John Frieda • Sheer Blonde Highlighting Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.3(157 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 adkinsjr on 9/28/2011 11:23:00 PM more reviews by adkinsjr

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I am currently using John Frieda's Root Awakening line; however I used the Sheer Blond line for years without any issues. It is hard to speak to the highlighting properties, as I used it consistently for years; however my hair was soft and managable while using it, and I never had any of the issues other have noted with my hair being overly lightened, or feeling stripped. This shampoo is only meant to enhance your current color, and not actually make changes to it. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to others and will likely purchase again in the future if I get tired of the Root Awakening line.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* charlies04 on 1/14/2011 11:21:00 AM more reviews by charlies04

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I use this Shampoo in the Platinum to Champagne shade, on my hair that i dye using only a prelighter, and it really helps to make my hair look so shiny and beautifully coloured. I've found its important to use the right shampoo with the correct conditioner (ie. a highlight activating one) to give the maximum and best result! And I switch between this shampoo and the John Frieda 'Go Blonder' Shampoo, which I use as more of a colour treatment; to add natural all over even colour and a stronger natural lightening effect to my dyed hair. Then once i switch to this one again it makes my hair look so champagne and beautifully light, so the two Shampoos work great in alternation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 newkie on 12/20/2010 4:23:00 PM more reviews by newkie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using this shampoo for years. Seems like it brightens a bit and leaves my hair shiny.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shuriya on 9/5/2010 9:33:00 AM more reviews by shuriya

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought this product not with the intention to make my hair any lighter, rather it had the ingredients that are beneficial for oily hair. I really liked the fragrance it surely wasn't too strong. It foams nice and easily and my hair feels fresh and silky after washing. It definitely isn't too harsh. As well as it really works for my oily hair. It gives me nice volume and keeps my hair good for at least two days.
I definitely recommend this product for blond haired gals with oily hair. Only downside it's fairly expensive for a shampoo

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 coolrach89 on 8/2/2010 8:34:00 AM more reviews by coolrach89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

i used it never liked it too heavy weighed my hair down and was hard to manage and the smell was horrible same with the conditioner it is dear but good if it works for everyone else his other stuff is good but i never liked this range i would not buy it again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LilyBug09 on 7/6/2010 9:47:00 PM more reviews by LilyBug09

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this shampoo and its companion conditioner. It washes my hair really good and I have no idea why I ever stopped using it, but I won’t stop again. This is a shampoo that is supposed to remove residues that dull natural or chemically highlighted hair, it is not intended to highlight your hair. I think it is a great deal for the money and I like the packaging.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 yxoxo on 6/18/2010 3:56:00 PM more reviews by yxoxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have dark-ish blond hair and was using this throughout the winter when my hair tends to become even darker. This didn't lighten my hair at all even though I used it repeatedly and used up the whole bottle. I dislike the entire John Frieda line, including his Frizz Ease products and will not be repurchasing again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jaymemarie on 6/7/2010 1:09:00 AM more reviews by jaymemarie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This product does bring out your blonde highlights more... but I don't really like it as a shampoo at all. It doesn't lather, and dries out my hair, I HAVE to deep condition it after I use the shampoo or else it's really coarse and dry. The difference in my hair isn't really worth the extra pain of the conditioning, so I won't be buying this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 heartsp1986 on 4/11/2010 4:42:00 AM more reviews by heartsp1986

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I use this on my six year old daughter's waist length hair. (very carefully because this stuff will burn your eyes) She has beautiful dirty blonde hair mixed in with natural platinum streaks. People are always asking me if I streaked her hair..

Anyway, this shampoo really brightens up her blonde and makes it shiny. I also use the John Frieda conditioner on her and it takes out tangles in no time flat. It never dries out her hair either, but that might be because we wash 2 times per week.

Sometimes I use this shampoo to de-gunkify my hair once a month. I really love this stuff and what it has done for my daughter's hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tv88 on 2/25/2010 9:56:00 AM more reviews by tv88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I honestly haven't seen a difference in my hair color. But, funny enough, my dad was the first person to say, "wow, your hair looks lighter!" So, while the difference isn't dramatic, I guess it actually does work enough for even a guy to notice.

I just like this shampoo. I think the scent is very pleasant and sweet, and doesn't linger too long after showering. My hair feels softer, even in this dry winter weather.

I would buy this again if I found another 2 for 1 deal.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Frieda products

More Shampoo products