Avene • Skin Recovery Cream (US name: Cream For Intolerant Skin) • Moisturizers

rated 4.1(220 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Amie83 on 5/4/2013 10:46:00 AM more reviews by Amie83

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Extremely soothing and moisturizing. I must have repurchased at least ten times. I have dry, sensitive skin with a bit if rosacea ( red dots on cheeks, flares up when aggravated and some pimples). This soothes my skin and calms redness overnight.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 leviosana on 4/26/2013 6:46:00 AM more reviews by leviosana

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I tried out a sample of this moisturiser in the RICH formula (more general info at the end of the review).I was looking for a facial moisturiser, which would be hydrating and calming enough to soothe the rough, red skin under my nose.

First impressions: Out of the tube, it looked very thick and rich.

First application: After showering and exfoliating. It has no scent at all and it felt surprisingly light. My skin did not feel tight and dry areas were not as red as usual. I was really excited, but after around 10 minutes, my cheeks, forehead and chin looked unusually textured (bumpy). At the same time, the skin under my nose started feeling tight and I had to put on additional argan oil and more moisturiser.

36 hours later: Prepped my skin for make-up real well, but there was twice as much oil to on my blotting sheet than usual. I felt a small improvement in the condition of my dry patches (as long as I used argan oil with the cream), however the large pores on my cheeks, forehead and nose were clogged and I had 5 new whiteheads (have not had that many at once in months). I stopped using it after this.

Additional thoughts: I think this could be a great moisturiser for someone with extremely dry, sensitive skin and to use in the wintertime, as long as you do not have large pores or break-out areas. It definitely has a calming effect, but I think you would have to use it for quite a while to rehydrate your skin. Cannot imagine what it would do to oily skin.

Other info: The great thing about Avene is they offer samples of some of their products if you ask them via e-mail (in the UK at least). The cream comes in two formulas -> skin recovery cream (normal to combination skin)and RICH skin recovery cream (for dry to very dry skin).It is free from parabens and colouring agents.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask :)

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FakeLashes on 4/22/2013 8:41:00 AM more reviews by FakeLashes

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have dry eczema sensitive skin, after using a sample of this cream I could notice that it calmed my skin down. I have flakey skin around my eyes and lips and after using this for a couple of weeks (bought the full size) it did slowy cleared up. But for my dry skin I think it would be better if I had used the rich version because it was a little bit to light and I had to use to much product to keep my skin hydrated. A nice cream without any scent and great for those with sensitive skin problems.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 angelstern on 4/17/2013 4:11:00 AM more reviews by angelstern

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My skin - Combination, gets oily through out the day. Started using Retin A in the last 3 months, skin was reacting well, no dryness etc. However in the last 2 weeks, I started developing dry patches around my mouth, chin and cheekbone area, which is so rare. I stopped using Retin A and started moisturizing like crazy with my Josie Maran Argan Oil, which did not help one bit with the dry patches. So out of desperation, I turned to a small tube of Avene's Recovery Cream sample I had gotten at a store. After the first day or two of using it, I noticed the dry patches going away. By the end of the sample tube, face was completely back to normal and looking the best it's has in years - I was using Retin A to fade old acne scars, not sure if it's the combination of Retin A and Avene but my skin was looking much clearer albeit still has some old stubborn scars fading slowly but surely. This is definitely a solid french moisturizer. Only complaint I have is the price - almost $40 and such a small bottle! Well I bought this in Asia so probably paying for exorbitant shipping fees. A little definitely goes a long way for me. This is a light weight, highly effective cream, for me at least. By far the best face moisturizer I've tried. No more Argan Oil for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CindyAnn67 on 4/16/2013 11:42:00 PM more reviews by CindyAnn67

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Just wondering how much reading people do when purchasing a product. A lot of you were using this for acne, that makes zero sense. They have an amazing acne line, this is not part of it really. It is very important as a consumer to do your research. Avene is an incredible line designed to help the least sensitive to the most sensitive skin. I have used the product for a long time now and I am a cosmetician. I would HIGHLY recommend any AVENE product to anyone given the right direction. I had a Roscea patient come in, very severe redness and capillaries. She came in three weeks later with shocking results..she looked jaw dropping. This line works!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Froozygirl on 3/8/2013 12:19:00 PM more reviews by Froozygirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have very sensitive, very oily acne-prone skin and almost everything seems to break me out, apart from Avene's products. No matter what I use from this brand, it seems to calm my skin. I bought this during a very cold British winter, and during an even colder Christmas in Scotland. My acne was getting a bit funny too - I had one or two spots and I am pretty sure one of the makeup stuff I was using at the time broke me out - so I thought I should give this a go. Wow! My skin calmed down within a couple of days. Though it looks heavier than the usual creams I use for my oily face, it is absorbed immediately and leaves no oily residue behind - it's also excellent under makeup. I originally bought it to wear it only when the weather is very cold, but I ended up using it every day! If your skin needs some TLC, don't think about it twice! It's one of these products that make you feel 'aaah' when you use it, you know that feeling? :-) Amazing product and will buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Concord on 3/4/2013 8:34:00 AM more reviews by Concord

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This is such a beautiful product. The texture when applying is so refreshing and soothing, but even though it feels so fresh, it's a medium-weight moisturizer. Apply a bit less than you think you need and apply without rubbing. Almost immediatly your skin feels calmer and more moisturized. A solace for angry, irritated skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 vuvie on 2/25/2013 4:18:00 AM more reviews by vuvie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't like Avene in general after using almost all their line (I had acne, sensitive skin and now sensitive eczema skin).

This however is interesting. I used the normal one, not Riche. I was in Japan at the hottest summer (40+C) and my sensitive face was weeping a little (a few years back, I get weeping eczema on my face easily). Went out and got this, which is twice the price in Singapore. Used it for a week. My face was normal again!

So yay, I guess? Still, I will not repurchase anything from Avene except for the thermal water.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 baileysmilk84 on 2/23/2013 8:27:00 AM more reviews by baileysmilk84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I got a sample of this from the pharmacy. This is amazing, the cream is moisturising yet light at the same time! It sinks easily into my skin, and doesn't feel heavy. It doesn't sting either, awesome for irritable skin like mine!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 veiolex on 2/16/2013 9:56:00 AM more reviews by veiolex

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

i'm not so convinced with this product. i got the riche formula for my very dry skin. it's meant to soothe sensitive skin and i expected it to at least be a bit nourishing. unfortunately i didn't feel like it's overly calming, it feels really silicone-y and sits on my skin. the fact that it's got mineral oils in it puts me off a bit too. i'm fine with it in my cold cream since it very rich and nourishing, but in this formula there's just no justification for it. a bit of a let down, sorry....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Avene products

More Moisturizers products