Dove Beauty Bar

4.4

895 reviews

87% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

sodium lauroyl isethionate, stearic acid, sodium tallowate or sodium palmitate, lauric acid, sodium isethionate, water, sodium stearate, cocamidopropyl betaine, sodium cocoate or sodium palm kernelate, fragrance, sodium chloride, tetrasodium edta, tetrasodium etidronate, titanium dioxide.


on 1/8/2015 3:05:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

A friend recommended this to me so I tried it out on my body first. I have mild back and chest acne and, over time, this product really helped to reduce it. It's very soothing and leaves the skin feeling super soft. It wasn't that great on my face though, I found that it didn't really cleanse as much as I needed. However, it is a great makeup remover so I do use this product to wash heavy make up off my face but other than that, I would recommend it strictly for bodily use.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 1/5/2015 3:13:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I never thought to put soap on my face until I read somewhere that Dove soap is actually good for acne prone skin. I have spent A LOT of money over the last 5 years trying to clear up my skin. I've spent money on cheap and expensive cleansers and face regimens only to have my skin made worse of just a little better. I even tried Michael Todd True Organics which everyone raves about. It helped but not too much. I have been using the dove soap for probably about 3 weeks and is a complete god send for me. My skin is finally clearing up (only a couple of small pimples to go!) and I had little bumps under the skin that have almost completely vanished. Who knew my miracle acne solution was only a $5 dove soap! It did dry out my skin a bit in one small area in the beginning but nothing a little moisturizer can't take care of. For those people who say this didn't work for them, you have to give the product a chance to work on your skin. You have to give it at least 3-4 weeks before you can say it was a hit or a miss. I can not say enough good things about this and I am excited to see what the future of my skin will look like. Will definitely never be without this soap again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/26/2014 2:30:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

Basically, I have a lot of these stocked up at home since they're really cheap and my mom likes buying.
This has a nice smell, so I like washing my hands with it.
It's a bar soap so it's in its nature to clog pores.(it's thickness is very similar to the hard waxy junk trapped in our pimples) I wouldn't dream of putting this on my acne prone skin.
It strips skin A LOT and makes it feel tight the more you use it. It also leaves a weird film that's hard to rinse off.
I also use this to wash my makeup brushes and it works okay for that too.
If I wash my hands too much, they begin to feel bone dry but I really don't want to burden other people with this. I have a lot of swatches on my hands all the time and this takes it right off.
Even if you have really nice skin, I still think it'll make it worse, more so if you have sensitive or problematic or broken skin.
It's not as bad as other bar soaps but that's not saying much. Dove's body washes aren't perfect but much better than their bar soap. Olay Fresh Foaming face wash is really for all skin types, especially if there aren't too many concerns. I would say to give this a pass and maybe use hand soap if you hate your skin since that'll probably damage it a whole lot less.


on 12/21/2014 6:00:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Love it . I had horrible acne in my chin decided to use dove bar to help lift dirt of my face and it has done wonders last week my face is glowing like when I was in my teens . It dries out my skin but I follow up with good night and day cream or serum . I use other bar for my body and not going back to crazy expensive body washes , I bought mines at dollar tree and happy is cheaper than acne cleansers .

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/20/2014 5:33:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have been using this beauty bar for half of a week now and I think that It is helping my skin to get rid of toxins in my pores. As with all cleansers you should use for 3 weeks to see the if it works for those that didn't know this here is why: If you have dirt in your pores and there is no pimple above surface but dirt underneath then when you start using a really good cleanser (dove) it will start to bring this dirt to the serface creating a pimple, then when the pimple disapears there will be no dirt under your skin and it will be totally clear.
This means that if you are using it and you start to get pimples, please wait a full three weeks, because this could actually be removing dirt that your other cleanser never got rid of.
I will update in a little bit to tell you how this is going


on 12/19/2014 3:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Where to even begin with this product. I have sensitive, combination skin, prone to redness and/or irritation.. I tried switching to organic products thinking it would benefit my face rather than all the chemicals.. NO.. I couldn't even remember what my beautiful clear skin looked like anymore, it was just so irritated with redness and break outs, I didn't ever want to do anything because I wanted to avoid going anywhere. My friend told me to stop and just use soap and water.. I was terrified, hearing that your never suppose to use soap, but I said what the heck, what do I have to lose.. It's been one week since using the Dove white beauty bar... I love it!! My face has cleared up and improved dramatically!! In just one week!! I love the lather it gives and even the smell. It can be drying to an area that is recovering from a blemish but nothing a little Eucerin can't fix.. Overall I hope this continues to work for me like the little gem it's been so far!! Thank you Dove and to my friend for the advice ;) Just try it, you might be suprised!!

UPDATE.......
Irritated my whole body. Not so much my face but I didn't like the way my face felt shortly after washing. Like a super oily film :/ really loved the smell though


on 12/15/2014 10:57:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Dove beauty bar what a gem you are. I have always kept you in my massive collection of products as a staple. You are inexpensive for such a quality product. Dove moisture cannot be beat for face and body. Creamy delicious lather that softens and soothes. You are an all star dove beauty bar


on 12/13/2014 10:10:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love dove soap! I ran out of one of my expensive cleansers, and only had my dove soap to use. I cringed at having to use a soap, as it's been drilled into me that soap will wreck the ph of my skin and dry it out, but I decided it was better to use soap then to leave my make up on all night. After I used it I thought my skin looked softer, less irritable and felt neither dry nor tight! After having used so many expensive cleansers over the years (clinique, jan marini, skinceuticals, obagi, estee lauder), I'm of the opinion that they are generally a waste of money! After all, they are on your skin for such a small amount of time! I'm trying to simplify my routine, and will continue to just use dove as my cleanser.
It's not a miracle for me and hasn't completely cleared up my skin or anything, but I do think my skin looks better when I use it, and in comparison to other high end cleansers I've used, it performs just as well, if not better :)

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 12/13/2014 12:20:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

I used to use this all the time in my teens and had such beautiful moisturised glowing skin and then I just got lost amidst all of the pretty shower gels I just forgot about it. After years of gels I found myself just loading body butter everyday just to have my glowing skin and I thought back on the days my skin was beautiful after using dove...so I bought the big pack as it was on special....after using dove beauty bar again for the first time it was a nostalgic beautiful and calming experience and I got out of the shower and my skin was so soft. A week later my skin is glowing and I find I dont need to exfoliate much anymore. I don't know what it is in the beauty bars but dove have it down pat. I will never stop using dove beauty bar ever again!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 10/11/2014 8:34:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I thought that this product was just body soap...until I read the reivews on Makeupalley, didn't know it was used for face haha.
Nearly all soap makes me skin feel tight and sometimes itchy, but this beauty bar doesn't, which I love.
I think I'll be buying more of this, for my face and body. :P


Back to Top