John Frieda Sheer Blonde Highlighting Shampoo

3.4

158 reviews

59% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 11/12/2011 12:17:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I switch on and off between the highlighting formula and the all over lightening shampoo and both of these are GREAT. I used to have very light blonde hair as a child but as i grew older my hair became that unbecoming mousy brown/gray color that lightens in summer. Well I seriously wanted my blonde hair back again so i tried all those natural home treatments (lemon juice etc) with limited results. Then I found the John Frieda blonde line and now i LOVE my hair! As i was reading some of these resluts people were complaining that it changed their hair color. Yes. It does. Its supposed to. It does not "deposit" color but it lightens your hair to a lighter shade of blonde then what you had. And it is a happy golden blonde color, atleast for me. It isnt like platinum or anything. I *highly* suggest buying the spray stufff from this line that you spray on wet hair and then blow dry. Works like magic! i use that and then switch on and off between the two different blonde shampoos and i get a coveted silky smooth blonde hair that looks very natural! Sorry that im getting a bit off topic here! :p but yes, this is different from the all over blonde because it only highlights strips of your hair, its very good and as the bottle boasts, i really can see a difference in one use! Definitly use the shampoo and the conditioner together and for best results buy the spray blonder stuff, though its kind fo expensive its totally worth it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 9/28/2011 11:23:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I am currently using John Frieda's Root Awakening line; however I used the Sheer Blond line for years without any issues. It is hard to speak to the highlighting properties, as I used it consistently for years; however my hair was soft and managable while using it, and I never had any of the issues other have noted with my hair being overly lightened, or feeling stripped. This shampoo is only meant to enhance your current color, and not actually make changes to it. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to others and will likely purchase again in the future if I get tired of the Root Awakening line.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/14/2011 11:21:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I use this Shampoo in the Platinum to Champagne shade, on my hair that i dye using only a prelighter, and it really helps to make my hair look so shiny and beautifully coloured. I've found its important to use the right shampoo with the correct conditioner (ie. a highlight activating one) to give the maximum and best result! And I switch between this shampoo and the John Frieda 'Go Blonder' Shampoo, which I use as more of a colour treatment; to add natural all over even colour and a stronger natural lightening effect to my dyed hair. Then once i switch to this one again it makes my hair look so champagne and beautifully light, so the two Shampoos work great in alternation.


on 12/20/2010 4:23:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I've been using this shampoo for years. Seems like it brightens a bit and leaves my hair shiny.


on 9/5/2010 9:33:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I bought this product not with the intention to make my hair any lighter, rather it had the ingredients that are beneficial for oily hair. I really liked the fragrance it surely wasn't too strong. It foams nice and easily and my hair feels fresh and silky after washing. It definitely isn't too harsh. As well as it really works for my oily hair. It gives me nice volume and keeps my hair good for at least two days.
I definitely recommend this product for blond haired gals with oily hair. Only downside it's fairly expensive for a shampoo


on 8/2/2010 8:34:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Green

i used it never liked it too heavy weighed my hair down and was hard to manage and the smell was horrible same with the conditioner it is dear but good if it works for everyone else his other stuff is good but i never liked this range i would not buy it again


on 7/6/2010 9:47:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this shampoo and its companion conditioner. It washes my hair really good and I have no idea why I ever stopped using it, but I won’t stop again. This is a shampoo that is supposed to remove residues that dull natural or chemically highlighted hair, it is not intended to highlight your hair. I think it is a great deal for the money and I like the packaging.


on 6/18/2010 3:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have dark-ish blond hair and was using this throughout the winter when my hair tends to become even darker. This didn't lighten my hair at all even though I used it repeatedly and used up the whole bottle. I dislike the entire John Frieda line, including his Frizz Ease products and will not be repurchasing again.


on 6/7/2010 1:09:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This product does bring out your blonde highlights more... but I don't really like it as a shampoo at all. It doesn't lather, and dries out my hair, I HAVE to deep condition it after I use the shampoo or else it's really coarse and dry. The difference in my hair isn't really worth the extra pain of the conditioning, so I won't be buying this again.


on 4/11/2010 4:42:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I use this on my six year old daughter's waist length hair. (very carefully because this stuff will burn your eyes) She has beautiful dirty blonde hair mixed in with natural platinum streaks. People are always asking me if I streaked her hair..

Anyway, this shampoo really brightens up her blonde and makes it shiny. I also use the John Frieda conditioner on her and it takes out tangles in no time flat. It never dries out her hair either, but that might be because we wash 2 times per week.

Sometimes I use this shampoo to de-gunkify my hair once a month. I really love this stuff and what it has done for my daughter's hair.




Back to Top