Maybelline • Dream Nude Airfoam Foundation • Foundations

rated 2.7(243 reviews)

Average Rating.2.7
Would buy this product again.37%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 themusicnote on 1/9/2014 10:34:00 PM more reviews by themusicnote

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Maybe I'm just a foundation lightweight- I usually only use a tinted moisturizer or a BB cream- but I don't know what everyone's talking about with the light coverage. This was WAY too heavy for me. Even my boyfriend (who is normally oblivious to all things appearance-related ) said that it looked like I was wearing a ton of makeup and that it highlighted my dry areas. The color was also much darker and oranger than I was lead to believe,
However, I do like the dispenser. Very sanitary and easy to use. I just thought that a mousse like this would give a more sheer coverage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ladadadadi on 1/8/2014 1:43:00 AM more reviews by ladadadadi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Loveeeeeeeee it!
First off, if you are looking for full coverage.... probably not the BEST option. I love the light coverage and weightless feeling of this foundation.
Pros of my experience:
- I have very dry skin and I've read a few reviews saying it's not a great foundation for dry skin, but I've had absolutely NO problems with it. I apply a fragrance free moisturizer first (to take care of my dry skin, and also to give my makeup something to hold on to), then I use a makeup wedge to press it into my skin so no flakes show.
-Light, airy coverage
Cons:
-The pump on occasion shoots out foundation even when you press lightly. So to fix this problem, I just put a surface in front of the pump to catch all of it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 AstralAshley on 12/17/2013 9:24:00 PM more reviews by AstralAshley

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This foundation was absolutely terrible. I have very pale skin and I decided to get the lightest shade possible because that's usually the right for for me. The reasons why I I hate it: 1.) There was little to no coverage. 2.) The color was literally ORANGE. 3.) It came out of the can way too fast. 4.) The color inside didn't match the color on the bottle. 5.) It smelled like sunscreen. 6.) You could see all my pores even with a great primer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Cheer15star on 11/18/2013 8:25:00 PM more reviews by Cheer15star

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium Brown, Cool   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product and tried to love it. The way it dispensed was terrible. There was no way to control the backlash of spray and as the day went on it became so oily on my face and rubbed off so easily.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* anniele on 10/16/2013 6:27:00 PM more reviews by anniele

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this foundation in a pinch as I had gone on a weekend away to Palm Springs and forgotten my makeup, and I hated, hated, hated it. The color was a perfect match to me (Honey Beige, for an NC40/NC42 complexion), but it didn't seem to offer ANY coverage - I felt like I might as well have put nothing at all on my face and was bummed about wasting money on a worthless product. I took it home with me and it sat on my makeup table for several months before I decided to pick it up again and play around with it, not expecting much. I applied it, blotted the excess with a sponge (which I didn't have in Palm Springs), and was surprised that it seemed to look ok. Then, I applied my Tarte Amazonian Clay 12 hour full coverage foundation powder over it using a loose powder brush (which I also didn't have in Palm Springs) and was AMAZED to see that my skin looked absolutely flawless and natural. The Tarte powder on its own doesn't do that, but paired with the Dream Nude, it's now my current HG for an easy, natural look.

I now know what the problem was when I was wearing it in Palm Springs - it's not just because I didn't have a sponge, or a setting powder. It's because I was in Palm Springs. In June. This foundation does NOT hold up in warm weather - it will not stay on your face if there is the least humidity or threat of sweat, period. I would only wear it if there is not any chance of getting moisture on your face, because this will come RIGHT off. When I go to rinse this off my fingers after applying, the water immediately turns a beige color, even without any rubbing - that doesn't happen with any other foundation I own. However, if you are not going to be sweating or anywhere near water, this foundation really will last all day on your face. Thus, it's perfect for every day at the office, or a night out to dinner.

All told, I'm a big fan of this foundation, even if it's not suitable for all activities or occasions. The best thing about it is that it feels like nothing on my face. All my other full coverage foundations are rather heavy feeling even though I apply them lightly, but the Dream Nude paired with the Tarte powder gives me the coverage I want without feeling like there's a film over my face. I have a feeling this will eventually be discontinued due to the poor reviews, but hopefully that means I will be able to stock up at a discount when it is!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Anita09 on 10/9/2013 5:39:00 PM more reviews by Anita09

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Ok first off this product has to be taken for what its for, a very LIGHTWEIGHT foundation. The foundation itself isn't bad. Yes it is light but I think if you need to just even out redness or discoloration this is perfect for you. If you have horrid skin then you will hate this, but if your like me with decent skin and need to even out your skintone this is great. The actual pigmentation of this product is actually pretty decent.

Pros:
Evens out skintone
Barely there feeling on your face
good pigmentation
easy to blend

Cons:
Will not cover imperfections
have to shake it ALOT to get even distrubution

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Shamrock13 on 10/7/2013 8:53:00 PM more reviews by Shamrock13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product impulsively thinking it seemed like it would cut down on some time if I was running behind while getting ready for work. It actually adds time on to my routine because I have to go wash it off and start all over again! The vigorous shaking isn't the worst part, nor is the way it shoots out of the can - it's how after you get over the stickiness and smelliness of it, it goes on so uneven and streaky because there's just no time to blend it before it becomes sticky and dry! And the streaks are orange and cakey.

I've tried using it a few times thinking maybe if I used a little more at a time, it wouldn't become unblendable so quickly...nope, just makes you even more orange and streaky. I'm not sure why it turns me orange since it's a foundation, not a bronzer, and because I'm very fair skinned I bought the Classic/Ivory shade which is the shade I always buy for foundations, concealers, powders, whatever.

You know that gross sticky feeling you get on your skin on a humid day? That's what this feels like when you put it on.

Bottom line: there's absolutely nothing dreamy about this product, it's a total nightmare :-/

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 BlueEyedChik on 9/28/2013 9:34:00 PM more reviews by BlueEyedChik

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I do like this product, Its for a day you just want something light, Basically a tinted moisturizer with air infused in it. Can hardly feel it on my face. Nothing totally special about it, Very sheer finish so setting powder comes needy. Overall good product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MKOP on 9/15/2013 10:51:00 PM more reviews by MKOP

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have to say I am on the fence about this foundation. Although it feels silky upon application it is not a good foundation for oily skin types and here is why: the finish is semi dewy and within a couple of hours of application the oil seeped through the foundation. As for packaging, well you REALLY NEED to follow the instructions on the bottle because if the bottle is even tilted you will get this white foamy mess instead of your foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shinygolden on 9/14/2013 11:33:00 AM more reviews by shinygolden

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I found this on sale, and since I'm a foundation junkie, I picked it up even after reading these reviews. I really like it! The texture is light, it contains sunscreen, is easily buildable, and scent is light. My result is a finished, polished look, especially with setting powder. The reviews here are probably one reason why it actually works for me, because I took some of the advice in them. For reference, I wear MAC NC15, and I bought this in Classic Ivory, which is a good match for me--it adds a little color, but unobtrusively. Also because of the light weight it doesn't settle in smile lines or other odd places. Here is the application that worked for me:

Step 1: Shake WELL. I mean vigorously and for several seconds. Then again for good measure!
Step 2: Dispense onto the back of your non-dominant hand.
Step 3: Apply with other hand, dabbing with fingers and blending as you go. (I expect a foundation brush would work, too, for those who prefer it.)
Step 4: Blend again with BARELY damp sponge.
Step 5: Build coverage over whole face or on trouble areas by repeating Steps 3-5.

That said, this is a light-medium coverage foundation, and though buildable, it will only cover so much. Don't expect it to cover large blemishes or dark hyperpigmentation. The coverage is a little less than, say the L'Oreal Magic Liquid Powder, and more than an American BB cream or TM. I set it with some Coty Airspun regular or extra coverage translucent powder, depending on my own need for coverage that day. I haven't had any problems with it transferring onto clothes, etc.

Yeah, this sounds labor-intensive, but if you like the coverage/texture, it may be worth the effort. I already bought it again when I saw it on sale at the same place where I got the first one.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products