Ben Nye • Bella Luxury Powder in Banana • Loose Powders

rated 4.3(253 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 becs2006 on 6/11/2014 12:06:00 AM more reviews by becs2006

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like this product! The powder is very finely milled, but it still packs a punch as far as pigment goes. My skin is fair, so I can't use this over my whole face for setting foundation as it would make me look yellow. I use this powder to set my under-eye concealer as I have blue tones around my eyes and I find it helps to counteract this discolouration. It's staying power is good and I don't feel I need to reapply it throughout the day. The only downside of this product is the packaging - cheap and nasty, and difficult to use! I will buy another of these powders in a colour more suited to my skin tone to set my foundation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Nicole_33 on 6/10/2014 11:55:00 PM more reviews by Nicole_33

Age: Unknown   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Looking for help with this product. I really want to try it but I'm not sure if banana will end up being to yellow/dark for me? In MAC I'm NW20 for foundation, in revlon I use ivory. Would cameo be a better option for an all over foundation setter?! TIA

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jmakena07 on 6/8/2014 5:41:00 PM more reviews by jmakena07

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

So this is meant to be used as a highlighter/setting powder after concealer is used to highlight! With that being said for me it does work well! Downfall is its soo messy and stains , not easy to manage.I pour it on the cap use a brush collect some and apply esp. under eyes,forehead.The price is right but if one gets the Anastasia contouring kit- good luck on that it's sold out everywhere! It comes in a palette amongst other colors! More value if u ask me

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Zoe8x on 5/27/2014 4:40:00 PM more reviews by Zoe8x

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I wasn't too impressed with this product. I tired to use it for highlighting and it just looked yellow. I need to watch some video tutorials and have another bash at it :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Vioni on 5/24/2014 3:57:00 PM more reviews by Vioni

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really LOVE this product! It's even better than my mufe super matte loose powder. it sets my foundation flawlessly and it feels like i don't wear so many layers of foundation (usually i wear 2 layers) it feels really light in my skin. I bought the 3oz one bcs i heard so many good reviews about this powder, and trust me you don't waste your money on this product, this works magically on you skin lol

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 glamzdoll on 5/18/2014 10:48:00 AM more reviews by glamzdoll

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Short & to the point:

I guess I was expecting more from a product that has ravishing reviews...
I thought it is just "okay." A little chalky, matte, looks decent. Can't see what the big fuzz is about though. I don't quite see myself re purchasing... :(

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Annyutka on 5/15/2014 10:06:00 PM more reviews by Annyutka

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This didn't work at all for me, but i am giving it a 3 because I can see it being better for someone with medium-dark to darker skin-tones with normal to very oily skin. FWIW, I’m quite fair (though not a true PPP) with what they call ‘peaches and cream’ complexion (a nice way to say ones skin is pale/light with a tendency to get rosy, or, lets get real, downright ruddy if not careful!). I also have dry skin - especially in colder months.

I bought it in my never-ending quest to find an exact dupe (or better) to the old formula of Everyday Minerals Finishing Dust in Sunlight (circa 2007-08) which was TERRIFIC and HG for me. Sadly, the old formulation is no more and the new one just isn’t the same. So I thought I’d give this a shot whilst seeing it whilst Halloween shopping at an outrageously well-stocked brick and mortar costume shop in my area.

However, this just wasn't what I was hoping nor looking for. At all. As I said above, Ben Nye’s Bella Luxury Powder in ”Banana" is definitely a YMMV product. I ended up looking like a freak with it on and, yes, the packaging is really quite pitiful. It’s too powdery of a consistency in my opinion - much like talcum powder/baby powder except in a banana- yellow. This definitely is a signature Ben Nye product: a total costume and stage-makeup heavy product that looks relatively garish anywhere else unless standing under theatrical lighting like on stage, etc.

Also, based upon my one purchase of Banana, it would seem that the expiry date is visually more important than most other face powders. Unless my item was a dud (doubt it) or I’m hallucinating (even more doubtful), the unused makeup in the jar seems to oxidize quicker than other powders I’ve tried, as mine grown increasingly more orange-y. I’d suggest if you decide to buy it to try to find out how old it is, etc.

I’ve thus changed this from a 3-star to a 2-star due it being an overall unfortunate, overhyped, non-stabilized product which makes my 1993 Wet n’ Wild teenage crap-wear look like luxury items.

My search for an HG soft lemon-yellowish, non-glittery, finishing powder to replace the now DC’d old version of Everyday Minerals ”SUNLIGHT FINISHING POWDER” circa 2007 continues. I’ll leave this for the professionals, professional actors, at least.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 makeuptraveller on 5/14/2014 4:58:00 AM more reviews by makeuptraveller

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

Well...well... The much talked about Ben bye banana powder indeed lives up to its standards as raved about by many makeup artist's. I got my hands on them in Screen Face near Covent Garden.

This product suits all skin tones for sure. Its very powdery i will admit that I was slightly disappointed I thought it would look some sort cakey but once I put it on and set it, it was marvellous !

I use the ben nye powder on my highlighted areas after using a concealer or Mac's prep and prime for highlighting and it sets perfectly. My skin is olive toned and I thought i looked pretty yellow at first but I decided to reduce my foundation and it was much better.

Best part of this product is that on cameras with flash my make up looks flawless unlike before where I use to look as if I was painted. The only downfall of this product is its packaging :-/ Its inconvenient as I feel much of the product goes to waste. Would love it if the packaging was more convenient to carry around while travelling too, however apart from that its wonderful. Highly recommended and I've already got one on standby just incase I run out anytime :)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 randashk on 4/27/2014 10:31:00 AM more reviews by randashk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm going to be honest, I was really excited to get this product, as it had been raved about everywhere! I purchased the big bottle for about 12 bucks. Fairly cheap and had lots of product in it. Once I got it,I found the best way to apply it is with a fluffy brush for underneath your eyes. I put it on top of many different types of concealer colors and consistencies, and no matter what I did, it gave a greenish tint to it by the end of the day. I'm a teacher, and even my students would ask me why it was green under my eyes. WHAT an embarassment. Whenever I wouldn't wear the powder, I would not get that result. Thank goodness that my students are an honest bunch because I definitely am not using it again!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nikkilici0us on 4/11/2014 11:52:00 AM more reviews by Nikkilici0us

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I just have to add my approval to this product!! There is nothing to be said about it that hasn't already been said. Very finely milled... cheap.... little goes a long way.... lovely finish... and beyond the banana there are so many different tints and finishes to choose from. I use banana and buff for under eye concealer setting, pretty in pink if I need to add some pink back into any area... the translucent for all over my face, and the Mojave series for adding warmth and bronzing. I love cocoa as well!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Ben Nye products

More Loose Powders products