Skinceuticals • Hydrating B5 Gel • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.0(180 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 QuilleyReturns on 2/1/2012 6:34:00 PM more reviews by QuilleyReturns

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Other    

This review is for Skinceuticals Hydrating B5 Gel, which is formulated to bind moisture to the skin. I basically use this as needed, but find it particularly helpful in the winter when the air tends to be drier. As a reference, my skin is aging/sensitive/acne-prone. Once a break-out occurs it will turn into a dark spot, so my goal is to keep my skin clean and moisturized at all times.

I use this immediately after cleansing, meaning I don't do that "pat dry" thing. I use it on my wet skin and let it soak in while I moisture my body. Then I apply moisturizer on top of it. It seems to give the moisturizer a real boost and it keeps the skin looking fresh and moist. I do not see this same sort of glow without it.

$52.00 is step for 1 fluid ounce, however I will repurchase. It's a very high quality product and it saves my skin in the winter months.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ninjalips on 12/16/2011 2:58:00 PM more reviews by ninjalips

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a light serum which can be used inconjuction with other, thicker creams. I find that it hydrates but not enough for winter for ppl with dry/ sensitive skin like mine. Positives for me are that it doesn't cause a reaction for my super sensitive skin, it moisturises me and it can be layered underneath other products. The hydrating effects for me was cumulative, it took a few weeks until I was convinced that it does the job! I'm on my third bottle and although I don't think it's the perfect product, I'll use it until/if I find a better replacement. It's expensive but as you only need a few drops each time, it lasts. I use my around 6-7 weeks and apply on damp skin. It has phenoxyethanol, an alcohol derivative so I would recommend sensitive ppl to test it before purchase. A combination of B5 and Jurlique Wrinkle Softener helped the lines around my eyes and brows to soften for sure.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 retrolady on 11/19/2011 9:05:00 AM more reviews by retrolady

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

this itch my skin a little when i apply on my face

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 BrigitteBardot on 10/24/2011 1:22:00 AM more reviews by BrigitteBardot

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I used this product awhile ago, and I didn't really notice any difference, but maybe my skin wasn't dry to begin with at the time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kidorriko on 9/20/2011 10:38:00 PM more reviews by Kidorriko

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My first product from skinceuticals was actually the Phloretin CF which I love. I used to get breakouts monthly but after I started using it, I did not get breakouts anymore.
I added the Hydrating B5 to my regime (before applying Phloretin CF) last week. I tried a sample at the store and was amazed as my skin instantly looked smoother for the whole day. I have been using the Hydrating gel for about a week and my skin has improved. My skin is generally quite dry even though I live in a very humid city. I noticed that my skin has gotten much softer and smoother. I will definitely keep using this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 heatherunger on 8/14/2011 8:32:00 PM more reviews by heatherunger

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this product on the advice of my esthetician for $60 at the Medi Spa. She told me to use it alone, but the package directions indicate to follow with moisturizer. I noticed no difference with using this product and it was expensive. Additional, the packaging is terrible. I knocked the bottle over several times spilling large amounts of the product. Once when I knocked the bottle over, I quickly moved to pick it back up and accidentally knocked the end of the glass dropper on my counter and broke it! Not happy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 catherineleemala on 8/3/2011 12:03:00 AM more reviews by catherineleemala

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I got mine from cosme-de.com. Still quite expensive compare with a lot of other products. Fortunately, best hydrating product have ever used. I just use 2 drops every morning and night, it gives me smooth skin without break out! It helps my skin go through dry and cold winter without problem. Would like buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dvdgal on 8/2/2011 3:25:00 PM more reviews by dvdgal

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I've been using this gel on and off since 2007. I always stop using it when my skin gets better because it is expensive. This is a very good moisturizer for oily + acne-prone skin. When I was in my 20s, I only needed this gel as a moisturizer. Once I hit my 30s, this is no longer moisturize enough. I will need another moisturizer on top of this gel. But my skin is always calmer and healthier when I use it. That's why I keep coming back to this expensive gel.

Updates on 08/05/2013
This is my staple, and I finally discovered that I have to use a lighter moisturizer on top of this to get the most benefits. I can stay hydrated and not oily up to 6 hours. It's pretty amazing. If you suddenly have skin issues because of hormone, then try using this after cleansing. Don't use any sunscreens during the day unless you need to go to a beach (which I strongly discourage) and only every other night or every other two nights to use medication topical cream. If you skin flares bad all of the sudden, then you truly need to keep your skin clean and simple until it calm down and then treat the symptoms. One more thing you put on, one more thing will irritate your already irritated skin. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 astrogirl77 on 7/31/2011 8:40:00 PM more reviews by astrogirl77

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

My sister gave me a sample bottle of this and I must say I am very impressed with the results. I get flaky skin on my forehead, nose and around my mouth and I find the gel immediately tames the flakiness upon application. For such a lightweight gel it's incredible that it can do this. However, I don't like how it tightens my skin but this is easily fixed by applying regular moisturiser straight after application of the gel. I will consider trying a cheaper B5 serum to see if i get the same results, but in my opinion this product is worth the price.

Edit 09/12/11:
I have since purchased the Medik8 B5 serum and prefer it better to SC. See my review here: http://www.makeupalley.com/product/showreview.asp/ItemId=141376

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 prettyshine on 7/27/2011 12:15:00 AM more reviews by prettyshine

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Not sure about this one. One thing I can say is it did not make my face break out, which most things that are suppose to aid in moisturizing my face, do. It feels light on the skin but I haven't noticed a change in the appearance of my skin after several months using it daily. I may repurchase to give it another shot because I trust in the line.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Skinceuticals products

More Treatments (Face) products