Illamasqua • Skin Base foundation • Liquid

rated 3.7(136 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 ShazboTastic on 1/2/2014 3:32:00 PM more reviews by ShazboTastic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This is lovely. Nice natural but build-able coverage. It doesn't feel heavy or tight on the skin. A bit pricey but nice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Laineypoo1 on 12/27/2013 4:51:00 AM more reviews by Laineypoo1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I bought this foundation after reading rave reviews. The makeup artist recommended it for dry skin and gave me shade 6. The colour match was perfect but from the outset I found the foundation very hard to apply. It is quite a thick consistency and needs to be applied fast. I find giving the bottle a really good shake before using also helps. It has very good coverage however if wearing for a few hours I find it cracks and shows up dry skin areas such as around the nose. The packaging is plastic and is a pain to squeeze the foundation out. I rarely use this foundation anymore and have changed to bourgois healthy mix instead.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Lochinvar on 11/13/2013 6:05:00 AM more reviews by Lochinvar

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I'm foundation shopping at the moment and am usually a huge Lancôme Teint Miracle fan.

I've picked up two sample pots of the Illamasqua and have been using them this week.

It is a heavier coverage than I'm used to. I have never been a fan of the full coverage look. This gives me the full coverage look. It looks like I'm wearing slap all day. It doesn't look super ugly, but its still obvious I'm wearing make up no matter how I apply it.

It lasts all day. I have combination skin, and the slightly oily t-section does need setting with powder.

I have played with different application techniques, sponge, stippling brush, foundation brush, fingers - each time I end up with more coverage than I am comfortable with - I've always been taught less is more. It also really sat in the wrinkles around my eyes and made them very obvious.

Foundations are the one thing where being able to take home samples to try before committing.

Illamasqua have dropped their prices from $80 for foundation to $50 hence my desire to support them. Its nice to see high end products changing their pricing policies here and I would like to support companies that do this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 HollieDahhrlinn on 10/29/2013 1:16:00 PM more reviews by HollieDahhrlinn

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Following all the hype about Skin Base Foundation, I ordered it in a shade 4 from House of Fraser as its really difficult to find a stockist outside of London. My skin is combination oily so I tried this with powder then with a primer, at first the make up looks very pretty but it just doesn't have the staying power that I need it to.

After just a few hours at uni, my face became oily but the way it looked was so odd. Skin base appeared to trap the oil beneath the layer of foundation rather than letting it shine through and the foundation wear off which was good in one sense because I could powder over it but then it felt greasy to the touch.

This foundation gives a beautiful finish for roughly 2 hours but after that it becomes far too oily for me and the issue of stockists is too much hassle as ordering online doesn't give a true reflection of the shades. Its such a shame because I really wanted to love this foundation but I guess it just isn't the one for me.

I went out today and bought Estee Lauder Double Wear Light as a replacement so lets see how that one goes!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MaryFay on 10/11/2013 5:32:00 AM more reviews by MaryFay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I just couldn't get this foundation to work for me! Which was so disappointing because the 02 shade matched my skin tone perfectly - hence the two stars instead of one. I've tried this twice so far. The first time was over moisturiser and primer and applied it with a stippling brush - no luck. It made every pore on my face stand out, and made it look like I had a tonne of dry skin around my nose, mouth and forehead, even though I have barely any. Flakes everywhere! Today I exfoliated beforehand to make sure I had no dry skin on my face, and then when through the same moisturising/primer routine, and it still turned out horribly. I just couldn't get the foundation to blend with my skin. From a distance it did look nice because the colour was such a good match, but up close I looked about five years older. This is also a very thick liquid which I found hard to apply. If you can get it to work for you then go for it, because the colour selection really is great, but unfortunately this just does not work on my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aells on 10/8/2013 1:58:00 PM more reviews by aells

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this foundation. It came to me as a suggestion from a Sephora rep (I usually never trust them) but she tried it out on me and I loved the way that it looked. As if I had nothing on. The color also matched perfectly! The price is a bit steep, but I am still using the same bottle I purchased in early May. I am into trying new foundations, but I will always have this as a staple.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 WazzleDazzle on 9/22/2013 4:23:00 AM more reviews by WazzleDazzle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Couldn't wait to try this foundation and boy am I glad I did! Looks like nothing on the skin all the while covering everything beautifully! Flawless foundation, seamless coverage. Not so pleased with the plastic bottle as you have to give it abit of a squeeze to get the product out but at £27 for a high end foundation, I'm a happy bunny. This is another brand which is only available in Selfridges in London so if you would like to purchase online, Illamasqua have a very helpful chart on their website matching your current foundation, for example Nars, to a skin base foundation. This is how I purchased mine and it was a perfect match!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 forestpitchlove on 8/21/2013 9:19:00 AM more reviews by forestpitchlove

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This foundation is pretty good. The main attraction for me was the colour match, 02 for pale skin is pretty much perfect, I have spent a lot of money trying different ones over time in their palest shade and they never fitted quite right.
Then there is the coverage issue, having combination skin, they are either too dewy or too matt.
This is just about right not too heavy, medium yet covers most imperfections.
That is all well and good once you work out how to apply it properly; I've tried different primers and moisturizers; all not ideal as it would either end up too oily or too dry. Also tried the buffing in instead of using hands, I have no idea how some people are able to put this straight on and not end up with a load of dried up areas..
I eventually nearly gave up but then had the idea of blending it with aloe vera, and now that works perfectly for me and lasts all day. My skin actually looks perfect that way.

Overall it's a really great product but Illasmasqua should really try and make their foundations easier to apply!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Rox1808 on 8/18/2013 2:29:00 PM more reviews by Rox1808

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This didn't work for me, although the coverage is excellent. Having acne-prone skin, it covered all the scars, but it doesn't have lasting power, after an hour my face looked shiny & the foundation just felt like it was slipping off, not a good look if you are on a night out. I also bought the the powder foundation just so it would stay on longer but that was a no-go. The stickers on the bottle come off quickly, so if you wanted to buy again unless you know the shade you would really struggle to get the same.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AnEnglishRose on 7/13/2013 5:10:00 PM more reviews by AnEnglishRose

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

This foundation is absolutely amazing. You need very little of it to last all day (think a pea size amount), and the finish is a beautiful semi-matte with a dewy finish in just the right places. The packaging is maybe a little cheap (I prefer glass bottles for higher-end priced foundations), but the plastic squeeze tube is light, portable, and very good for travel; plus, I feel like the highly pigmented foundation is a good trade-off for a cheaper packaging. Also a plus? The foundation is light enough for my pale skin! That is so hard to find in America. I'm 02, for reference - a step up from pure white.


I would say the finish is comparable to Giorgio Armani's Luminous Silk Foundation - but there are differences. Illamasqua's color choices are a little different (the 02 in Illamasqua has a -very- pink undertone; Armani's has a more yellow undertone in 03), Illamasqua's lasts longer and is less oily overall, and the consistency is much thicker than Armani's, providing more coverage.


I've read a number of reviews saying that the foundation looks cakey or does not apply well. I've been lucky not to have those results with this, but I think that's only because I did so much review reading before I even bought the product! This is what works for me and what I've read works for many others:


I apply some light lotion to my face with my foundation buffing brush. Then Neutrogena SPF 100 sunblock (it's a very oily, thick lotion for reference). Then Makeup Forever's HD Primer in Pink with the same buffing brush. Then I put a pea size amount of foundation on the back of my hand, and dab a little to my cheek before buffing it in with the same buffing brush. I do this with it for each section of my face, one at a time. Using the same brush for the lotion, primer, and foundation helps the foundation apply better and last longer without streaking. When I finish this, I take a clean stippling brush and just buff that over the foundation. I find it helps it set better. When I'm done with the rest of my makeup, the foundation sets, and it looks like skin, but better :)



Overall, great foundation. Great coverage. Natural finish. Long wearing. A little goes a long way. Great value. Perfect for very pale types.

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Illamasqua products

More Liquid products