation is pretty fluid. I dab it on with a damp beauty blender. I have a lot of acne and redness so I do 3 layers on the damaged areas and just 1 or 2 on the better areas of my skin, but it all looks even and flawless. Even with 3 layers over acne it doesn't look cakey at all. I live on the NC coast and it's very hot and humid- I came inside this afternoon and my makeup still looked great. I always set with an Hourglass Ambient Light powder but regardless I am not blotchy, oily, dry, flaky, uneven, oxidizing, etc.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PreciousCharmer17 on 5/30/2014 4:05:00 PM more reviews by PreciousCharmer17

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is such a wonderful foundation. It reminds me of YSL teint resist (the old formula) foundation. Yes, it is very pricey but totally worth it. Every girl needs a high end foundation and this is mine. Absolutely gorgeous finish and texture. Feels light and lovely on my skin; not like other foundations where it feels so thick and heavy. This is worth the purchase. The packaging is wonderful. It's almost the same as the YSL glassy one (again the old formula). Try the foundation. You won't regret it. It hasn't broken me out once. I have sensitive skin and this hasn't bothered me one bit. I use this sparingly though because it is so expensive. I have another go to HG foundation I mostly use for the hot spring/summer days, but when I have a special event to go to I def go with this foundation. A girl wants to feel pampered sometimes with high end makeup. lol. I am an oily combo skin type and I don't see this foundation adding onto my oil production. In other words, I don't feel like a grease ball. My skin feels wonderful and it's able to breathe...that's why this foundation is great. Doesn't irritate or add any blemishes onto my face. Just perfect.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Bridget5 on 5/30/2014 12:24:00 AM more reviews by Bridget5

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This really is an absolutely beautiful foundation. I've tried gazillions over the years, I'm such a foundation junkie, so for this to be nearing a holy grail is saying something. It's so fluid-like which I normally don't like because I find runny foundations difficult to blend and too light, but this just sinks into the skin so beautifully. My 6.5 is perhaps slightly yellow-y but I did ask for something a touch darker since it's summer here. I do need to powder after a few hours but only because I have combination skin and I live in sweat-box Hong Kong. In short, lovely foundation and I'll definitely be re-purchasing!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ejk28 on 5/29/2014 11:11:00 AM more reviews by Ejk28

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

WOW, just wow. This is so far the most beautiful foundation I have encountered. It is very liquid/ fluid like, so it is easy to blend in. It doesn't set quickly like a stain, which is fantastic because you can build up the coverage. Has a very natural look finish, very realistic and never looks like you have a ton of make up on. Love it! I do have oily skin and work full days in air-conditioning and I don't have any problem with this foundation staying on. Yes my t-zone will need a blot around the half way mark, but I can easily get a full 8 hours out of this foundation with it looking fresh and effortless! In my opinion this goes on a true medium coverage with one layer and just gives this beautiful "lit from within" luminosity to the skin (as the name would suggest.) Another GREAT point is that the foundation does not change colour at all, absolutely no oxidization or darkening (unlike Lasting silk). I have tried out a sample of Lasting silk and will defiantly be purchasing as well, biggest differences between the two is: Lasting silk does darken on the skin after drying, has more of a matte finish (although it does still have that gorgeous glow to it, and is slightly longer lasting 10 hours of great wear versus Luminous silk's 8 hours).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Vioni on 5/24/2014 4:12:00 PM more reviews by Vioni

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My HG foundation along with my Mufe HD! omg this is a really great foundation for the skin-finish flawless looking skin lol, this foundation creates a healthy looking skin and even when i wear 2 layers it still feels so light on my skin, i have very sensitive and oily skin, and this foundation never made me break out ever. Used this for months now and will repurchase if i run out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Giorgio Armani products

More Liquid products