Paula's Choice • Super Antioxidant Concentrate • Treatments

rated 3.5(229 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 mary_ln on 5/16/2009 5:21:00 PM more reviews by mary_ln

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

When I first started using this I thought it was too greasy. But after some time I realized that initial greasy feeling soon went away, leaving a nice smooth feel. I have only recently discovered that this also makes a great foundation primer. If I apply it before using one of my favorite tinted moisturizers, I get a depth of color not usually possible with this kind of foundation. This has been reformulated and I hope I like it as much as the old product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 whythankyou on 5/11/2009 9:19:00 PM more reviews by whythankyou

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I hate the feeling of this stuff, it's so thick! It feels like I'm rubbing honey or syrup on my face. I also broke out in the corners of my nose where this stuff kinda collects. On the positive side there's a bunch of really good, quality ingredients in it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dpenn on 5/11/2009 9:50:00 AM more reviews by dpenn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I hadn't tried the original formulation, so I can't comment on that, but I love the current product.

I don't know much of what antioxidants do exactly, but I think it's more preventative than corrective. This serum does make your skin super soft, but I have a feeling that's the silicone. Either way, I still love it...precision dispensing from the tube, inexpensive (relatively), doesn't stink or sting my face...couldn't ask for more really.

I'll continue to purchase this in hopes that it's aiding the effectiveness of my sunscreen and possibly helping even out of the tone of my skin.

Update - I can't be certain, but I think this has been breaking me out, so I stopped using it. Also, I'm disliking silicone lately for no particular reason, so this just isn't cutting it for me. A good product nevertheless, but not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GulieQ on 3/31/2009 1:30:00 AM more reviews by GulieQ

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I LOVED the original formulation of this product! It left my skin silky, smooth, and gorgeous in the mornings (after using it the night before). I am running out of the 'old formula' samples i'd invested in (to take on business trips). When I recieved the 'new formulation', I didn't know it had changed; i started feeling a prickly, itchy rash develop shortly after I put it on. I thought it must have been something else, but when I finally washed it off and put Cortisone creme over it, it was gone in a few hours. When I patch tested this 'unknowingly new' version on the inside of my arm--in disbelief--liquid hives developed. This was just one of many instances moderate allergic reaction after unknowingly using a PC Product that had been 'reformulated'--but nowhere in the advertising/site was any 'reformulation' even mentioned. This has happened with the toners, with the moisturizers, and with all her products that she adds sunscreen to. The very sunscreen she rants about is the same item that gives MANY people blistering allergic rashes. So much for 'items for super-sensitive skin.' I'm dissappointed in the number of PC Products I can no longer use.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mistermark on 3/7/2009 3:13:00 AM more reviews by mistermark

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Paula finally gets it right with this 2009 `New and improved formula.` I was shocked at how bad the 2007 version of this product was and I never ordered it due to the lousy concentration and type of active ingredients. This time, Paula uses 5% Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate (as told to me by PC customer service) which is actually an impressive amount considering it`s much more stable and has a smaller molecule than ascorbic acid. Dr. Perricone also switched from his active ingredient of Ascorbyl Palmitate (vitamin c) to the superior Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate (vitamin c) within the last year with his products. That said, I purchased two of these new PC Super Antioxidant Concentrate tubes to replace my Estee Lauder Perfectionist. (I love Perfectionist as it's so calming to my sensitive skin, but I fly through it so quickly, and in this economy at $100 CDN a bottle, well...) So I thought I`d give Paula`s more affordable product a shot. What I do love about the new formulation of this product is that now I can see some color in it. This means there`s a much higher concentration of actives than before. (I had purchased the no-color 2004 version of this and disliked it mainly because I learned it only had a dusting of antioxidants). The 2009 version is almost safflower-oil yellow in color. There are an incredible selection of other superior antioxidants in here, (I think it`s her most impressive formula to date). I`ve been using it for two weeks, and while it doesn`t make my skin look as calm and rested as Lauder`s Perfectionist (see my review), it does suit my budget much better, and my skin does look better for it. My skin is slightly calmer than when using no antioxidant serum and there`s definitely more of a glow. It reduces irritation from my use of Retin-A. I fly through this serum as well, but at $25.00 an ounce, I have no complaints there. It does feel a little-siliconey, but Paula`s honest about that, and I don`t care at all because it`s affordable, and it keeps the actives stable, and that`s all that matters to me. Congratulations Paula on finally making an incredible Super Antioxidant Concentrate.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ca_sent_beau on 2/6/2009 4:08:00 PM more reviews by ca_sent_beau

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Reviewing this product won't be easy since there are three different products masquerading under the same name Super Antioxidant Concentrate! Which version should I be rating?
I've used only the original formula and I have used countless bottles of it since the day it was first introduced. It had a mixture of antioxidants with the star player being Vitamin C. The first two ingredients after the silicone carrier were Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate and Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate. It was a silky silicone serum that needed a few minutes to sink in with no tackiness. I would sometimes skip reordering it, thinking that it does nothing, but a few weeks later I would see what my skin is missing. For me it made a difference between good skin and great skin. Twice daily application would make my skin (subtly) glowing, more even in colour and texture. I was happy :) And the price was great, too, less than $20 for a full ounce. I would have given it 10 lippies if possible.
Around a year ago - or maybe one and a half - Paula decided to reformulate. The Vitamin C was gone, replaced by green tea and some plant oil (safflower if I remember correctly). I've never purchased that (in my opinion, inferior) version, instead switched to DHC Vitamin C Essence (sole Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate).
Lately, it looks like the Super Antioxidant Concentrate has been reformulated again. The Vitamin C has been brought back, as well as a peptide thrown in into the (this time longer) list of antioxidants. I haven't tried it yet, but it looks promising. At least I would consider going back to it once my DHC serum is finished. By the way, the price has gone up as well, it costs $24.95 for an ounce now. Though, I don't have any right to complain. A good Vitamin C serum at this price is still a bargain. I will update my review if I try the new version.
Ingredients of the newest version as of 02/06/2009: Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone (silicone slip agents/suspending agents), Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate (stabilized vitamin C/antioxidant), Palmitoyl Tripeptide-5 (cell-communicating ingredient), Tocotrienols, Tocopherol (vitamin E/antioxidants), Ubiquinone (coenzyme Q10/antioxidant), Alpha Lipoic Acid (antioxidant), Tocopheryl Acetate (vitamin E/antioxidant), Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate (stabilized vitamin C/antioxidant), Ferulic Acid, Caffeic Acid (antioxidants), Beta-Glucan (anti-irritant), Saccharomyces/Selenium Ferment (skin-conditioning agent/antioxidant), Superoxide Dismutase (antioxidant), Epigallocatechin Gallate (green tea-derived antioxidant), Ergothioneine (mushroom-derived antioxidant), Glutathione (fruit-derived antioxidant), Xanthophyll (antioxidant pigment), Glycine Soja (Soybean) Seed Extract (antioxidant), Ceramide 3 (skin-identical ingredient), Arctostaphylos Uva Ursi Leaf Extract (anti-inflammatory agent), Lupinus Albus Seed Extract, Curcuma Longa (Turmeric) Root Extract (antioxidants), Elaeis Guineensis (Palm) Oil (emollient), Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol (preservatives), Ethylhexylglycerin, Hexylene Glycol (slip agents) - from cosmeticscop.com

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fancyxamy on 1/28/2009 11:18:00 AM more reviews by fancyxamy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

based on the ingredients given by the previous reviewer for the "new and improved" formula, i believe im using the "old and outdated" formula, haha. either way, i really like this serum


i received this in a swap a few weeks ago and didnt touch it for a while because, honestly, the texture freaked me out as did the inclusion of safflower oil. when youve worked as hard as i have to clear up acne, this kind of product could be just the thing to take you back to square one!


after reading numerous articles that assured the non-comegogenity (is that a word?!) of safflower oil, i tried it out and not only has it not broken me out, my skin has felt smoother and healthier since i incorporated it into my routine.


the texture is that of any silicone based product, kindof oily and slippery. it does seem to sit on skin for a while, but after a few minutes i apply my moisturizer and sunscreen with no problems. as ive stated in other reviews, i can never predict what will break me out and what wont--i wouldve definitely expected this to cause a flare-up, but so far so good. ive heard that silicones actually provide a breathable layer of protection over skin that keeps harmful things out. heres hoping!


this was my first paula's choice product and it has pleasantly surprised me. in fact, ive already ordered samples of some of her other skincare stuff, including the new version of this serum. if youre considering antioxident products, this is a good one at a very reasonable price.


update 2/16: i received the reformulated version of this and love it even more! its the exact same as the older one in terms of texture and finish and i really see a difference in the appearance of my skin when i use it--the tone is more even, redness is reduced and it feels softer and smoother. i use it during the day under my tinted moisturizer and it hasnt clogged my pores at all. highly recommended!

update 8/21: just wanted to share a little tip for those who are having difficulty figuring out how to layer this with other products or who dont like the super silicone-y texture. for a while i quit using it because i couldnt fit it into my routine- i just didnt have the time to let it dry. now i just squirt a few drops into whatever moisturizer im using and it sinks in SO much faster and doesnt leave any kind of residue.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Andio on 1/27/2009 9:57:00 AM more reviews by Andio

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

NEW AND IMPROVED FORMULA...I love this! I've had this for three days and I am loving this. It has everthing that skinceuticals C E Ferulic has and much more! What a buy!!! I will update after a few weeks to be sure that this doesn't make me break out. So far though, I'm lov'in it!

edit: caused break outs; only using once in a great while

INGREDIENTS:
Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone (silicone slip agents/suspending agents), Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate (stabilized vitamin C/antioxidant), Palmitoyl Tripeptide-5 (cell-communicating ingredient), Tocotrienols, Tocopherol (vitamin E/antioxidants), Ubiquinone (coenzyme Q10/antioxidant), Alpha Lipoic Acid (antioxidant), Tocopheryl Acetate (vitamin E/antioxidant), Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate (stabilized vitamin C/antioxidant), Ferulic Acid, Caffeic Acid (antioxidants), Beta-Glucan (anti-irritant), Saccharomyces/Selenium Ferment (skin-conditioning agent/antioxidant), Superoxide Dismutase (antioxidant), Epigallocatechin Gallate (green tea-derived antioxidant), Ergothioneine (mushroom-derived antioxidant), Glutathione (fruit-derived antioxidant), Xanthophyll (antioxidant pigment), Glycine Soja (Soybean) Seed Extract (antioxidant), Ceramide 3 (skin-identical ingredient), Arctostaphylos Uva Ursi Leaf Extract (anti-inflammatory agent), Lupinus Albus Seed Extract, Curcuma Longa (Turmeric) Root Extract (antioxidants), Elaeis Guineensis (Palm) Oil (emollient), Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol (preservatives), Ethylhexylglycerin, Hexylene Glycol (slip agents

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 curly26 on 11/25/2008 4:24:00 AM more reviews by curly26

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

not sure what to think. don't like the texture and the feel on the skin, BUT my skin is nicer ain the morning because of it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Shadowline on 10/15/2008 11:27:00 AM more reviews by Shadowline

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

There have already been a lot of reviews talking about the various benefits of the ingredients. Now that I have been using this product, I'll just give me overall impression.

The color and feel at first turned me off but once I put it on, it absorbed quickly and left my skin smooth. Over time, my cheek dryness and mild rosacea has improved markedly. The silicone in the product doesn't bother me at all. If anything, the serum itself has calmed my t-zone oil production. I don't use this as an anti-aging serum, I use it more as I would a vitamin supplement. My favorite thing about this product is that it makes using a foundation primer redundant so I no longer have to spend the money on my LM primer - quite good work for one small tube!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paula's Choice products

More Treatments products