Almay • One Coat Mascara (lengthening) • Mascara

rated 3.7(137 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 MissKSansom on 8/24/2010 8:01:00 PM more reviews by MissKSansom

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this mascara. I haven't used it in about two years and I honestly don't know why I stopped using it, I guess because I love range and I love changing up my make up to see what works best for me and in the back of my head I always knew this mascara was my favorite but I didn't go back to it until today and I am sure glad I did. It makes my lashes really long and beautiful, something that I could never achieve with any other mascara that I bought. I definetely recommend this mascara. <3

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ejh23 on 8/4/2010 7:16:00 PM more reviews by ejh23

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I think this mascara is okay, but it doesn't DO anything for you. The brush is nice, but the formula is a little too runny and it takes a lot of coats to build up. It makes my lashes look very thin and not really that much longer. Good for beginners.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 camelheights on 6/21/2010 8:53:00 AM more reviews by camelheights

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I love this stuff! Usually I have 3 tubes of mascara, one almost empty, one medium full and one full. This stuff does it all. I start out with a one, then move to the 2 and 3 as my lashes get thicker and thicker! Recently I've been pretty ill and my lashes really thinned out. This makes them full again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 elastikgirl on 6/18/2010 1:55:00 AM more reviews by elastikgirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I really like this mascara! I used it today for the first time and i got tons of compliments on my lashes. It makes them pretty long and full, no clumps at ALL!! I put several coats on because i like amore dramatic look and it still doesnt clump! Its pretty easy to get off with soap and water to, which i like! I REALLY like how it has the conditioning stuff in it, it keeps my lashes soooo soft! I LOVE how i dont get the spidery crunchy look. I will def keep using this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 2010 on 6/6/2010 11:59:00 AM more reviews by 2010

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

My mom bought this because it was hypoallergenic and she was having problems with CG mascara etc.. Normally, I wouldn't use someone elses mascara because I have super sensitive eyes that are prone to infections, but I really wanted to try it.. When I first used it I loved it.. I thought it was the best mascara I have ever used! It thickened my lashes and gave them some length, and it didn't bother my eyes... I went back to use it a couple weeks after she bought it, and it was so dry that I couldn't even put it on w/o it clumping:-( very disappointing, unless you want to buy mascara every couple weeks?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 acpope11 on 5/15/2010 1:43:00 PM more reviews by acpope11

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

this mascara is okay.
PROS:
on a day when i'm not felling heavy mascara this mascara is okay, its not clumpy! but a bit hard to put on it feels great on the eyelashes and the brush is thick. some brushes like ones on Maybelline Lash Stiletto actually hurt my eyelashes when putting it on!
CONS:
i usually go heaver then what this mascara gives me. i sit there for 10 minutes trying to get what my Maybelline vibrating mascara gives me in i minute!
it depends on you eyelash type and how much you apply in one use.
not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kallalily on 5/3/2010 6:23:00 PM more reviews by kallalily

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Many makeup gurus say that one product that they can review that isn't going to be subjective for everyone is mascara. I totally disagree! Most want dramatic, false looking eyelashes, and the rest want natural and soft.

I'm a total nekkid girl! Give me neutral gold and brown and green eyeshadows, a brown eyeliner, and a natural mascara and I'm good to go. I loveeeeeeeeeee this mascara! It NEVER clumps on me, gives me length AND volume, and is very very natural looking---like I have no mascara on, and that's how I naturally look, as opposed to very obviously mascara-ed eyes that many prefer! It never flakes or smudges unless I'm surprised by a water gun. It has a drier consistency so doesn't clump like other super creamy and thick mascaras, like the Covergirl Lashblast for reference. <3

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 naturally95 on 4/27/2010 10:58:00 PM more reviews by naturally95

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

As most reviewers have said, this product gives off a very natural effect to your lashes. It defines my lashes very nicely and gives a little bit of length to them. This product does not give my lashes any volume, but as it is a LENGTHENING mascara, I did not have any intentions for it to give me any volume. It did, however, darken the color of my lashes. The application was quite good. Since the formula of this mascara is a little drier than some of the other mascaras I've tried, it did not clump like the creamier, thicker formulas. Also, it didn't give me that brittle feeling like other mascaras. My lashes were soft and natural feeling with the mascara on. Throughout the day, it had minimal to no flaking or smudging. (I have oily eyelids, so that might been the reason why it flaked/smudged a little.) It did not bother my eyes, which is great because I wear contacts. This mascara is much cheaper than other drugstore mascaras. I paid around 5 dollars for this mascara - cheaper than the usual 7-9 dollar mascaras I've bought. Overall, this mascara is great for someone who wants nice, natural looking lashes. If you're looking for more dramatic results, I suggest you to find something else. (:

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 racheliz13 on 4/22/2010 12:48:00 PM more reviews by racheliz13

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a lovely mascara for a natural effect. It makes a significant difference, yet the formula keeps the lashes soft and conditioned, while lengthening and defining. I've never experienced any clumping, flaking, or the very un-classy raccoon-eye effect. Also, it doesn't bother my sensitive eyes or damage lashes in the long run, like so many other mascaras seem to do. If I remember correctly, I think I paid somewhere around $5 (regular price!) at Target. A good choice for someone who wants defined, but not especially dramatic lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lovelyxfugitive on 2/1/2010 1:30:00 PM more reviews by lovelyxfugitive

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I love Almay's mascara because it doesn't promise you the world, and it performs really well. Currently I'm using black-brown, but in the past I've used the black and haven't found it to be overpowering. (Because of my uber-paleness in the winter time, I usually switch to a brown mascara.) I have naturally very long, light eyelashes, and this does define them and give the illusion of fullness without being ridiculous. Honestly, mascara is NOT something I'm going to spend 20 dollars on, because I do throw it out after six months, and I'm perfectly happy using Almay. I like it better than most other high end brands I've tried, actually. The only one I like more is Fresh's Supernova.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Almay products

More Mascara products