Cover Girl • CG Smoothers All Day Hydrating Makeup • Liquid

rated 3.7(226 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Margie23a on 4/29/2013 5:19:00 PM more reviews by Margie23a

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this last week in my quest for a lighter makeup for the weekend. My BB cream is great, but thought this would provide better coverage. I LOVE the coverage, the color is perfect, and it blends really well. But, it is yet another CG product that has something in it that makes me itch. So...down into the trash it goes. Is not worth standing in line at Walmart to return for $6 or so. Try it and see if it works for you. I hope it does. I really wish it had worked for me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 haytuna on 3/11/2013 2:22:00 PM more reviews by haytuna

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I absolutely adore this foundation. It goes on smoothly, is available in a wide variety of shades, and it's so good for your skin. The few problems I did have were that it doesn't last very long, and tends to fade off your face after a few hours, but that won't be a problem if you use a primer first (I do, and it works so much better). Also, the coverage is very, VERY light, but this product is very build-able, so that's not a really big issue. I love how small the nozzle is, it keeps the foundation fresh for a long time, and very clean. This product is water-based, so it moisturizes your skin without looking oily.

TIP If you do purchase this foundation, when you can no longer get any out of the nozzle, cut the bottle open with scissors, and use a spoon to extract the remaining foundation. I got another 5-7 uses out of the bottle by doing this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* judy46970 on 3/1/2013 6:56:00 PM more reviews by judy46970

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Very good, but light coverage. Will need a darker shade for summer. I really like the not- too- thick consistency. It does look a bit chalky until I use a glycerin based setting spray. (I make my own).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jskellis on 3/1/2013 1:47:00 PM more reviews by jskellis

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

EDIT: this oxidises. Please disregard the review below :/


CG advertises this as a moisturizing, "light, natural" finish foundation. CG delivers on its claims and quite well! I find this to have the consistency of a TM, and use about two layers for a very natural finish. It puts a soft focus on my face and with translucent setting powder, it doesn't look like I'm wearing liquid foundation. I wear this as an "I'm on my day off" or "f-ck it, I'm just going to the grocery store" foundation. I need concealer to cover blemishes with this, but when my skin is good I love how natural the finish is.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cassblondie on 2/28/2013 2:35:00 PM more reviews by cassblondie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have oily, acne-prone skin and larger pores that clog. I always end up coming back to this foundation because it doesn't clog my pores. It's really not *wonderful* for me though, the cover is too sheer for my acne and scarring, and my face ends up oily after a few hours. I try to keep my face matte with powder, which helps. To me, it really seems like a tinted moisturizer. I think if you have normal to dry skin and don't need a lot of coverage, this would be a great drugstore brand. For me, I'm still searching...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kelciekr on 1/30/2013 8:22:00 PM more reviews by kelciekr

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is actually a good foundation if you're just looking for a light coverage. It is buildable as well, and it's breathable. It didn't irritate my acne-prone skin. I loved this foundation, but recently it turned against my very fair skin and started oxidizing really bad to where I end up looking like an oompa loompa instead of natural by the end of the day. I would recommend this to anyone who is just looking for a light and breathable foundation, but also to those who don't have very fair skin. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pepboo on 11/17/2012 10:48:00 PM more reviews by pepboo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Back when i was a rookie at makeup, i HATED this because it didn't last.. but i didn't use a powder!
But now i : Stipple it using the ELF powder brush (more coverage) then set it with Maybelline pure stay pressed powder. And it looks amazing! Last nearly all day with little to no touch-ups and rarely looks cakey. :)
Would recommend!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AndreaJunelle on 10/19/2012 2:48:00 AM more reviews by AndreaJunelle

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very nice light coverage foundation that rarely gets much talk (positive or negative). I've been on a little CoverGirl *kick* lately -After swearing CG off for years and years I was pleasantly pleased with their Natureluxe foundation and CG/Olay Pressed Powder (please see separate reviews if interested ;) ) So I wanted to try some of CG's other face cosmetics.
Drugstore.com recently had a CG BOGO50% off sale and I needed to repurchase my Natureluxe so I threw this in my basket and only paid $2 and some change for it ;) I noticed at my local WalMart it's just under $7 USD.
For reference my skin is fair and warm (NC15 in MAC) Also oily and acne/clog-prone. I purchased the 2nd lightest shade- (Classic Ivory) -due to the reccomendation down below from another reviewer. The 1st shade is very pink/cool toned, so if you are pale with yellow undertones, go for Classic Ivory/2nd shade. If you're pale with pinky undertones, go for the first shade.
Since getting my acne-prone skin under control (Thanks to the lovely MUA boards!) I've been *all about* light coverage foundations- I'm basically only needing something to even out my uneven skin, not major coverage. If *you* need major coverage, I wouldn't reccomend this foundation to you.
Having oily skin I wouldn't normally purchase something called "Hydrating" like this foundation though, but with the weather quickly changing from summer to fall/winter it wrecked havoc on my skin and I wanted to try something that may add a little more moisture and a little less flakies/dry patches. -This fits the bill :) I definately don't think it's *overly* moisturizing, it took around 5-6 hours before my T-zone began getting oily, and lasted more than 12 hours on the rest of my face with zero touch ups. It never oxidized or turned me into an "oil slick" at any point though, which is great :)
I've also had no issues with clogged pores, breakouts, or acne from this foundation which is also great.
When I first received it in the mail I wore it for a little more than a week straight, but since then I've kind of reserved this foundation as one I use for around the house, or when running up to the post office -Times that I only need *very* light coverage, or if I start getting dry patches again then I turn to this until my skin heals back up to normal.
Overall it's quite nice to have - I love full coverage foundations for special occassions, but I very much dislike wearing them on a daily basis. This is *that* "daily basis" foundation :) It removes with ease, doesn't give my skin any issues, and depending on the weather I can sometimes skip moisturizer with this.
Not a Holy Grail foundation for me, but something I plan to repurchase and would reccomend to anyone looking for super light coverage with a little hydration for an inexpensive price :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sarahhope on 9/6/2012 4:16:00 PM more reviews by sarahhope

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I was very pleased by this foundation. I honestly did not have very high expectations for it.

I have oily, acne prone, sensitive skin. So generally I tend to steer clear of anything that claims to be moisturizing (when it comes to foundation at least) my skin has enough moisture as it is with a moisturizer.

But thanks to my acne and the 5% Benzoyl Peroxide I use to try and keep it at bay, parts of my face get a little flaky and dry (typically around the nose and of course any pimples I have).

When I purchased this, I actually had a MAJOR sunburn. Now when you are peeling as much as I was...no makeup on the face of the earth is going to make a difference on how your face looks....its gonna look dry and flaky no matter what, until it heals.

But I still wanted to wear foundation to at least cover up my spots and tone down some of the redness. I knew that my sunburn was going to need more moisture in order to heal and such so thats why I purchased this foundation. It was cheap and on sale and it claimed to be hydrating for 11 hours so I thought why not, it will just get me through this sun burn.

Did it mask the flaking peeling burn? No. Did it tone down the redness? Yes. Did it hyrdrate my skin? Yes. Did I continue to use it even after the burn had healed? Yes.

It really is an awesome foundation. It feels very light wieght and makes my face soft. It does not feel greasy at all, and it actually last a pretty darn long time! Plus it is so easy to blend in, it really takes no effort.

I actually had this on when I went to the gym today, I did cardio for an hour and was drenched in sweat, and this stayed on (obviously I made sure not to rub at my face, instead I patted it with paper towel to absorb the sweat).

If I were going out today, even after the crazy workout, I would not feel the need to reapply any foundation.

Considering I have oily skin, it really did shock me that this stayed in place so well. I dont use primer before applying it, just my everyday moisturizer. And I dont even load up my face with powder, I just give it a light dusting of powder and focus a little bit more of the product on to my nose (which tends to produce the most oil)

The coverage is pretty good too. Yes you need to go in with concealer for any active breakouts or bad acne scars, but really the same can be said for most foundations I have used, even Colorstay.

With probably a nickel sized amount, I am satisfied with the coverage this foundation gives, I only need a little concealer for larger blemishes or scars and im good.

Very good product, and I found a shade that matches my fair skin perfectly (which is nearly impossible). It has not caused me any breakouts and I feel that it does all that it claims in terms of hydration, it does the job without leaving me looking greasy.

I will be picking up a new bottle (er tube...not really sure what to call the packaging) as soon as I run out. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 thisknife on 8/16/2012 10:50:00 AM more reviews by thisknife

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is actually one of my favourite drugstore foundations. The colour works really well for me, and is a budget beauty product I keep in my make-up drawers almost always! For the price, it is a great buy. The colour blends well, and covers up most of my acne scarring and current break outs!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Liquid products