NARS Shanghai Express

4.4

54 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 6/11/2009 9:26:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

VIDEO REVIEW. click continued to wach on MUA. (it's just a video of a swatch)

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.



on 4/18/2009 10:53:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

After lots of swatching, i realised this lipstick looks very similar to MAC's Dare You, only a bit more darker/brick. I love the fact it's semi-matte and the colour is lovely if you build it up, but for me it's a little too brown.

I will perservere though as i reckon it'd look lovely with the right lipliner underneath or lipgloss over the top. I tried it with a tiny bit of MAC Cult of Cherry lipglass over the top and it looked gorgeous, however i am going to try it with different lipliners as i want to retain the matte look.


If i ever finish the tube and somehow get rich, i would buy again but the high price is the main issue really.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/21/2009 8:31:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Oh, yeah. Highly pigmented, intense, gorgeous dark red matte. I use this as a stain, under a gloss, adding a bit more color to build up or down. Really makes the blue eyes pop. Wear this color and you won't need much else on your face - a touch of mascara, maybe a neutral shadow and slight touch of blush and you're good to go. It IS a matte so don't expect any shine unless you add it with gloss.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is love. The perfect red lipstick I've been looking for. I was suspicious at first because of the disappointment Jungle Red caused, but this is nothing like it. It's a beautiful shade of red on me (NC30), it's buildable and every layer of it looks good, plus it makes my teeth look whiter. Another hit from NARS!


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have been looking for the perfect red for my pale olive complexion with radiant black hair. Fran Wilson used to make the perfect understated muted matte red but they discontinued it. This week I set out to find replacement once and for all. I went to three deparment stores (plus sephora) and visited every single makeup counter before I found this. I saw lipsticks that were either too bright, too pale, too orange, too cherry, or too plummy. The make up artist at a very well-known cosmetics companyl tried to make it clear that I won't find what I was looking for. (??!!) She said something like, if you're looking for a red brown you won't find it. It doesn't exist. Reds either come in "these colors" or "those colors". She said it in a way that she expected me to just give up and take what I could get from her limited color selection.... Um... no.

If you have been searching for a rich, pigmented, matte, deep, red-brown lipstick that you can build or blot out, give this one a look.

This is what I will reach for when I am wearing a perfect little black dress and I want a look that shows understated beauty and elegance. For a matte I don't find it that drying at all and if I do, just apply a gloss lightly. Eat your heart out, Pushy Sales Lady! ;)


on 8/26/2008 6:33:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

The color is a little too rich for me, I'll keep it around for a filler color with my more subdued reds and deep pinks.


on 7/15/2008 11:11:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I agree with the others - this lipstick brand is very dry and does not feel smooth on the lips. Goes on heavily and is just too...red, brick-looking. My fairly full lips look thinnish for some reason


on 1/21/2008 2:05:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

One hot red... Love it. Deep and dramatic. My favorite way to wear - smudge (lightly) onto both lips w/ finger and coat w/ clear gloss. Stays on for hours - unless you eat or drink. It's a hot color!!


on 1/4/2008 5:53:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

A vivid, medium-deep red with definite brick undertones. Super-pigmented and dramatic, this color is not for wallflowers. It's not the most flattering color for my Asian NC25 skin, but I can pull it off when I want to do a Gwen Stefani thing. The color isn't the problem -- it's the fact that it's drying. And most heinous of all, it turned (i.e., got that nasty dying flowers/crayon smell and became a weird consistency so that when applied, it was sort of gummy) very quickly, more quickly than any other lipstick I've owned except stupid Chanel. And for the price, it really shouldn't do that. So in retrospect, this is really a 2.5 lippie review.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/8/2007 9:49:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I had this on my swap list for a while because I didn't think I could wear it well, but I re-evaluated and boy, am I glad I did! I am not like most of the reviewers, I'm a fair skinned girl with slightly pink undertones. Dark brown hair and brown eyes. I wear my hair short, so make a point to wear earrings and makeup so I don't look boyish. Regardless, if I put this on 'fully', it is too dramatic for my liking, but I have found that if I just dab it on and then spread the color with a lip brush, add a few light dollops of a goldish lip gloss (BB spun gold is a good one), smear it around, I have a very wearable red toned lip. The color is perfect, doesn't turn pink, isn't too blue, isn't too orange. Just a nice true, brickish (very slightly) red. Try it out. You may have to experiment, but if you're looking for red, this could work on most anyone!


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
Velvet Teddy
215 Reviews
Liquid Lipstick
Liquid Lipstick
26 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Top Rated NARS Products

image

Coconut Grove

29 reviews
image

Ita Brush

45 reviews
image

Exhibit A

361 reviews
Back to Top