Revlon • Colorsilk • Hair Color

rated 4.0(699 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 Esther66 on 5/26/2014 1:40:00 AM more reviews by Esther66

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This product does not cover grey hairs at all! Used the ColorSilk Luminista in Honey Blonde and turned my hair orange. Not sure why this product has positive reviews. If you need to cover grey, buy something else.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 megxoxo91 on 4/23/2014 2:33:00 PM more reviews by megxoxo91

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

So much D/S hair color out there when you only need one and that is Colorsilk. I use the #27 Deep Rich Brown and have over and over again. My hair is naturally medium brown with very rusty, brassy red tones that I don't care for and this shade darkens it a lot but leaves just enough reddish-brown highlights that it isn't one tone, especially as it fades a bit where at first it's very dark. I've tried every brand, every variety and nothing gives me this color. People compliment the color often which also never happened with other dyes. It also doesn't turn my hair to straw and it conditions it to perfection. And it's three dollars! Forever HG.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MadameButterfly on 3/6/2014 4:50:00 AM more reviews by MadameButterfly

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've used all brands of hair color, from professional color (all pro brands) to drugstore box color, and I've also been to salons, both high and low, to have my hair colored. I find Revlon Colorsilk superior to all brands I've tried, and superior to salons I've gone to for single process color. I've had some very disastrous and expensive experiences at salons. I'm not sure how salons can ruin your hair by doing simple single process color, but they do. I've had my hair turned purple-mahogany-red (when I asked for chocolate brown) and had my hair turned into straw, when I asked to cover up the brass in my hair with a darker brown. I've embraced DIY hair color not only to save money, but also to have control over my own hair and to reduce damage. My hair is too long (lower back length) to risk destroying it at a salon.

I use Revlon Colorsilk "Medium Brown" to make my hair a rich chocolate brown color with subtle highlights. The results are consistent and the formula is easy to work with and doesn't smell as much as most brands. Best of all, my hair feels softer, smoother and healthier after I use Colorsilk. It also makes my hair shinier and bouncier. The color unfortunately does not last very long for me. It starts to wash out after a few shampoos, and doesn't last more than 6 weeks at most, even if I shampoo only 2-3x/week. I have this issue with all hair color though, not just Colorsilk. The price cannot be beat, especially for me, since color fades so fast for me and my hair is very long and thick. I need 3 boxes for full coverage, and at $3-6 per box, the price is as cheap as anything gets.

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Liutiti on 3/2/2014 1:39:00 PM more reviews by Liutiti

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I was reading reviews forever! I have got this fine muddy hair and lots of it, I was proper white blonde child and then got darker with age, so would say dark blonde, curly dry hair, fair skin. I always went to salons for the highlights as nothing else would lift that warm tinge I have got deep inside my genes. So I bought in Savers (UK) dark ash blonde (60) and ultra light natural blonde (04) as they were the only blonde shades available there. Thought, will decide later :) at home I made 3 mixtures to try one, another and both together, and after the swat I thought mmm no much difference but no like that yellow in the ultralight natural blond so mixed up 3/5 of ultra blond/dark ash and really like it!! It still has this warm tinge, but it kept my highlights, evened out the colour and looks like top notch salon jobie. £120 saved!!! I have got a feeling I am inclining towards dark ash blonde and probably get medium ash blonde from amazon next, but condition of my hair after treatment is superb (I couldn't even put rollers in, they were slipping out, so silky my hair was) and so easy and no hairdressers salon and talking about nothing for 3 hours!!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Kabaz417 on 2/3/2014 6:13:00 PM more reviews by Kabaz417

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been dying my hair for 6 years. When I want a light blonde (my hair is naturally dirty blonde) I go to Clairol Nice 'n Easy in the shade 98, which I HIGHLY reccomend to anyone who wants the color on this box.

At a friends house I colored my hair, my friends hair, and her little sisters hair. Unfortunately, she bought Revlon Color Silk Medium Blonde Hair Color - #74. We waited extra time and her medium brown hair still wouldn't lighten up correctly. It went orange. Like a brownish-ginger color (I will include a picture). She was not happy. This is cheap, very cheap. Plus, the conditioner they give you is a one-use amount. Unlike Nice 'n Easy which gives you an entire tube.

0 stars

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Backmasking on 2/3/2014 12:30:00 PM more reviews by Backmasking

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

USE THE CONDITIONER THAT COMES WITH THIS + SOME OF YOUR OWN! DO NOT JUST WASH THE DYE OUT.

There was a special going on for 2 boxes for 5 US dollars.

I had extremely long, thick, dark brown hair and I used 03 Ultra Light Sun Blonde. I (obviously) did not expect for it to turn my hair light blonde with how dark it was, and it didn't. But it left me with a beautiful dark strawberry blonde which really compliments my warm undertones. I used 2 boxes, left the dye on for about an hour, washed it out, then used the 2 conditioners it came with AND my every day conditioner (make sure yours is color-safe) left it in about 30 minutes, then applied CHI Keratin mist and Silk Infusion. When I was washing out the dye, I was panicking a little because my hair felt so so dry. But after the conditioner and treatments, my hair feels exactly the same.

I will update this when it starts fading.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 isflawless on 2/2/2014 7:16:00 PM more reviews by isflawless

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

To give you a brief summary of my hair condition - it's medium-length below my shoulders, natural med/dark warm brown. Last time I colored it was 4 months ago, professionally, to match my natural color (previously was highlighted layers of blonde). The bottom quarter/half of my hair length was lightening a lot, therefore I was seeking to find a hair color similar to what I have and to not break my budget at a salon. My scalp and hair is naturally dry however I do care for it a lot - use high end, healthy hair products and keep blow-drying and ironing to a minimum.

It has been almost 6 years since I last used a box dye (L'Oreal, Clairol Nice N Easy, Garnier). I remember avoiding this brand mainly for two reasons - the price and appearance of packaging. I was highly mislead to think that the low price and not so flashy appearance of it must have meant it was cheap. Boy, was I wrong!! The reason I became intrigued by this brand recently was because I was previously told by 2 professionals that this was the only trusted brand (known to be gentle, ammonia-free, UV protection, full color coverage), as well as the numerous ratings and reviews I've read on MUA and other various sites.

Overall, I am EXTREMELY pleased with the results and felt the need to add positive feedback to hopefully encourage others to TRY IT. I can honestly say I found my HG with box hair color, and so glad I have rather than breaking the bank over $90 every couple months when my results with this is comparable to my salon experiences in the past 6 years. I have been using Revlon make-up products for the past couple years, always extremely pleased with the coverage, quality, and non-comedogenic factors. I am SO pleased to find yet another Revlon product that I LOVE.

The only thing I cannot vouch for is making drastic color change due to fact I stayed within one to two levels of my current level (which is the common suggestion if you plan to color yourself from a box), however I am fully satisfied with the turn-out and will continue to use this.

MY EXPERIENCE & WHAT TO EXPECT:

Pros
- Very inexpensive - The highest price I saw this listed at was $6 (regular price - not sale)
- Ammonia-free
- EXTREMELY Minimal chemical smell - the LEAST offensive smelling box dye BYFAR
- Did not itch/burn/irritate sensitive skin AT ALL - during or after!!
- Full color coverage
- Leaves hair soft, shiny and comparable to professional job
- Color is true to its box label

Cons
- Gloves are cheap, flimsy, baggy-style (I will invest in some elsewhere)
- Solution was a bit runny - stood over sink entire time, dripped a lot and absorbed quickly therefore had to work fast to spread throughout hair
- Color appeared a BIT darker than expected depending on lighting you stand in, however definitely shines brown/gold/red tones in the light
- Conditioner comes in a pouch rather than a tube, and only enough for one-time use (color-care products should be used regularly to maintain anyway)

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cheetah7 on 1/17/2014 7:35:00 PM more reviews by cheetah7

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My natural hair color is medium neutral brown and thick with a medium texture. I bought this dye in Auburn Brown 5 plus months ago.

Pros: Did not leave my hair feeling dry or damaged.
Formula was gentle to my hair and scalp.
Does not contain ammonia so it doesn't have that strong smell.
Did not experience allergic reaction.
Color was tenacious and lasted for a long time (5 plus months for me), though this could also be due to the shampoo I'm using.
Conditioner that comes with product smells great and leaves hair soft, smooth and
shiny.
Product was cheap. I paid $3.25 each (I bought 2 boxes) at my local drugstore.

Cons: Well this is more my fault than the product itself since I should've done a strand test first. I wanted to add warmth to my natural hair color so I chose this shade because it was the same level of lightness as my hair (level 5), just warmer. I applied this dye on virgin hair and used two boxes since my hair is waist length. However, instead of the level 5 "Auburn Brown" shade, I got a dark, mahogany brown with lots of maroon/red. In indoor lighting it looked more dark brown with wine undertones but in sunlight it was more of a rust brown with the maroon-red as the dominant color. Needless to say it was not quite the look I was going for and the color clashed with my skintone. After more than 5 months, the red color had faded to resemble the shade on the box which was what I was initially trying to achieve. Unfortunately by then it also started to look a bit brassy. For reference, I have pics of my hair color with the dye in my profile.

Overall: I will repurchase again but in a different shade and possibly mix two different colors.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 summersnows on 1/7/2014 3:52:00 AM more reviews by summersnows

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Revlon hair dyes are probably the cheapest in the market, I picked up No.31 in Dark Auburn from a local Valu$ (Value Dollar) Store at S$5.90!
My scalp did feel a little sore as I suppose I'm guilty of washing my hair the day before. HAHA This wasn't exactly planned you know. I would be lying if I just brushed off the smell part, it definitely reeks of chemicals. I was inhaling the vapour of hydrogen peroxide; but it was honestly not that bad. I was pretty much used to the smell from my mom's "beauty days" and that this wasn't the worst smelling one.
And their conditioner?! Now I can totally put myself at the shoes of the other cosmetic junkies who raved and showered this conditioner. I wish they could sell it individually too! My hair instantly feels like what it was before dyeing, if not softer! I left the conditioner on longer, it instantly separates and smooths out my untamed mane.

The hair colour is even and it did not stain my scalp. what I do like about this shade is that it adds a little more red and copper to my hair. My hair does look red under direct sunlight now! Though red tones are a hard color to keep, it will make my hair look softer and brighten up my complexion in its days of presence.

Thinking about changing your looks for the new year? I couldn't be happier with Colorsilk and I'm more than enthusiatic to recommend this to anyone who is looking for a cheap alternative to salon visits.

See images at: http://cindity.blogspot.sg/2014/01/hair-colour-my-virgin-hair-dye-review.html

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RobsBaby on 12/26/2013 12:30:00 PM more reviews by RobsBaby

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I wanted to get away from the strong, lingering smell and harshness of the permanent at-home hair color I had used for years (Excellence). After pouring over reviews for many semi- demi- permanent hair colors, I decided to try ColorSilk #60 Dark Ash Blonde on my very coarse, curly 50% gray hair.

First off, the packaging is minimalistic...which I like. The fewer frills means lower cost to me...a big plus! No, you don't get designer gloves or fancy applicators - they just aren't necessary!

Next, the scent is pleasant, not overwhelming and won't bring tears to your eyes as ammonia-containing products do. I almost forgot I had it in my hair as I was waiting for it to develop and my husband and pets didn't scatter from the room!

The conditioner is the BOMB!!! Smells so good and goes on like silk, leaving my hair so soft and with great slip - important to a curly like me! Wish I could get this stuff by the gallon!

The color is fabulous! It is rich and radiant, with tons of shine and dimension. Yes, I do see a glint of reddish tone in certain light, but I have a red undertone, so it is very natural looking. Other "ash" toned hair colors have been flat and lifeless looking, with no highlight or dimension. So, I prefer the results that ColorSilk delivered. And gray coverage - 100%!!!

I have washed and conditioned my hair once since coloring. (I use VO5 Moisture Milks - REALLY cheap silicone-free) and my hair is amazing! I've never had this soft and smooth hair within days of coloring before. Usually my hair takes two weeks to "settle down" and defrizz...not with ColorSilk, which makes me feel there is less damage from the process.

I only shampoo every 3rd day or so, so I expect the color to last quite a while, though my hair grows really fast. However, I won't mind recoloring frequently since I know I won't be ravaging my hair.

I couldn't be happier with Revlon ColorSilk and it will be my new go-to! I enthusiastically recommend it!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Hair Color products