Maybelline Volum' Express The Mega Plush

3.3

638 reviews

53% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/29/2015 11:52:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Although it's waterproof, this mascara sucks. Nothing but clumps. All of my lashes clumped into groups. It was disgusting.



on 4/20/2015 2:30:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I don't know why everyone goes crazy over maybelline mascaras, they don't work on my eyelashes at all! Maybe it's because mine are on the thinner/sparser side, but I have to use department store mascara.


on 4/20/2015 1:37:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This did nothing to my lashes. I believe it is the brush since it is really flimsy and doesn't grip onto my lashes very well. Not a fan.


on 4/16/2015 2:00:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I do not know why I keep buying maybelline mascara even though I keep getting disappointed. Maybe because it is everywhere and so easy to buy. Well, I had high hopes for this product but it wasnt suitable for me. The movable brush head was a bit hard for me to handle and wobbly for putting the mascara on my eyelashes. Despite its creamy formular which did not flake on me, it did not give good volumizing effect either.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really miss Full N Soft. They no longer sell it in Canada. So...hunting for a replacement.
For now, this is suitable. I wasn't looking for super dramatic volume. Still, Full N Soft gave more volume than this.
I bought this is in Brownish Black, but it's definitely black. A softer black, but still black.
This gave nice separation, acceptable volume, but surprisingly little length. It didn't fan my eyelashes like Lashblast. It made them look nice, though. More on the natural side, but that's what I was looking for.
I feel like I need to apply 100000 coats to get the volume that I want. The formula is definitely a bit strange. It's wet, but not too wet, as it doesn't make my eyelashes stick together. It's a very light formula, so it will not weigh down eyelashes.
The brush is stupid. I HATE those flexi-middle brushes. WHO came up with that? Also the tube and the amount of product seems smaller than other d/s mascaras.
I didn't have any clumps or other problems, I just found this a bit lacklustre. Admittedly my standards for mascara are high. This is perfectly good, and I will continue to use it, but it doesn't quite measure up to Full N Soft.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/6/2015 5:41:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I was not impressed with this product in fact im tempted to look up synonyms to paint a picture on how disappointed i felt on the upside i got it for 3 dollars so fair trade


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This gives my long and decent full lashes a more polished look, but fails to give me some "oomph." As usual with most mascaras, I get mascara flakes under my eyes but nothing terrible. Not too sure if I'll repurchase, although I did say yes because it does feel so gentle and natural on lashes, which is what it claims to do. A friend of mine wears this, and her lashes look spectacular. So it goes, I guess... :/


on 3/20/2015 8:04:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm looking for long, separated lashes. I also look for formulas which claim to be more gentle or "nice" to lashes. That's why I got this one - the whole gel "40% less waxes" claim.

PROS: It doesn't do anything generally bad to me. I feel like I lose less lashes with this as compared to Full N Soft (though I started using the Rimmel Lash Serum so it may be due to that instead).

CONS: The wand applies TOO MUCH PRODUCT. It causes my lashes to stick together. One time I cleaned the brush off almost the whole way before applying and it worked a lot better - a lot more separation and more natural. That's how it should look. I need to apply it with a light touch otherwise which takes longer.

OTHER: The brush's flexes so you can get a lighter application. If you're doing normal swipes, it doesn't really do anything though. If you try to rake the wand through, it will completely flex though. It gets in the way of using the brush to help comb things out however... I'm going to put tape over mine to disable it and see what happens.

OVERALL: This is like a imitation of Full N Soft. It sounds like it's the same kind of product, but it goes on more dramatic/thicker. If the brush applied less, I would like it more. I also feel like it does nothing to prop lashes up or whatnot. For now, I'm going to try Voluminous Million Lashes next.

UPDATE: My results with this mascara seem to be inconsistent. It is working DAMN good for me now, a couple months after having bought it, applying it on dry lashes. Did the product dry out and become better? But why isn't it applying as thickly? If I apply this WITH A REALLY LIGHT HAND and slowly build it it up, I get a really good look. The brush also works so well vertically.


on 3/6/2015 6:10:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown




Very nice mascara - lengthens and gives your lashes like it claims to. Since this is a gel-mousse mascara, I find that there is absolutely no clumping involved.

I can honestly say that I can't think of anything not to like.


on 2/18/2015 6:32:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

The only good think about this mascara is how light weight it fulls. It would actually be a good mascara except the flexible head is what makes it so bad. A flexible head means you can't apply pressure to boost the lashes. Very dissapointing.


Back to Top