Revlon • Colorsilk • Hair Color

rated 3.9(688 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Owhatshername on 11/1/2013 12:59:00 AM more reviews by Owhatshername

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I use color 45 its a beauyiful red color I have naturally mousy strawberry blond hair and I have spent a lot of time searching for my perfect red and this is definitly it. I generally use a color shampoo and co ditioner anf this color I feel last a long time for me compaired ti ither colors I have tried.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Nirvarna0 on 10/30/2013 2:44:00 AM more reviews by Nirvarna0

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I've used this many times in the color black #10. I am NC20 with dark brown hair. The color isn't garish in my opinion, it's dimensional and soft but very black. Leaves hair in great quality. I've gotten so many compliments on this color. It does not stain my scalp blue like (I think) it was Garnier that did this. This does fade after a few months but for $4, it is a great alternative to $100 at the salon where you're going to need root touch ups anyways. If you need black BUY IT!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettypollyperkins on 10/28/2013 7:04:00 AM more reviews by prettypollyperkins

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Total rubbish. I was sucked into trying this due to the great reviews and the price but it left my scalp very sore and my hair like straw. Days after using it (I followed the instructions to a tee) the colour (dark brown mixed with golden brown) still looked unremarkable and totally flat with any shine taken out of my formerly extremely shiny hair. It took me weeks to whip my hair back into shape with intensive conditioning, rosemary rinses and keratin spray plus my weekly Aphogee treatment. Don't use this if your hair is fine. And if you have resistant greys don't bother either. Mine were showing again after just a week. The overall colour, however boring, only faded a little though. From talking to friends, can I just add that despite following Revlon's directions, the dark brown is actually almost black and the medium brown goes a horrendous gingery-mid brown on greys (talk about hot roots!).

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 secreteuphony on 10/23/2013 11:56:00 PM more reviews by secreteuphony

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've tried pretty much all the colors, I have balayage highlights (DIY thank you very much) and I use this color always to tone the blonde or cover the occasional grey. When I was sick of ombre for fall I also used the dark brown to get rid of it.

So I've used dark blonde, dark ash blonde, dark brown, and ultra light ash brown. This brand has always been as true to color as store bought gets. The dark brown is actually dark brown, not black (like Garnier and Clairol, ugh). My other brand of choice is L'oreal, preference isn't bad and neither is Feria (however Feria has limited blonde options). This is always my go to since it's easier to get right and so cheap.

The ultra light ash blonde makes a great toner while the dark blonde is a really pretty light brown (ala Lily Aldridge, my hairspirtation). What would I do without colorsilk!? Probably pay someone $500 to do the same thing I do to my own hair. Don't try it at home though, I've been dying my hair since I could write so I basically consider myself a professional. :D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 decemberdreamsx on 10/6/2013 11:49:00 PM more reviews by decemberdreamsx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I picked up a box of Blue Black when I wanted to dye my hair darker and didn't want to wait a few days to go to Sally's. I had been using AgeBeautiful dye mixed with developer and my hair's texture and color were amazing. I used the Colorsilk and wham- that killed my hair's texture, drying it out and breaking it off. I liked the color, but hated what it did to my hair. It literally felt like straw, so dry and brittle. Next time I will wait and make that trip to Sally's.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ecolleen on 9/30/2013 4:03:00 AM more reviews by ecolleen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using this stuff for years now in a million different shades. The bad reviews here totally confuse me. It's dirt cheap compared to other brands, ammonia free, lasts a fairly long time (red always fades fastest for me for some reason), and comes with an amazing conditioner (I REALLY wish they sold it separately, it's awesome). It smells awesome compared to how most dye smells and though it may leave your scalp feeling a little dry, your hair feels awesome afterward.

What I do is start my roots first and then work my way down. If I'm just doing roots (not often since I change the color so much) I only need one box, but if I'm doing my whole almost-to-my-lower-back length I need three boxes. After I'm done, I leave the conditioner in around ten minutes while I shave and finish up the rest of my shower biz.

This stuff always has brilliant, lasting color, doesn't burn my scalp (except with the lightest blonde shade, and even then it's not bad), and leaves my hair in lovely condition. It's also cheap as mess. I don't know why anyone buys anything else.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 JLsunshine on 9/18/2013 9:38:00 PM more reviews by JLsunshine

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I use this in alternative to getting my hair done professionally. When i am unable to shell out the big bucks and get my hair done by the stylist, this is my go-to hair color. I love the way Revlon Colorsilk smells and the way it feels in my hair. It feels creamy and immediately hydrated when applied. I am satisfied with the end results, my hair color is bright, bold, and shiny, never streaky.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hancam1030 on 9/18/2013 8:24:00 PM more reviews by hancam1030

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love this dye. I've been using this as long as I've been dying my hair (almost 10 years now) and I've had success with almost every color (except the blonde shades, only because I've never used those, I just go get highlights if I want to go blonde). Granted, the shades run a bit dark (except for the reds) so always go a shade lighter than what you are going for! If you are going for a light ash brown, choose a dark ash blonde instead. The color really lasts with this dye. It doesn't drip too bad. My hai is shiney and more healthy feeling and the conditioner is amazing and smells wonderful! (If only they made a bottle of this stuff! I would buy the crap out of it) anyways, a wonderful great hair dye. I never use anything else. I've been too scared to try! No patches when I use this either. And for only $2.50 a box at Walmart, it's a steal. FYI-I recommend two boxes for hair that's shoulder length or longer. Especially if you have lots of think hair like me that soaks up dye like no other.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Melissa89 on 9/18/2013 7:31:00 PM more reviews by Melissa89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I usually use Ion Color Brilliance but this color is great if you don't have that much to spend and need a quick fix from a color mishap. I used the brown-black color, and it was evenly colored, beautiful, and the smell is NICE. I love this color and it's great for the value!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dashcrabtree on 9/5/2013 3:59:00 AM more reviews by dashcrabtree

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Colorsilk is probably the best all-around dye I've used on my hair. I really loved Strawberry Blonde, but it looks like it's discontinued -- it was a little darker than shown on the box, but a rosy, coppery red that was really bright and held on forever. It didn't have that weird cardinal red/mahogany tinge that makes dyes look "fake." I think it'd be worth tracking down a box on ebay or something if you want a really amazing copper. My other great Colorsilk experience is with using the cool blonde shades as toners. They are VERY strongly pigmented, and are the only thing that ever really counteracted the red tones in my bleach jobs (I actually never found a good toner!). The champagne shades are better than ash, though, because with ash you run the risk of turning a little green, and I'd rather skew a cool pastel than a grassy one. This is just over bleach, though; otherwise the ash shades are really beautiful.

My friend did have a really bad allergic reaction using Colorsilk. She had to take steroids and everything. This was using a blue black shade, though, which always runs such a risk. I'd avoid dyeing my hair black no matter what... Maybe use an indigo henna instead.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Hair Color products