NARS • Lipstick in Dolce Vita • Lipstick

rated 4.1(433 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Menolikepolos on 12/11/2012 6:54:00 AM more reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

NW10-15 (neutral-cool toned, very fair), blue eyes, Color season is True Summer, Baumann Skin Type is OSPW.

Eh. I keep trying to "make it work" (Tim Gunn!). For some reason, this just comes off looking strange and I end up looking pale. I think there is just a hint too much warmth in this red for my skin tone.

Also, L'Oreal Colour Riche Balm in Plush Plum seems very similar. Not sure if it's a 100% dupe though. Formula is moisturizing too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Aceberg on 11/21/2012 11:01:00 PM more reviews by Aceberg

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Absolutely love this lippy. I use everyday like a tinted lipbalm - it is moisturising and I love the natural colour. Colour tends to last on me quite well too. I also love the smell :-)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 OlivianaVS on 9/30/2012 4:01:00 PM more reviews by OlivianaVS

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I agree with the majority, this lipstick suits most skin tones. It's very sheer and not really buidable so it reminds me of a tinted lip balm. Color is natural, in my opinion even more so than the clinique's cult product 'black honey' which might appear too dark for lighter skin tones when layered. Lasting power could be better, that's why my search for the perfect natural daytime lipstick continues.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 saskiayu on 9/22/2012 3:05:00 AM more reviews by saskiayu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love the no makeup-makeup look and this is the best everyday lipstick formulation/shade I've tried. Probably not dramatic enough for evening but it is very naturally flattering during the day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 iamjoelle on 8/31/2012 12:02:00 PM more reviews by iamjoelle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

A neutral-pink shade that's like your natural lip color but better. The formula is creamy and non-drying. It is a bit pricey, but worth the money spent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 teacoffeecocoa86 on 8/26/2012 5:02:00 PM more reviews by teacoffeecocoa86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I like this lippie a lot, and that's basically because of the neutral shade. It's a "safe" shade, so you can wear it to an interview/appointment/school and it looks nice, your lips but better. I would repurchase this just because the shade is great for anywhere, anytime.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mecepeda on 8/22/2012 7:47:00 PM more reviews by mecepeda

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

There's a lot of hype around this lipstick, and I can see why. The formula is great - very smooth and moisturizing. The packing is typically sleek and practical NARS. As for the color, it's also of high quality. I would describe it as a straightforward, pinked-up brown minus any shimmer or frost...in other words, the perfect shade for those occasions when you need to play it safe (i.e., the office, job interviews) or when you simply have no idea what other lipstick to wear. Dolce Vita strikes me as a fantastic default lipstick, in other words. Unfortunately for me, however, my lips are so pigmented that it reads as a clear, very slight bit of gloss on my mouth. It's not unflattering, just simply non-existent. Some dark nude pencil and darker mauve gloss on top helps bring out some color, but I am of the opinion that any time I have to mess around with a lipstick so much, it's probably not meant for me in the first place. That said, I can picture Dolce Vita looking wonderful on a wide range of people. I won't repurchase, but I can understand why this would be an HG product for some.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CiaraAinsley on 8/22/2012 5:14:00 PM more reviews by CiaraAinsley

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Pros
-gorgeous, gorgeous, GORGEOUS shade
-works with all skin tones
-not scented/flavored (has a kind of fruit-loop-y scent and taste, but that's just the ingredients of the lipstick)
-subdued enough for work/school but works with more dramatic looks too
-moisturizing

Cons
-expensive
-wear time could be better (wears a couple hours on me- it's pretty good for a sheer shade but still)
-not enough product to last a super long time if you wear it every day. I've had mine a year, but I only wear it once a week or less.

Bottom line- if you're looking for an MLBB shade and don't mind paying for quality, this is the best of the best.


Bottom line- try it out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 alextuthreefour on 8/18/2012 10:07:00 PM more reviews by alextuthreefour

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Great MLBB color for me! It is sheer, which is great because it looks really natural and juicy (can that word even be used to describe lip products...?) As always, I am a huuuuuge fan of NARS packaging. It is so sleek and simple! I'm not a fan of the price, however, and I will hunt down the more affordable dupe. Until then, I will be repurchasing this lipstick because I just can't seem to put it down! Lovely!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 katiebaby87 on 7/24/2012 4:38:00 AM more reviews by katiebaby87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is a great lipstick for every day. I have very fair skin and prefer a soft, natural look for my 9-5 makeup, but I'm not really a fan of nude/super neutral lipsticks, and this warms up my complexion beautifully without looking too bright on my pale skin. It's also the only lipstick I keep permanently in my handbag that I can whip out for a mirror-free application straight from the tube (I normally only ever apply with a brush or my finger).

I totally agree, however, that the formula is kinda drying and not very long lasting. At AUD $37 (my god we get ripped off in this country) it's ridiculously overpriced. I picked mine up for half price online and will definitely look for a more reasonably priced dupe rather than repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Lipstick products