MAC • Select SPF 15 Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.1(607 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 BlushingBlueSerenity on 8/4/2012 4:13:00 PM more reviews by BlushingBlueSerenity

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is my HG foundation for years and unfortunately this is now discontinued per the MAC rep that I spoke with by phone. She recommended the Face and Body in it's place, so I may have to give that a try. :-(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sosu89 on 7/17/2012 6:03:00 AM more reviews by sosu89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I feel mixed about this foundation. The pros are it's good for my oily skin, it seems to stay on throughout the day with the help of powder, good coverage and it has SPF. The cons if you use a lot it looks cakey (I use very small amount), hard to blend, colours very orange and it sits in pores so you have to 'work' it back into the skin during the day. Overall I won't be purchasing again but I am finishing the bottle I have as it isn't terrible.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sarahmcqueen on 6/22/2012 9:38:00 AM more reviews by sarahmcqueen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is honestly the worst foundation I've ever owned. It streaks no matter what I use to put it on (fingers, palms, wet beauty blender, dry beauty blender, brushes), and emphasizes everything bad on my face. It's horrible. I wish I could rate this a zero.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Chelseadele on 5/13/2012 12:56:00 PM more reviews by Chelseadele

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Pros:
Perfect colour match for me (NW15). Stopped my skin from becoming oily around my nose. Medium build-able coverage.

Cons:
Too thin of a consistency for me - I would prefer it a little thicker/creamier. After a few hours it looked patchy with dry, orange coloured areas even if I'd only applied a little. After a grand total of 4 wears I had broken out in spots. The fact that you have to buy a foundation pump separately - for the price I feel this should have been included.

I was optimistic when I first bought this foundation but unfortunately it didn't meet my expectations which were not unreasonable, I simply expected it to deliver what MAC says it will. I realise that this foundation is water-based and I think my moisturiser is oil-based, when using this product I moisturised before bed but not in the morning prior to application so I'm not sure if using a water-based moisturiser instead would help to solve my problems with this product. I might give it one more chance before letting it go to waste but I don't think I'll be changing my mind and buying this again, sadly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AnneleiseX on 4/28/2012 6:22:00 AM more reviews by AnneleiseX

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

Im NW33 and it is the exact same shade as my skin!!!! It moisturizes my skin and lasts ages. i really love this product, but it isnt that big. (30ml) I've had mine since the end of march and its almost finished as i use it everyday.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SparkleSmash on 4/27/2012 4:47:00 PM more reviews by SparkleSmash

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

First, let me say that I've had a horrible time finding a foundation to fit my needs. I've combination skin, and every foundation I've tried has either been too dark/orange or too pink, and they've all either greased up or dried in over the course of the day.
This is my first MAC foundation, and I will be sticking with it for a while. My main intent with going for MAC, was that I would get help finding a perfect match, which I did; this one, in NC25.
Although I am prone to break-outs (and my skin hasn't been totally clear in years), I wanted a foundation that yielded light to medium coverage, seeing as I often look like I'm wearing a mask if the foundation is too heavy. This suits me perfectly, being the perfect color and perfect natural finish, and it covers just enough of my redness to make it look like my face - just better. I used to set it with MAC Select Sheer powder in NC25, but recently switched to e.l.f.'s HD powder. Together it controls my shine throughout the day, and the foundation and powder wears a good twelve hours before starting to let my natural reddish-under-eye-areas show, but that can be quickly corrected with a quick swipe of foundation and powder. However, if I'm going out for the evening I prefer to redo my make-up.
For me, this is an expensive foundation in comparisons to what I've used before, but then again, it's the best foundation I've tried so far. It sells without a pump, which annoys me a bit, seeing as I had to purchase one individually (not that it was horribly expensive, but still).
For a summary, it's good for my combination skin, giving me a natural look without looking masked, and wears through my entire school day without greasing up or drying down. I can see why some skin types will have a problem with it, but if you're like me, hard to find a foundation with light to medium coverage in the right color with the right staying power for an oily T-zone, I think it'll be worth giving it a go!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 FuzzyLego on 4/11/2012 12:07:00 PM more reviews by FuzzyLego

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have it in NC 35. This product makes me look green and I really do not know why. It also sits in my pores and makes them very noticeable despite my attempts at buffing it in.

Thanks to a terrible return policy I can't even return it so I'm stick with this trying to make it work somehow. It seems to do better when I mix it with other foundations but on its own it's just terrible.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hannahka on 4/9/2012 2:27:00 PM more reviews by hannahka

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

DO NOT BUY!
over-rated product. I talked to the MAC artist and she told me this is the perfect product for my skin - WRONG!
It completely over-dried my skin, leaving it looking all dried up and disgusting. It took ages for it to get back to its normal balance too! The colors were either too pink or too orange, which is not good for my Spanish skin. I'll NOT be buying this product again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 nataliacp on 3/3/2012 11:11:00 PM more reviews by nataliacp

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

My first issue with this foundation is that the coverage is very light. My biggest problem with this foundation, however, is how it tends to turn very orange. My shade is NC20 and it made me look almost oompa-loompa like. So for a very light coverage and horrible yellow-orange tint, this foundation is not worth the price at all. Many drug store foundations easily beat this one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ameliavickery on 2/13/2012 5:37:00 AM more reviews by ameliavickery

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was drawn to this product because it is water based and I have slightly oily skin so I thought this might help - in a way, it does help skin like mine because it doesn't ever feel like I've 'caked' it on and it is nice and light. I was a bit unimpressed at first with the coverage. I don't really have too many prominent facial blemishes but I do like to look perfect when I wear an expensive foundation! I was at first applying it with a foundation brush from The Body Shop but I felt that this made it streaky, as did using my fingers. I am now using the MAC 188 duo fibre brush and with this you can easily build up the product to the desired density and you do get really good coverage. I don't think it's very good value for money but I suppose for the spring and summer it might be good as it is light and it feels weightless on your face. I've also noticed that it can look a bit orange which is not what I ever look for in a foundation. I was matched up to NC40 so I suppose that with the more 'tan' shades you can get a bit of an orange tint. I may repurchase this product for the summer but it's unlikely.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products