Revlon • Colorburst Lip Butter - Candy Apple • Lipstick

rated 4.4(104 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Peaches1027 on 5/27/2013 7:19:00 PM more reviews by Peaches1027

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got this for 13 cents at CVS with my coupons and store sale. It was well worth the pennies! This is a slightly orange red that is flattering to my skin tone. It lasts as long as any other lip butter, but it leaves a nice stain on my lips that I really like. This pairs perfectly with Tarte AC Natural Beauty Blush and a nice neutral or bare eye makeup look. I will definitely purchase this again, even at full price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Aethernaut on 5/21/2013 9:04:00 AM more reviews by Aethernaut

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

In spring with a slight tan on my cheeks this is a really beautiful warming shade - if you are pale with a cool complexion and have never been able to wear corals or scarlets I would recommend you try this, as it certainly works for me. I think it helps that these lipsticks provide a sheer, buildable colour, so you can achieve the exact intensity of colour that you find flattering and appropriate to your complexion. I imagine Candy Apple would suit almost anyone.

This colour can be worn subtly or as a richer shade for evening - it won't provide a film star statement lip but you will feel special enough in this shade and I like the fact that this one tube of colour can take you right through the day to evening.

The texture is absolutely beautiful - not as moisturising perhaps as a vaseline lip balm, but what is? I am seriously impressed by it's feel and have happily used it alone when I find many lipsticks require a layer of balm to feel comfortable. I have not noticed it being drying either. I seem to be lucky that it suits my skin.

The finish is light and moist looking without being highly glossed and there are no annoying sparkles. Even when built up over several layers it is comfortable to wear. There are no nasty flavours or scents to put you off either.

The only problem I have with this lipstick (apart from the fact that I think it is slightly overpriced in the UK) is the spectacularly tacky packaging. Flimsy, translucent coloured plastic that looks like it could have come from a "my first makeup" set for pre teens won't put me off, but it seems a pity to make this gorgeous product look like something you'd find in Poundland (or a dollar store, for US readers). Revlon can, and do, do better.

Needless to say I will be buying this shade again, and am looking forward to trying other colours in the range.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CandyLatte on 5/20/2013 4:29:00 PM more reviews by CandyLatte

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Great wash of red on your lips everyday! I still put a regular balm underneath this though because it is not that moisturizing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lairyfights on 5/19/2013 12:37:00 AM more reviews by lairyfights

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

On the bright side: I love the color. It's a beautiful cheerful red that looks bright without being garish, However, as a lip butter, I expected this to be a lot more moisturizing (bought it because I'd run out of tinted lip balm). I won't be buying it again even though I do like the color. It's not moisturizing enough to be a good balm and not long lasting enough to be a good lipstick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jlee92 on 5/17/2013 4:31:00 PM more reviews by jlee92

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

The revlon lip butters are definitely some of my fav lip products to use whenever I want something that provides a lil moisture and yet deliver colour as well( and believe me, lipstick junkie here). Candy Apple is definitely one of my most loved shades from the range. Beautiful orange-red and a somewhat different shade. This shade instantly brightens up my complexion and allows me to have my pop of colour without going overboard whenever im in the mood for colour yet not feel like going all out. So glad I picked this up and can totally see myself gravitating towards this shade very often. Also is leaves a nice beautiful reddish stain on my lips even after it has worn off! <3 just love it so much and this lil baby has gotten me some nice compliments too! :)

http://stopnmakeupp.blogspot.sg/

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mysilentface on 4/28/2013 3:00:00 AM more reviews by mysilentface

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Candy Apple is great when you want a pop of color that's not too bold for the office. It also looks good against my light-medium neutral complexion. I own three Lip Butters (Peach Parfait and Red Velvet being the other two) and Candy Apple is the only one that gets regular usage. The flimsy packaging is my only issue with this, but that's easy to get over considering how inexpensive it was.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dwducky on 4/17/2013 7:15:00 PM more reviews by dwducky

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

This is the only lip butter that I own, but I really like it. The candy apple color is beautiful, and looks really good with my skin tone. I only marked it down a point because it isnt as moisturizing as I would like it to be and it accentuated flakes on your lips. I need to apply it over a lip balm in order to wear it, which kind of defeats the purpose of a lip butter to me. I would repurchase but I dont wear it very often so itll be a while before I'm out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 loverofgrace on 4/16/2013 9:53:00 PM more reviews by loverofgrace

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Bought this and some other shades of Revlon Lip Butters and I love it!!!
This color is perfect for spring!
Very moisturizing.
This particular color has long lasting pigments and has buildable color to it.
Color pay off is amazing too.
The texture is smooth and not grainy like the Maybelline's Whispers line.
Overall great product and I'm not a lipstick girl so this is great!
One bad thing would have to be that the product would melt down if it was summer (because I live in SoCal) and the melted parts or bits slide out which can become messy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sellee on 3/21/2013 8:48:00 AM more reviews by Sellee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

NOTE: The only reason I won't be repurchasing is because I seldom wear makeup and I've already bought three different Lip Butters. I've compared them to the Maybelline Color Whisper lipsticks and prefer Maybelline's formula a little bit more, however I do like the shades/colors that the Lip Butters have to offer more so than the Color Whispers.
This is nice if you're just transitioning into wearing lipsticks, but it's definitely not for long-term wear throughout the day. I find myself having to reapply very often, but I do mess with my lips a lot when I know there's something there, so it'll probably be different for someone who's used to wearing makeup. It's not too heavy, but I think it's noticable when you're wearing it, especially if you apply a thick layer. It's not very moisturizing, and in fact I feel like it makes my lips drier after wearing. The price isn't bad for a drug store product, but at about $7 a tube, it's a bit expensive for me because I'm on a budget. This color is a very bright red and is slightly orange-toned, so I feel it could suit a lot of different skin tones. I feel it would look best on me with a nice tan since I have olive skin, I'll be testing that theory out soon!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sjess on 3/12/2013 7:50:00 AM more reviews by Sjess

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I just love these lip butters! I also have it in Pink Truffle (a good MLBB) but this one just steals the show! What a lovely warm red this is! Too bad the other colors don't suit me, but I'm completely happy with the 2 I have :)!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Lipstick products