Laura Mercier • Eye Colour in Topaz • Eye Shadow

rated 4.5(74 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Refuge on 1/15/2009 12:39:00 PM more reviews by Refuge

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Topaz is one of my favorite taupe colored shadows. Very complex, and flattering to my eye color. Great staying power too. I like that it's not matte, but it's also not OTT shimmery or glittery. Just complex and beautiful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hp11989 on 10/19/2008 5:58:00 PM more reviews by hp11989

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Overall rating: I've been avoiding writing a review on this item because I'm not good at describing colors, especially complex ones. All I can say is that if you like neutrals/taupes, you should have this in your MU traincase. It looks fabulous on my hazel eyes and light complexion. The shimmer is more glowy, and the texture is "like buttah." The pigmentation is deep and velvety pigmentation. Color pay-off is fantabulous!
Where did I buy this: Nordstrom.
Price: $22; high, but very worth it.
Packaging: Standard; nothing different enough to make it stand out.
Would I buy again: This is one of the rare shadows I would buy again, but I doubt I will need to because it's so rich, you don't need to use much product to get good coverage.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Nefertati on 9/20/2008 4:00:00 AM more reviews by Nefertati

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Great silvery brown, very smooth, the glitter gets stronger after a few hours. I do not usually like too much glitter in my es, but I combine Topaz with the matte Paris by night for the outer eye area and as eye liner (also LM), and this gives a gorgeous combination. I am a light brunette, dark green eyes, beige to yellow skin tone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Andee on 9/12/2008 10:10:00 AM more reviews by Andee

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I've had this shade for years. I don't know why I originally bought it. It is much too sparkly for me. But, I finally found a use for it. I apply it only to my bottom lash line over BB Smoke to soften the line. It gives a little drama to my summer neutral eye - LM Buttercream as wash, BB Wheat from upper lash line to above crease and BB Smoke to line up and lower lash line.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* singwritenow on 7/14/2008 8:15:00 PM more reviews by singwritenow

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This color stood out when I was purchasing a LM concealer today. I tried it on and had to have it - love the velvet sheer taupe with a hint of rose/mauve that feels so silky when you put it on. You can dress it up or down and pair it with a variety of different shades. I am giving it a 4 because I don't like the packaging. But it's striking on and will go well with a variety of different shades. Looks a lot like Mac's Satin Taupe. I would probably buy this instead of Satin Taupe when I run out because I love the texture of this more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pmnixa on 3/28/2008 3:00:00 PM more reviews by pmnixa

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Got this in a palette with Deep Night and Pearl, and let me just say Topaz is awesome. I have about 50 eyeshadows mostly MAC, but this is one of my absolute favorites. It's neutral but very unique and really brings out the light green tones in my brown eyes, I think because it's got some pink and bronze to it. The quality is unbelievable as well. Love LM shadows but they are so expensive ($20 compared to $10 for MAC) and small color line.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rp1017 on 3/1/2008 9:54:00 AM more reviews by rp1017

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Horrible color on me. I am very pale (lighter than a NW15) have light blonde highlighted hair and brown eyes, and this was just a miss for me. This color is sort of a rose, brown, peachy taupe if this makes sense as I see all these colors in Topaz ....... it is more of a warm toned color versus cool but on my eyes, it made me look flat and sick like ........ I had the same reaction when I used MAC's Satin Taupe ...... these colors simply don't work for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Daniela1977 on 2/19/2008 6:55:00 AM more reviews by Daniela1977

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this color..Look soo nice on my brown eyes.Is like medium pearl gold brown color very smart...Stay all day long .Really love it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jillyjill on 1/27/2008 8:14:00 PM more reviews by jillyjill

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

In my quest for the perfect taupe I bought this and as much as I wanted it to be "the one" ...it just wasn't. I felt the color and texture were just ok, nothing terrible persay...just meh. I think this had a little too much purple undertone for me and my yellow undertones. If you have tried Topaz and felt the same way...try Chanel Safari...it's now my HG taupe es.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JClarke on 12/1/2007 1:24:00 PM more reviews by JClarke

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

When I got it home this didn't seem to be what I had chosen in the store but I like it anyway. In the store it had looked rather darker and distinctly mauve. I was looking for something that sort of colour to complement my green eyes.
When I got it home I found it to be rather lighter, a sort of beige/taupe but there is a distinct hint of mauve, although no way would you actually describe this as mauve. In any event, I have worn it several times and find it to be a really good everyday sort of eyeshadow. It looks natural and not too overdone during the day.
The actual shadow is a solid powder and glides on smoothly. I have applied it at about 6 o'clock in the morning and it certainly stays through till lunchtime. I confess that by about 7 in the evening it really is beginning to fade and probably needs retouching. But not bad nonetheless!
Good solid LM compact with mirror in lid. My only complaint with these is that, if you have several LM products, you can't easily see which is which because the compacts all look the same.


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Eye Shadow products