Revlon Colorstay Longwear Nail Enamel [DISCONTINUED]

3.9

71 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 10/13/2012 3:31:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

the world does not need another streaky sheer. alas, that's just what we get with "pale cashmere." gorgeous color, terrible application.
i have not tried any of the other colors, just this one. bah. i should have known. revlon sheers are as crappy as essie's when it comes to streakiness.
this lasts about 3 days on me, tops. noticeable tip wear after day 2. to be fair, NO nail color lasts on me perfectly for more than 2 days. opi, orly, loreal, essie, sephora, wnw, nyc, and revlon ALL show either tip wear or chips on me after 2 days, regardless of top coat.
it's SUCH a pretty color, this pale cashmere. so clean & fresh on the hands. it just streaks & makes what WOULD be a perfect manicure look haphazard :(
dry time for me was very fast. i just painted them a few minutes ago & already i can type this review. one layer basecoat, 2 coats polish, one layer topcoat. very shiny! sooo pretty!!
soooo streaky! :(



on 10/11/2012 1:50:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

The color is rich and beautiful with 2 coats, and the color goes on very even and easily with the consistency of the polish combined with the brush. However, it takes forever to dry, and even then seems like it stays gummy, which causes lots of nicks and chipping/peeling. It's a shame because the color (fall mood) is so gorgeous. I won't repurchase due to the fact that it stays so "gummy" and nails are easily ruined.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Ok, after trying the Nurtanail gel system and being dissatisfied, a friend of mine told me about Revlon Colorstay polish. She is really pleased with it. I went and bought the base coat, color (Marmalade) and top coat. I read dirrections and each bottle said to apply two coats. I did. I was thinking that is way too much polish. I let my nails dry for about 4 hours before going to bed, just doing normal stuff. My nails looked beautiful. However, when I got up this morning they had creases and lines. I didn't touch them. I made a dessert for a party tonight and it took many steps and lots of dish washing. After I finished I had two nails chip and peel! I love this color as it goes so well with my skin tone. I have decided to try it again using one coat of base, 2 color and one top coat. I will see how it goes and let you know. I have learned while using this, that you need to really keep brush cleaned off as it can clump. Two thin coats of color work pretty good. I did do my toes and they look nice today. But they don't do dishes LOL. Don't know why they didn't crease. Will let you all know if the fewer coats work!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

Picked these up on sale, not expecting anything wonderful, but I actually fell in love with these. So far in my collection, this is the ONLY polish I have that I'm happy with with just ONE coat. Perfectly opaque color, even coverage, and with just one coat! (I do always used a base and top coat) Overall I am extremely happy with this polish, and impressed by revlon!


Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I thought I would put a review in on this before my bottle goes in the trash - imo don't waste your money because this is not long wearing at all. In fact, it started chipping on the first day, despite my usual regimen of base coat, 2 coats of color, followed by a top coat.

I have always been a big fan of regular Revlon polish and even of Top Speed, so I bought this expecting to like it, but was very disappointed. The color I bought is Vintage Rose, but I don't know if the results would vary depending on the shade.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/30/2012 9:36:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I find that this one lasts longer then my OPI and my ESSIE polishes by far and I do not use the recommened base and top coat (I only buff my nails first and after follow with a quick dry top coat of a different brand). I find it lasts me about a week with very minimal chipping and I type every day at work almost all day. Also, the newer bottles have the new brush which is nice and flat and wide. One coat covers well and the second really gets that 100% coverage. I really have no complaints with this polish although it dries pretty fast on its own so work fast. The price is in line with OPI and Essie and I think the quality matches so no complaint there. If you want cheap polish then get cheap polish but know it will not last.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/22/2012 6:06:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought the shade Spanish Moss on sale at CVS this week. Right now they are marked down to $5 with $3 ecb back! Spanish Moss is a cream mid-tone muted green, great for the upcoming fall season. I normally don't wear greens but this is quite wearable and would be fine for a casual work environment.

To test out the polish, I did not use a base coat or top coat. The brush is a little wider than a standard brush, with a flat, rounded end. It makes application really easy and quick. The formula of Spanish Moss was a dream! It was near-opaque with one layer. I could have added another layer but chose not to, because you could only tell if you were to inspect my nails closely. The polish dried fast and had a nice shine. I put it on 3 days ago and it still looks great. There's minimal wear on the tips and it lost a bit of the original shine, but otherwise I'm impressed. I'm removing it tonight but I could seeing this looking decent another 2-3 days. Other reviews have mentioned you need the base and top coat to get it to last the 11 days Revlon advertises. I don't really like keeping the same color on for that long so I wasn't interested in testing those out just yet. The color polish alone lives up to the Colorstay name.

I can't think of ANYTHING to improve on this nail polish. I can't speak for the whole line, but based on this one color, I can't wait to try more colors! Perhaps a nice red...


on 8/20/2012 5:10:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've almost always had great experiences with Revlon polishes, but recently I bought Pale Cashmere - and it might be the worst polish I've ever owned.

First, the positives - it's a gorgeous color. As long as no one looks at my nails close up, it looks beautiful.

Second, the negatives - I painted my nails (both hands - two coats each time) with Pale Cashmere a total of three times before finally giving up on it. On the first try it was too thick, wildly streaky and bubbly! It would look perfect going on, and then bubble. So I removed the polish from my nails, and thinned out the polish with polish thinner and applied it again - also two coats. Still SO streaky, and still bubbles, although thankfully smaller this time. I thinned a second time, and applied it once more to my nails, and it was STILL streaky and the tiny bubbles were STILL there! I was so aggravated at this point that I threw a topcoat on anyway and left it at that. And now today, all day I will look down at my nails and wince at how jacked up they are.

A couple of things of note - I am really good at doing my own nails. I've been doing them for years and years - I usually change my polish once or twice a week, and I've go the method down. Most streaky polishes don't faze me, and I can work around it, and all is fine with the right top coat. My point is - this is not user error. This polish has completely confounded me, and I am probably unreasonably bugged about it - but I really had high hopes for it. It is SUCH a lovely color. I'm just going to have to toss it - I wouldn't give this to anyone.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/19/2012 9:45:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I might buy more of these polishes, but only if I have a coupon because IMO, they are not worth $8 a bottle. In fact, the only nail polish that I feel is worth that price point is OPI, because of the consistently good pigment and wear. Anyways, back to this. I have two of these because CVS was offering them for $5 with $3 in extra backs back, so I basically paid $2 a bottle. I got the shades Midnight and Calla Lily. Midnight is beautiful! It's a dark teal shade with no glimmer or glitter. I would describe it as a deep peacock blue. It's very richly pigmented and is opaque with one coat, though I did two. One caveat - be careful to swipe excess polish off the brush because this brush loads a lot of polish on and it will get everywhere. I painted my toes with this to test it out and will definitely use it on my fingers too. The Calla Lily is a pretty shade too. It's a sheer white with gold glimmer. The glittery part is not garish and is quite subtle. When used over bare nails it lends a nice, clean and sophisticated french-esque manicure. It can also be layered over other color for a bit of shimmer. Overall, these are nice polishes but again, the price is too high to justify purchasing all of the shades. That said, I like the formula more than Essie.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/10/2012 5:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I am a nail polish addict. I have over 100 bottles and they range from .99 to over $30.00. I LOVE nail polish, however, I am very hard on my hands and nails and I think due to just my body's chemistry most of my nail polish peels off within 72 hours of application. It is EXTREMELY rare for me to get more than 2 days of full application. And, once one nail peels I have a bad habit of peeling the rest off. I bought 2 colors to start with, Delicious and Buttercup and to be honest, I didnt have much hope. I also purchasedt the base and top coat. Wow I was wrong. Buttercup is a very pretty pale yellow that was actually opaque!!!!! It took 2-3 coats to be perfect but that beats any other yellow polish I own. And here's the best part. It stayed on from Monday through Saturday until I took it off. Mind blown. I now own Coastal Surf, Fall Mood, Red Carpet, Delicious, Buttercup, Provence, and Spanish Moss. And every one of them I have had similiar results with. I feel bad that I am neglecting the rest of my nail stash, but this stuff is just so amazing! And the color range is outstanding. I can't wait to collect them all!!!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top