NARS • Damage • Lipstick

rated 4.4(71 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Ayseo on 10/28/2010 6:07:00 AM more reviews by Ayseo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

This is my hands-down favorite lipstick. Yes, the color itself is sheer but I think that's what makes this lipstick so beautiful. You can build it up for a more dramatic, in your face color or leave it as it is, a MLBB. On my olive skin, this is a deep berry that instantly lifts my face. I have gotten SO many compliments when wearing this lipstick and guys have even told me "my lips look nice". It feels good on my lips, definitely not drying and quite long lasting too. It has a waxy finish which I actually really like as it doesn't look heavy on your lips, even if you enjoy layering it. I think you really have to know about NARS's lipstick finishes before you go out and purchase this. The sheerness of the product might disappoint some but definitely not me. Will repurchase over and over!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Wookiee on 7/30/2010 4:58:00 PM more reviews by Wookiee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I love this sheer lipstick! The shade is pretty close to my natural lip color, so it looks soft and pretty. Even my husband likes it, which is saying a lot since he doesn't like make up. I wish it weren't so pricy, but I think it's worth the money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* eurodivas on 5/18/2010 8:03:00 AM more reviews by eurodivas

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Another winner from NRAS. I wear this color when I am wanting a very soft and not very made up look. I have dark pigmented lips so Damage goes on a bit sheer but with enough color to make a difference. I layer this with sweet revenge lipgloss and NARS Taos blush to complete the look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Karen0509 on 4/15/2010 2:19:00 PM more reviews by Karen0509

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is the perfect everyday lipstick for me. A sheer formulation, but it packs plenty of color and just the right amount of shine. And the consistency is so creamy and lovely with good lasting power. Had my sister try mine, and she loved it so much she went right out and bought her own.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mac789 on 8/18/2009 2:16:00 PM more reviews by Mac789

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

It's a shame that Damage is not available in all Nars formulations, because it is a beautiful plum/berry shade that is extremely flattering on many skin tones.



The reviewer below pointed out the elemental problem with Damage: people do not understand that this is a sheer lipstick. Part of this problem is Nars' merchandising; their products are not segmented (as as Smashbox's), so unless you are familiar with the range you might walk away disappointed.



It's taken me a few wears to discover that Nars' sheers are not quite glosses in lipstick form. They are, though, like some of the glosses, pigment entrenched in gloss. That means that you apply them and they feel for all the world like a gloss, but they leave a matte stain. In the case of Damage, the stain is light, but I have found that reapplying after half an hour helps seal in a stronger color statement.



And what a color it is! If this were a satin or matte lipstick, the color would be bold and bright, although less so than something like Funny Face, which exists, I am convinced, in assertion and conviction, as if saying that the wearer is not merely at the apex of chic but probably anticipating the next wave long before anyone else. Damage's pronouncement is less dramatic, yet it is in the same color family. This makes it perfect for daytime. With one application it could be a YLBB shade, depending upon personal coloration, but with two it appears as a tasteful interpretation of a plum/purple that isn't as consciously stylish as other brights but still is far from the usual YLBB's in their muted reserves.



I've bumped this to five lippies. I am wearing it every day now and have learned to reapply frequently to build up the stain.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shesparkles on 8/16/2009 1:55:00 PM more reviews by shesparkles

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Damage is an amazing lipstick--just make sure you know what you're buying. It's very sheer, IMO sheerer than the other NARS Sheer finish lipstick I own (Canaille). I am pale and cool-toned with somewhat pigmented lips and it's like Black Honey or LQ Medieval--an MLBB shade, in this case a cool berry rose color. It has a comfortable, non-drying wear so although it does need to be reapplied it doesn't do any damage (har har) to my lips. I initially considered returning it because it's so subtle, but I'm now wearing it at least several times a week. A great lipstick for daytime wear.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jayk04 on 6/21/2009 12:48:00 AM more reviews by jayk04

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

On me this is more of a deep pink not at all purple. It is also a sheer color. Although the color is beautiful I found this lipstick to feel very waxy and have a slight waxy smell. Since this is sheer you have to reapply several times. I like a creamier lipstick so I probably will not purchase again. Although I do like the color, I do not like the texture or smell.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Halloqueen on 5/29/2009 5:43:00 PM more reviews by Halloqueen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Bought this lippie untested based on SOME of the reviews here...I disagree that is has no ooomph...this is one of the most perfect colors of lipstick I've ever smeared on my lips, and folks, there have been many. First off, a sheer is just that...not satin, not opaque but SHEER. That's exactly what this is. I disagree with the "muted grape" description...I find it's more deep natural pink and less purple than that....this color is in the same family as my natural lip color, but about a shade and a half deeper, richer and has a bit of a shine, although nothing approaching gloss..I don't need any gloss or balm with it and I can slick on as many coats as I want without looking overdone or garish. It makes my complexion glow...this just might be my HG "natural but better" look...there are better more dramatic colors and better nude look colors, but this is the one that I will go to when I don't want my lips screaming lipstick...I have a very light complextion, green eyes and light brownish highlighted hair, and although my complexion is light, I have alot of pink pigment in my cheeks...some pinkish colors make me look PINK or too flushed, and some just look too bubble gum, but this makes my lips look sexy, full and juicy, I highly recommend this color...It seems to work well with both cool (mine) and warm complexions. It adds polish and is a very natural look..even tho it's dark in the tube, it's a very wearable shade that's perfect for a casual sexy daytime look, and will probably work at night with a smoky eye without going over the top. I've not noticed any strange smell or taste with mine-IMO any lippie that smells or tastes funny should be returned, as the only time that's happened to me, the lippie has gone off or is old.(With the exception of Laura Mercier lippies, which ALL smell horried and taste worse brand new out of the box...sorry, Laura). EDIT: After buying yet another NARS lippie, Fast Ride, I would say that these could be sisters....Damage is the demure happy, pure sister, and Fast Ride is the older, wiser, wilder sister, I find using Damage during the day and Fast Ride at night, pretty much covers all the bases,

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* baileybabe7486 on 5/24/2009 8:00:00 PM more reviews by baileybabe7486

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I can't believe I haven't reviewed this yet. It's one of my staples.

The color is a cool rose plum with a touch of purple. It is indeed sheer, but moisturizing and very buildable. Not near as sheer on me as others have made it out to be, and again, very cool, at least on my lips. I love it worn alone, and also layered. Looks really nice over Scarlet Empress.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FabianaFarrow on 5/7/2009 6:11:00 PM more reviews by FabianaFarrow

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I agree with the MUA Top Reviewer here who says this particular NARS colour "has no oomph". In fact "Major Lack Of Oomph" is my personal diagnosis for 1 of THE most significant elements of what's wrong w/ almost ALL of the NARS' "Sheer" lipsticks: very much UNlike NARS' glorious reds [& certain others] in the delightfully creamy Semi-Matte group -- & also unlike the better colours amongst NARS' "Satins". Alas, across all of the NARS "Sheers" I've tried (amounting to many @ this point!), I find repeatedly an absolutely singular LACK of colour payoff. Encountering this phenomenon so very many times leaves the distinct impression of a calculated corporate stingy-ness, especially when compared to something as inexpensive, say, as L'Oreal's own sheer formulas, which in most cases are a hundred times richer & more lasting than -- & w/ far greater depth of colour than! -- the NARS attempts. // As far as actual shade goes, "Damage" qualifies as "pretty" in that very tame, almost timid way: the kind of colour chosen by young girls experimenting with their very first, very tentative lipstick. And from the various friends who've also tried it I've learned that they TOO (ahem!) find "Damage" requires ENDLESS re-application even on naturally moist lips -- another major problem w/ most if not all of the NARS Sheers; & one not to be confused whatsoever w/ the lovely quality in cosmetics called "buildable" (i.e., since "buildable" means the product actually attains your objective & then MAINtains it: something utterly impossible w/ a lipstick needing endless reapplications!). // Now: can "quiet" lip colours ever be strikingly beautiful? Abso-livin'-lutely! But this one just isn't. Next: do "quiet" lip colours have their own role, time & place? Again yes: most emphatically! But I find "Damage" is really best meant for solitude -- e.g.,, reading a book; vacuuming floors.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Lipstick products