Neutrogena Norwegian Formula Hand Cream

4.2

621 reviews

79% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Glycerin, Cetearyl Alcohol, Stearic Acid, Sodium Cetearyl Sulfate, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Dilauryl Thiodipropionate, Sodium Sulfate, Fragrance


on 1/7/2014 11:07:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have this in my handbag right now. It's an HG, but it's the best hand cream I've found so far. It's not the most aesthetic of hand creams. The simple tube packaging is just that, simple, but I can understand why some people do not like the formula. It's like a cream-gel consistency, but applies like a thick white paste and can be difficult to spread. I have very dry hands because of work, and also suffer from eczema around my knuckles. When I get a flare-up, when I want a barrier cream or when I simply just want to moisturizer my dry hands at night, this is my go-to product. Sure its a bit thick and greasy, but most hand creams are. And after sitting in front of the TV for an hour, it's had sufficient time to sink in and I don't notice the stickiness anymore. The best part is when I go to wash my hands and I can still feel the cream there on my skin. It's great!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 12/31/2013 3:38:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I do like this a lot but much prefer the unscented one. This and the unscented one are all you need for supple and cared for hands. Great value. I have left a longer and more detailed review for the unscented version.


on 12/13/2013 7:02:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

It feels like very thick petroleum jelly! Not moistening at all.


on 12/11/2013 8:51:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

Meh, not my favorite hand cream, to say the least. I have the fragrance-free one, I use it when I go out running when it's not yet cold enough to put on gloves but too cold to just go out. It works as a barrier but other than that it doesn't do anything for me.


on 11/25/2013 10:14:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

To start I have the "fragrance free" one. I am fine with the packaging but that's where the anything positive I have to say about this product stops.
As for the actual "cream" inside I feel like it's as productive as rubbing Monistat Anti-Chafing gel on my hands. It's a similar consistency. It seems more like a barrier cream than a moisturizing cream. If I still had the receipt (and remember where I bought it from), I'd return this.


on 11/7/2013 7:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Olive, Cool

Hair: Black, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The only thing that works on my hands and feet. Love it. It's scent free, thick and a small amount is enough. I can see how this could be greasy for other people but it's perfection on my very dry skin. Also, my chapped lips have disappeared (nothing has worked on them before)
This leaves a light residue after but I prefer this texture over the type you get from lotions.
Have repurchased this for the third time. It's a godsend.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Hey its my new fave hand moisturiser, i dont spend on big brands or 'miracle' creams unless Im sure it will make a difference (maybe used sample fitst!) and this is quite easy to find where I live so no problem getting it if i run out which wont be for a long time judging by usage. At first yes it seemed slightly heavy or greasy but in the current weather - its turning colder by the day, this is keeping the flakies away and my cuticles smooth. Best of all it don't cost much! Try it. x


on 10/22/2013 7:45:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this every night since my teens, and now in my mid-forties, my hands are soft and looks younger than my face! Yes, it is sticky, tacky, and it sits on top of my skin, but I wouldn't change it for anything else I've tried so far. Everything, from L'Occitane to the yummy Laura Mercier to even La Prairie, they are too liquid and doesn't have the same effect on my skin. Keeping this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/22/2013 7:09:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is wonderful. Why did I wait for so long to try this? Some readers wrote about how thick it is and hard to spread. Yes it is true but I use it along with a cheap light hand cream and it works great. Just a small amount is enough if you use it like I do . My hands love this.

Ohh i am not finished yet. I had this dry area on one of my cheek for the last 2 weeks where it peels no matter what I do. I put this cream on that area while I was using it on my hands and just one tiny application stopped the peeling and it never came back. That really impressed me.


on 10/14/2013 4:53:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I have no complaints regarding the effectiveness of this product but I won't repurchase because the consistency makes this so difficult to use as a hand cream. The product is transparent and feels like vaseline. It turns whitish when rubbed on skin. Because of the extremely thick texture, it doesn't sink into the skin easily/quickly. It is also really difficult to spread out onto skin and I feel like I am bruising my hands each time I use this. I can imagine that this would be a good product for small spots of dryness like elbows/cuticles, but this is just wayyy too difficult to use as a hand cream.

My hands are not massively dry so I didn't see any noticeable improvement in my hands. I think this is good for cuticles though, coz it makes my cuticles look better. But this is not enough to make me want to repurchase.

Still on the lookout for a good hand cream!


Popular Lotions / Creams


Nivea Creme
1157 Reviews
Summer Glow
55 Reviews
Creamy Formula
80 Reviews


Back to Top