Aveda Rosemary Mint Shampoo

3.2

271 reviews

48% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqueous (Water) Extracts, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract, Mentha Piperita (Peppermint) Leaf Extract, Sodium Coco-Sulfate (Source: Coconut), Lauramidopropyl Betaine (Source: Coconut), Glycerin (Source: Coconut), Sodium Chloride, Vinegar (Mixed Plant), Camphor (Mixed Plant), Menthol (Mixed Plant), Polyquaternium-7, Polyquaternium-4 (Plant Fiber), Cocamidopropylamine Oxide (Source: Coconut), Stearic Acid (Source: Coconut), Fragrance (Parfum) (Aveda's Own Pure-Fume Aroma with Rosemary, Peppermint, Lavender, Marjoram, and Other Pure Flower and Plant Essences), Linalool (Mixed Plant), Limonene (Mixed Plant), Citric Acid, Tetrasodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Benzoic Acid, Methylparaben, Diazolidinyl Urea.


on 8/5/2011 11:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

Crap. The only word I can think of that would describe this. Thankfully I didn't waste my money on this. Rather, I was away for a trip and this was the bathroom amenities that the hotel provided. I usually bring my own, but since it was only a few days I thought it wouldn't hurt. I was so wrong.


I got long, almost to the small of my back, normal hair. I used Joico's K-Pak the week before going. My straight mid-back length Asian hair was smoother and softer then usual. And bam, after one wash with this shampoo and matching conditioner, my hair was tangled getting out of the shower, and I would wake up to my hair looking like a bird's nest. I generally don't even brush my hair in the morning. It doesn't need it. Not with this shampoo, it was tangled in knots and my roots were gummy even after thorough washing and rinsing. It never felt cleaned, it was stripped of moisture and shine.


My bf who joined me for the trip has oily hair. He doesn't care about shampoo brands, he uses whatever is there, and sometimes he just uses water. He actually had an opinion for once about hair treatment. He hated it! His hair felt like it wasn't washed properly after this shampoo. It also felt gummy, and dirty and he got horrible, scalp flaking dandruff afterwards. Ew. We were both glad to go home after the 4 day trip and wash our hair properly with stuff that actually works.



on 7/29/2011 11:12:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

This is a shampoo for oily hair; not dry or colour treated, as mine is. I love the smell and the tingly feeling on the scalp, but it dried out my hair. If you have oilier hair and use it, be careful not to get it in your eyes as will sting.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

no no no! it's awful shampoo! especially talking into account the price! it's not worth it, it made my luxury hair look grossy and unshiny...never will buy Aveda shampoo!


on 5/16/2011 8:31:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I was pretty surprised when I read the other reviews mentioning how it causes scalp breakouts, reason being I used to have pretty oily scalp and this shampoo helps keeping it under control. I think the key to using this shampoo, or any shampoo in general, for people having oily scalp, is to clean your scalp extremely thoroughly every time. For me, I will wash my hair twice with shampoo every shower. After the second application, I will leave in the shampoo for around 1 min, then rinse it away. An indication of my scalp being completely clean is when it gets "squeaky" when you rub your fingers across our hair rubbing on your scalp. Sometimes I will get that sound after washing my hair for the first time, sometimes I can only feel the middle section downwards of my hair getting "squeakly clean", but not the roots. Then I wash my hair again. Until every part of your hair, from roots to ends, squeak! I guess your scalp is just like your face. Keeping it clean, oil-free is the first step to reduce breakouts. For price, it's actually reasonable if you buy the 1L size.


on 10/8/2010 4:35:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This stuff murdered my hair and made my scalp/forehead/neck break out. My roots were greasy and the rest of my hair was a dry frizzy mess. My scalp was sore, flaky and covered in pimples. I've never had newly washed hair look so gross. I looked and felt horrible for the week I used this.
I've never had a reaction to mint or rosemary. I have no idea why this made such a complete mess of my hair.

The smell is wonderful. Sometimes I still sniff the bottle and wish I could use it.


on 8/16/2010 11:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I'm on the fence with this one. I LOVE the smell and that's probably what keeps me coming back for more. It does take quite a bit to work up a lather, and I find the my hair gets slightly more oily in between washes when I use this. This would be a good daily shampoo if you can afford to use it that often. I might repurchase, but I'm not sure.


on 4/5/2010 3:01:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The shampoo is great. The conditioner is average. i also had the volumising moose which gives you a great bounce after the blow dry.


on 3/24/2010 4:40:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Just like the conditioner, a little DOES NOT go a long way. It is not worth it. I feel like I have to use half the bottle to work up a nice lather. So I will not be repurchasing this.


on 1/26/2010 4:41:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

its a so so shampoo. doesnt do much. light enough to use everyday and smells good.
the shampoo is not that organic or natural and pure but it is just ok, smell is great. no harsh big no no bag stuff.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Love, love, love. Aveda is my go to hair care products.
I use this shampoo along with there Shampure and Brilliant.
It has a nice thick consistency that gives you a deep clean.
If you are not keen on mint and rosemary, it may not be for you but Aveda does have many other shampoos to try from.
Prices can be a bit steep, but if you purchase any of your Aveda products from an Aveda store in the US make sure to sign up for the rewards card ($10). You get points and in return you can redeem online for Aveda products and other eco things (plus they send you birthday presents!!!).




Back to Top