NARS • Damage • Lipstick

rated 4.4(67 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mac789 on 8/18/2009 2:16:00 PM more reviews by Mac789

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

It's a shame that Damage is not available in all Nars formulations, because it is a beautiful plum/berry shade that is extremely flattering on many skin tones.



The reviewer below pointed out the elemental problem with Damage: people do not understand that this is a sheer lipstick. Part of this problem is Nars' merchandising; their products are not segmented (as as Smashbox's), so unless you are familiar with the range you might walk away disappointed.



It's taken me a few wears to discover that Nars' sheers are not quite glosses in lipstick form. They are, though, like some of the glosses, pigment entrenched in gloss. That means that you apply them and they feel for all the world like a gloss, but they leave a matte stain. In the case of Damage, the stain is light, but I have found that reapplying after half an hour helps seal in a stronger color statement.



And what a color it is! If this were a satin or matte lipstick, the color would be bold and bright, although less so than something like Funny Face, which exists, I am convinced, in assertion and conviction, as if saying that the wearer is not merely at the apex of chic but probably anticipating the next wave long before anyone else. Damage's pronouncement is less dramatic, yet it is in the same color family. This makes it perfect for daytime. With one application it could be a YLBB shade, depending upon personal coloration, but with two it appears as a tasteful interpretation of a plum/purple that isn't as consciously stylish as other brights but still is far from the usual YLBB's in their muted reserves.



I've bumped this to five lippies. I am wearing it every day now and have learned to reapply frequently to build up the stain.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shesparkles on 8/16/2009 1:55:00 PM more reviews by shesparkles

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Damage is an amazing lipstick--just make sure you know what you're buying. It's very sheer, IMO sheerer than the other NARS Sheer finish lipstick I own (Canaille). I am pale and cool-toned with somewhat pigmented lips and it's like Black Honey or LQ Medieval--an MLBB shade, in this case a cool berry rose color. It has a comfortable, non-drying wear so although it does need to be reapplied it doesn't do any damage (har har) to my lips. I initially considered returning it because it's so subtle, but I'm now wearing it at least several times a week. A great lipstick for daytime wear.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jayk04 on 6/21/2009 12:48:00 AM more reviews by jayk04

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

On me this is more of a deep pink not at all purple. It is also a sheer color. Although the color is beautiful I found this lipstick to feel very waxy and have a slight waxy smell. Since this is sheer you have to reapply several times. I like a creamier lipstick so I probably will not purchase again. Although I do like the color, I do not like the texture or smell.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Halloqueen on 5/29/2009 5:43:00 PM more reviews by Halloqueen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Bought this lippie untested based on SOME of the reviews here...I disagree that is has no ooomph...this is one of the most perfect colors of lipstick I've ever smeared on my lips, and folks, there have been many. First off, a sheer is just that...not satin, not opaque but SHEER. That's exactly what this is. I disagree with the "muted grape" description...I find it's more deep natural pink and less purple than that....this color is in the same family as my natural lip color, but about a shade and a half deeper, richer and has a bit of a shine, although nothing approaching gloss..I don't need any gloss or balm with it and I can slick on as many coats as I want without looking overdone or garish. It makes my complexion glow...this just might be my HG "natural but better" look...there are better more dramatic colors and better nude look colors, but this is the one that I will go to when I don't want my lips screaming lipstick...I have a very light complextion, green eyes and light brownish highlighted hair, and although my complexion is light, I have alot of pink pigment in my cheeks...some pinkish colors make me look PINK or too flushed, and some just look too bubble gum, but this makes my lips look sexy, full and juicy, I highly recommend this color...It seems to work well with both cool (mine) and warm complexions. It adds polish and is a very natural look..even tho it's dark in the tube, it's a very wearable shade that's perfect for a casual sexy daytime look, and will probably work at night with a smoky eye without going over the top. I've not noticed any strange smell or taste with mine-IMO any lippie that smells or tastes funny should be returned, as the only time that's happened to me, the lippie has gone off or is old.(With the exception of Laura Mercier lippies, which ALL smell horried and taste worse brand new out of the box...sorry, Laura). EDIT: After buying yet another NARS lippie, Fast Ride, I would say that these could be sisters....Damage is the demure happy, pure sister, and Fast Ride is the older, wiser, wilder sister, I find using Damage during the day and Fast Ride at night, pretty much covers all the bases,

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* baileybabe7486 on 5/24/2009 8:00:00 PM more reviews by baileybabe7486

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I can't believe I haven't reviewed this yet. It's one of my staples.

The color is a cool rose plum with a touch of purple. It is indeed sheer, but moisturizing and very buildable. Not near as sheer on me as others have made it out to be, and again, very cool, at least on my lips. I love it worn alone, and also layered. Looks really nice over Scarlet Empress.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FabianaFarrow on 5/7/2009 6:11:00 PM more reviews by FabianaFarrow

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I agree with the MUA Top Reviewer here who says this particular NARS colour "has no oomph". In fact "Major Lack Of Oomph" is my personal diagnosis for 1 of THE most significant elements of what's wrong w/ almost ALL of the NARS' "Sheer" lipsticks: very much UNlike NARS' glorious reds [& certain others] in the delightfully creamy Semi-Matte group -- & also unlike the better colours amongst NARS' "Satins". Alas, across all of the NARS "Sheers" I've tried (amounting to many @ this point!), I find repeatedly an absolutely singular LACK of colour payoff. Encountering this phenomenon so very many times leaves the distinct impression of a calculated corporate stingy-ness, especially when compared to something as inexpensive, say, as L'Oreal's own sheer formulas, which in most cases are a hundred times richer & more lasting than -- & w/ far greater depth of colour than! -- the NARS attempts. // As far as actual shade goes, "Damage" qualifies as "pretty" in that very tame, almost timid way: the kind of colour chosen by young girls experimenting with their very first, very tentative lipstick. And from the various friends who've also tried it I've learned that they TOO (ahem!) find "Damage" requires ENDLESS re-application even on naturally moist lips -- another major problem w/ most if not all of the NARS Sheers; & one not to be confused whatsoever w/ the lovely quality in cosmetics called "buildable" (i.e., since "buildable" means the product actually attains your objective & then MAINtains it: something utterly impossible w/ a lipstick needing endless reapplications!). // Now: can "quiet" lip colours ever be strikingly beautiful? Abso-livin'-lutely! But this one just isn't. Next: do "quiet" lip colours have their own role, time & place? Again yes: most emphatically! But I find "Damage" is really best meant for solitude -- e.g.,, reading a book; vacuuming floors.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rebeccacalvetti on 11/5/2008 11:50:00 PM more reviews by rebeccacalvetti

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I'm on my second tube for this year alone. For olive complected ladies like myself, this color is truly a godsend. I would say that it is my favorite for every day use.

The funny thing is that I got it quite by chance, and was planning on returning it for a different shade, but didn't live near a Sephora. So I kept it stored away, awaiting for my next visit, and then one day, around two months in, I was like, "Screw it, I'll give it a whirl..." So glad I did.

I wear it to work, to school, to interviews, and when I'm painting the town red. It is the most versatile lipstick I have ever owned.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Honeybunnie8 on 9/24/2008 10:07:00 PM more reviews by Honeybunnie8

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I went to Sephora for a lipstick and an SA told me I should try Damage. He said that it looks scary but it looks good on lots of people. Well I did and I liked it enough to buy it. It give my lips a nice sheer color thats kind of like MLBB. The formula is sheer but can be built up for more color. I find it rather creamy and moisturizing.I added pictures because a picture is worth a thousand words, right?
*Click for Pictures*

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Draper on 4/19/2008 11:14:00 AM more reviews by Draper

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Me: pale olive C2/NC15. Pros: soft finish, neutral berry. Can be applied slightly heavily for a glossy finish or blotted for more of a stain. A bit like Sin in lipstick form- very versatile, especially if you have olive toned skin like mine. Packaging/Price: Somewhat expensive. It seems to me that NARS packaging has also gotten slightly cheaper looking lately- the finish on my most recent purchases doesn't seem quite the same. Since some have experienced rancidity with this brand, I might also suggest that NARS experiment with a package that closes/swivels better than the standard lipstick case. Cons: Could read as too-purple for some skin tones and preferences. If you love NARS O, you might not love this lipstick so much. Buy again: probably. This has enough of a warm tone (while still being berry) that I can see purchasing it again. I'd like to see companies make more rose/pink/warm tones for those of us with yellow or olive in our complexions.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* harrup on 3/26/2008 5:10:00 PM more reviews by harrup

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I give this product 5 ***** for colour ( a kind of gorgeous freshly bitten lip colour) and 0 for scent and taste. Awful scent, chemical, almost rancid. What the devil was NARS thinking when creating this superlative colour and pairing it with that putrid scent and taste???

Still the colour is so sensational and imminently wearable that - crazy as it sounds - I WOULD buy this again. I wear it with a very light layer of LipSmacker lip balm on the top which eradicates the foul scent. But geesh...honestly...THAT much money for a rancid lippy?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Lipstick products