Kerastase • Nutritive Irisome Bain Satin 2 • Shampoo

rated 3.8(170 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 kmw1 on 1/31/2012 6:03:00 PM more reviews by kmw1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I used this shampoo along with the Lait Vital for maybe 2 years. At first I loved it, my hair felt so silky and airy. But, I noticed if I went a day in between washings my hair felt dry and dirty. I also noticed that if I used this shampoo for more than 2 weeks without switching up, my hair would feel straw-like even as I was washing it! My hair started falling out in clumps in the shower and my scalp often itched. I never made the connection that it could have been this shampoo. I finally realized that it was loaded with silicones and it was ruining my hair. The dryness was from the silicone build up and I'm sure it was contributing to my hair loss. I have since changed to a premium plant based shampoo and conditioner and what a difference! My hair stays cleaner longer, no more dryness, no more excessive hair loss and no itchy scalp.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sharreb on 11/21/2011 7:40:00 AM more reviews by sharreb

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I was waiting for that miracle thg to happen with my hair. Previously used kerastase oleo curl and was great but when i switch back to straight hair i switch to this and what a hot mess! clumping upon use and after drying still clumping/some tangles. it weighed my hair down- gets oily really quickly and after one week of used i had to quit as it started giving scalp problems to me.Game over and have since gave this shampoo to someone with exceptionally dry damaged hair

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lilacpriest on 9/24/2011 2:37:00 PM more reviews by lilacpriest

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I am nearly through with an 8.5oz bottle of Bain Satin 2. I have long, thick, straight (with body), partially highlighted hair. Normal hair but ends can get dry. I found the Bain 2 line to be just ok. I had used Bain Oleo Relax shampoo as a house guest, and I loved what it did to my hair. It made shiny, smooth, full and soft. Deciding I was a Kerastase convert, I did a bunch of research on Kerastase's site and on MUA, I thought Bain Satin 2 would be the best match and bought my first bottle. This formula left my hair a bit dry and with far less shine. I love the smell. Overall, it's a good shampoo, but it's just not for my hair type. Today, I used Bain Miroir 1 for the first time. I meant to buy Bain Miroir 2, but I figured I'd give 1 a try. So far, very shiny and smooth. Once I've used Miroir a bit more, I'll be sure to write a review. I may have already found my HG in Bain Oleo Relax, but I figured I'd shop around first.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 frenchie_cutay on 9/20/2011 1:56:00 AM more reviews by frenchie_cutay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I just got this today and haven't used it yet but I must say this has got to be the weirdest rated product I've ever seen on MUA...one AWESOME, next TERRIBLE, then HG! then another shocking report...will update in two weeks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 dawneaoi on 7/2/2011 10:20:00 AM more reviews by dawneaoi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this product because I had read online that it's good for color treated hair with highlights. I recently went back to red from a dark brunette (stripped my hair) and then had balayage highlighting done.

The first time I used the shampoo, it was really hard to get a good lather going. I had to keep adding more and more shampoo to my hair. I have really thick hair, so a shampoo that lathers well is important.

After washing out the shampoo, my hair felt dry and was a tangled mess. I had to leave my conditioning masque in for a really long time, just so I could run a large comb through my hair.

Maybe three weeks after using the shampoo, I found it was making my hair feel softer and silkier, and that the colour I got is still fairly bright (we all know reds fade the worst!). Had you asked me a month ago if I was happy with the product, I would have said no, but now I can see the benefits.

This shampoo isn't very moisturizing, so I recommend having a good conditioner and maybe use one of Kerastase's masques once a week. It DOES work well at keeping colours from fading too fast, though. I think anyone who paid a lot of money for a salon colour will appreciate that.

If you have damaged hair, this product takes a while to make a change, but give it a chance. Try it for a whole month and you'll notice a difference!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 underoos on 6/23/2011 8:41:00 PM more reviews by underoos

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using this on my long, layered, color-treated hair for about two years now, and I have to say... it's far and away the best shampoo I've ever used. I have thick but fine hair, and (like every other woman out there) I bet I've tried a hundred different shampoos looking for one that won't leave my hair weighted down and full of eventual buildup. This is it. Complete and total HG. It never builds up, it always washes out clean and leaves my hair bouncy, soft, and healthy. Before I tried this I would have told you that all shampoos were the same, regardless of boutique appeal or exorbitant price-- now I know that there really IS a different in quality and performance.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PrettyInPlaidChic on 5/8/2011 9:04:00 PM more reviews by PrettyInPlaidChic

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

My on-off again relationship with Keratase hair products has spanned across 20 years, as and when I've been able to afford this line. Out of the three Satin Bains that I've tried extensively, this one is the one that has been the most efficacious for me. Kerastae has also recently introduced this product in an 80 mls travel size, while their sample sizes have been reduced from 15 mls to 10 mls. Satin Bain 1 was too frizz-inducing, while Satin Bain 3 gave me the greasy scalp after only a few days. My hair type: Fine, chemically treated and highlighted, lots of it, sensitive, oily scalp and dry ends. The key to understanding how any of the Kerastase bains are intended to work is grasp the whole hair bath concept. As such, I use this as a treatment, adjunct shampoo, in addition to, and in support of, regular, frequent shampoo and conditioner switches and co-washes. As such, I use this every three to four days, mostly as a pre-wash product. For my hair, it takes two rinses, with a quarter sized amount of product. Emulsifies and rinses well. Softens hair. Adds and enhances shine. In addition, surprise, surprise, despite the detergent-like fragrance that seems to be harsh, this does not irritate my scalp at all. The twist-top packaging is not an inconvenience at all. Given the conditioning cleanse that this gives my hair and scalp, this product is a good one. Yes, it's expensive-but it's also on a par with Wen, Alterna and other HE salon brands.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* violetmist on 4/11/2011 9:51:00 AM more reviews by violetmist

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Drying. Period.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jkpesaturo on 4/11/2011 9:08:00 AM more reviews by jkpesaturo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I agree with many of the previous reviewers. This totally dried my hair out to feel like straw. You have to use a lot of product to obtain any kind of lather. It also makes my hair really poofy as well. The lait vital conditioner is also a so/so product as well. I will stay with Bumble and Bumble.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 RainbowMun on 3/31/2011 8:39:00 PM more reviews by RainbowMun

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

Like many other reviewers here, I found this product to be ineffective after about a month. Leaves my hair looking dry. Would not repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Kerastase products

More Shampoo products