Unlisted Brand • Prell Rinse Clean Shampoo • Hair

rated 4.1(58 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Songbird1967 on 2/4/2012 7:19:00 PM more reviews by Songbird1967

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

While Prell has a reputation for stripping hair and removing hair color, I find that sometimes I need to get a deep cleaning to clarify my hair and this clearly does the trick. Additionally, when I am in Florida my hair just deflates and frizzes up; using Prell gives it volume and keeps it fresh looking longer. So, I gotta still keep it along with my regulars such as Pureolgy, Biolage, etc. Besides, my shampoo changes with the season, humidity factor and such.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KareenJoell on 10/8/2011 2:56:00 PM more reviews by KareenJoell

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Ok so I only bought this to fade out my hair color. I lathered up a ton of this stuff in my hair and let it sit for maybe 10 minutes? I know I should have done more, but I didn't have the time. Anyways, the water came out a murky gray color which is good! But since the dye on my hair is permanent (not semi or anything) and it's been in there for 3 weeks, it didn't fade much. But I do have faith in it since the water that came out of my hair was so dark! Of course it's going to be drying people! So I just put in the Aussie 3 minute deep conditioner, but left it in for 5-10 minutes and once my hair dried, it feels normal :] I'm going to try this process again tomorrow so hopefully I can at least fade this almost black color to brown.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 cushiekisses on 8/30/2011 2:08:00 PM more reviews by cushiekisses

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Blech, no, this stuff is horrible. I don't see how some of the other reviewers could have scalp conditions and use this? This did nothing but dry my hair out and give me an itchy scalp and I never have scalp issues. I might as well used Ajax on my hair. Plus, for $4/bottle that's pretty expensive for a d/s shampoo.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* greenfaerie38 on 7/30/2011 4:09:00 PM more reviews by greenfaerie38

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have lots of oily, fine hair. I used to have a few split ends, and my hairstylist recommended I switch to washing my hair every other day. In order to do this with other shampoos, I've been trying every dry shampoo on the market for my inbetween days. It was such a pain, but I kept doing it because cutting down my hair washing has drastically improved the health of my hair. And this is where Prell comes in. I've heard that Prell is awful, that it strips hair of all its natural oils and such. But one day I was at my boyfriend's house and my shampoo had run out, leaving me with his Prell. Ugh. But when I tried it, it was absolutely amazing. My hair was light, bouncy, and shiny. And better yet? I can now use almost whatever conditioner I want, because Prell truly cleans my hair, and I can go easily skip a day or even two days and my hair still won't be greasy. My only gripe is the cap, which seems to actively try to re-shut itself instantly after I open it. But the crappy packaging is worth dealing with for this lovely, inexpensive shampoo.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 leahblizz on 7/3/2011 3:06:00 PM more reviews by leahblizz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Finally! For some reason, over the past year my hair has done a complete 180. All of a sudden, it didn't matter what shampoo/conditioner I used...my hair was greasy within 10 hours. And I have thick hair. I've been trying EVERYTHING I could find, but no matter what, my hair would maybe look alright for half the day, and then by the end it was stringy and disgusting. My DAD uses Prell on his buzzcut, and one day I decided to use it just because everything else hadn't worked for me. Best decision ever. Right now my hair is smooth, smells awesome, and won't require another washing before the day is over. I know a lot of people have hair that requires conditioning, but for people who's hair becomes oily very quickly, Prell shampoo alone should work fine for you.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 atlas84 on 5/1/2011 1:35:00 PM more reviews by atlas84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

Prell, where have you been all my life?! Excellent, excellent shampoo! I have a picky scalp that is prone to seborrheic dermatitis and this is a terrific shampoo if you have an unpredictable scalp. I use this product up to twice per day (once in the morning and one or two times at night) and my hair and scalp are not left dry or irritated. My hair texture can range from slightly dry to slightly oily and this shampoo seems to have helped balance that out. Prell has this reputation of being an outdated product more worthy of removing tough stains out of carpets, but this is far and away one of the best products I've used. I would not recommend this product if your hair is color treated (Prell will strip the color out) or very, very dry. Otherwise, this is a fantastic drugstore buy.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 maryann1804 on 3/29/2011 1:39:00 PM more reviews by maryann1804

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I can not believe all the rave reviews for this product, And quite frankly I am shocked that it is still around. I guess this shampoo would be acceptable if you have very oily hair. I do not, so I found this very drying. DO NOT use this if you have color treated hair, it will strip the color right out. I did not like this stuff at all.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 macbook313 on 3/25/2011 5:34:00 PM more reviews by macbook313

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I was told this might help my scalp since I've had SD the past few years. It made it SOO much worse. This is a very harsh shampoo and ripped my scalp up horribly. If you have a normal scalp and/or oily hair, this may work for you, but if you have an already sensitive scalp, please stay clear. It gave me a blotchy red scalp when I got out of the shower, which turned into scaly dry patches.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jaqi16 on 2/22/2011 2:51:00 AM more reviews by jaqi16

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this shampoo. I would have never looked for this had it not been for MUA, so thank you! I was able to find this at Walmart for less than $3. It's an amazing shampoo. Smells kind of industrial which is fine, I prefer that to fruity or overly floral smells anyway. The smell doesn't linger anyway (that or it gets masked by my conditioner). I use it daily and follow with a moisturizing shampoo and a creme leave in on the ends ( I have long hair to my mid-back). This combination gives me the most amazing hair, not stripped at all. HG product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anisola on 10/21/2010 11:31:00 AM more reviews by anisola

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

My grandmother always used this, and she had the prettiest hair and though the smell is not the most desirable I really like it. It's true that it's great for getting the grease out and gives you more time between shampoos. I have very fine limp hair, and this makes my hair SO SHINY and really full of body. I alternate between this and kiss my face whenever shampoo. It's true it also is good for stripping out some color and if you over toned your blonde. :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Hair products