Revlon • ColorStay Whipped Creme Makeup • Crème

rated 3.9(1205 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 FeminineWoman on 10/29/2014 6:42:00 AM more reviews by FeminineWoman

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Still on the hunt for my drugstore fdtn. After reading rave reviews for Revlon ColorStay Whipped Creme Makeup, had to buy it.

When I opened the jar, fdtn looked creamy and emollient, but texture when applied to my face brought to mind cement being poured ~ thick and gritty. I'm used to fdtn with more slip, and not as thick.

I really wanted this to work because finish is soft and pretty, and it evened skin tone, but fdtn very drying on my skin, and settled into fine lines.


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 alyssa21mia on 10/29/2014 2:30:00 AM more reviews by alyssa21mia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've searched high and low for a foundation that works with my skin and doesn't look like I'm wearing makeup. I'm still searching, however, this particular one is the best I've found thus far. It's fairly cheap ($13 ish) so until I find my holy grail, I'm comfortable enough wearing this everyday. The packaging is unnecessarily bulky but I can deal. The shades in this range are sadly limited; I'm between shades. The foundation itself feels like yogurt almost but it's not heavy. It glides on pretty well and doesn't cling to my dry patches but the coverage is light to medium at best. I've tried using my fingers, Real Techniques face brush, and a beauty blender and the brush has worked the best for me but you have to experiment. I'd say this lasts like 4-5 hours, depending on how much coverage you needed in the first place. All in all, this is definitely a drugstore foundation to try out if you've been failed by many others. It's nice to have my sensitive skin react well for a change and I'll probably repurchase this continually as a back-up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sahbear95 on 10/28/2014 6:09:00 AM more reviews by sahbear95

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Ultimate full coverage drugstore/highstreet/cheap foundation. I know some people think this feels heavy on the face, but to me with my oily skin it is the perfect all day, no fuss foundation, no matter what powder I put on over the top, this foundation stays perfect all day, and can last from early morning to very late night. The colour is perfect for me and there is quite a wide range. Wish it didn't have SPF because then it would be fantastic for photography, however still photographs quite nicely. Truly flawless finish, and so well priced for the quality, always enjoy revoln foundations.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 monkeytron on 10/27/2014 1:44:00 AM more reviews by monkeytron

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

An amazing foundation! Great coverage, easy to find a color match, easily blendable, and dries to semi-matte finish. I have oily ,acne prone skin and this keeps my skin from getting too oily and doesn't contribute to break-outs. Great great foundation!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amandaanouluc on 10/18/2014 6:20:00 AM more reviews by amandaanouluc

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is my favorite drugstore foundation. I love the texture, how long it lasts, how light it feels on my skin, and the coverage.
I was scared to try this product because the original colorstay formula broke me out like crazy, and always looked cakey on my face.
I was amazed at how flawless this made my skin look and that it didn't break me out (a miracle!)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rocketbabydoll on 10/17/2014 11:00:00 PM more reviews by rocketbabydoll

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Since I have only tried a limited number of foundations, I'm going to have the audacity to say: Holy Grail -- so far. I was a bit wary to try this foundation at first, after reading reviews from a lot of people saying that it caused them to break out. I have acne-prone skin, but having used this for over a year, I haven't noticed any harm done to my skin. I love the fuller coverage, as I have acne scars to cover, and this does a great job. It does feel a bit heavy on the skin, and it can get a bit cakey if you use too much, so a thin layer is best, with concealer over top if you need more coverage. I use the Real Techniques expert face brush to apply, which works well. Not a fan of the jar packaging though, especially as they've managed to whittle the amount of product down to 23.7 mL, instead of the usual 30 mL that most foundations have. I fear that the shade I use, Buff, is just a touch too dark for me, but I haven't been able to find the lighter shade anywhere, so I'll have to stick with it. The price is agonising -- a whopping $43NZD a pop. Fortunately it's a good enough foundation that I'm willing to repurchase despite the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 PinkPuma on 10/15/2014 5:21:00 PM more reviews by PinkPuma

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this foundation. I like the coverage the original colorstay but I think this has a better finish to it. It doesn't come in the different formulas, oily/combo or dry skin. Atleast not that I could find. But this seems to work just fine. I got the color early tan and was worried that I'd have to return it because when I put it on it looked too dark, but it blended perfectly with my skin tone. It has great coverage and nice finish. I never set my foundations with powder so I don't know if this will look better or worse with powder. It doesn't sweat off, smear or wear off during my day. It doesn't feel greasy or oily either. I really recommend this to anyone

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fabmac1 on 10/14/2014 10:56:00 AM more reviews by fabmac1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

First off, i have hyper-sensitive skin. Everything break me out. 2nd, I have dry/combo skin which means that right after i wash my face, my skin feels tight and dry. By the end of the day, my face is "normal"... NOT oily. This makes a huge difference in how this foundation will apply on your skin and how well it holds up. I have worn this a couple times and it hasn't broken me out. Also, this does contain salicylic acid which is known to help treat and prevent break outs. On the down side, it can be drying on the skin. I just moisturize very well first before applying this foundation.

I was very curious about this foundation since it's a cream and I love CREAM foundations. This feels very smooth and silky on the skin. It does feel a bit tacky right after you apply it (i might be in the minority here, but i actually don't mind it, and LIKE the feeling lol). I do not set this with a setting powder since as i mentioned, my skin is dry and I don't feel i need to. The amazing thing about this product is that it looks even BETTER after several hours of wear! When first applied, i felt it look OK. Nothing great. BUTafter about the 7-8hr mark, I checked in the mirror and my face looked poreless and flawless!! I only use a very LIGHT layer of this foundation so i can totally see how some would say it's thick and heavy if you apply too much. I never touch up my makeup throughout the day so I don't know how well it holds up to repeated powdering.

I bought this in #320 Warm Golden and I'm about a Mac 25 (in the winter), 30 (in the summer). I have more cooler undertones in my face, but my neck is more yellow toned. I typically buy foundations that match my neck rather than my face otherwise it looks like i'm wearing a mask...and i hate that look. #320 has more yellow undertones out of all the lighter shades so i picked this up. Also, after watching many YouTube vids, I concluded that it would be best for me and it matches my skin PERFECTLY!!! I did a test and only applied this foundation to some areas of my face. It blended so well that the only way i was able to tell where i had applied foundation was that area that had foundation looked flawless!!!

This foundation also photographs BEAUTIFULLY!!!

I use my fingers to apply this foundation and then use a brush to buff it out and blend. I typically don't like using fingers to apply products but i read that you get the best results using fingers to apply this particular foundation.

***I also LOVE that this does NOT have any SPF!!!! I can't wear anything with SPF cuz it breaks me out like crazy!!! and i'm talking about cystic acne - which is really really annoying cuz it takes a while for them to go away.

Lastly, I hear ppl complain about the jar packaging being heavy and it being unsanitary. Once again, i do not mind it. I don't plan on toting this around with me so the fact that it's so heavy isn't an issue for me. Also, I always use a spatula or something to scoop out what i need rather than just sticking my fingers in jar every time.

***UPDATE*** I have already purchased a backup of this when it was on sale!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 skyluv on 10/9/2014 1:50:00 PM more reviews by skyluv

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

Feels like your wearing a mask and is very cakey. Although it does stay on all day and is full coverage, it dosnt look natural at all and it almost "sticky" after application. Its also transfers onto every thing (clothing, phones, evveerryyttthinnggg). Switched to covergirl outlast 3 in1 foundation (my Hg)

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Pogopug on 10/8/2014 10:39:00 AM more reviews by Pogopug

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Applicator/Packaging: 3/5 for a neutral vote.
Chunky container. Use your fingers for best results anyway.

Feel: 3/4
It's an all-day wear, 24 hours, and it will last. As such it is not light, but it is also not horribly heavy. I did find it OILY and STICKY on its own so I RECOMMEND A FINISHING POWDER.

Coverage: 5/5
Pristine. I have everything in my complexion from bruised to baby and after application it was completely uniform.

Overall:
Getting the shade right with this is practically impossible.
I got a "Sand" colour on recommendation of an assistant and it turned me completely yellow. It's a shame I can't use this again because the product is otherwise fantastic with the exception of being a little $marked-up.

Yes I would recommend this product, but I would also recommend a THOROUGH testing in different lights with the testers before purchasing!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Crème products