Almay • One Coat Mascara (lengthening) • Mascara

rated 3.7(141 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Mfettig on 1/2/2011 6:08:00 PM more reviews by Mfettig

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

First mascara I used. Really like it!! I forgot to buy waterproof but it didn't matter.flakes easily though. Not too much strength on the lengthnig part but after 3 or 4 coats it helps. Definetly try this mascara :).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 penguin10 on 12/20/2010 12:05:00 AM more reviews by penguin10

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It does what it says: lengthens your lashes. It is very soft and gentle and my lashes still look and feel quite natural. Also, I don't know if it is because of this "nourishing" mascara, but I've noticed my lashes are longer and thicker (withouth make up on) after using this. Could be my imagination or some other cause, but it was worth mentioning.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lmoss on 9/20/2010 12:48:00 AM more reviews by lmoss

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Many years ago I used the traditional Almay One Coat mascara and never had a problem with it. I've been using Maybelline brand mascaras for a while but for whatever reason I decided to switch back to Almay. I'm so glad I did! I bought two different ones, the One Coat Lengthening and the One Coat Thickening and these two really complete the look I've been trying to get. Many mascaras promise to give you both length and volume but never do. These two mascaras really do the trick... I fell in love with my lashes the first time I applied these mascaras. These formulas are smooth and go on easily without clumping. They last all day without flaking. And best of all, my lashes feel so soft and natural, not gritty or stiff like many mascaras make them feel. I'm really happy I decided to switch back to Almay.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 fleabags3 on 8/28/2010 9:13:00 AM more reviews by fleabags3

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i'm surprised i like this so much. for a drug store brand, it's one of the BEST i've tried (cover girl, L'oreal, maybelline, etc--all stink for me) It does what it says--lengthens and is waterproof. it goes on easily and stays on until you take it off. for $5.99--can't beat it. That said, i am looking for my HG mascara and this is not 100% what i want--i want thick lashes AND volume. sooo, while i recommended and bought this for my daughter, i am going to try Dior and others for me (fyi, i don't like Neutrogena or any MAC mascaras either....)

update 9/2012. haven't bought Almay for myself again, but still buy it for my daughter. tried Dior...loved it but it dried out insanely fast [around 2 mo max] making it a horrible buy. tried a new-out mary kay mascara that was horrible...as w/many of their products. i keep trying them b/c someone close to me sells them. Also tried fiber lash by? and million lash by ? -drug store buys- and they were only fair. ugh]

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MissKSansom on 8/24/2010 8:01:00 PM more reviews by MissKSansom

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this mascara. I haven't used it in about two years and I honestly don't know why I stopped using it, I guess because I love range and I love changing up my make up to see what works best for me and in the back of my head I always knew this mascara was my favorite but I didn't go back to it until today and I am sure glad I did. It makes my lashes really long and beautiful, something that I could never achieve with any other mascara that I bought. I definetely recommend this mascara. <3

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ejh23 on 8/4/2010 7:16:00 PM more reviews by ejh23

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I think this mascara is okay, but it doesn't DO anything for you. The brush is nice, but the formula is a little too runny and it takes a lot of coats to build up. It makes my lashes look very thin and not really that much longer. Good for beginners.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 camelheights on 6/21/2010 8:53:00 AM more reviews by camelheights

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I love this stuff! Usually I have 3 tubes of mascara, one almost empty, one medium full and one full. This stuff does it all. I start out with a one, then move to the 2 and 3 as my lashes get thicker and thicker! Recently I've been pretty ill and my lashes really thinned out. This makes them full again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 elastikgirl on 6/18/2010 1:55:00 AM more reviews by elastikgirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I really like this mascara! I used it today for the first time and i got tons of compliments on my lashes. It makes them pretty long and full, no clumps at ALL!! I put several coats on because i like amore dramatic look and it still doesnt clump! Its pretty easy to get off with soap and water to, which i like! I REALLY like how it has the conditioning stuff in it, it keeps my lashes soooo soft! I LOVE how i dont get the spidery crunchy look. I will def keep using this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 2010 on 6/6/2010 11:59:00 AM more reviews by 2010

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

My mom bought this because it was hypoallergenic and she was having problems with CG mascara etc.. Normally, I wouldn't use someone elses mascara because I have super sensitive eyes that are prone to infections, but I really wanted to try it.. When I first used it I loved it.. I thought it was the best mascara I have ever used! It thickened my lashes and gave them some length, and it didn't bother my eyes... I went back to use it a couple weeks after she bought it, and it was so dry that I couldn't even put it on w/o it clumping:-( very disappointing, unless you want to buy mascara every couple weeks?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 acpope11 on 5/15/2010 1:43:00 PM more reviews by acpope11

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

this mascara is okay.
PROS:
on a day when i'm not felling heavy mascara this mascara is okay, its not clumpy! but a bit hard to put on it feels great on the eyelashes and the brush is thick. some brushes like ones on Maybelline Lash Stiletto actually hurt my eyelashes when putting it on!
CONS:
i usually go heaver then what this mascara gives me. i sit there for 10 minutes trying to get what my Maybelline vibrating mascara gives me in i minute!
it depends on you eyelash type and how much you apply in one use.
not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Almay products

More Mascara products