Skinceuticals • Hydrating B5 Gel • Treatments

rated 4.0(177 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 BrigitteBardot on 10/24/2011 1:22:00 AM more reviews by BrigitteBardot

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I used this product awhile ago, and I didn't really notice any difference, but maybe my skin wasn't dry to begin with at the time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kidorriko on 9/20/2011 10:38:00 PM more reviews by Kidorriko

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My first product from skinceuticals was actually the Phloretin CF which I love. I used to get breakouts monthly but after I started using it, I did not get breakouts anymore.
I added the Hydrating B5 to my regime (before applying Phloretin CF) last week. I tried a sample at the store and was amazed as my skin instantly looked smoother for the whole day. I have been using the Hydrating gel for about a week and my skin has improved. My skin is generally quite dry even though I live in a very humid city. I noticed that my skin has gotten much softer and smoother. I will definitely keep using this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 heatherunger on 8/14/2011 8:32:00 PM more reviews by heatherunger

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this product on the advice of my esthetician for $60 at the Medi Spa. She told me to use it alone, but the package directions indicate to follow with moisturizer. I noticed no difference with using this product and it was expensive. Additional, the packaging is terrible. I knocked the bottle over several times spilling large amounts of the product. Once when I knocked the bottle over, I quickly moved to pick it back up and accidentally knocked the end of the glass dropper on my counter and broke it! Not happy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 catherineleemala on 8/3/2011 12:03:00 AM more reviews by catherineleemala

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I got mine from cosme-de.com. Still quite expensive compare with a lot of other products. Fortunately, best hydrating product have ever used. I just use 2 drops every morning and night, it gives me smooth skin without break out! It helps my skin go through dry and cold winter without problem. Would like buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dvdgal on 8/2/2011 3:25:00 PM more reviews by dvdgal

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I've been using this gel on and off since 2007. I always stop using it when my skin gets better because it is expensive. This is a very good moisturizer for oily + acne-prone skin. When I was in my 20s, I only needed this gel as a moisturizer. Once I hit my 30s, this is no longer moisturize enough. I will need another moisturizer on top of this gel. But my skin is always calmer and healthier when I use it. That's why I keep coming back to this expensive gel.

Updates on 08/05/2013
This is my staple, and I finally discovered that I have to use a lighter moisturizer on top of this to get the most benefits. I can stay hydrated and not oily up to 6 hours. It's pretty amazing. If you suddenly have skin issues because of hormone, then try using this after cleansing. Don't use any sunscreens during the day unless you need to go to a beach (which I strongly discourage) and only every other night or every other two nights to use medication topical cream. If you skin flares bad all of the sudden, then you truly need to keep your skin clean and simple until it calm down and then treat the symptoms. One more thing you put on, one more thing will irritate your already irritated skin. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 astrogirl77 on 7/31/2011 8:40:00 PM more reviews by astrogirl77

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

My sister gave me a sample bottle of this and I must say I am very impressed with the results. I get flaky skin on my forehead, nose and around my mouth and I find the gel immediately tames the flakiness upon application. For such a lightweight gel it's incredible that it can do this. However, I don't like how it tightens my skin but this is easily fixed by applying regular moisturiser straight after application of the gel. I will consider trying a cheaper B5 serum to see if i get the same results, but in my opinion this product is worth the price.

Edit 09/12/11:
I have since purchased the Medik8 B5 serum and prefer it better to SC. See my review here: http://www.makeupalley.com/product/showreview.asp/ItemId=141376

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 prettyshine on 7/27/2011 12:15:00 AM more reviews by prettyshine

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Not sure about this one. One thing I can say is it did not make my face break out, which most things that are suppose to aid in moisturizing my face, do. It feels light on the skin but I haven't noticed a change in the appearance of my skin after several months using it daily. I may repurchase to give it another shot because I trust in the line.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mandy412 on 6/21/2011 9:50:00 AM more reviews by mandy412

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

The lady who does my facials recommended this product for me to get extra hydration through the winter months. the bottle lasted me 6 months so I guess from that perspective it was a good value. But I didn't love the product. I think there are booster serums out there much cheaper that do the same and probably better than this. I used it but I don't know that it really made an impact. My skin looks the same now that it's gone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ChloeMUA on 6/20/2011 3:36:00 PM more reviews by ChloeMUA

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

COMBINATION & HYPERSENSITIVE SKIN: This did not irritate my skin therefore I'll give it 5 lippies. However, nowadays most skincare brands carry a good B5 Serum so I don't see the necessity to pay this much. [Skinceuticals.com - $69]

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jessicaerabbit on 3/26/2011 10:16:00 PM more reviews by jessicaerabbit

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

This is an effective moisturizer by itself if you have the following skin types: Sensitive, acne prone, oily, or if you have rosecea. If you have normal to dry, better add this to your moisturizer to give it a boost. I have sensitive acne prone skin with a mild case of rosecea and it is just enough moisturizer for me without driving my skin nuts! I often find that most moisturizers leave me dry or really oily, or cause breakouts; but this doesn't! The only thing I don't like is the price tag. I use this over Skinceuticals Serum 10 AOX and I am loving my skin again.





2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Skinceuticals products

More Treatments products