Revlon Colorburst Lip Butter - Candy Apple

4.3

111 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/31/2013 4:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I was very very veryyy hesitant to even purchase this. The reviews are all good, but I was not sure about red on me. But let me just say I love this subtle orangey red color. It makes my blue-ish green-ish grey eyes pop really. With a nice nude eye(usually naked palette) with dark brown liner and lashes it looks wonderful. I have been complimented twice today on it all. It makes my teeth look white, but that's just me. It appears to stain my lips so the only thing that does not last is the shine.

As of right now this is my favorite item. I do love berry smoothie too though... I just love revlon lip butters!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 8/22/2013 3:13:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

Too orange for my lips and didn't really apply evenly. Kind of pricey for drugstore even though I got it on sale. Not worth it in my opinion. So continues the hunt for a good red lip


on 8/21/2013 5:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Love this lip butter! Candy Apple and Sweet Tart are my favorite lip butters, and Candy Apple really makes blue eyes pop! It's not an intimidating color whatsoever and is incredibly comfortable on the lips and very moisturizing which is perfect for my dry lips. Doesn't last longer than an hour or two but it's one of those products you don't even need a mirror for reapplication. Super easy to apply and doesn't sit into the cracks of your lips. All around a MUST HAVE lip product!


on 7/20/2013 10:45:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

The good points are that this is a gorgeous color and it's not drying on the lips. One bad point is that you have to drag it across your lips to get the color on. This is strange to me because it doesn't glide on your lips without resistance and yet it's not drying once it's on the lips. The reason I would not purchase the product again is because it only wears off only in the middle of your lips leaving you with only an outline on your lips. This is the case with both of my lip butters and it's a strange tacky effect.


on 6/11/2013 6:20:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is one of my favorite Revlon Lip Butters! It is a very nice red! Sometimes I want to wear a red lip but not look like "Oh wow! Look at that red lip!". This is perfect for those days when you want to take it down a notch! It is so easy to wear day to day! It's build able, comfortable, easy to use and not drying! I adore the Candy Apple Lip Butter! Highly recommend! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/11/2013 7:31:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Candy Apple might very well be the first tube of lipstick I actually use up before I lose. Touch wood. Where is it now? Somewhere in the hotel room.
This has been my go-to red since the Lip Butters were launched. I love everything about this product - super non-sticky, moisturising texture; lifting colour. It's bright, but translucent enough to not make you seem too dressed up.
The swatches online of Candy Apple don't seem to do it justice. On me, it's a tomato red with a sheen.
My preference is to wear this with pale pearly eye-shadow and a flick of black liner. Retro and modern.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I love this lipstick! Candy Apple is the perfect pomegranate red. It's beautiful for summer.

Pros:

- Excellent range of shades that will suit a wide variety of skin tones and preferences.
- Candy Apple is a beautiful, summery red.
- Lip balm-like texture is very pleasant and comfortable to wear. Not at all sticky, tacky, or grainy.
- Surprisingly great pigmentation despite its balmy feel. Great colour payoff.
- Coverage can be varied with ease---a quick swipe for a more natural look, or a heavier application for a nice, vivid pop of colour.
- Moisturizing.
- The price is definitely right at around $8 CAD, depending on where you shop.

Cons:

- The only real con is that this requires frequent re-application, but that is to be expected, given that the texture is so slippery. It is not a long-wearing lipstick, but that's the trade-off for having such a comfortable and moisturizing texture.

I would definitely recommend all the lip butters, but especially Candy Apple if you like reds. It's a really fresh, bright red that looks like you just bit into a pomegranate or something. It looks quite natural and is so comfortable to wear. For the comfortable texture, it does last longer than expected---about 2-3 hours on me. It's very pleasant to reapply it anyway, so I don't mind!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

For some reason this color makes my teeth appear slightly yellow which is weird because my teeth are pretty white. Maybe it's just in my imagination, or maybe this shade of red just does not work with my skin tone, but it is not the most flattering on my olive skin. It doesn't look horrible, but I don't feel comfortable with it on because of the teeth thing. It looks better after I wipe it off actually and there is only a little stain there. I do like the lip butters though because they are creamy and will probably buy one in a different color that is more flattering and not so heavy looking for everyday.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/2/2013 10:37:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Candy Apple is the only Revlon lip butter I have tried, to date. I caved after hearing the glowing reviews and YT testimonials, choosing the color I felt I would wear the most. I love a good red lately and have been wanting to try something that was moisturizing but would still show up. Candy Apple reads on my lips as a true soft red. It is sheer but vibrant enough to be seen, either on its own or paired with a complimentary lip product. On me it doesn't have an orange tint and stays color true its entire wear time. I have worn it beneath MAC Ladybug, which is very close to it shade-wise IME and also over the same l/s (to give it a glossy finish.) I choose to line with Redd lipliner and have not tried a different one, but it would probably work well with any other true red shade. I wouldn't hesitate to immediately buy another of this shade when I finish this one; and my curiosity is definitely piqued to try another shade very soon. I think it's quite an "older lips" friendly lip product and I would recommend it to others who like their reds but do not wish to wear an intensely off the charts lip product- we all know what work that can be. Candy Apple does not present that problem; I can still wear a red lip look even on a casual day but it doesn't look overdone, my lips feel great and I feel like "me" (bright lips). Just what I needed- thanks Revlon.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 5/27/2013 7:19:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I got this for 13 cents at CVS with my coupons and store sale. It was well worth the pennies! This is a slightly orange red that is flattering to my skin tone. It lasts as long as any other lip butter, but it leaves a nice stain on my lips that I really like. This pairs perfectly with Tarte AC Natural Beauty Blush and a nice neutral or bare eye makeup look. I will definitely purchase this again, even at full price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
205 Reviews
Provocalips
90 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top