Skinceuticals Hydrating B5 Gel

4.0

186 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Serum: Water, Sodium Hyaluronate, Pantothenic Acid, PhenoxyethanolHydrating B5 Masque: Water, Glycerin, Triethanolamine, Carbomer, Sodium Hyaluronate, Phenoxyethanol, Calcium Pantothenate, Sodium Benzoate, Panthenol, Sodium PCA, Urea, Disodium EDTA, Trehalose, Polyquaternium-51


on 10/26/2012 7:14:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

In winter, my oily skin loses moisture, yet lotion alone is of no help. My makeup did not sit well, so I came on Makeup Alley to find a product to help and saw good reviews for the Skinceuticals Hydrating B5 Gel. This B5 gel is pricey, but it does work. It hydrates your skin much better than lotion and can be used in conjunction with it. A nickle-sized drop goes a long way, so the bottle lasts. Since it is a serum, this is not oily and does not aggravate breakouts if you are acne-prone. This is the only Skinceuticals product that I found actually works.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 10/18/2012 11:57:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

My esthetician reccomended this product for my dry flaky skin and let me say this- it works! I find that in order to get the best out of this product, I apply it right after I come out of the shower, that way my skin will absorb it quickly. It absorbs almost immediately, and does not leave an oily sheen on my skin.

It is quite expensive, but I think it's worth it. You only need 2 drops from the pipette, so the product lasts for a really long time.


on 9/19/2012 9:37:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I bought this when I purchased C E Ferulic, as it was recommended to use these products together. It's an okay moisturizer. No problems, but nothing fantastic either. It's a bit too filmy for my oily skin, but no break outs or anything horrible.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/21/2012 10:37:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

For the price I would have liked a better moisture. This is an ok product for normal to oily skin, it sinks in really fast and leaves no greasy residue but when my skin is really dry this is not moisturising enough! I have better moisturising serums for half price (la roche posay, clarins, bioderma...)
Overall I like the packaging and like the fact that this product doesn't leave any greasy residue so I would probably buy it again for hot months.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/16/2012 12:37:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I wish I had been introduced to the product sooner. This is a clear non sticky gel that sinks in immediately. I apply it after my Vitamin C serum dries. Since I begun using it, I find myself using less moisturizer each day. It eliminated all retinoid flakes with twice daily application.
I see a marked difference not only in hydration, but skin is plump and very healthy looking. Moisturizer can be applied over the serum if additional hydration is needed.

For reference I am in my early 30's with dryish skin sensitized by retinoids

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/1/2012 11:17:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

My dermatologist recommended this to me for my rosacea-prone, dry, flaky skin. I am hypothyroid and have tried everything to help with flakes and this really seems to help. It's so light (because it's a gel) so it never feels greasy or shiny and it doesn't clog pores. I have not had any irritation or breakouts with this. Alone it does not provide quite enough protection so I use this on top of my regular moisturizer. The cons: price and the glass container. With two young kids and a tile floor in the bathroom, I have to hide this from them on a high shelf. But all in all, this is a great product and I will continue to use.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Other

This review is for Skinceuticals Hydrating B5 Gel, which is formulated to bind moisture to the skin. I basically use this as needed, but find it particularly helpful in the winter when the air tends to be drier. As a reference, my skin is aging/sensitive/acne-prone. Once a break-out occurs it will turn into a dark spot, so my goal is to keep my skin clean and moisturized at all times.

I use this immediately after cleansing, meaning I don't do that "pat dry" thing. I use it on my wet skin and let it soak in while I moisture my body. Then I apply moisturizer on top of it. It seems to give the moisturizer a real boost and it keeps the skin looking fresh and moist. I do not see this same sort of glow without it.

$52.00 is step for 1 fluid ounce, however I will repurchase. It's a very high quality product and it saves my skin in the winter months.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/16/2011 2:58:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a light serum which can be used inconjuction with other, thicker creams. I find that it hydrates but not enough for winter for ppl with dry/ sensitive skin like mine. Positives for me are that it doesn't cause a reaction for my super sensitive skin, it moisturises me and it can be layered underneath other products. The hydrating effects for me was cumulative, it took a few weeks until I was convinced that it does the job! I'm on my third bottle and although I don't think it's the perfect product, I'll use it until/if I find a better replacement. It's expensive but as you only need a few drops each time, it lasts. I use my around 6-7 weeks and apply on damp skin. It has phenoxyethanol, an alcohol derivative so I would recommend sensitive ppl to test it before purchase. A combination of B5 and Jurlique Wrinkle Softener helped the lines around my eyes and brows to soften for sure.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/19/2011 9:05:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

this itch my skin a little when i apply on my face


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I used this product awhile ago, and I didn't really notice any difference, but maybe my skin wasn't dry to begin with at the time.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Retin A
531 Reviews
Sudocrem
137 Reviews
Nerium AD
73 Reviews
4% Hydroquinone
14 Reviews
Back to Top