Clear Scalp & Hair • Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.0(174 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 BGR on 2/10/2014 4:06:00 AM more reviews by BGR

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I previously wrote a review on here awhile back and I wanted to update. I had used this product for about a year. I liked Clear Scalp and Hair Therapy for the entire time that I used it, so much that I switched back and forth between their lines (Volume, Total Care etc.) I liked how it made my hair look and feel. However, about 5 months ago is when the visible trauma showed up. Hair grows in stages and has a 4-6 month memory, so if something is going wrong, you won't see the trauma until at least 6 months later. So that explains why I didn't notice what this product was doing to my hair long term. It made my hair thin out. I have had a very substantial loss of hair and seems to have changed the texture as well. I can tell you that my hair is definitely not the same as it used to be before using this product. It has completely changed my hair. I had a lot more hair that needed to be straightened before, and now it's a finer texture, limp and much lighter. I can't even straighten my hair anymore and don't really need to since my hair is not the same. I have to wear soft scrunchies now every time I put my hair up. I had to start using a leave in conditioner every single time I brush my hair to try to minimize the hair fall and breakage. Since discontinuing Clear Scalp and Hair Therapy, I have gotten my hair cut twice. I cut about 2-3 inches off every time I get my hair cut and keep it at the same length. I have not noticed much improvement at this time. I'm not sure what this product did to my hair damaged follicles etc... hopefully not, or even if growing it back out will help. I keep finding myself going back and trying to compare pictures of my hair and I don't even know how to piece the puzzle together of what the heck happened. Right now it's very hard to measure improvement or to say that my hair will go back to normal. If it does, it's going to take years and lots of praying. This is what I have been doing to try to help my hair: regular hair cuts, switch to sulfate free shampoo, shampoo and condition hair gently every other day, wear hair scrunchies instead of hair ties, invest in a repair/leave in conditioner product, buy a new brush, and wide tooth comb, very gently comb/brush through hair (wet hair is very fragile) take vitamins, or try juicing or making smoothies with lots of fruits and vegetables (our body needs complete nutrition to repair itself), don't stick to one shampoo and conditioner for an extended period of time (my mistake with the Clear Shampoo, that I don't think I'll make again) The amount of hair fall in my brush has seemed to decrease, so that is hopefully a hopeful sign of slow improvement. Basically I just wanted to update and let everyone know that even if you do not experience any issues at first with Clear Shampoo and Hair Therapy, there is a great possibility that down the line you'll notice the damage. I have also been keeping a close eye on people reviewing the product on the Clear Shampoo and Hair Therapy Facebook page and it seems that a lot of the negative comments from people get deleted by them. I wish there was a group that we could get together to talk about this product and monitor each others progress, and things that have helped improve your hair after using this terrible frightening product. There's a bunch of negative reviews on Amazon about this product mostly under the Total Care line. Please write your experience on Amazon too to warn people!

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 binxiboo on 2/9/2014 2:54:00 AM more reviews by binxiboo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

My daughter and I used this product for awhile until we started noticing significant hair loss, horrible breaking off, itchy scalp, and severe scaling in our scalps. My hair dresser thought my daughter and I were ill from something. We saw Dr.s and nothing but this shampoo and conditioner is what is wrong. The hair loss was terrifying. We both have super thick hair, or shall I say, we did, until this product changed that. It has taken 6 weeks to get our scalps back to no scaling and who knows who much longer to grow our hair back. I found that we are not the only ones after research on this product. I have no idea what is in these products, but they should be pulled and possibly a class action lawsuit should be filed. We now are using sulfate and paraban free shampoos/conditioners, along with a product for hair growth. I just want our hair back. Hope this helps anyone who was wondering what's wrong.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Nataliegsno on 2/8/2014 6:03:00 AM more reviews by Nataliegsno

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

At first I loved this shampoo and conditioner. I repurchased it two or three times. I used to wash my hair everyday but then I decided to cut down. This was hard for me because when I don't wash my hair everyday my scalp itches really badly. This stuff made my scalp not itch whatsoever in between washes. Then I noticed a lot of buildup on my roots almost like it was barely cleaning my hair. Stopped using because of this.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Jazzy719 on 1/28/2014 11:24:00 PM more reviews by Jazzy719

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

PLEASE DO NOT buy this!!!! Yes it is very true it makes your hair very thin and it will fall out. My mother and I experience loss of hair because of this horrible product. By the way I'm 21 and dyed my hair once, about a year ago and my hair never fell out. Not only that but your scalp will feel itchy and oily. I should've listen to all the other reviews.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jaytexas on 1/25/2014 2:42:00 AM more reviews by Jaytexas

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I agree with the user below me about the bad reviews. I love this shampoo so much and I'm surprised so many can disagree. I have actually tried using a different brand because money was a little tight and well this shampoo is a little on the pricey side for me. I quickly started using again because my hair was left lifeless and frizzy. I have long/wavy hair and it's a hassle to style when you have three kiddos...well with this shampoo (and only this shampoo) can I let my hair dry naturally without any products (moose, leave-in conditioner etc.) and will be left with smooth luscious waves. I will never again switch shampoos! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Andiealger on 1/22/2014 5:56:00 PM more reviews by Andiealger

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm surprised by all the bad reviews of this product. I have been using the Damage and Color Repair shampoo and conditioner for almost a year now. Although I don't use it every day (I switch off different shampoos and conditioners during the week,) I love it and love the way it makes my hair feel. The smell is incredible and lasts throughout the day, and it leaves my hair shiny and soft, while not drying out my scalp and making it itch like other brands do.
I can only vouch for the Damage and Color Repair line, but I highly recommend it. I will continue to repurchase, and it continues to be one of my top drugstore shampoo/conditioner.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 spontmercy on 1/20/2014 1:05:00 PM more reviews by spontmercy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have never had such a terrible experience with a shampoo in my life. After using it for a few days I noticed my hair felt...not quite clean. That night I spent some extra time shampooing and rinsing, which I think actually made things worse. I shampoo every day, and within about 10 hours of shampooing my hair looked and felt flat and downright greasy. Not only that, but the buildup of whatever is in this junk was causing flakes. Last night I used a clarifying shampoo which hasn't completely reversed the damage done yet - I think it'll take another shampooing for that. It's absolutely astonishing to me that this has Allure's Best of Beauty stamp of approval, an endorsement I previously trusted. The only thing that's good about it is the flat-topped bottle that can be stored upside down, except I will never use enough of this stuff that it would have to be stored upside down. It's going in the trash. Absolutely avoid this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Itzelk on 1/8/2014 9:35:00 PM more reviews by Itzelk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

DO NOT BUY!!! I really can not stress that ENOUGH! At first it made my hair feel wonderful and soft. But after 2 weeks of use, every 3 days, my hair became extremely greasy. I've never in my life have had greasy hair, even if I went 3 days without washing my hair. Also to make things worse my my forehead broke out. I got over 100 little bumps all over my forehead. It was extremely itchy. And trust me this shampoo and conditioner are the cause. This shampoo and conditioner are the only new thing I introduced to my hair routine. As soon as I stopped using it, my skin started to improve and get better.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 xocinny on 12/17/2013 7:24:00 PM more reviews by xocinny

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

When I first got this product, I fell in love. The smell was amazing and my hair felt so smooth and healthy. I've used it for a year and stopped. After using it so long, I finally notice that my hair was falling every time I used it. I had thick and full hair but after using this product, it made my hair fall. Now my hair doesn't feel thick anymore and I wouldn't recommend this to anyone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Seyb3 on 12/4/2013 8:35:00 PM more reviews by Seyb3

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

At first I was very happy when I found this product because the price is good and it made my hair feel glossy and clean. But after a few weeks I noticed that it had not in fact been helping my scalp but making it super itchy and scabby! After seeing all the other reviews, I will be throwing whats left in the bin!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clear Scalp & Hair products

More Shampoo products