Chanel • Vitalumiere • Liquid

rated 3.9(522 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 sithstar on 8/29/2013 6:43:00 PM more reviews by sithstar

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

this is a beautiful and natural looking foundation - would recommend for those with dry skin. photographs exceptionally well - makes you look like you are not wearing makeup classy as. i suppose if you have spots etc it wont cover them up too good so probably good for people who have pretty clear skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jhe9488 on 8/16/2013 5:08:00 PM more reviews by Jhe9488

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Summary: $55 + tax in the US; beautiful packaging; amazing dewy, light coverage, lightly scented foundation for dry to very dry skin which covers all the flakes; if you have oily skin or want more coverage, this is not the foundation for you

I wear 0.7, ivory, the lightest shade and its a perfect color match for me in winter. I bronze it up with Soleil Tan de Chanel for summer. I love love love this foundation. The Vitalumiere Aqua has been my HG foundation for a long time but Samantha Chapman of the Pixiwoo sisters raves about this foundation for dry skin so I figured I would give it a try, especially since I have been searching for a dewy foundation for quite a while. I have combination skin with extremely dry cheeks and normal-ish (occasionally oily) t-zone and this foundation is absolutely perfect. I apply it with a buffing brush. It has a great light scent; its more lightly scented than the Aqua since I know many people don't like how strongly fragranced that one is. I don't see any flakiness, it feels really moisturizing and it hides my pores in my t-zone and leaves a great dewy finish. Its definitely not a long wearing foundation but it does last me all day if I wear a primer.

If you have oily skin, then you probably will hate this foundation as it is oil based and will probably leave you very shiny. Although multiple people at various Chanel counters have told me that this is more medium coverage and heavier than the Aqua, I do find this actually lighter and less buildable, which is perfect for me as I like very light coverage, but if you're looking for something with higher coverage, then this is also probably not for you. If you are very pale, you may also have trouble finding the right shade as I consider myself as having a fair-medium complexion and I wear the lightest shade.

I also love the packaging. It comes in a luxurious glass bottle and has a pump, which is a must (I'm looking at you Nars Sheer Glow). The packaging is definitely superior to the Aqua.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jas19281928 on 6/19/2013 4:00:00 PM more reviews by Jas19281928

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

HG foundation right here. If you have dry, flaky skin then look no further - this is the answer! People like me with dry - very dry skin will know how hard it is to find a nice, moisturising foundation that sits nicely on dry skin. I have bought around 30 foundations in my hunt and have only recently found this. Along with my YSL touche eclat foundation this is perfect! The only slight issue I have is the colour. I have B10 which is yellow toned so GREAT for my yellow toned skin but, being the lightest colour, it is very dark in my opinion. I am very fair, I wear nc15 in mac and this is just too dark to be the lightest shade but saying that it is very sheer and light on the skin so can definitely be blended out to make the colour difference less obvious... anyway. It is very expensive at £34 but I will definitely be repurchasing this when I run out. Bare in mind that it is very light coverage so isn't going to cover everything but is just awesome for evening out the skin tone and giving you a really healthy glow. LOVE this and would recommend trying it out if you have dry skin :) (oily skin - beware!)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sarahfeeni on 6/13/2013 7:43:00 PM more reviews by sarahfeeni

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is my HG foundation, without a doubt. In truth, it is THE ONLY foundation I have ever been abe to wear. 99.9% of foundation products do not work with my super dry skin. Even the most expensive brands would sit awkwardy on my skin and highlight every flake and dry patch etc... In addition, I have NEVER had such an accurate color match. ( I wear color 30 "cendre"). It is the exact color of my skin. There is no weird, falsey pale or falsely tan look and no weird white hue from the sunscreen.

Others have described this as "dewy" and I would agree with that though truly to me this is a subtle dewiness and really just looks normal and healthy. I realize that this is because of how very dry my skin is. Prior to this I only wore Aveda tinted moisturizer and I'd say that the products are on par with each other but Chanel has far more color options. I find this foundation to be full coverage and I generally dilute it slightly with face lotion. (I do not like thick, heavy makeup).

I've gone through three bottles of this and will continue to purchase

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Mibs on 6/13/2013 6:33:00 PM more reviews by Mibs

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this foundation after the lovely girl at the Chanel counter applied it to my face (I needed to be colour matched as I lose a lot of colouring over winter). The colour she chose suited me perfectly and it hydrated my skin (which at the time it was unusually dry).
I usually wear Perfection Lumiere in 50 Beige. so I thought because it was winter and my skin usually dries out I should give VitaLumiere a go.

I have used this product for about 2 weeks and I find it very oily. I apply it the same way as my Perfection Lumiere (and other foundations) however this one just slides off my skin. Which last happened to me with the Revlon Airbrush Mousse Foundation however, that could have been because I was in Darwin, Australia which is so humid/hot your face will melt off without any foundation.

I also found out if I lean on something with my face when I move away there is a mark of foundation left behind.. Which is horrifying when you go shopping and try on a white knit and feel so bad you buy it because you left a hideous makeup stain on the neck line, even if it didn't suit you!! This had never happened to me before wearing this foundation, I barely touched the edge of the knit with my jawline and smeared product all over it..!

I am disappointed in this product mainly because of the price AUD$86!! I think that is more expensive than my Perfection Lumiere.

I will continue to use this product on really dry skin days but would not rush out to buy another bottle.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Gracielleanne on 6/4/2013 3:52:00 PM more reviews by Gracielleanne

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am completely in love with this foundation. I have combination skin and this foundation makes my skin look so luminous and beautiful. The first time I tried it on at the Chanel counter, I wasn't so impressed because it looked a bit oily. I got a sample so that I could try it for a longer period of time and so that I can see if I liked it. It is absolutely amazing with a setting powder. It also photographs beautifully even though it has spf because a chemical sunscreen is used and only physical sunscreens (titanium dioxide) causes a whitecast. This foundation doesn't make me look like I have a "cakeface". It is expensive but I have tried other drugstore foundations and even the Loreal True Match Lumi makes my face look like I have a layer of makeup on. This foundation melts into the skin and looks so natural. I bought myself a bottle after finishing the sample and I would definitely repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AnikaAnswer on 5/18/2013 9:07:00 PM more reviews by AnikaAnswer

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm always in search of dewy foundations that don't make my skin look oily after a while. This foundation gives a nice, subtle glow and people definitely notice it. Ever since the chanel teint innocence compact was discontinued, this foundation is the closest match to it. The only problem I have with it is the coverage. If you're looking for something to cover any scars, etc then this really won't do you any good. And the smell is pretty strong, almost resembles and old lady's perfume, but of course it goes away after you apply it. Overall this is great for dry skin and honestly I don't have to moisturize my skin as much because of how moisture rich this foundation is. Because it's in a glass bottle, I am a little worried about dropping it because of how clumsy I am.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MzCat on 5/13/2013 12:31:00 AM more reviews by MzCat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this for the past few months and I adore this foundation. My skin is a bit on the dry side, so I like the more oily/smooth texture of the foundation. It really blends into my skin and looks quite natural. By the end of the day, I can start looking a bit shiny, but it's not too bad and a bit of blotting paper will fix it. I'd rather that than a more mattified look, so I guess it's just the trade off. Overall, I love this and would repurchase it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Thegreekblonde on 5/6/2013 9:02:00 AM more reviews by Thegreekblonde

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This foundation is AMAZING if you have dry skin and want a beautiful dewy HD look. It looks very natural and evens out skin tone. The coverage is sheer to medium. My bottle has lasted me 2 YEARS. It is worth every penny. I have acne prone skin and this is one of the only foundations that do not make me breakout. I cannot recommend it enough. Simply the best.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 qk on 4/26/2013 2:43:00 PM more reviews by qk

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Ive been using this foundation for a while.However they are soy expensive that also use MAC F&B. So im fair, a bit greasy but not so much, and i feel comfortable with this foundation. Not a single prone and my exact skin shade. It blends easily and stays long.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Liquid products