NARS • Shanghai Express • Lipstick

rated 4.3(51 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 sirensandsailors on 2/13/2009 7:34:00 PM more reviews by sirensandsailors

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is love. The perfect red lipstick I've been looking for. I was suspicious at first because of the disappointment Jungle Red caused, but this is nothing like it. It's a beautiful shade of red on me (NC30), it's buildable and every layer of it looks good, plus it makes my teeth look whiter. Another hit from NARS!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MonicaRockvilleMD on 9/9/2008 8:20:00 PM more reviews by MonicaRockvilleMD

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have been looking for the perfect red for my pale olive complexion with radiant black hair. Fran Wilson used to make the perfect understated muted matte red but they discontinued it. This week I set out to find replacement once and for all. I went to three deparment stores (plus sephora) and visited every single makeup counter before I found this. I saw lipsticks that were either too bright, too pale, too orange, too cherry, or too plummy. The make up artist at a very well-known cosmetics companyl tried to make it clear that I won't find what I was looking for. (??!!) She said something like, if you're looking for a red brown you won't find it. It doesn't exist. Reds either come in "these colors" or "those colors". She said it in a way that she expected me to just give up and take what I could get from her limited color selection.... Um... no.

If you have been searching for a rich, pigmented, matte, deep, red-brown lipstick that you can build or blot out, give this one a look.

This is what I will reach for when I am wearing a perfect little black dress and I want a look that shows understated beauty and elegance. For a matte I don't find it that drying at all and if I do, just apply a gloss lightly. Eat your heart out, Pushy Sales Lady! ;)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 TVNewsLady on 8/26/2008 6:33:00 PM more reviews by TVNewsLady

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

The color is a little too rich for me, I'll keep it around for a filler color with my more subdued reds and deep pinks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ilasik on 7/15/2008 11:11:00 PM more reviews by ilasik

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I agree with the others - this lipstick brand is very dry and does not feel smooth on the lips. Goes on heavily and is just too...red, brick-looking. My fairly full lips look thinnish for some reason

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 blairashley on 1/21/2008 2:05:00 PM more reviews by blairashley

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

One hot red... Love it. Deep and dramatic. My favorite way to wear - smudge (lightly) onto both lips w/ finger and coat w/ clear gloss. Stays on for hours - unless you eat or drink. It's a hot color!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* obzessd on 1/4/2008 5:53:00 PM more reviews by obzessd

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

A vivid, medium-deep red with definite brick undertones. Super-pigmented and dramatic, this color is not for wallflowers. It's not the most flattering color for my Asian NC25 skin, but I can pull it off when I want to do a Gwen Stefani thing. The color isn't the problem -- it's the fact that it's drying. And most heinous of all, it turned (i.e., got that nasty dying flowers/crayon smell and became a weird consistency so that when applied, it was sort of gummy) very quickly, more quickly than any other lipstick I've owned except stupid Chanel. And for the price, it really shouldn't do that. So in retrospect, this is really a 2.5 lippie review.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 curlylocks on 12/8/2007 9:49:00 AM more reviews by curlylocks

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I had this on my swap list for a while because I didn't think I could wear it well, but I re-evaluated and boy, am I glad I did! I am not like most of the reviewers, I'm a fair skinned girl with slightly pink undertones. Dark brown hair and brown eyes. I wear my hair short, so make a point to wear earrings and makeup so I don't look boyish. Regardless, if I put this on 'fully', it is too dramatic for my liking, but I have found that if I just dab it on and then spread the color with a lip brush, add a few light dollops of a goldish lip gloss (BB spun gold is a good one), smear it around, I have a very wearable red toned lip. The color is perfect, doesn't turn pink, isn't too blue, isn't too orange. Just a nice true, brickish (very slightly) red. Try it out. You may have to experiment, but if you're looking for red, this could work on most anyone!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jesusson on 11/10/2007 6:13:00 PM more reviews by jesusson

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

So, being of olive complexion its kind of difficult to find the perfect RED. Well low and behold walking through the aisles of sephora i tried on this perfect shade. the thing with nars is that it kinda makes your lips peely if you dont exfoliate before applying. i also use a lip primer to make this baby last all night. Love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* askr on 7/10/2007 11:22:00 PM more reviews by askr

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very flattering dark red brick lipstick (think deep red brick meets raw tuna flesh!) on my NC40 golden with a hint of olive, skintone. I use it over a lip balm which keeps it from drying my lips. Great definition and lasting power. Will not feather. Looks great both day and night. Finally, won't "turn" pink with wear. This is a keeper red!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kuuipogal on 5/17/2007 4:55:00 PM more reviews by Kuuipogal

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have light golden olive skin,black hair. Most reds look awful on me. I was searching for a warm,highly pigmented red that looks great with Asian skin colorings,and this is perfect. It also mixes well with gloss ontop-and a dab of gold eyeshadow in the center for glamour! Shanghai express is not too orange,not too shiny,and lacks the blue that many reds have.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Lipstick products