Skin Biology • Emu Oil for skin • Moisturizers

rated 4.0(70 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Morganna777 on 9/29/2009 10:34:00 AM more reviews by Morganna777

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Other    

I get my emu oil from Ebay and it does matter who you get it from because the pure refined clear one I got from another seller was just awfull and stunk like crazy. I use it on my hair when its damp it it keeps it soft and grows faster without breakage, I use it to take off eye makeup and it feels good on my lashes, I LOVE IT

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Raygirl007 on 9/24/2009 6:23:00 PM more reviews by Raygirl007

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought my 100% American Emu oil off E-Bay recently and can't say I like it all that much. It is totally solid when in the fridge and at room temperature, is a sort of gloppy half solid that smells yucky (I wouldn't say rancid, just yucky like animal fat). I also recently bought some Camellia Seed oil and that is a million times better in terms of absorbtion and smell! I am going to stick with the Camellia. Maybe the brand of Emu oil makes all the difference, I don't know. Mine is thick feeling and greasy, like chicken grease on your face after you eat.

UPDATE: Well, I bought yet another bottle of Emu oil off E-Bay ("Australian Gold") and it is MUCH better/different than the first stuff I bought (above). It has no odor and is white and creamy and absorbs very nicely on your skin. So, it seems quality is everything with the Emu oil. I'm glad I tried another seller. (BTW, the seller is "somthingsimplybeautiful" and she sells lots of different sizes with free shipping!) I give THIS emu oil 5 lippies.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Rockstarr375 on 9/12/2009 5:41:00 PM more reviews by Rockstarr375

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Cured my egzima and never came back:) I love it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lethargy on 6/8/2009 4:26:00 PM more reviews by lethargy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Emu Oil is NOT a miracle product ... it didn't heal any of my skin problems. I learned that leaving my skin alone is the greatest healing I could ever give it. However, Emu Oil is fantastic as a cleansing oil (to use after my skin healed). It really does a great job at getting dead skin off. I really think its consistency helps to work off the dead stuff on my face. It is a blessing.

:)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jinhee on 4/23/2009 11:02:00 PM more reviews by Jinhee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I buy emu oil from various internet vendors. Some more costlier than others, but I'm satisfied with their quality across the board. I recently tried the super refined "clear" emu oil and loved it;found myself using it as body oil. Way too expensive for that! I love this for my face for moisturization. Nothing else on this planet penetrates better. Some nights I dab on just the emu oil, and at times I add a drop to my regular moisturizer. And certainly after peels. This is strictly for night usage for me. I find emu oil (or any other oils) does not work well under makeup.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Chrissys16 on 3/30/2009 9:59:00 AM more reviews by Chrissys16

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Emu oil is the best!!! As many reviewers have written, emu oil has outstanding healing properties; I just had a TCA chemical peel and it has worked WONDERFULLY to prevent scarring. For someone who is 33, my skin is still fairly oily so I like that emu oil seems to have a "finer" texture and absorbs more quickly than jojoba oil, which I found left a thick oil slick-like residue on my skin that I could literally FEEL clogging up my pores. Also impressive to me was that it added moisture without breaking out my skin (that in itself is a minor miracle!). Emu oil is something that I never, ever would've discovered if I hadn't had the peel but is now, and will continue to be, an absolute staple in my beauty arsenal. (Kudos to MUA'ers who have given me great ideas for additional ways to use this product!)

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* katwalker on 2/23/2009 1:59:00 AM more reviews by katwalker

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

RIght now, I don't use emu oil daily. However, I have yet to find anything better for when eczema and/or seborrheic dermatitis pop up. In fact, it worked better than OTC cortizone cream for that very stubborn eczema I hand on my hand for about a year. Also, I slather it over my wrist when my carpal tunnel starts to flare up. What more can you ask for from a product? Edible (won't taste great, but not harmful if ingested) and works on burns, eczema, seborrheic dermatitis, and pain due to inflammation! Although everyone's skin is different, I'm confounded regarding how it caused break outs in some, assuming they were using high quality emu oil. Highly recommend except for those who won't use products that come from animals.
FYI: I use Wonder Oil emu oil. They also sell a dry lotion bar, which is very nice to carry in your purse (no chance of spillage!) if you need to keep rehydrating/treating a patch of eczema throughout the day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shyviolet on 1/6/2009 11:46:00 PM more reviews by shyviolet

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Jojoba oil works better than anything I have ever used, so I thought Emu Oil would be the next step up. I can tell that the Emu oil intensely hydrates my skin (like jojoba). Jojoba never gave me any clogged pores or anything, but Emu Oil gave me little bumps all over my face. I know Emu Oil is generally considered to be non pore-clogging (like jojoba) so I stuck with it for a few months and tried a couple of different ways of using it, and adjusting my cleansers and things. Still bumps and large pores. So this week I gave up and went back to my jojoba, and now my skin looks perfect again.

I do tend to get milia and blocked pores from everything. Conventional moisturizers kill my skin. Jojoba is the only thing I have ever found that my skin actually likes. From what I read, everyone's pores are different, so just because something claims to not block pores, it doesn't mean that your skin in particular will not get clogged.

I wanted to love this. I was really excited about the fact that this actually increases the thickness of the skin. So, I am still trying to work with it. I will use a tiny drop under my eyes to keep away the thin skin and lines. I just can't use it all over my face like I can with the jojoba.

EDIT*: This is now my eye/ fine line treatment. It makes DRASTIC improvements in fine lines. I have little lines around my mouth and this plumps them out so they are not there. I had a drawer full of concealers that I thought were settling into lines - they all work wonderfully over this. I dot it on in the evening before bed and wake up to skin that looks 10 years younger. If I am wearing makeup, I dot on the emu oil first and my concealer just glides over it. It is a great base for my Urban Decay Primer Potion which can be a little unblendable on its own, and my black liner stays all day, even with the oil underneath. Even shimmery eyeshadows which emphasize lines, I can wear them now. Half the time I put on the emu oil and my skin looks so amazing I don't even feel like I need makeup. And loving the fact that this actually thickens the skin - I feel like I am getting a treatment while seeing instant results. I see no need to spend $ on all these expensive serums when this stuff is around!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cherpar1 on 12/28/2008 9:02:00 AM more reviews by cherpar1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have been using Emu Oil for over a year now. I am 53 yrs old light skin, green eyes and in a professional job. I have tried so many products to keep the laugh (hahaha) lines from becoming too deep around my mouth and eyes. Yes you could say I am vain enough to try anything to keep those lines of age away for as long as I can. Emu Oil does the trick. I use it morning before makeup without foundation and again at night before bed. If you feel greasy you have used too much. Emu Oil is absorbed within 90 seconds and it penetrates 7 layers deep. No other product will do that. Creams and lotions just sit on the surface of the skin. They use Emu Oil for burn victims. Google Emu Oil and see some of the astonishing results. Try it, you will not be dissapointed. I prefer the American Emu Oil over the Australian type. Just make sure you buy from a reputable seller. Also it doesn't clog pores or stain clothing if its genuine Emu Oil. Just think of the money you will save over those expensive wrinkle creams that really don't work.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lelaelena on 8/22/2008 8:09:00 PM more reviews by lelaelena

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Ha, I bet it's the emu oil that really makes the difference for most people that tried the entire Skin Biology regimen. That stuff is great (I used mine so much that I ran out in a week, so cost effectiveness-not great). I used it as a body lotion, lip moisturizer, hair smoother.

Emu oil/Kalaya oil is said to be closest to human sebum in composition and that is the reason it absorbs so well and managed not to make me break out. I really wanna try a plan emu oil without all these additives from Skin Biology...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Skin Biology products

More Moisturizers products