Clarisonic • Mia2 • Misc Beauty Tools

rated 4.2(186 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 mish124 on 3/24/2014 3:52:00 PM more reviews by mish124

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I purchased the Clarisonic Mia 2 and after 1 week of using it once a day my skin broke out in these painful red patches/rashes and it has taken a while to get back to normal. I stopped using it right away and returned the device. I also got these weird sore patches almost like cuts on the corners of my mouth. This machine is not meant for me and if I kept using it for a month like the lady from Sephora said, my skin would never go back to normal. It probably would be permanently damaged. I'm surprised this device works for anyone. It is way too harse (even the delicate brush). I normally have very dry, sensitive skin in the winter and somewhat oily skin in the summer, but I can't imagine using this device again after the pain I experienced. I can't believe I spent $200 for something that was a complete nightmare for me. I thought it would be a life saver for my skin, and it was the complete opposite. I was quite disappointed. If you experience the same thing, I would suggest you stop using it right away and return the product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anna14891 on 3/24/2014 3:42:00 PM more reviews by anna14891

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

i LOVE my clarisonic, and my only regret is not buying it sooner. I purchased it two weeks ago (to the day) and have been using it every day since. In the beginning, I started out using it just once a day (at night, right before bed) because I wanted to ease my skin into it in order to try to avoid the "purging" phase. About a week into it, I upped my usage to 2 times a day, morning and night, paired with Cetaphil clenaser. I did have an initial breakout when I first started using the Clarisonic, and it lasted about 5 days. I got some big under the skin zits which are uncommon for me, but they went away quickly. Since that initial breakout, my skin has been nice and clear. All of the little bumps that used to bother me are virtually gone, and even just this morning before I put my makeup on, I was admiring my own skin in the mirror! This product is really SO great and I would recommend it to anybody.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ke1125 on 3/17/2014 6:16:00 PM more reviews by ke1125

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Tan   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using the Clarisonic Mia2 brush for about 9 months now and have finally decided to give a review. I really wanted to try this brush out for a while before I came to any conclusions. I want to start off by saying that I have large pores, oily T-zone, and blackheads naturally. Given these less than stellar attributes I have always had a difficult time finding cleansing products and brushes that give me a good deep cleansing that will help me control shine, allow acne medication to absorb well, and make my makeup look good for longer on my face. The Mia2 has really helped me gain control of my face! Of course it hasn't completely gotten rid of my issues, because its mostly due to my genes controlling my natural oil production and pore size. Yet, I can easily say that my complexion 9 months ago and my complexion now are totally different. My pore size has gotten smaller, and my skin does not look and feel as oily as it once did. The number of breakouts I get has decreased and I believe it's largely due to my acne medication being absorbed better. All of these qualities combined have produced a more radiant complexion and my makeup looks so much better and lasts almost all day!
As far as the usage of the brush, I love the simplicity. I use the deep pore brush head and the sensitive brush head alternatively. I use my Mia2 twice a day in the morning and at night. I just get the brush wet, apply my cleanser, or exfoliator, directly on the brush head and wash the different sections of my face. This part is my favorite because the brush has a self timer and I know I have cleaned my face for a proper amount of time. I used to question whether I washed my face for too long or not long enough!
This product is a good investment and it is one of those products you need to incorporate in to your daily routine and stay true to in order to reap the benefits.
I also want to add that I traveled to Mexico with my Mia2 and I was really glad I did. The case helped me keep the brush separate from everything in my cosmetic bag. I brought my charger with me and I only had to charge my Mia2 once throughout the 3 and a half week trip! It was so easy for me to maintain my cleansing routine abroad!
I highly recommend this product to other people who may have oily skin and blackheads.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mayzkoo on 3/17/2014 1:58:00 PM more reviews by mayzkoo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The last time my skin looked this good was when I was 13, the clarisonic mia 2 is worth every penny!!
Before I used this I would always have pimples on my face, there was never a time when my face was acne free but the clarisonic changed that!
I suffered from painful cystic acne on my forehead and cheeks that turned into huge white heads, it literally looked like pizza!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mssasin on 3/14/2014 2:07:00 PM more reviews by mssasin

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Before I begin I would like to share my daily routine and why Clarisonic is necessary to my everyday routine. I work in a professional firm and that means I would need to apply full coverage foundation and also because my skin is prone to acne and I've been struggling for years, clogging up pores with excess pop and make up can be really damaging and cause a whole lot of acne to grow under my skin! After using Clarisonic my acne has significantly reduced to 1-2 zits a month! I use it as my second part of my double cleanse routine at night - first I would use a gel cleanser to wash my face and then id use Clarisonic over it, focusing more on my T zone and sides of my nose. Sometimes I would use facial wipes just to see if they are any foundation left on my skin, each and everytime it's clean as white paper :) // it is also true that it leaves a very dry feeling on your skin after cleanse so I only use it at night to remove my makeup and excess oil on the surface of my skin and spoil my skin with hydration skincare after that. Clarisonic is definitely a must for acne-prone skin ladies. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who is struggling with acne

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 luluisalilskunk on 3/3/2014 11:55:00 AM more reviews by luluisalilskunk

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Black    

It's overhyped. To be fair it does clear up some blackheads not 100% maybe 20% (only the deep cleansing brush head) but it can also over-exfoliate your skin. U know when it happens when sweats stings on your face, your face is overly taut, red, dry and pores starts to enlarge?? My usage has dwindled from once a day to once a week then once a fortnight. even so I still find this an unnecessary step in my routine.. Seriously our skins are not meant to be scrubbed like this If you want to deep cleanse your skin use a pre cleanse oil or milk followed by a good foaming cleanser, be gentle and it will thank you for it! With all the skin thinning stuffs we already use nowadays, like retin A, Vitamin C serum or AHAs etc.. with the clarisonic thrown in would be overkill. How thick u think your skin is?

Another thing I hate about this is the time it needs to be charged (18hrs?!!) the fact that it keeps blinking white lights while charging means I can't leave it in the bedroom as it's extremely annoying and keeps me awake. So yesterday I got it out after one mth of not using it and tries to charge it, I find the charger base is not even sensitive anymore! U move it slightly and it stops charging! Hello I paid 250 for this crap!! I truely regret investing in this one and I'm ready to get rid of mine

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xbellabeb on 3/2/2014 9:49:00 PM more reviews by xbellabeb

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Skin type - Super Acne Prone

I've been suffering from acne for 11 years and ive tried almost ALL the products out there catering to acne and even went on Roaccutane which only provides temporary results.

I got Clarisonic Mia2 as a birthday present and I've been using this for a month now with my Philosophy's Purity Made simple Cleanser and it's safe to say that it has improved my skin tremendously! I used to have 5-6 under the skin type of acne cluttering at one spot on my cheeks that just sits there and simply won't go away. Now i only get 1-2 really tiny zits at odd places. I LOVEEEE MY CLARISONIC MIA2! it's expensive but it's worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 katautumn on 3/1/2014 9:30:00 PM more reviews by katautumn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

**UPDATE AT THE BOTTOM**

I have wanted a Clarisonic for over a year and finally splurged when I got my tax refund. Because it's so costly, and because I'd wanted it for so long I really, really wanted to love it. I ended up sending mine back after only a few weeks of use.

My skin is combination, but mostly I have eczema-prone dry patches and my skin is extremely sensitive. I thought the Clarisonic Mia2, with all of its adoring users and claims from dermatologists on their website would be a miracle tool in my skincare arsenal. While it does leave the skin feeling super clean, it makes the skin feel a little too clean. I want to share the pros and cons to hopefully explain my decision to send it back.

*PROS*
~It is a top of the line skincare tool. If the Olay Pro-X brush is a Chevy Camaro, the Clarisonic is the Rolls Royce. It's *the* face cleaning tool.
~It does clean well.
~It is easy to keep the brush head clean.
~It is waterproof.
~2 speed settings allow you to control how much vibration you want.
~It has prompts to let you know when to move to the next section of your face. 20 seconds for nose/chin, 20 seconds for the forehead, and 10 seconds for each cheek. It also shuts of automatically, so you don't over wash.

*CONS*
~It is, in all honesty, way more expensive than it needs to be even for the level of technology involved.
~The brush heads are not as easy to replace as, say, the Olay ones (which can be found at most drugstores, Target, and Wal-Mart). The replacement heads (which must be replaced every three months) can only be purchased online, at select skincare clinics, and I think Sephora. They also cost $25 apiece, so you're look at $100 per year in brush heads alone. You can buy a 4-pack for $75.
~It takes a ridiculously long time to charge. If you prefer to run your batteries all the way down before charging them, remember that it takes a full 24 hours to fully charge the Clarisonic.
~The body brush heads cannot be used with the Mia2.
~It cleans a little too well. For someone with sensitive skin, even using the sensitive brush head and following the instructions to a T you can end up stripping the skin of healthy oils. This cause me to have very dry skin.
~I found the brush head to be a little large, which made it next to impossible to get the tight, but zit-prone crease just outside my nostrils.

All in all, I wouldn't say this is a bad product, It just wasn't a product that worked as well for me as I'd hoped it would.

**UPDATE 3/19/2014**

So, as you know from my review I sent this back. They were very friendly and didn't hassle me with a bunch of questions or suggestions to just make it work for me, so that was nice. But they use FedEx SmartPost Return service for their returns. Oh my Lord! I hope if you have to send your Clarisonic back you have the patience of a saint. I sent mine out the last day of February. It went from Atlanta to Mississippi and it just got there yesterday. I hate when vendors use FedEx Smartpost. I get that it's cost efficient, but it also means it sits, and sits, and sits some more at your post office or some FedEx distribution hub somewhere in the middle of the shipping route. Mine arrived at my local post office four days after I initially shipped it and it sat there for eight days before being sent to the FedEx Air center in Atlanta.

I know that reviews are supposed to be product focused, but I wanted to post this about the return procedure, because it is a bit tedious.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* combatmedicwife on 2/22/2014 11:34:00 AM more reviews by combatmedicwife

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I'm a sale junkie and love a bargain as much as the next gal- but this is one of those things that's worth the extra cost.
Ok.... consider me a Mia convert from the Olay ProX. I was under the false assumption the mechanism of action was similar. Not so. The Clarisonic truly does use the same technology as the Sonicare toothbrush to remove debris, it vibrates (300x/sec) back and forth- the bristle movement is hardly perceptible. In contrast the Olay ProX brush head goes in a full circle. This is the whirling tugging my esthetician warned me about for premature aging.
The Mia 2 is great- 2 different speeds, and pulses when it's time to change face areas (20 seconds on forehead, 20 for nose/chin, and 10 for each cheek) if you're familiar with the Sonicare toothbrushes you'll know what I mean.
So it's gentler on the skin than the ProX, and does a superior a job with none of the tugging. It's like having an esthetician at home.

(Note: if you're in the military or a family member check the Px- I got the Mia 2 for $125 no tax and they sell the Mia original for 100 flat where I'm at {at press time}).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 HanHoll on 2/22/2014 11:06:00 AM more reviews by HanHoll

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I first heard about the clarisonic when my friend bought one about a year ago, she raved about how much it helped her skin and I noticed even a difference in how her skin looked. This past Christmas after lots of research on the Clarisonic website and watching youtube videos I asked for one and received the Clarisonic Mia 2 in the pale pink color! Yes the price is high but you get what you're paying for, and also at the time mine was bought a deal was going on so I got a free small makeup bag and cleanser along with what already came with the cleansing device, charger, travel case and one cleanser. The Clarisonic Mia 2 is life changing! I love the way it leaves my skin feeling clean and breathable! I find that using the deep pore brush works the best for my skin! Don't have any doubts about buying this product, it is worth it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clarisonic products

More Misc Beauty Tools products